Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2023-127491, filed on August 4, 2023.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Niwata et al.
(US10522832B2), henceforth, Niwata.
Regarding Claim 1, Niwata teaches a positive electrode active material particle (Niwata, Column 30, line 39 and 51, “positive electrode active material” and “particle”), the positive electrode active material particle includes a magnesium-containing lithium composite oxide (Li0.97Co1Mg0.15O2, see Column 30, Line 49), wherein the positive electrode active material particle has a crystal structure of lamellar rock salt type (Formula 13 and Column 9 Line 16-18 teach that for a composition to be of lamellar rock salt type, “a” to “d” satisfy 0.9≤a≤1.1, 0≤b≤0.6, 0.1≤c≤0.2 and 0≤d≤0.1 for LiaCo(1-b)MgbO(2-c)Fd. Niwata then teaches the molar mixing ratio of lithium, cobalt, and magnesium for examples 1-15 was 1.01:0.985:0.015, which is within the bounds of Formula 13 meaning a rock-salt lamellar structure for the experimental examples 1-15 in Column 30 line 46) and a magnesium concentration in an internal portion of the positive electrode active material particle is higher than a magnesium concentration in a surface portion of the positive electrode active material particle (See Table 2, Increase/Decrease column for example 9 or 12).
Regarding Claim 2, Niwata teaches the positive electrode active material particle according to claim 1 wherein the magnesium concentration in the internal portion is from 0.5 mol % to 8 mol% (2.2 mol% Table 2, Example 12, Depth from surface to center proportion D=0.3, magnesium molar fraction R = 0.022) and the magnesium concentration in the surface portion is from 0 mol % to 5 mol% (2.1 mol% See Table 2, Example 12, Depth from surface to center proportion D=0.05, magnesium molar fraction R = 0.021).
Regarding Claim 3, Niwata teaches the positive electrode active material particle of claim 1, wherein a difference between the magnesium concentration in the internal portion and the magnesium concentration in the surface portion is 1.0 mol% or more (See Table 2, Example 9, magnesium molar fraction, R = 0.082 depth from surface proportion D=0.3 is more than 0.01 from magnesium molar fraction R = 0.07 at depth from surface proportion D=0.05).
Regarding Claim 4, Niwata teaches a positive electrode (test electrode 51, Fig. 13) comprising the positive electrode active material particle according to claim 1. (The positive electrode active material in Column 30 line 39 is the “foregoing positive electrode active material” referenced in Column 33 line 22 to 24 to fabricate test electrode 51)
Regarding Claim 6, Niwata teaches a lithium-ion battery (coin type lithium-ion secondary battery, Column 33, Line 12 and Fig. 13) comprising the positive electrode according to claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwata et al. (US10522832B2), in view of Sato et al (US20240387810A1), henceforth, Sato.
Regarding Claim 5, Niwata does not teach that the positive electrode of claim 4 further comprises carbon nanotubes.
Niwata does teach the positive electrode of claim 4 (test electrode 51 Fig 13) further comprises a positive electrode conductive agent called ketjen black (Column 33, Line 26).
Sato teaches a positive electrode (11 Figure 2) further comprising carbon nanotubes
((fibrous carbon nanotubes, see [0023] and [0039]-[0040]) the positive electrode may have a multilayer structure like the negative electrode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the positive electrode taught by Niwata by substituting the ketjen black taught by Niwata for fibrous carbon nanotubes as taught by Sato to make the effect of improving the cycle characteristics more conspicuous for the positive electrode (see [0039]). Further, Niwata teaches that changes and modifications may be made to the device (Column 39 Lines 5-12).
Conclusion
/PABLO JOSE ARIZA/Examiner, Art Unit 1752 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723