DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)s submitted on 7/31/2024, 8/23/2024, 1/12/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term ‘synehtsizer’ is not spelt correctly. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 of 18/788,716
A hearing device comprising: a pulse detector configured to determine one or more pulse parameters including a first pulse parameter; a speech synthesizer coupled to the pulse detector for provision of a speech signal based on the first pulse parameter; a processor configured to process the speech signal for provision of an electrical output signal; and a receiver configured to provide an audio output signal based on the electrical output signal; wherein the first pulse parameter is a pulse period, or a confidence level indicative of a likelihood of a pulse input signal being a periodic or semi-periodic pulse signal.
Claim 8 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; and increase a threshold if the pulse input signal satisfies the first rising criterion.
Claim 9 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; and initialize a down counter if the pulse input signal satisfies the first down count criterion.
Claim 10 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 9, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; and decrease the down counter if the down counter satisfies the second down count criterion.
Claim 11 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 9, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and determine the first pulse parameter based on a pulse timer if the down counter satisfies the pulse detection criterion.
Claim 12 of 18/788,716
A hearing device comprising: a pulse detector configured to determine one or more pulse parameters including a first pulse parameter; a speech synthesizer coupled to the pulse detector for provision of a speech signal based on the first pulse parameter; a processor configured to process the speech signal for provision of an electrical output signal; and a receiver configured to provide an audio output signal based on the electrical output signal; wherein the speech synthesizer comprises a filterbank configured to provide a filterbank output; and wherein the speech synehtsizer is configured to provision the speech signal based on the filterbank output.
Claim 19 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if a pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; and increase a threshold if the pulse input signal satisfies the first rising criterion.
Claim 20 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if a pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; and initialize a down counter if the pulse input signal satisfies the first down count criterion.
Claim 21 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 20, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; and decrease the down counter if the down counter satisfies the second down count criterion.
Claim 22 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 20, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and determine the first pulse parameter based on a pulse timer if the down counter satisfies the pulse detection criterion.
Claim 1 of 12160706 B2
A method performed by a hearing device, the method comprising: obtaining a pulse input signal; determining whether the pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; after the pulse input signal is determined as satisfying the first rising criterion, increasing a threshold; determining whether the pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; after the pulse input signal is determined as satisfying the first down count criterion, initializing a down counter; determining whether the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; after the down counter is determined as satisfying the second down count criterion, decreasing the down counter; determining whether the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and after the down counter is determined as satisfying the pulse detection criterion, outputting a pulse output signal indicative of detection of a pulse.
Claim 12 of 12160706 B2
A pulse detector, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: obtain a pulse input signal; determine whether the pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; after the pulse input signal is determined as satisfying the first rising criterion, increase the threshold; determine whether the pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; after the pulse input signal is determined as satisfying the first down count criterion, initialize a down counter; determine whether the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; after the down counter is determined as satisfying the second down count criterion, decrease the down counter; determine whether the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and after the down counter is determined as satisfying the pulse detection criterion, output a pulse output signal indicative of a detection of a pulse.
Claims 1, 8-12 & 19-22 of application 18/788,716 (hereinafter referred to as ‘716) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12160706 B2 (hereinafter referred to as ‘706), in view of Zakarauskas et al, US Patent 9437213 B2, and further in view of Majdak et al, WO 2008155123 A1.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘716 claims 1, 8-12 & 19-22 are broader recitations of ‘706 claims 1 & 12; but fails to disclose wherein the first pulse parameter is a pulse period, or a confidence level indicative of a likelihood of a pulse input signal being a periodic or semi-periodic pulse signal and a speech synthesizer, wherein the speech synthesizer comprises a filterbank configured to provide a filterbank output; and wherein the speech synehtsizer is configured to provision the speech signal based on the filterbank output. Zakarauskas et al discloses a system that teaches the concept of detecting periodic pulses from an incoming audio signal (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity/non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208. Also, the abstract discloses the system aiming to identifying glottal pulses of detected incoming audio signal in order to enhance speech intelligibility) and carrying out speech synthesizing on the detected periodic pulses by utilizing filterbanks (Zakarauskas et al, col. 8, lines 11-14: bank(set) of filters). It would have been obvious to modify the ‘706 claims 1 & 12 such that it includes detecting periodic pulses and using filter banks to carry out speech synthesizing of the periodic pulse detected signal as taught in Zakarauskas et al for the purpose of synthesizing the periodic pulses of detected signals.
Majdak et al teaches the concept of detected pulses, where determination of the confidence levels of the pulses are also determined (Majdak et al, fig. 6; para 0061: confidence intervals). It would have been obvious to modify the ‘706 claims 1 & 12 system such that it includes confidence intervals as taught in Majdak et al for the purpose of determining the validity of the detected pulses.
Claim 1 of 18/788,716
A hearing device comprising: a pulse detector configured to determine one or more pulse parameters including a first pulse parameter; a speech synthesizer coupled to the pulse detector for provision of a speech signal based on the first pulse parameter; a processor configured to process the speech signal for provision of an electrical output signal; and a receiver configured to provide an audio output signal based on the electrical output signal; wherein the first pulse parameter is a pulse period, or a confidence level indicative of a likelihood of a pulse input signal being a periodic or semi-periodic pulse signal.
Claim 8 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; and increase a threshold if the pulse input signal satisfies the first rising criterion.
Claim 9 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; and initialize a down counter if the pulse input signal satisfies the first down count criterion.
Claim 10 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 9, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; and decrease the down counter if the down counter satisfies the second down count criterion.
Claim 11 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 9, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and determine the first pulse parameter based on a pulse timer if the down counter satisfies the pulse detection criterion.
Claim 12 of 18/788,716
A hearing device comprising: a pulse detector configured to determine one or more pulse parameters including a first pulse parameter; a speech synthesizer coupled to the pulse detector for provision of a speech signal based on the first pulse parameter; a processor configured to process the speech signal for provision of an electrical output signal; and a receiver configured to provide an audio output signal based on the electrical output signal; wherein the speech synthesizer comprises a filterbank configured to provide a filterbank output; and wherein the speech synehtsizer is configured to provision the speech signal based on the filterbank output.
Claim 19 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if a pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; and increase a threshold if the pulse input signal satisfies the first rising criterion.
Claim 20 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if a pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; and initialize a down counter if the pulse input signal satisfies the first down count criterion.
Claim 21 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 20, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; and decrease the down counter if the down counter satisfies the second down count criterion.
Claim 22 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 20, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and determine the first pulse parameter based on a pulse timer if the down counter satisfies the pulse detection criterion.
Claim 1 of 12148414 B2
A method performed by a hearing device, comprising: obtaining a pulse input signal; determining one or more pulse parameters including a first pulse parameter after the pulse input signal is obtained; synthesizing a speech signal based on the first pulse parameter; processing the speech signal for provision of an electrical output signal; and converting the electrical output signal to an audio output signal; wherein the act of determining the one or more pulse parameters comprises: determining if the pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; in accordance with the pulse input signal satisfying the first rising criterion, increasing a threshold; determining if the pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; in accordance with the pulse input signal satisfying the first down count criterion, initializing a down counter; determining if the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; in accordance with the down counter satisfying the second down count criterion, decreasing the down counter; determining if the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and in accordance with the down counter satisfying the pulse detection criterion, determining the first pulse parameter based on a pulse timer.
Claim 7 of 12148414 B2
A hearing device comprising: a pulse detector configured to determine one or more pulse parameters including a first pulse parameter; a speech synthesizer coupled to the pulse detector for provision of a speech signal based on the first pulse parameter; a processor for processing the speech signal for provision of an electrical output signal; and a receiver for converting the electrical output signal to an audio output signal; wherein the pulse detector is configured to determine the one or more pulse parameters by: determining if a pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; in accordance with the input signal satisfying the first rising criterion, increasing a threshold; determining if the pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; in accordance with the pulse input signal satisfying the first down count criterion, initializing a down counter; determining if the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; in accordance with the down counter satisfying the second down count criterion, decreasing the down counter; determining if the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and in accordance with the down counter satisfying the pulse detection criterion, determining the first pulse parameter based on a pulse timer.
Claims 1, 8-12 & 19-22 of application 18/788,716 (hereinafter referred to as ‘716) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12148414 B2 (hereinafter referred to as ‘414). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘716 claims 1, 8-12 & 19-22 are broader recitations of ‘414 claims 1 & 7. Therefore, ‘414 claims 1 & 7 are encompassed by ‘716 claims 1, 8-12 & 19-22.
Claim 1 of 18/788,716
A hearing device comprising: a pulse detector configured to determine one or more pulse parameters including a first pulse parameter; a speech synthesizer coupled to the pulse detector for provision of a speech signal based on the first pulse parameter; a processor configured to process the speech signal for provision of an electrical output signal; and a receiver configured to provide an audio output signal based on the electrical output signal; wherein the first pulse parameter is a pulse period, or a confidence level indicative of a likelihood of a pulse input signal being a periodic or semi-periodic pulse signal.
Claim 8 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; and increase a threshold if the pulse input signal satisfies the first rising criterion.
Claim 9 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; and initialize a down counter if the pulse input signal satisfies the first down count criterion.
Claim 10 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 9, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; and decrease the down counter if the down counter satisfies the second down count criterion.
Claim 11 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 9, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and determine the first pulse parameter based on a pulse timer if the down counter satisfies the pulse detection criterion.
Claim 12 of 18/788,716
A hearing device comprising: a pulse detector configured to determine one or more pulse parameters including a first pulse parameter; a speech synthesizer coupled to the pulse detector for provision of a speech signal based on the first pulse parameter; a processor configured to process the speech signal for provision of an electrical output signal; and a receiver configured to provide an audio output signal based on the electrical output signal; wherein the speech synthesizer comprises a filterbank configured to provide a filterbank output; and wherein the speech synehtsizer is configured to provision the speech signal based on the filterbank output.
Claim 19 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if a pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; and increase a threshold if the pulse input signal satisfies the first rising criterion.
Claim 20 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if a pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; and initialize a down counter if the pulse input signal satisfies the first down count criterion.
Claim 21 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 20, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a second down count criterion; and decrease the down counter if the down counter satisfies the second down count criterion.
Claim 22 of 18/788,716
The hearing device according to claim 20, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the down counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and determine the first pulse parameter based on a pulse timer if the down counter satisfies the pulse detection criterion.
Claim 1 of 18/810,241
A method performed by a hearing device, the method comprising: obtaining a pulse input signal; determining whether the pulse input signal satisfies a first count criterion; after the pulse input signal is determined as satisfying the first count criterion, initializing a counter; determining whether the counter satisfies a second count criterion; after the counter is determined as satisfying the second count criterion, decreasing the counter; determining whether the counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and after the counter is determined as satisfying the pulse detection criterion, outputting a pulse output signal indicative of detection of a pulse.
Claim 14 of 18/810,241
A pulse detector, wherein the pulse detector is configured to: obtain a pulse input signal; determine whether the pulse input signal satisfies a first count criterion; after the pulse input signal is determined as satisfying the first count criterion, initialize a counter; determine whether the counter satisfies a second count criterion; after the counter is determined as satisfying the second count criterion, decrease the counter; determine whether the counter satisfies a pulse detection criterion; and after the down counter is determined as satisfying the pulse detection criterion, output a pulse output signal indicative of a detection of a pulse.
Claims 1, 8-12 & 19-22 of application 18/788,716 (hereinafter referred to as ‘716) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 14 of copending Application No. 18/810,241 (hereinafter referred to as ‘241) in view of Zakarauskas et al, US Patent 9437213 B2, and further in view of Majdak et al, WO 2008155123 A1.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘716 claims 1, 8-12 & 19-22 are broader recitations of ‘241 claims 1 & 14; but fails to disclose wherein the first pulse parameter is a pulse period, or a confidence level indicative of a likelihood of a pulse input signal being a periodic or semi-periodic pulse signal and a speech synthesizer, wherein the speech synthesizer comprises a filterbank configured to provide a filterbank output; and wherein the speech synehtsizer is configured to provision the speech signal based on the filterbank output. Zakarauskas et al discloses a system that teaches the concept of detecting periodic pulses from an incoming audio signal (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity/non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208. Also, the abstract discloses the system aiming to identifying glottal pulses of detected incoming audio signal in order to enhance speech intelligibility) and carrying out speech synthesizing on the detected periodic pulses by utilizing filterbanks (Zakarauskas et al, col. 8, lines 11-14: bank(set) of filters). It would have been obvious to modify the ‘241 claims 1 & 14 such that it includes detecting periodic pulses and using filter banks to carry out speech synthesizing of the periodic pulse detected signal as taught in Zakarauskas et al for the purpose of synthesizing the periodic pulses of detected signals.
Majdak et al teaches the concept of detected pulses, where determination of the confidence levels of the pulses are also determined (Majdak et al, fig. 6; para 0061: confidence intervals). It would have been obvious to modify the ‘241 claims 1 & 14 system such that it includes confidence intervals as taught in Majdak et al for the purpose of determining the validity of the detected pulses.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-18 & 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakarauskas et al, US Patent 9437213 B2, in view of Majdak et al, WO 2008155123 A1. (The Zakarauskas et al reference is cited in IDS filed 7/31/2024)
Re Claim 1, Zakarauskas et al discloses a hearing device (col. 1, lines 18-53) comprising: a pulse detector configured to determine one or more pulse parameters including a first pulse parameter (fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity/non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208. Also, the abstract discloses the system aiming to identifying glottal pulses of detected incoming audio signal in order to enhance speech intelligibility); a speech synthesizer coupled to the pulse detector for provision of a speech signal based on the first pulse parameter (fig. 3: narrowband filtering 305 synthesized with gain depending calculator 304 based on pulse parameters signals and the narrowband FFT 303 to produce the output signal; claim 9); a processor configured to process the speech signal for provision of an electrical output signal (col. 14, lines 17-19); and a receiver configured to provide an audio output signal based on the electrical output signal (col. 14, lines 17-19; claim 1: wherein corrected audio signal is output via output device); but fails to disclose wherein the first pulse parameter is a pulse period, or a confidence level indicative of a likelihood of a pulse input signal being a periodic or semi-periodic pulse signal. However, Majdak et al teaches the concept of detected pulses, where determination of the confidence levels of the pulses are also determined (Majdak et al, fig. 6; para 0061: confidence intervals). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the Zakarauskas et al system such that it includes confidence intervals as taught in Majdak et al for the purpose of determining the validity of the detected pulses.
Re Claim 2, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device of claim 1, wherein the first pulse parameter is the pulse period, not the confidence level (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity/non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208. Also, the abstract discloses the system aiming to identifying glottal pulses of detected incoming audio signal in order to enhance speech intelligibility).
Re Claim 3, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first pulse parameter is the confidence level, not the pulse period (Majdak et al, fig. 6; para 0061: confidence intervals).
Re Claim 4, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more pulse parameters comprises a second pulse parameter (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity /non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208. Also, the abstract discloses the system aiming to identifying glottal pulses of detected incoming audio signal in order to enhance speech intelligibility); and wherein the speech synthesizer is configured for provision of the speech signal also based on the second pulse parameter (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: narrowband filtering 305 synthesized with gain depending calculator 304 based on pulse parameters signals and the narrowband FFT 303 to produce the output signal; claim 9).
Re Claim 5, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 4, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first pulse parameter is not the confidence level, and wherein the second pulse parameter is the confidence level. Since Majdak et al discloses where confidence of the pulses can be determined, it would have been obvious to modify Zakarauskas et al such the confidence levels of pulses are determined whereby the confidence level of a previous pulse can be low while the subsequent pulse is high for the purpose of determining the validity of the detected pulses.
Re Claim 6, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the pulse detector is configured to detect a pulse, and output a pulse output signal indicative of the detected pulse (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity /non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208. Also, the abstract discloses the system aiming to identifying glottal pulses of detected incoming audio signal in order to enhance speech intelligibility).
Re Claim 7, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the speech synthesizer comprises a filterbank configured to provide a filterbank output (Zakarauskas et al, col. 8, lines 11-14: bank(set) of filters); and wherein the speech synehtsizer is configured to provision the speech signal based on the filterbank output (Zakarauskas et al, col. 8, lines 11-14: bank(set) of filters).
Claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 1 & 7.
Re Claim 13, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the one or more pulse parameters comprises a second pulse parameter (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity /non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208. Also, the abstract discloses the system aiming to identifying glottal pulses of detected incoming audio signal in order to enhance speech intelligibility); and wherein the speech synthesizer is configured for provision of the speech signal also based on the second pulse parameter (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: narrowband filtering 305 synthesized with gain depending calculator 304 based on pulse parameters signals and the narrowband FFT 303 to produce the output signal; claim 9).
Re Claim 14, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 13, wherein the second pulse parameter is a confidence level indicative of a likelihood of a pulse input signal being a periodic or semi-periodic pulse signal (Majdak et al, fig. 6; para 0061: confidence intervals).
Re Claim 15, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the pulse detector is configured to detect a pulse, and output a pulse output signal indicative of the detected pulse (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity /non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208. Also, the abstract discloses the system aiming to identifying glottal pulses of detected incoming audio signal in order to enhance speech intelligibility).
Re Claim 16, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the first pulse parameter is a pulse period (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity /non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208. Also, the abstract discloses the system aiming to identifying glottal pulses of detected incoming audio signal in order to enhance speech intelligibility).
Re Claim 17, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the first pulse parameter is a confidence level indicative of a likelihood of a pulse input signal being a periodic or semi-periodic pulse signal (Majdak et al, fig. 6; para 0061: confidence intervals).
Re Claim 18, the combined teachings of Zakarauskas et al and Majdak et al disclose the hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the first pulse parameter is a pulse height (Zakarauskas et al, fig. 3: metric calculator 302; fig. 2; col. 4, lines 47-58: periodicity /non periodicity periods; col. 5, lines 26-37: periodicity of the pulses is read as the pulse parameter, where the periodicity is determined for subsequent frequency subbands; col. 10, lines 44-54: voice period estimate can be derived from the glottal pulse interval estimator 208; wherein pulse signals inherently have pulse height).
Claim 23 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 24 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 1 & 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11, 19-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 8: The prior art does not teach or moderately suggest the following limitations:
Wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; and increase a threshold if the pulse input signal satisfies the first rising criterion.
Limitations such as these may be useful in combination with other limitations of claim 1.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claims 9-11: The prior art does not teach or moderately suggest the following limitations:
Wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if the pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; and initialize a down counter if the pulse input signal satisfies the first down count criterion.
Limitations such as these may be useful in combination with other limitations of claim 1.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 19: The prior art does not teach or moderately suggest the following limitations:
Wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if a pulse input signal satisfies a first rising criterion; and increase a threshold if the pulse input signal satisfies the first rising criterion.
Limitations such as these may be useful in combination with other limitations of claim 12.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claims 20-22: The prior art does not teach or moderately suggest the following limitations:
Wherein the pulse detector is configured to: determine if a pulse input signal satisfies a first down count criterion; and initialize a down counter if the pulse input signal satisfies the first down count criterion.
Limitations such as these may be useful in combination with other limitations of claim 12.
Contact
/GEORGE C MONIKANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692 2/11/2026
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692