CTNF 18/788,624 CTNF 77722 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-06 AIA Claim s 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 1, 2026. Examiner is treating Applicant’s response to the Restriction without traverse because Applicant provided no arguments to traverse the Restriction requirement . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Piggot (US 11,670,813). Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King , 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986) Piggott discloses a method of assembling a battery pack comprising: positioning one or more terminals (230) of a cell stack (210) within a slot (See Figure 2) that is provided by a frame (250) of a cross-member assembly; and securing a beam of the cross-member assembly (290) to the frame after the positioning. Regarding claim 12, Piggott discloses wherein, after the securing, the beam covers at least a portion of the slot (See Figure 2). Regarding claim 13, Piggott discloses wherein the positioning includes sliding the frame relative to the one of more terminals (See Figure 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piggot (US 11,670,813). Piggott discloses the method of assembling a battery pack, but does not disclose wherein the securing comprises adhesively securing the beam to the frame. Examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well known to use adhesive to secure components together. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in this art to secure the beam to the frame using adhesive . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to James A Shriver II whose telephone number is (303)297-4337. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00 am - 4:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, J. Allen Shriver II can be reached at (303) 297-4337. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. J. ALLEN SHRIVER II Supervisory Patent Examiner Art Unit 3613 /JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/788,624 Page 2 Art Unit: 3613