DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The 112(f) Claim Interpretation of claim 1 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 7/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive as the invention of Lokhorst as modified by Karabacak does not have a single optic fiber arranging sensors in two dimensions. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of White (US 20150114130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 12-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lokhorst et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20080132808) in view of Karabacak et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20190390431) in view of White et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20150114130), the combination of which is hereafter referred to as “LKW”.
As to claim 1, Lokhorst teaches an optical sensor device (Abstract “a bed occupant monitoring system comprising a pressure sensitive member … configured to provide a reflected wave energy pressure signal by reflecting incident wave energy”) comprising:
a plurality of optical sensor chips that have one or a plurality of changers to change a characteristic of an input optical signal (Figure 8, paragraph 0053 “ input fibre 15 (see FIG. 2), which provides incident wave energy”) depending on a state of a specimen (Figure 8, paragraph 0053 “pressure sensor 5 is configured to reflect incident wave energy received from interface electronics 2 with an intensity which varies with a pressure applied to pressure sensor 5”), and that output an optical signal with a changed characteristic (Figure 8, paragraph 0053 “an output fibre 14 (see FIG. 2), which transmits reflected wave energy to interface electronics 2”);
optical fibers that connect [each sensor] through which an optical signal propagates (Figures 2, 6), and via which the optical signal is input to and output from the plurality of optical sensor chips (Figure 8, paragraph 0053 “Each pressure sensor is coupled to interface electronics 2 by an input fibre 15 (see FIG. 2), which provides incident wave energy, and an output fibre 14 (see FIG. 2), which transmits reflected wave energy to interface electronics 2.”); and
a sheet to which the plurality of optical sensor chips are arranged (Figure 6, paragraph 0067 “pressure sensors 5 sandwiched between two layers 9, 10 of a compressible material. The compressible material may comprise foam, and preferably comprises a soft polyurethane foam”).
Lokhorst does not teach a single optical fiber that connects among the plurality of optical sensor chips through which an optical signal propagates, and via which the optical signal is input to and output from the plurality of optical sensor chips. However, it is known in the art as taught by Karabacak. Karabacak teaches an optic fiber monitoring system (Figure 2, paragraph 0033 “The optic sensor chain 10 comprising a series of intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n that are mutually spaced with respect to each other in a longitudinal direction of the optic sensor chain 10 and at least one optic fiber 14 to optically connect the plurality of intrinsic fiber optic sensors to the interrogator 20.”) including a single optical fiber that connects among the plurality of optical sensor chips through which an optical signal propagates, and via which the optical signal is input to and output from the plurality of optical sensor chips (paragraph 0034 “The interrogator 20 is configured to issue an optic interrogation signal and the intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n are configured to respond to said optic interrogation signal with an optic measurement signal that is indicative for at least one physical parameter sensed by the intrinsic fiber optic sensors.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a single optical fiber that connects among the plurality of optical sensor chips through which an optical signal propagates, and via which the optical signal is input to and output from the plurality of optical sensor chips, in order to create a more cost-effective solution to monitoring a large area, by reducing the number of components (fibers) necessary.
Lokhorst as modified by Karabacak above does not teach the plurality of optical sensor chips are arranged in a two-dimensional array (Lokhorst Figure 5 shows a line of sensors connected by a fiber bundle, and replacing the multiple fibers with the single fiber of Karabacak would not change the linear placement). However, it is known in the art as taught by White. White teaches an optic fiber monitoring system (Figure 2, Abstract “A pressure sensing pad includes a flexible planar layer having a two-dimensional sensing area, and an optical fiber embedded in the plane of the flexible planar layer traversing the two-dimensional sensing area in a particular configuration.”) including the plurality of optical sensor chips are arranged in a two-dimensional array (Figure 2, paragraph 0027 “The depicted bold, thicker portions of the fiber correspond to example sensing regions” and applying this teaching of arranging sensing regions across the sheet to the invention of Lokhorst as modified by Karabacak would read on the claimed limitation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the plurality of optical sensor chips are arranged in a two-dimensional array, in order to effectively cover the monitoring area with a single sensor chain.
As to claim 2, LKW teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Lokhorst teaches the sheet has a shape which is deformable (Figure 1, paragraph 0049 “Monitoring system 7 includes a pressure sensitive member 1” which is a large, flat, thin panel and paragraph 0067 “pressure sensors 5 sandwiched between two layers 9, 10 of a compressible material. The compressible material may comprise foam, and preferably comprises a soft polyurethane foam”).
As to claim 3, LKW teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim1, in addition Karabacak teaches the plurality of optical sensor chips are continuous via the optical fiber (Figure 2A, fiber optic sensors 12, 12a… 12n are in series along fiber 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the plurality of optical sensor chips are continuous via the optical fiber, in order to lower the cost by reducing the number of fibers required (i.e. compare to Lokhorst Figure 6).
As to claim 4, LKW teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of the plurality of optical sensor chips include: a first optical sensor chip to input and output an optical signal to and from an optical transceiver; and a second optical sensor chip to change a characteristic of an optical signal output from the optical sensor chip at a preceding stage and to output an optical signal with a changed characteristic to the optical sensor chip at a preceding stage by return, and the first optical sensor chip changes a characteristic of an optical signal from the optical transceiver, outputs an optical signal with a changed characteristic to the optical sensor chip at a subsequent stage, and outputs an optical signal having propagated through the plurality of optical sensor chips continuous between the first optical sensor chip and the second optical sensor chip to the optical transceiver.
However, it is known in the art as taught by Karabacak. Karabacak teaches the plurality of optical sensor chips include:
a second optical sensor chip (Figure 2A, element 12a) to change a characteristic of an optical signal output from the optical sensor chip at a preceding stage and to output an optical signal with a changed characteristic to the optical sensor chip at a preceding stage by return (Figure 2A, paragraph 0034 “the intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n are configured to respond to said optic interrogation signal with an optic measurement signal that is indicative for at least one physical parameter sensed by the intrinsic fiber optic sensors”, where each sensor inputs the interrogation signal as well as all measurement signals from the other sensors, and outputs its own measurement signal plus all the other measurement signals), and
a first optical sensor chip (Figure 2A, element 12b) to input and output an optical signal to and from an optical transceiver (paragraph 0034 “the intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n are configured to respond to said optic interrogation signal with an optic measurement signal that is indicative for at least one physical parameter sensed by the intrinsic fiber optic sensors”); and
the first optical sensor chip (Figure 2A, element 12b)
changes a characteristic of an optical signal from the optical transceiver (paragraph 0035 “An intrinsic fiber optic sensor modifies the interrogation signal in accordance with the sensed physical parameter and the modified interrogation signal is the measurement signal.”),
outputs an optical signal with a changed characteristic to the optical sensor chip at a subsequent stage (paragraph 0034 “the intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n are configured to respond to said optic interrogation signal with an optic measurement signal that is indicative for at least one physical parameter sensed by the intrinsic fiber optic sensors”), and
outputs an optical signal having propagated through the plurality of optical sensor chips continuous between the first optical sensor chip and the second optical sensor chip to the optical transceiver (paragraph 0034 “The at least one optic fiber 14 serves to optically connect the plurality of intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n to the interrogator 20 to allow the interrogator to transmit its optic interrogation signal to the intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n and to receive the optic measurement signals of the intrinsic fiber optic sensors in response.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the plurality of optical sensor chips include: a first optical sensor chip to input and output an optical signal to and from an optical transceiver; and a second optical sensor chip to change a characteristic of an optical signal output from the optical sensor chip at a preceding stage and to output an optical signal with a changed characteristic to the optical sensor chip at a preceding stage by return, and the first optical sensor chip changes a characteristic of an optical signal from the optical transceiver, outputs an optical signal with a changed characteristic to the optical sensor chip at a subsequent stage, and outputs an optical signal having propagated through the plurality of optical sensor chips continuous between the first optical sensor chip and the second optical sensor chip to the optical transceiver, in order to allow a series of sensors to operate through the same fiber optic, reducing the need for multiple fibers.
As to claim 6, LKW teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Karabacak teaches the plurality of optical sensor chips change a characteristic of an input optical signal depending on a plurality of types of states of the specimen (paragraph 0035 “An intrinsic fiber optic sensor may comprise a plurality of optic sensor elements that are responsive to mutually different physical parameters, e.g. a pressure and a temperature.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the plurality of optical sensor chips change a characteristic of an input optical signal depending on a plurality of types of states of the specimen, in order to simultaneously measure multiple parameters with the same sensor.
As to claim 7, LKW teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 4, in addition Karabacak teaches the second optical sensor chip includes a reflector to reflect an optical signal with a changed characteristic to the optical sensor chip at a preceding stage (paragraph 0060 “the wavelengths of the reflected portions of the optic signal in fiber 14, which are reflected respectively by the first and second intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12a and 12b, will likewise change” indicating that every sensor reflects part of the interrogation pulse). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the second optical sensor chip includes a reflector to reflect an optical signal with a changed characteristic to the optical sensor chip at a preceding stage, in order to have each sensor return a unique pulse.
As to claim 12, Lokhorst teaches a measurement system comprising:
an optical transceiver to transmit an optical signal to the optical sensor chip in the optical sensor device (Figure 2, paragraph 0058 “LEDs 30”) and to receive an optical signal propagated through the plurality of optical sensor chips provided in the optical sensor device (Figure 2, paragraph 0058 “photodetector 33”); and
a received signal analyzer to measure a state of the specimen by analyzing a signal received by the optical transceiver (Figure 2, paragraph 0063 “The signal processing means may comprise microprocessor 32, a digital signal processor, and/or noise reduction circuitry.”).
Lokhorst in view of Karabacak in view of White teaches the optical sensor device according to claim 1 (above).
As to claim 13, LKW teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 12, in addition Karabacak teaches a modulated signal generator to generate a modulated signal used to measure a state of the specimen (paragraph 0036 “The optic interrogation signal may include a wavelength sweep through respective wavelength ranges associated with the various intrinsic fiber optic sensors arranged in the optic sensor chain 10.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a modulated signal generator to generate a modulated signal used to measure a state of the specimen, in order to more efficiently generate a response from all sensors.
As to claim 14, LKW teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 12, in addition Karabacak teaches the received signal analyzer specifies each of positions of the plurality of optical sensor chips using a signal received by the optical transceiver, and measures a state of the specimen at each of the positions of the optical sensor chips (paragraph 0037 “ the intrinsic fiber sensors have mutually exclusive reflection wavelengths which are strain-dependent such that the local strain at each location of intrinsic fiber sensor is individually recorded” where the received wavelength is correlated to a location, and analysis of that signal is indicative of the parameter at that location). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the received signal analyzer specifies each of positions of the plurality of optical sensor chips using a signal received by the optical transceiver, and measures a state of the specimen at each of the positions of the optical sensor chips, in order to more easily correlate a signal to a location (i.e. without the need for lookup tables).
As to claim 16, Lokhorst in view of Karabacak in view of White teach the optical sensor device according to claim 1 (above), in addition Lokhorst a measurement method to measure a state of the specimen using the optical sensor device according to claim 1, the measurement method comprising:
transmitting an optical signal to the optical sensor chip in the optical sensor device (Figure 8, paragraph 0053 “Each pressure sensor is coupled to interface electronics 2 by an input fibre 15 (see FIG. 2), which provides incident wave energy);
receiving an optical signal propagated through the [optical sensor chip] provided in the optical sensor device (Figure 8, paragraph 0053 “Each pressure sensor is coupled to interface electronics 2 by … an output fibre 14 (see FIG. 2), which transmits reflected wave energy to interface electronics 2.”); and
measuring a state of the specimen by analyzing a signal received, by a received signal analyzer (Figures 1 and 4, paragraph 0063 “Interface electronics 2 may be configured to generate an alarm signal if the pressure signals remain below a heart beat threshold for a predetermined period of time selected according to an expected heart beat frequency, or if the pressure signals remain constant for a predetermined period of time. Further signal processing can optionally be performed by signal processing means in interface electronics 2 to measure the precise rate of respiration and/or the rate of heart beat from the signal shown in FIG. 4.”).
Lokhorst does not teach transmitting an optical signal by an optical transceiver, or receiving an optical signal by the optical transceiver. However, it is known in the art as taught by Karabacak. Karabacak teaches transmitting an optical signal by an optical transceiver, and receiving an optical signal by the optical transceiver (Figure 2A, paragraph 0034 “The at least one optic fiber 14 serves to optically connect the plurality of intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n to the interrogator 20 to allow the interrogator to transmit its optic interrogation signal to the intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n and to receive the optic measurement signals of the intrinsic fiber optic sensors in response.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to be transmitting an optical signal by an optical transceiver, and receiving an optical signal by the optical transceiver, in order to reduce the number of required system components.
Lokhorst does not teach a single optical signal propagated through the plurality of optical sensor chips provided in the optical sensor device. However, it is known in the art as taught by Karabacak. Karabacak teaches a single optical signal propagated through the plurality of optical sensor chips provided in the optical sensor device (Figure 2A, paragraph 0034 “The at least one optic fiber 14 serves to optically connect the plurality of intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n to the interrogator 20 to allow the interrogator to transmit its optic interrogation signal to the intrinsic fiber optic sensors 12, 12a, 12b, 12c, . . . , 12n and to receive the optic measurement signals of the intrinsic fiber optic sensors in response.”). it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a single optical signal propagated through the plurality of optical sensor chips provided in the optical sensor device, in order to allow a series of sensors to operate through the same fiber optic, reducing the need for multiple fibers.
Claims 5, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LKW, and further in view of Schriek et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20210401291).
As to claim 5, LKW teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of the optical sensor chip includes: a waveguide through which an optical signal propagates; a spot-size converter to convert a spot size of an optical signal; and one or a plurality of changers to change at least one of an intensity characteristic, a phase characteristic, or a frequency characteristic of an optical signal depending on a state of the specimen.
However, it is known in the art as taught by Schriek. Schriek teaches the optical sensor chip includes:
a waveguide through which an optical signal propagates (Figure 4, paragraph 0165 “input optical waveguide 6a” and arms 12a-b also propagate the light);
one or a plurality of changers to change at least one of an intensity characteristic, a phase characteristic, or a frequency characteristic of an optical signal depending on a state of the specimen (paragraph 0165 “a temperature and/or pressure wave emitted from the substance to be analysed predominantly reaches the measuring arm 12a of the interferometer and there modifies the refractive index of the optical waveguide”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the optical sensor chip includes: a waveguide through which an optical signal propagates; and one or a plurality of changers to change at least one of an intensity characteristic, a phase characteristic, or a frequency characteristic of an optical signal depending on a state of the specimen, in order to improve the quality of the measurement.
Schriek does not explicitly teach a spot-size converter to convert a spot size of an optical signal. However, Schriek teaches a beam splitter (Figure 4, paragraph 0165 “beam splitter 6c”) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use mirrors, lenses, beam splitters and other elements to manipulate a light beam in a desired manner, and the selection of any of these known equivalents to alter the light distribution in the fiber (see applicant’s paragraph 0025) would be an obvious matter of design choice within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.06(II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a spot-size converter to convert a spot size of an optical signal, in order to shape and direct the light in a desired manner.
As to claim 8, LKW in view of Schriek teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 5, in addition Schriek teaches the plurality of changers change a characteristic of an input optical signal depending on different states of the specimen (paragraph 0165 “a temperature and/or pressure wave emitted from the substance to be analysed predominantly reaches the measuring arm 12a of the interferometer and there modifies the refractive index of the optical waveguide”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the plurality of changers change a characteristic of an input optical signal depending on different states of the specimen, in order to simultaneously measure multiple parameters with the same sensor.
As to claim 9, LKW in view of Schriek teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 5, with the exception of the spot-size converter is a spot size converter or a grating coupler including a waveguide. However, Schriek teaches a beam splitter (Figure 4, paragraph 0165 “beam splitter 6c”) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use mirrors, lenses, gratings, beam splitters and other elements to manipulate a light beam in a desired manner, and the selection of any of these known equivalents to alter the light distribution in the fiber (see applicant’s paragraph 0025) would be an obvious matter of design choice within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.06(II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the spot-size converter is a spot size converter or a grating coupler including a waveguide, in order to shape and direct the light in a desired manner.
As to claim 10, LKW in view of Schriek teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 5, in addition Schriek teaches each of the changers is a ring resonator, a Mach-Zehnder interferometer, a combination of the ring resonator and the Mach-Zehnder interferometer, or an optical element to output a part of an optical signal propagating through the waveguide to outside and to input reflected light obtained by reflecting the light output to the outside (Figure 5, paragraph 0169 “optical waveguide resonance ring 13”, also paragraph 0097 “Such a resonance ring can also be integrated into one arm, preferably the measuring arm, of a Mach-Zehnder interferometer.”). it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have each of the changers is a ring resonator, a Mach-Zehnder interferometer, a combination of the ring resonator and the Mach-Zehnder interferometer, or an optical element to output a part of an optical signal propagating through the waveguide to outside and to input reflected light obtained by reflecting the light output to the outside, in order to sense temperature and pressure with higher sensitivity.
As to claim 11, LKW in view of Schriek teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 5, in addition Schriek teaches a member formed of a material different from a material of the waveguide is stacked on the waveguide (Figure 1, paragraph 0159 “the measuring body 1 can be provided with a coating 22”), and each of the changers changes a characteristic of an input optical signal depending on a material of the member stacked on the waveguide (paragraph 0159 “The material of the coating 22 should be designed in such a way that it transmits pressure and thermal waves well.” indicating that material choice affects the waves that the waveguide encounters, which affects the signal generated). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a member formed of a material different from a material of the waveguide is stacked on the waveguide, and each of the changers changes a characteristic of an input optical signal depending on a material of the member stacked on the waveguide, in order to affect mechanical and/or thermal coupling in a desired manner.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LKW, and further in view of Shouldice et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20160151603).
As to claim 15, LKW teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim13, in addition Lokhorst teaches a wireless communication device to perform wireless communication with an external device (paragraph 0050 “wireless connections”) including a display and a controller (Figure 1, paragraph 0050 “Indicator device 3 may comprise an visible or audible alarm, a data display system, an attendant call system, a data logging system, or the like.”),
wherein the wireless communication device causes the display to display measurement result information measured by the received signal analyzer by transmitting the measurement result information to the external device (paragraph 0050 “data display device”).
LKW does not teach the controller generates a control signal to specify a state of the specimen, and the modulated signal generator generates a modulated signal to be used to measure a state of the specimen designated by the control signal, and outputs the modulated signal generated to the optical transceiver. However, it is known in the art as taught by Shouldice. Shouldice teaches monitoring a person’s sleeping status (Abstract “The system may include a monitor such as a non-contact motion sensor from which sleep information may be determined.”) where a controller generates a control signal to specify a state of the specimen, and the modulated signal generator generates a modulated signal to be used to measure a state of the specimen designated by the control signal, and outputs the modulated signal generated to the optical transceiver (paragraph 0128 “processor control instructions of the processor may further control the processor of a device in execution of an autostart process to: evaluate the movement data transmitted from a sensor module to determine presence or absence of a user based on a detection quality of sensed respiration; and on detection of presence of the user, initiating a sleep session information gathering process” and Figure 3, paragraph 0234 “The bedside unit 3000 is a device placed on a bedside table, bedside locker, stand, or other supporting means located near the user when they are in bed. This device contains the biomotion sensor and other environmental sensor(s), and a wired or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth) link to an app on a smart device 3002 (e.g., smartphone or tablet).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the controller generates a control signal to specify a state of the specimen, and the modulated signal generator generates a modulated signal to be used to measure a state of the specimen designated by the control signal, and outputs the modulated signal generated to the optical transceiver, in order to better monitor a sleeping person.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.U/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 /MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877