DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed 2/24/206 have been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending with claims 10-16 withdrawn as being non-elected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiu US 2019/0261525 (hereinafter Chiu).
Re. Cl. 1, Chiu discloses: An information handling system (Fig. 1) comprising: a housing (23, Fig. 1-2); a processor (26, Fig. 2) coupled in the housing and operable to execute instructions that process information (see Fig. 2 and Paragraph 0022); a memory (28, Fig. 2) coupled in the housing and interfaced with the processor (see Fig. 2 and Paragraph 0022), the memory operable to store the information and instructions (see Paragraph 0022); a peripheral display assembly (12, Fig. 1) having a display panel interfaced with the processor and operable to present the information as visual images (see Fig. 1-2 and Paragraph 0022); a peripheral display stand (18, 20, Fig. 1) having a display support (54, Fig. 5) coupled to the peripheral display assembly (see Fig. 1-2), a riser (20, Fig. 1) coupled to the display support at a front side of the riser and holding the display support in a raised position (see Fig. 1-2), and a base (18, Fig. 1-2) coupled to the riser at a bottom side of the riser (see Fig. 1-2); and a mount (22, Fig. 2) having first and second portions (44, Fig. 3-5) coupled to the housing in a spaced relationship (see Fig. 1-2) to form a channel that slides onto the riser over the top of the riser (see Fig. 5, 22 slides down onto the top of the riser 20 and then secured therein using 50) with an opening at a front side to slide at least partially past the display support (see Fig. 5, opening between 44s and 48).
Re. Cl. 17, Chiu discloses: A peripheral display (Fig. 1) comprising: a peripheral display assembly having a display panel (12, Fig. 1) operable to present information as visual images (Paragraph 0022); a peripheral display stand (18, 20, Fig. 1-2) having a display support (54, Fig. 5) coupled to the peripheral display assembly (see Fig. 1-5), a riser (20, Fig. 1-2) coupled at a front side to the display support and holding the display support in a raised position (see Fig. 1-5), and a base (18, Fig. 1-2) coupled to the riser at a bottom side of the riser (see Fig. 1-2); and a mount (22, Fig. 2) having first and second portions (44, Fig. 3-5) coupled to an information handling system housing (see Fig. 1-2, via 40) in a spaced relationship to form a channel that slides onto the riser over a top side of the riser (see Fig. 3-5, 44s are spaced and adjusted to accommodate 20 therein and is fit over the top of riser 20 as shown in Fig. 5), the mount having an opening at a front side (see Fig. 5, between 48 and 44s) to slide at least partially past the display support at the front side and to hold the information handling system at a rear side of the riser (see Fig. 2-5, the opening between 48 and 44s on 22 enables the mount 22 to be slid over top of the riser and past 54, enabling 50 to still function as desired).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu in view of Tseng US 2007/0247795 (hereinafter Tseng).
Re. Cls. 2 and 18, Chiu discloses a rail (see annotated figure 5) formed in the mount within the channel (see Fig. 5, the rail lies within the mount as shown since it is between 48 and 50 of mount 22); and a guide (see annotated figure 5) formed is formed in the riser exterior, the rail engaging the guide (see Fig. 5) but does not explicitly disclose that the guide slides vertically up and down the rail. Tseng discloses a similar peripheral display assembly (Fig. 1a) which has a display support (168, Fig. 1a) vertically movable relative to a riser (1). Re. Cls. 2 and 18, Tseng discloses a rail (19, Fig. 1a) and a guide (168, Fig. 1a) wherein the guide slide slides vertically up and down the rail (see Fig. 1c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Chiu device to have its guide slide vertically up and down the rail as disclosed by Tseng with reasonable expectation of success since Tseng states that such a modification enables for vertical movement of the object by applying an external force on the object (Abstract, Lines 14-18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chou US 11187254, Sung US 10492316, Chiu US 2019/0261525, Quijano US 2014/0321039, Mabon US 2013/0058030, Chen US 8191837, Tsai US 8172186, Lai US 2010/0141864, Chung US 7527228, Cheng US 6909598, and Shen US 6805327 disclose other known computer supports which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration..
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632