CTNF 18/788,673 CTNF 82124 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below. Reference US 10,623,587 B2 is a general background reference covering: An image forming apparatus includes: an image former that forms an image on a recording medium; and a hardware processor that acquires a read image obtained by reading the recording medium and determines a pass/fail for the image, wherein at the time of proof output, the hardware processor is capable of performing image inspection in which at least a read image obtained by reading a recording medium printed during the proof output is compared with a printing image of a job and a pass/fail is determined, and at the time of actual output of the job, the hardware processor is capable of performing image inspection in which at least a read image obtained by reading a recording medium printed during the actual output is compared with the read image obtained by reading the recording medium printed during the proof output and a pass/fail for an image is determined. (see abstract). Reference US 2023/0112594 A1 is a general background reference covering: An image forming system generates second image data representing a result of a reading unit reading an image on a sheet, corrects the second image data using correction data, the correction data being data obtained on the basis of image data obtained by the reading unit reading a predetermined image formed on the sheet by an image forming unit and image data corresponding to the predetermined image, and inspects, on the basis of the corrected second image data and a first image data, an image formed on the sheet on the basis of the first image data. (see abstract). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama et al. (Murayama) (US 2021/0264230 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Murayama discloses an image forming apparatus (e.g., FIG. 1 is an overall view of a hardware configuration of a printing system 100, paragraph 26) comprising: an image forming unit configured to form an image on a sheet based on image data (e.g., the image forming apparatus 101 includes a printer 107, paragraph 28); a reader configured to read the sheet on which the image has been formed (e.g., the original exposure portion 226 executes processing of reading an original when a copy function or a scan function is used. The user places an original on platen glass (an original table), and an image of the original irradiated with light from an exposure lamp is taken with a CCD camera, to thereby read image data of the original, paragraph 34); an inspector configured to execute an inspection of a reading result of the image read by the reader (e.g., The inspection device 109 holds communication required for control to and from the printer 107 via the communication cable 254 . The CPU 238 is configured to perform various types of control required for inspection operation in accordance with a control program stored in the memory 239 . The memory 239 is a storage device in which the control program is stored. The imaging portion 240 includes image reading sensors 331 and 332 (FIG. 5) as a reading unit configured to read an image that is formed on a sheet, paragraph 39); a display configured to display an inspection result of the inspection executed by the inspector (e.g., The display portion 241 is configured to display an inspection result and a setting screen 141 (FIG. 12), paragraph 39); and a controller configured to execute main printing for controlling the image forming unit to form an image based on the image data, or test printing for controlling the image forming unit to form an image based on only a part of the image data, (e.g., Image data is communicated between the external controller 102 and the printer 107 via the video cable 106 . The HDD 221 is a storage device in which programs and data are stored. The CPU 222 is configured to perform image processing control and printing control in a comprehensive manner, based on a program stored in the HDD 221 , paragraph 33). Murayama, in first embodiment, does not specifically disclose wherein the display is configured to display, in a case where the test printing has been executed, first information indicating that the test printing has been executed and second information indicating an inspection result obtained by inspecting an image formed in the test printing by the inspector. Murayama, in second embodiment, discloses wherein the display is configured to display, in a case where the test printing has been executed, first information indicating that the test printing has been executed and second information indicating an inspection result obtained by inspecting an image formed in the test printing by the inspector (e.g., The CPU 238 displays recovery procedures on the printer 107 (Step S 4014 ). The CPU 238 checks whether the user has finished the recovery procedures of the printer 107 (Step S 4015 ). When the end of the recovery procedures has been confirmed, the CPU 238 instructs the printer 107 to form a test image (Step S 4016 ). The CPU 238 executes inspection operation for the test image (Step S 4017 ), paragraph 80). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Murayama in first embodiment to include wherein the display is configured to display, in a case where the test printing has been executed, first information indicating that the test printing has been executed and second information indicating an inspection result obtained by inspecting an image formed in the test printing by the inspector as taught by Murayama in second embodiment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Murayama in first embodiment by the teaching of Murayama in second embodiment to use for particular application. Regarding claim 2, Murayama discloses wherein the display is configured to display, in a case where the main printing has been executed, third information indicating that the main printing has been executed (e.g., the display portion 225 is configured to display a printing status of the image forming apparatus 101 and information for setting the image forming apparatus 101, paragraph 49) and fourth information indicating an inspection result obtained by inspecting an image formed in the main printing by the inspector (e.g., a display configured to display an inspection result, paragraph 9). Regarding claim 3, Murayama discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the inspector to execute the inspection in any one of a case of executing the main printing (e.g., The CPU 222 of the printer 107 transmits image data that is original data to the CPU 238 of the inspection device 109 . The CPU 238 of the inspection device 109 generates, in advance, a predicted density profile by integration in a vertical direction based on the received image data that is original data, paragraph 42) and a case of executing the test printing (e.g., When the end of the recovery procedures has been confirmed, the CPU 238 instructs the printer 107 to form a test image (Step S4016). The CPU 238 executes inspection operation for the test image (Step S 4017 ), paragraph 80). Regarding claim 4, Murayama discloses wherein the image forming apparatus is configured to present whether the main printing or the test printing is being executed (e.g., The CPU 238 displays recovery procedures on the printer 107 (Step S 4014 ). The CPU 238 checks whether the user has finished the recovery procedures of the printer 107 (Step S 4015 ). When the end of the recovery procedures has been confirmed, the CPU 238 instructs the printer 107 to form a test image (Step S 4016 ). The CPU 238 executes inspection operation for the test image (Step S 4017 ), paragraph 80). Regarding claim 5, Murayama discloses further comprising a receiver configured to receive an operation from a user, wherein the receiver includes: a main printing receiver configured to receive an operation for instructing execution of the main printing (e.g., Print data is communicated between the external controller 102 and the printer 107 via the internal LAN 105 . The video I/F 220 is connected to the external controller 102 via the video cable 106, paragraph 33 ); and a test printing receiver configured to receive an operation for instructing execution of the test printing, and 80 and a case in which the operation for instructing the execution of the test printing has been received through the test printing receiver (e.g., The CPU 238 checks whether the user has finished the recovery procedures of the printer 107 (Step S 4015 ). When the end of the recovery procedures has been confirmed, the CPU 238 instructs the printer 107 to form a test image (Step S4016). The CPU 238 executes inspection operation for the test image (Step S 4017 ), paragraph 80). wherein the controller is configured to control the inspector to execute the inspection in any one of a case in which the operation for instructing the execution of the main printing has been received through the main printing receiver (e.g., the CPU 222 is configured to perform image processing control and printing control in a comprehensive manner, based on a program stored in the HDD 221 . The memory 223 stores programs and image data required when the CPU 222 executes various types of processing, and operates as a work area, paragraph 33) Regarding claim 6, Murayama discloses further comprising a receiver configured to receive an operation from a user, wherein the receiver includes: a main printing receiver configured to receive an operation for instructing execution of the main printing (e.g., Print data is communicated between the external controller 102 and the printer 107 via the internal LAN 105 . The video I/F 220 is connected to the external controller 102 via the video cable 106, paragraph 33 ); and a test printing receiver configured to receive an operation for setting whether to execute the test printing, wherein the controller is configured to: execute the main printing in a case where the operation for instructing the execution of the main printing has been received through the main printing receiver under a state in which the test printing receiver has no setting that the test printing is to be executed (e.g., Image data is communicated between the external controller 102 and the printer 107 via the video cable 106. The HDD 221 is a storage device in which programs and data are stored. The CPU 222 is configured to perform image processing control and printing control in a comprehensive manner, based on a program stored in the HDD 221, paragraph 33); and execute the test printing in a case where the operation for instructing the execution of the main printing has been received through the main printing receiver under a state in which the test printing receiver has a setting that the test printing is to be executed, and wherein the controller is configured to control the inspector to execute the inspection irrespective of a setting in the test printing receiver (e.g., The CPU 238 checks whether the user has finished the recovery procedures of the printer 107 (Step S 4015 ). When the end of the recovery procedures has been confirmed, the CPU 238 instructs the printer 107 to form a test image (Step S4016). The CPU 238 executes inspection operation for the test image (Step S 4017 ), paragraph 80). Regarding claim 7, Murayama discloses wherein the image forming apparatus is configured to present, after the inspector has executed the inspection, inspection result information including: information indicating which of the main printing (e.g., The inspection device 109 holds communication required for control to and from the printer 107 via the communication cable 254. The CPU 238 is configured to perform various types of control required for inspection operation in accordance with a control program stored in the memory 239. The memory 239 is a storage device in which the control program is stored. The imaging portion 240 includes image reading sensors 331 and 332 (FIG. 5) as a reading unit configured to read an image that is formed on a sheet, paragraph 39) and the test printing has been executed (e.g., The imaging portion 240 is configured to take an image of a conveyed sheet following an instruction of the CPU 238 . The CPU 238 compares read image data obtained through the image taking by the imaging portion 240 to correct image data stored in the memory 239 to determine whether the image formed on the sheet is normal, paragraph 39); and information indicating contents of the inspection (e.g., The display portion 241 is configured to display an inspection result and a setting screen 141 (FIG. 12). The operation portion 242 is operated by the user to receive a change to settings of the inspectio n device 109 and an instruction to register correct image data, paragraph 39). Regarding claim 8, Murayama discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the image forming unit to form the image based on a predetermined printing setting (e.g., The CPU 238 functions as a determination unit configured to determine the predetermined number of times based on user's instruction information. When the number of times that inspection results are determined to be NG in succession reaches the predetermined number, paragraph 60), and wherein the controller is configured to control the display to present, in a case where the main printing has been executed without changing the predetermined printing setting after the test printing had been executed, the information indicating which of the main printing and the test printing has been executed and information other than information indicating a result of the inspection (e.g., CPU 238 displays recovery procedures on the printer 107 (Step S 4014 ). The CPU 238 checks whether the user has finished the recovery procedures of the printer 107 (Step S 4015 ). When the end of the recovery procedures has been confirmed, the CPU 238 instructs the printer 107 to form a test image (Step S4016). The CPU 238 executes inspection operation for the test i mage (Step S 4017 ), paragraph 80). Regarding claim 9, Murayama discloses wherein the test printing includes printing a part of a page to be printed (e.g., the CPU 238 checks whether the user has finished the recovery procedures of the printer 107 (Step S 4015 ). When the end of the recovery procedures has been confirmed, the CPU 238 instructs the printer 107 to form a test image (Step S 4016 ). The CPU 238 executes inspection operation for the test image (Step S 4017 ), paragraph 80). Regarding claim 10, Murayama discloses wherein the test printing includes printing fewer copies than a specified plurality of number of copies to be printed (e.g., The CPU 238 checks whether the user has finished the recovery procedures of the printer 107 (Step S 5015 ). When it is confirmed that the end of the recovery procedures has been confirmed, the CPU 238 instructs the printer 107 to form a test image (Step S 5016 ). The CPU 238 executes inspection operation for the test image (Step S 5017 ), paragraph 90). Regarding claim 11, Murayama discloses further comprising a receiver configured to receive an operation for eliminating requirement of the inspection of the reading result, and wherein the controller is configured to: prevent the inspector from executing the inspection in a case where an operation for instructing execution of the main printing has been received under a state in which the operation for eliminating the requirement of the inspection of the reading result had been received by the receiver (e.g., The setting screen 141 displays radio buttons for setting whether printing and inspection are to be cancelled when the number of continuous NGs reaches the predetermined number of times. The setting screen 141 displays a field in which the predetermined number of times can be input. Selection of the radio button for cancellation enables the user to input to this field, paragraph 64); and control the inspector to execute the inspection in a case where an operation for instructing execution of the test printing has been received under a state in which the operation for eliminating the requirement of the inspection of the reading result had been received by the receiver (e.g., the CPU 238 checks whether the user has finished the recovery procedures of the printer 107 (Step S 4015 ). When the end of the recovery procedures has been confirmed, the CPU 238 instructs the printer 107 to form a test image (Step S4016). The CPU 238 executes inspection operation for the test image (Step S 4017 ), paragraph 80). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to QUANG N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-1121. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7AM-4PM, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mohammad K Ghayour can be reached at 571-272-3021. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 3 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 6 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 10 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 11 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 12 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/788,673 Page 13 Art Unit: 2683