DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0040], “FIG. 2C, at 2000” should be “FIG. 2C, at 200C”; “the arrows 202A” should be “the arrows 220A”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-10, 12-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metze U.S. Patent 11328480 in view of Quinn U.S. Patent Application 20150123967.
Regarding claim 15, Metze discloses a system, comprising:
one or more processors (processor 140);
one or more memories (memory 110) storing a program, which, when executed on any combination of the one or more processors, performs operations (col. 6 line 8-18: Computing device 100 may include memory 110, which may store operating system 112, application software 114, and/or other applications 116... operating system 112 may consist of executable instructions for the operation of computing device 100), the operations comprising:
accessing a three-dimensional (3D) base mesh corresponding to at least a portion of a character (col. 4, lines 25-28: To generate the composite meshes, collections of shrink-wrapped 3D models may be associated with particular features as originally defined by the material IDs of the base mesh);
accessing a 3D feature mesh corresponding to a feature of the character (col. 19, lines 47-50: polygonal mesh pieces may be extracted corresponding to the particular material ID of the base mesh to which each of shrink-wrapped 3D models 1402, 1404, 1406, 1408, and 1410 were assigned; col. 11, lines 23-25: Each of material IDs 802, 804A, 804B, 806A, 806B, 808, and 810 may denote a particular feature on base mesh 800);
modifying the 3D feature mesh using surface projection based on an overlapping region for the 3D base mesh and the 3D feature mesh to generate a first modified 3D feature mesh (col. 14 line 19-22: the composite meshes and/or the composite texture maps may be formed from one or more shrink-wrapped 3D models and/or texture maps of one or more shrink-wrapped 3D models; col. 13 line 43-48: standardized 3D models of a single resolution relating to a plurality of physical and/or conceptual models may each be shrink-wrapped a plurality of times to differing base meshes of varying polygonal counts to produce a plurality of shrink-wrapped 3D models of varying polygonal resolutions);
modifying at least one of a texture of the first modified 3D feature mesh or normals of the first modified 3D feature mesh based on at least one of a texture of the 3D base mesh or normals of the 3D base mesh to generate a textured 3D feature mesh (col. 25 lines 1-3: At step 520, the intersections of the extracted texture map feature selections forming the composite texture map may be blended to create a more cohesive texture; col. 25, lines 61-65: Additionally and/or alternatively, the processes described in step 320B of FIG. 3, and steps 505-520 of FIG. 5 in regard to texture maps may be performed for one or more other maps including, but not limited to, displacement, color, specular, roughness, normal, thickness, and occlusion maps; col. 26, lines 13-17: As an illustrative, non-limiting example to further describe the joining of composite meshes and composite texture maps into 3D characters, reference is made to FIG. 12, which depicts a 3D character as formed from a composite mesh and a composite texture map); and
rendering a first image depicting on the 3D base mesh and the textured 3D feature mesh (col. 26, lines 55-56: At step 330, the 3D characters may be presented to an end user via a user interface device).
Metze discloses all the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above. However, Metze fails to disclose modifying the position of one or more portions of the 3D feature mesh.
Quinn discloses modifying the position of one or more portions of the 3D feature mesh (paragraph [0045]: deform or distort one or more vertices at their starting positions in a mesh to their determined ending positions or morph targets. A matching or close fit criteria may be used for identifying when the ending positions have been reached).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Metze’s to modify positions of mesh vertices as taught by Quinn, to generate a facial avatar resembling a user from real time image data.
Regarding claim 16, Metze as modified by Quinn discloses the system of claim 15, the operations further comprising:
determining an intersecting portion of the 3D base mesh that intersects with the 3D feature mesh; and removing the intersecting portion from the 3D base mesh (Metze’s col. 18 line 24-27: an intersection between a first extracted polygonal mesh piece and a second extracted polygonal mesh piece may be smoothed according to a first smoothing specifier; col. 4 line 49-50: each particular feature has been removed from the greater mesh construct).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Metze’s to modify positions of mesh vertices as taught by Quinn, to generate a facial avatar resembling a user from real time image data.
Regarding claim 18, Metze as modified by Quinn discloses the system of claim 15, the operations further comprising deforming one or more portions of the 3D base mesh based on the overlapping region, comprising blending the overlapping region based on aligning at least some of the one or more portions of the 3D base mesh and the 3D feature mesh (Quinn’s paragraph [0045]: deform or distort one or more vertices at their starting positions in a mesh to their determined ending positions or morph targets. A matching or close fit criteria may be used for identifying when the ending positions have been reached; Metze’s col. 2 line 50-51: the composite mesh may be blended with a reference model; col. 18 line 24-27: an intersection between a first extracted polygonal mesh piece and a second extracted polygonal mesh piece may be smoothed according to a first smoothing specifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Metze’s to modify positions of mesh vertices as taught by Quinn, to generate a facial avatar resembling a user from real time image data.
Regarding claim 19, Metze as modified by Quinn discloses the system of claim 15, wherein modifying the at least one of the texture or the normals of the first modified 3D feature mesh comprises blending the texture of the 3D base mesh with the texture of the 3D feature mesh based on the overlapping region (Metze’s col. 25 lines 1-3: At step 520, the intersections of the extracted texture map feature selections forming the composite texture map may be blended to create a more cohesive texture; col. 26, lines 13-17: joining of composite meshes and composite texture maps into 3D characters, reference is made to FIG. 12, which depicts a 3D character as formed from a composite mesh and a composite texture map; Quinn’s paragraph [0052]: automatically blend the avatar facial features and the additional stylistic elements into the 3D head model; paragraph [0063]: blending criteria may be limits on a distance change between adjacent vertices in any of the 3D dimensions. Texture and color are added as well to the remapped base avatar head mesh personalized for the user based on rules associated with head features in the defined art style of the avatar).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Metze’s to modify positions of mesh vertices as taught by Quinn, to generate a facial avatar resembling a user from real time image data.
Regarding claim 20, Metze as modified by Quinn discloses the system of claim 15, the operations further comprising:
determining an updated position of the 3D feature mesh; modifying the position of one or more portions of the 3D feature mesh to generate a second modified 3D feature mesh; and rendering a second image depicting the 3D base mesh and the second modified 3D feature mesh (Quinn’s paragraph [0045]: deform or distort one or more vertices at their starting positions in a mesh to their determined ending positions or morph targets. A matching or close fit criteria may be used for identifying when the ending positions have been reached; Metze’s col. 26, lines 55-56: At step 330, the 3D characters may be presented to an end user via a user interface device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Metze’s to modify positions of mesh vertices as taught by Quinn, to generate a facial avatar resembling a user from real time image data.
Claim 1 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 15 as method steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 15 applies to the method steps of claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 16 as method steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 16 applies to the method steps of claim 2.
Claim 4 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 18 as method steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 18 applies to the method steps of claim 4.
Claim 5 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 19 as method steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 19 applies to the method steps of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Metze as modified by Quinn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the feature of the character comprises at least one of: (i) a mouth of the character, (ii) an ear of the character, or (iii) a nose of the character (Metze’s fig. 10, 1008 “MOUTH”, 1010 “EARS”, 1006 “NOSE”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Metze’s to modify positions of mesh vertices as taught by Quinn, to generate a facial avatar resembling a user from real time image data.
Regarding claim 7, Metze as modified by Quinn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the 3D base mesh lacks at least one of: (i) a mouth of the character, (ii) an ear of the character, or (iii) a nose of the character (Quinn’s paragraph [0052]: the avatar characterization engine 120 begins with an otherwise featureless 3D head model having the selected avatar head shape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Metze’s to modify positions of mesh vertices as taught by Quinn, to generate a facial avatar resembling a user from real time image data.
Claim 8 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 20 as method steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 20 applies to the method steps of claim 8.
Claim 9 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 15 as medium steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 15 applies to the medium steps of claim 9.
Claim 10 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 16 as medium steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 16 applies to the medium steps of claim 10.
Claim 12 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 18 as medium steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 18 applies to the medium steps of claim 12.
Claim 13 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 19 as medium steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 19 applies to the medium steps of claim 13.
Claim 14 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 20 as medium steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 20 applies to the medium steps of claim 14.
Claim 3, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metze U.S. Patent 11328480 in view of Quinn U.S. Patent Application 20150123967, and further in view of Igarashi U.S. Patent 6549201, in view of Takahashi U.S. Patent Application 20210049826.
Regarding claim 17, Metze as modified by Quinn discloses all the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above. However, Metze as modified by Quinn fails to disclose extruding a rig geometry corresponding to an outline of the 3D feature mesh; generating a signed distance field (SDF) based on the extruded rig geometry and the 3D base mesh; and determining the intersecting portion based on the SDF.
Igarashi discloses extruding a rig geometry corresponding to an outline of the 3D feature mesh (col. 6 line 38-42: The user then rotates the model to bring the red surface line sideways (FIG. 3j) and draws a silhouette line to extrude the surface (FIG. 3k). This is basically a sweep operation that constructs the 3D shape by moving the closed surface line along the skeleton of the silhouette (FIGS. 3l-m)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Metze and Quinn’s to extrude a rig geometry as taught by Igarashi, to provide a sketching interface for 3D freeform design.
Metze as modified by Quinn and Igarashi discloses all the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above. However, Metze as modified by Quinn and Igarashi fails to disclose generating a signed distance field (SDF) based on the extruded rig geometry and the 3D base mesh; and determining the intersecting portion based on the SDF.
Takahashi discloses generating a signed distance field (SDF) based on the extruded rig geometry and the 3D base mesh (paragraph [0083]: The SDF is a known technology of representing a positional relationship of three-dimensional shapes, and a distance from a predetermined location included in the selected region 8 to the nearest polygon 4 is set as a signed distance field of the selected region 8); and
determining the intersecting portion based on the SDF (paragraph [0084]: the distance set in the selected region 8 is a value equal to or more than 0, the object 2 configured by the polygons 4 interferes with the selected region 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Metze, Quinn and Igarashi’s to generate SDF as taught by Takahashi, to determine the edges of an intersecting portion more smoothly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026, page 8, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9 and 15 under 103, have been fully considered and are moot upon a new ground(s) of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metze U.S. Patent 11328480 in view of Quinn U.S. Patent Application 20150123967, as outlined above. Please see detailed explanation as discussion for claim 15 rejection (Metze and Quinn combined) above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YI YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616