DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 1020220014278, filed on Feb. 3rd 2022.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 1020220020684, filed on Feb. 17, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 11-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichihara (US 6275699 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Ichihara teaches,
An electronic device, comprising:
a digitally compensated crystal oscillator (DCXO) that generates a reference clock for generating a signal having a reference frequency; (Figure 2, labels 5, Col. 1, lines 33-43 (reference oscillator control circuit and reference oscillator), Col. 1, lines 44-59 – using a frequency of a reference oscillator)
a transceiver that supports auto frequency control (AFC) performed to control the signal to have a frequency of designated range; (Figure 3, label S6, col. 4, lines 62-65 – use of AFC by a transceiver)
memory storing one or more computer programs; and (Figure 2, label 13)
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the DCXO, the transceiver, and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: (Figure 2, label 13 – Memory. Figure 2, label 3 – Demodulator which acts as a processor. Figure 2, label 1 – receiver antenna)
control the transceiver to search for a base station included in a network to which the electronic device is to be connected by changing the frequency of the signal within the designated range, enter, based on a failure of the search for the base station, a mode for changing the designated range, change a size of the designated range, and search for the base station again based on a signal having a frequency of the changed range. (Figure 3, label S3 - base station search. Figure 3, label S4, S5 – Changing frequency of signal based on a failure to connect to the base station. Arrow from labels S5 to S3 – restarting search for the base station based on the new frequency.)
Regarding claim 2, Ichihara teaches,
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the size of the changed range varies depending on a number of times the mode is entered. (Col. 4, lines 55-61 – “On the contrary, if the base station could not be grasped even in the range (3), the offset signal corresponding to 2x ∆f is now supplied in step S5.”)
Regarding claim 3, Ichihara teaches,
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to increase the size of the designated range as the number of times the mode is entered increases. (Col. 4, lines 45-61 – The number of times the mode is entered directly increases the size of the range of the frequency).
Regarding claim 5, Ichihara teaches,
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to enter the mode in case that the search for the base station has failed through all wireless communications supported by the electronic device. (Figure 3, labels S3, S4, S5, Col. 4, lines 45-61 – If the search for a base station fails there is a mode to shift the frequency.)
Regarding claim 8, Ichihara teaches,
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to increase the designated range based on the search for the base station in a network other than the network or failure to search for the base station in the network. (Figure 3, label S3 - base station search. Figure 3, label S4, S5 – increasing frequency of signal based on a failure to connect to the base station. Arrow from labels S5 to S3 – restarting search for the base station based on the new frequency.)
Claim 11 is rejected as a method of claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected as a method of claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected as a method of claim 3.
Claim 15 is rejected as a method of claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, Ichihara teaches,
The method of claim 11, wherein the frequency of the signal is generated by a digitally compensated crystal oscillator (DCXO) via a reference clock. (Figure 2, labels 5, 6 (reference oscillator control circuit and reference oscillator), Col. 1, lines 44-59 – using a frequency of a reference oscillator)
Regarding claim 17, Ichihara teaches,
The method of claim 16, wherein the DCXO generate a reference clock based on the control of a communication processor. (Figure 2, labels 5, 6, 10 – The switch controls the reference oscillator control circuit (5) which feeds into the reference oscillator (6)).
Regarding claim 18, Ichihara teaches,
The method of claim 17, wherein the reference clock generated by the DCXO is used by the transceiver to generate a signal with a reference frequency corresponding to the reference clock. (Col. 2, lines 62—Col. 3, line 5 “frequency offset generating means that changes the control signal generated by the reference oscillator control means according to a search result of the base station search means for offsetting the transmit frequency of the reference signal oscillator.
Also, in the case where the identifying signal indicative of the base station can be correctly detected by the base station search means, the base station search means stops the frequency offset generating means from offsetting the transmit frequency of the reference signal oscillator.”)
Regarding claim 19, Ichihara teaches,
One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations, the operations comprising:
controlling, by the electronic device, a transceiver, which supports auto frequency control (AFC) performed to change a frequency of a signal within a designated range, to search for a base station included in a network to which an electronic device is to be connected by having the transceiver change the frequency of the signal within the designated range, in order to search for the base station included in the network to which the electronic device is to be connected; (Figure 3, label S6, col. 4, lines 62-65 – use of AFC by a transceiver. Figure 3, label S4, S5 – Changing frequency of signal based on a failure to connect to the base station.)
entering, by the electronic device, based on a failure of the search for the base station, a mode for changing the designated range; (Arrow from labels S5 to S3 – restarting search for the base station based on the new frequency.)
changing, by the electronic device, a size of the designated range; and (Figure 3, label S3 - base station search. Figure 3, label S4, S5 – Changing frequency of signal based on a failure to connect to the base station. Col. 4, lines 45-61 – The number of times the mode is entered directly increases the size of the range of the frequency).
searching, by the electronic device, for the base station again based on a signal having a frequency of the changed range. (Figure 3, label S3 - base station search. Figure 3, label S4, S5 – Changing frequency of signal based on a failure to connect to the base station. Arrow from labels S5 to S3 – restarting search for the base station based on the new frequency.)
Regarding claim 20, Ichihara teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 19, wherein the changing the size of the designated range comprises changing the size of the designated range differently depending on a number of times the mode is entered. (Col. 4, lines 55-61 – “On the contrary, if the base station could not be grasped even in the range (3), the offset signal corresponding to 2x ∆f is now supplied in step S5.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichihara in view of Wu et al. (WO 2021108193 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ichihara fails to teach,
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to configure the size of the changed range to a maximum value based on the number of times the mode is entered being greater than or equal to a designated value.
Wu teaches,
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to configure the size of the changed range to a maximum value based on the number of times the mode is entered being greater than or equal to a designated value. (paragraph 0080 – The scanning bandwidth is increased depending on a Rx ADC clock rate. Figure 7, label 714, Paragraphs 0080-0083 – Maximizing the scanning bandwidth based on a previous increase in the scanning bandwidth and to avoid camping on the cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ichihara to incorporate the maximum value based on number of times in the mode teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to avoid camping on a cell (Wu paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 6, Ichihara fails to teach,
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the memory further stores historical data including the designated range used when successful accessing the network stored in the memory, and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
select the designated range included in the historical data based on a number of times the mode is entered, and search for the base station based on the signal having the frequency in the selected designated range.
Wu teaches,
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the memory further stores historical data including the designated range used when successful accessing the network stored in the memory, and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
select the designated range included in the historical data based on a number of times the mode is entered, and search for the base station based on the signal having the frequency in the selected designated range. (paragraph 0075 – Altering the range of search based on the historical searching data and including the frequency used and changing from a first to a second bandwidth.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ichihara to incorporate the maximum value based on number of times in the mode teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to avoid camping on a cell (Wu paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 7, Ichihara fails to teach,
The electronic device of claim 6, wherein as the number of times the mode is entered increases, the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to search for the base station based on the signal having the frequency in the designated range that has been used relatively earlier.
Wu teaches,
The electronic device of claim 6, wherein as the number of times the mode is entered increases, the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to search for the base station based on the signal having the frequency in the designated range that has been used relatively earlier. (paragraph 0075-0082 – The UE uses a bandwidth that is used previously while the number of times the mode is gone into increases).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ichihara to incorporate the maximum value based on number of times in the mode teachings of Wu. The purpose of doing so is to avoid camping on a cell (Wu paragraph 0006).
Claim 14 is rejected as a method of claim 4.
Claims 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichihara in view of Jung et al. (US 20190246340 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Ichihara fails to teach,
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
identify that another base station of another network has been searched in a process of searching for the base station before entering the mode, and search for the base station again based on the signal having the frequency in the changed range in a state in which communication is performed by being connected to the other searched base station.
Jung teaches,
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
identify that another base station of another network has been searched in a process of searching for the base station before entering the mode, and search for the base station again based on the signal having the frequency in the changed range in a state in which communication is performed by being connected to the other searched base station. (paragraphs 0136, 0137 - The terminal receives call information data from base stations. This information, which implies the terminal being connected to the base station, is then used to determine how to setup the scan beams for searching for additional base station which are then performed and are of a different pattern than the setup information scanning.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ichihara to incorporate the searching of a base station before entering the mode and searching again teachings of Jung. The purpose of doing so is to perform frequency scanning efficiently (Jung, paragraph 0015, 0016).
Regarding claim 10, Ichihara fails to teach,
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein based on a reception of information related to a frequency band to be used for search of the base station from the network, the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to search for the base station based on the signal having the frequency band included in the information wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to identify whether a quality of the signal broadcast by the base station satisfies a designated condition based on the failure to search for the base station, and based on the quality of the signal broadcasted by the base station satisfying the designated condition, the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to search for the base station again based on the signal having a bandwidth larger than a range of the frequency band used for search of the base station.
Jung teaches,
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein based on a reception of information related to a frequency band to be used for search of the base station from the network, (paragraph 0091 & Figure 10, labels 1001, 1003, paragraphs 0158-0161 – The terminal receives a first beam set to perform frequency scanning) the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to search for the base station based on the signal having the frequency band included in the information (paragraph 0091 & Figure 10, labels 1001, 1003, paragraphs 0158-0161– The terminal receives a first beam set to perform frequency scanning), wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to identify whether a quality of the signal broadcast by the base station satisfies a designated condition based on the failure to search for the base station, (figure 10, label 1005, 1007, paragraphs 0161-0163 – A failure to identify a base station in the first beam set results in a second beam set being used. The second beam set may contain more data beams and be a larger beam set than the first.) and based on the quality of the signal broadcasted by the base station satisfying the designated condition, the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to search for the base station again based on the signal having a bandwidth larger than a range of the frequency band used for search of the base station. (paragraph 0094 & figure 10, labels 1005, 1007, paragraph 0161-0163 – The first beam set used to search may be a partial list of the second beam set and therefore narrower in scope and covering less area than the second beam set. The second beam set may be used if no cell is found in the initial search using the first beam set.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ichihara to incorporate the searching of a base station before entering the mode and searching again teachings of Jung. The purpose of doing so is to perform frequency scanning efficiently (Jung, paragraph 0015, 0016).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Tanno et al. (US 20090185541 A1) – paragraphs 0036, 0049 – Base station transmits signal for a mobile station to use for searching various frequency bands.
/RYAN ALEXANDER CRIGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472