DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claims 1, 10, and 17 are independent.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 -20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamlin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0427401 A1, hereinafter “Hamlin”).
As per claim 1, Hamlin teaches an information handling system [information handling system ] comprising:
a housing;
a processor [embedded controller 370, fig. 3, 40] coupled in the housing and operable to execute instructions that process information;
a memory coupled in the housing and interfaced with the processor, the memory operable to store the instructions and information;
a peripheral display [display device 210, fig. 3, 0030, 0031] external the housing and interfaced with the processor to present the information as visual images at a display panel included in a display assembly, the display assembly having a processing resource, a power supply configured to power the display panel, and a battery [power source 220, fig. 3, 0030, 0031: “…Display device 210 includes a power source 220…Power sources 220 … may be internal batteries or capacitors that may provide auxiliary electrical DC power to display device 210 … In one example, power sources 220 … may be single-cell or multiple-cell batteries that can provide DC power ranging from six to sixty watts or so. …”].]; and
a non-transitory memory interfaced with the processing resource and storing instructions that when executed on the processing resource: detect a cut off of power from the power supply; and in response, provide power to the display panel from the battery [0030, 0031: “… Typically, display device 210 may use an alternating current (AC) power source for its operation… When a power outage occurs, a circuit in display device 210, such as power delivery controller 335 and/or scalar 325, may detect the power outage, switch to power source 220 …”].
As per claim 2, Hamlin teaches the information handling system of claim 1 further comprising:
a power board coupled to the display panel back side to accept power from the power source located external the peripheral display;
wherein the processing resource couples to the power board and the battery interfaces with the power board [figs. 3 -4, 0037-0038: “display device 210 includes an AC power adapter 305, a power rail 310, a charger 315, power source220, a scalar 325, a load switch 330, a power delivery controller 335, and a cable interface 340.Information handling system 230 includes a cable interface 355, a load switch 360, a power delivery controller”, 0043-0044].
As per claim 3, Hamlin teaches the information handling system of claim 2 wherein the power source comprises an external AC socket and the power board converts AC power to DC power [AC power adapter converts AC power to DC power, 0037].
As per claim 4, Hamlin teaches the information handling system of claim 2 wherein the power source comprises an external AC-to-DC power adapter that communicates DC power to the power board [AC power adapter, 0037].
As per claim 5, Hamlin teaches the information handling system of claim 1 further comprising: a power board coupled to the display panel back side and accepting external AC power to convert at the power board to DC power [AC power adapter, 0037, 0038]; a DC power port coupled to the display assembly and accepting DC power from an external AC-to-DC power adapter [power provided from the information handling system via cable 225, 0035]; and instructions stored in the non-transitory memory that when executed on the processing resource powers the display assembly from the battery when power is cut off from both the power board and the DC power port [0031: “…When a power outage occurs, a circuit in display device 210, such as power delivery controller 335 and/or scalar 325, may detect the power outage, switch to power source 220…”].
As per claim 6, Hamlin teaches the information handling system of claim 5 wherein: the DC power port couples to the power board; and
the processing resource couples to the power board [scalar 325 is connected to power delivery controller 335, power rail 310, and cable interface 340, 0031,0038, 0040, 0048]..
As per claim 7, Hamlin teaches the information handling system of claim 5 further comprising:
a scalar board coupled to the display panel back side and interfaced with the power board;
wherein the DC power port couples to the scalar board and the processing resource couples to the scalar board [scalar 325 is connected to power delivery controller 335, power rail 310, and cable interface 340, 0031,0038, 0040, 0048].
As per claim 8, Hamlin teaches the information handling system of claim 7 wherein the instructions further: detect an external device interfaced with a second DC power port coupled to the scalar board; and select one of the external AC power or the AC-to-DC power adapter based upon an amount of power requested at the second DC power port [scalar 325 is connected to power delivery controller 335, power rail 310, and cable interface 340, 0031,0038, 0040, 0048].
As per claim 9, Hamlin teaches the information handling system of claim 8 wherein the instructions further power the display assembly with only the external AC power and power the second DC power port with only the AC-to-DC power adapter [scalar 325 is connected to power delivery controller 335, power rail 310, and cable interface 340, 0031,0038, 0040, 0048].
As per claim 10, Hamlin teach a method for presentation of visual images at a peripheral display [fig.3 display device 210], the method comprising: coupling an external power source to the peripheral display to power presentation of the visual images at a display panel of the peripheral display [0031: “… Typically, display device 210 may use an alternating current (AC) power source for its operation… When a power outage occurs, a circuit in display device 210, such as power delivery controller 335 and/or scalar 325, may detect the power outage, switch to power source 220 …”];
detecting a cut off of power from the external power source [0003: “…An information handling system detects whether there is a power loss from an alternating current power source…”, 0030-0031];
and in response, powering the presentation of visual images with a battery [power source 220, fig. 2 and 3] included in the peripheral display [0030-0031: “…Display device 210 includes a power source 220…Power sources 220 … may be internal batteries or capacitors that may provide auxiliary electrical DC power to display device 210 … In one example, power sources 220 … may be single-cell or multiple-cell batteries that can provide DC power ranging from six to sixty watts or so. …” ].
As per claim 11, Hamlin teaches the method of claim 10 further comprising: coupling the external power source as an AC cable interfaced with a power board included in the peripheral display, the power board accepting AC power and converting the AC power to DC power [AC power adapter converts AC power to DC power, 0037];
interfacing the battery with the power board;
and detecting the cut off of power with a processing resource coupled to power board [0031: “…When a power outage occurs, a circuit in display device 210, such as power delivery controller 335 and/or scalar 325, may detect the power outage, switch to power source 220…”].
As per claim 12, Hamlin teaches the method of claim 10 further comprising: coupling the external power source as a DC cable interfaced with a scalar board included in the peripheral display; and detecting the cut off of power with a processing resource coupled to the scalar board [scalar 325, 0031: “…When a power outage occurs, a circuit in display device 210, such as power delivery controller 335 and/or scalar 325, may detect the power outage, switch to power source 220…”].
As per claim 13, Hamlin teaches the method of claim 12 further comprising: coupling the external power source as an AC cable interfaced with a power board included in the peripheral display, the power board accepting AC power and converting the AC power to DC power; and communicating the DC power from the power board to the scalar board [0037 – 0038: AC power adapters convert AC power to DC power].
As per claim 14, Hamlin teaches the method of claim 13 further comprising detecting cut off of power from both an AC external power source [AC power adapter, 0037, 0038] and a DC external power source [power provided from the information handling system via cable 225, 0035] before power to the display panel with the battery [0050: “…Power delivery controller 335 may be configured to detect the AC power loss signal. Power delivery controller 335 may also determine the capacity and/or charge level of power source 220. Power delivery controller 335 may also determine whether power source 220 can adequately provide enough power to display device 210…”].
As per claim 15, Hamlin teaches the method of claim 13 wherein the external DC power source is an AC-to-DC power adapter [0037 – 0038 : AC power adapter; DC power may be provided from the connected information handling system via cable 225, 0035 ].
As per claim 16, Hamlin teaches the method of claim 15 further comprising: identifying a type of the AC-to-DC power adapter; allocating power from the AC power source and the DC power source to the display panel and to power an external device [0034 – 0036: power from adapter may be detected and may power both the display device and the information handling system].
As per claim 17, Hamlin teaches a peripheral display [display device 210, fig, 2, 0030] comprising:
a display assembly having a display panel operable to present information as visual images, the display assembly having a processing resource, a power supply configured to power the display panel, and
a battery [power source 220, 0030, 0031: power source 220 may be internal battery]; and
a non-transitory memory interfaced with the processing resource and storing instructions that when executed on the processing resource:
detect a cut off of power from the power supply; and in response, provide power to the display panel from the battery [0031: “…Typically, display device 210 may use an alternating current (AC) power source for its operation. When a power outage occurs, a circuit in display device 210, such as power delivery controller 335 and/or scalar 325, may detect the power outage, switch to power source 220…”].
As per claim 18, Hamlin teaches the peripheral display of claim 17 further comprising: a power board coupled to the display panel back side to accept power from the power source located external the peripheral display; wherein the processing resource couples to the power board and the battery interfaces with the power board [figs 3 and 4, 0037 – 0039, 0048].
As per claim 19, Hamlin teaches the peripheral display of claim 17 further comprising: a power board coupled to the display panel back side and accepting external AC power to convert at the power board to DC power [AC power adapter, 0037, 0038; a DC power port coupled to the display assembly and accepting DC power from an external AC-to-DC power adapter [power provided from the information handling system via cable 225, 0035]; and instructions stored in the non-transitory memory that when executed on the processing resource power the display assembly from the battery when power is cut off from both the power board and the DC power port [power is provided by the battery when external power sources are not available, 0030 - 0031].
As per claim 20, Hamlin teaches the peripheral display of claim 19 further comprising:
a scalar board coupled to the display panel back side and interfaced with the power board;
wherein the DC power port couples to the scalar board and the processing resource couples to the scalar board [scalar 325 is connected to power delivery controller 335, power rail 310, and cable interface 340, 0031,0038, 0040, 0048].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Flannery; Michael R. (US Patent No. 5,799,196) “Method And Apparatus Of Providing Power Management Using A Self-powered Universal Serial Bus (USB) Device” is cited to teach the capability of a peripheral bus to provide an alternative low power source is combined with existing power management software that controls a computer's main power supply unit to provide stand-by power to logic in the computer that remains active to monitor the system environment for predetermined wake-up events. A self-powered Universal Serial Bus device supplies the minimal power needed by the active logic without the inefficiencies of a dual-stage power supply unit or the expense of incorporating both low-power and a full-power units.
Yu-Cheng; Lu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0052121 A1) “Uninterruptible Power Supply Display Device” is cited to teach an uninterruptible power supply display device which includes a signal bus and a plurality of power supply modules each having a power supply unit, a display unit and a control unit.
/TERRELL S JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176