DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on 03/24/2026, Claims 2-3 have been cancelled, and Claims 1 and 4-13 are pending. In response to the claim amendments, the previous claim objections of claims 1 and 10 have been obviated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Reis and Kostrzewski fails to disclose “the motor box and the transmission bod are connected to each other by a bayonet connection”, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues on Page 6 that since Reis teaches a square shaped motor box, then the motor box of Ries can not include a bayonet connection, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. A circular bayonet connection can be disposed between two square plates such that when first attempting to connect the two square plates the square plates would be misaligned and then when the bayonet connection is fully secured, the square plates would be circumferentially aligned with one another. A bayonet connection is well known.
Furthermore, in response to applicant's argument that a bayonet connector cannot be used to modify the square plate box shape of Ries, the Examiner notes that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Reis teaches a motor box and a transmission box which are connected together, but is silent on the means of connection. Kostrzewski teaches different connection mechanisms for connecting two medical devices to each other, one of those connections being a bayonet connection, as claimed.
For the reasons stated above, the Examiner is maintaining the rejection of Claim 1 in light of Reis (US PGPub 2010/0175701) in view of Kostrzewski (US PGPub 2016/0151120).
As to Applicant’s arguments directed to the dependent claims as being patentable due to their dependency to Claim 1, the rejection of Claim1 is being maintained in light of the teachings of Reis (US PGPub 2010/0175701) in view of Kostrzewski (US PGPub 2016/0151120). Applicant has not separately argued the patentability of the dependent claims. Thus, the dependent claims are also being rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a transmission mechanism” in claims 1-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reis (US PGPub 2010/0175701) in view of Kostrzewski (US PGPub 2016/0151120).
Regarding Claim 1, Reis teaches a robotic surgical assembly (abstract) comprising:
at least one micro-manipulator (16; Figure 2; Paragraph 0047 and Paragraph 0074);
a motor box (110), attached to the micro-manipulator (16; Figure 10A; Paragraph 0074) and
a medical instrument (102) comprising a shaft (106; Figure 3B, 8D, 9A, 10A; Paragraph 0049) extending along an axis of longitudinal development, a transmission box (104) at one end of the shaft (106; Figure 3B; Paragraph 0048), and a jointed device at the other end of the shaft (Paragraph 0049, 0050 and 0056; as seen in Figure 11C);
wherein
said at least one micro-manipulator (16) comprises a motorized rotary joint for rotating the medical instrument (102) around a longitudinal axis of rotation that coincides with the axis of longitudinal development of the shaft (106; the rotation is marked as 176 in Figure 9B; Paragraph 0073 states the entire RCM 16 can be rotated with tools 102); and
wherein said motor box (110) contains a drive system (112/130) equipped for driving the jointed device (102; Paragraph 0051, 0056), and said transmission box (104) contains a transmission mechanism to transmit motor motion to the jointed device (Paragraph 0048, 0050, 0056, 0069, 0070; Figure 8A, 8C, and 8D);
said medical instruments (102) comprises tendons (160; Figure 8D) extending through the mechanical transmission box (105) and said shaft (106; Paragraph 0070; Figure 8D), and said jointed device comprises a plurality of tendon-actuated rotational joints (Paragraph 0050 and 0070; best seen in Figure 11C); and
wherein the motor box (110) and the transmission box (104) are connected to each other (Figure 3B, 9A, 11C; Paragraph 0051, 0054, and 0056).
Reis is silent on how the motor box and the transmission box are physically attached to one another and thus fails to disclose wherein the motor box and the transmission box are connected to each other via a bayonet connection.
Kostrzewski teaches a system for securing an instrument to a medical robot (Paragraph 0106; Figure 13), in which the instrument box (1350; which would house the transmission box) and the robotic arm (which would house the motor box) are connected to each other via a bayonet connection (1356 and 1354; Paragraph 0106; Figure 13).
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the connection mechanism between the motor box and the transmission of taught by Reis with the bayonet locking system as taught by Kostrzewski since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art; In this case, the bayonet locking system taught by Kostrzewski would be sufficient to provide attach the motor box and the transmission box together for the advantage of being a quick release system but also a strong physical connection.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 1, wherein Kostrzewski teaches a system for securing an instrument to a medical robot (Paragraph 0106; Figure 13), in which the instrument box (1350; which would house the transmission box) and the robotic arm (which would house the motor box) are connected to each other bayonet connection (1356 and 1354; Paragraph 0106; Figure 13), thus the transmission bod (1350) comprises two flaps (1356) which extend radially outward to engage with the slots (1354a/b) of the motor bod (1352).
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the connection mechanism between the motor box and the transmission of taught by Reis with the bayonet locking system as taught by Kostrzewski since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art; In this case, the bayonet locking system taught by Kostrzewski would be sufficient to provide attach the motor box and the transmission box together for the advantage of being a quick release system but also a strong physical connection.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 1, wherein Reis teaches comprising a sterile barrier (137), between the motor box (110) and the transmission box (104; see Figure 6D and Figure 9A; Paragraph 0065).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 1, wherein Reis teaches the medical instrument (102) is rigidly coupled to the micro-manipulator (16) through said motorized rotary joint (176; Figure 9B; Paragraph 0073; see also Figures 10D-10E which shows rotary movement 172 via joint formed my element 188; Paragraph 0078).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 1, wherein Reis teaches actuation pistons (130) extend out of the motor box (110) to actuate the transmission mechanism of the transmission box (104; as best seen in Figure 10A at the top plate of motor box 110).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 8, wherein Reis teaches the actuation pistons move along a linear direction (170; Figure 10B), the linear direction (170) being parallel to the axis of longitudinal development of the shaft of the medical instrument (as best seen in Figures 10B-10C).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 1, wherein Reis teaches said at least one micro-manipulator (16) provides multiple motorized degrees of freedom of movement to the medical instrument (102) (Figure 1 and Figure 11C).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 1, wherein Reis teaches said at least one micro-manipulator (16) provides multiple motorized degrees of freedom of movement to the shaft (106) of the medical instrument (Figure 1 and 11C).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 1, wherein Reis teaches the jointed device of the medical instrument (102) has two degrees of freedom of rotation orthogonal to each other to form a jointed wrist (Figure 11C).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reis (US PGPub 2010/0175701) and Kostrzewski (US PGPub 2016/0151120) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nowlin (US Patent 8,004,229)
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 1, but fails to disclose comprising a further micro-manipulator and a further medical instrument, wherein both said micro-manipulator and said further micro-manipulator are attached to a same support member of a positioning arm.
Nowlin teaches a robotic surgical assembly (abstract) comprising a micro-manipulator (304) and a medical instrument (302) attached to the micro-manipulator (304) (Figure 1C), the system further comprising a further/second micro-manipulator (304) and a further/second medical instrument (302; Figure 1C; Column 9, Lines 27-35), wherein both said micro-manipulator (304) and said further micro-manipulator (304) are attached to a same support member (302; Figure 1C) of a positioning arm (arm of a cart as disclosed in Column 9, Lines 9-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to increase the number of micro-manipulators and associated medical instruments for the advantage of using multiple tools to manipulate tissue in the same work area.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the robotic surgical assembly of claim 10, wherein Nowlin teaches the medical instrument (308) and the further medical instrument (308) share a common work volume (see Figure 1C).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED G GABR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771