DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/30/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tecnofer (EP 0080236) in view of Ritter et al. (U.S. 4,096,680)
In re Claims 8, 9, 10 and 15, Tecnofer teaches making a plurality of rebar cages at a first location, by for each cage, taking the steps of o providing a plurality of vertical rebar members (11) and a plurality of stirrup rebar members (12); arranging the plurality of vertical rebar members(11) and the plurality of stirrup rebar members (12) to form a plurality of intersections; positioning a wire tie (13,15,16) having first and second ends across each intersection of the plurality of vertical rebar members and the plurality of stirrup rebar members and securing the ties to the intersection to thereby form a rebar cage, the rebar cage have a first volume, the tie being shaped to allow the vertical rebar member(11) and the stirrup rebar member (12) at the intersection to move with respect to each other. Since they move respect to each other, each rebar cage is collapsed so it has a second volume, the second volume being less than the first volume. During the transportation stage; the plurality of collapsed rebar cages is placed on a vehicle. Since they are being transported the vehicle would be moved with the collapsed rebar cages to a construction site. The rebar cages are removed from the vehicle and are reformed to their first volumes. (Figures 1-3; Page 2, Line1-28; Page 3, Lines14-26; Page 4, Lines 12-28; Page 5, Lines 1-18; Page 6, Lines 1-10)
Tecnofer does not teach that the stirrup and vertical rebar members are made from Fiber Reinforced Polymer/ Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer (FRP/GFRP). The examiner takes official notice that the use of Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer to make rebar is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the stirrup and vertical rebar members from FRP/GFRP, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. FRP/GFRP are high strength durable material that are also corrosion resistant.
Tecnofer does not teach securing the first and second tie ends to each other.
Ritter teaches securing rebar members (1,2) at an intersection with wire ties (3,4) whose first and second ends (5) are twisted together. They can therefore be considered twist ties. (Figures 1-2)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to secure the first and second tie ends to each other to reinforce the strength of the tie.
In re Claim 11, the modified Tecnofer has been previously discussed but does not disclose that the ties are zip ties.
The examiner takes official notice that zip ties are a common and well-known type of tie and that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known type of tie for another. Zip ties form durable connections.
In re Claim 12, the modified Tecnofer has been previously discussed. Figure 1 shows the reformed rebar cage in a standalone configuration without a concrete form.
In re Claim 13, the modified Tecnofer has been previously discussed. Figure 1 shows that the vertical rebar (11) and the stirrup rebar (12) are of different sizes. They are both rounded with different diameter circular cross-sections.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tecnofer (EP 0080236) in view of Ritter et al. (U.S. 4,096,680), and in further view of Tsukamoto (U.S. 20090145074)
In re Claim 14, the modified Tecnofer has been previously discussed but does not disclose rebar cages with cylindrical un-collapsed shapes.
Tsukamoto teaches cylindrical rebar cages (11) in an un-collapsed shape. (Figure 4)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention for the rebar cages to be cylindrical, as is disclosed by Tsukamoto. This allows for the formation of rebar reinforced cylindrical structures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/ADAM G BARLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633