Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 30 July 2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freund et al. (US 6,382,850 B1) in view of Tsuzawa (US 2010/0238251 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, Freund et al. teaches an image formation control method for controlling an image forming apparatus (Freund et al. – Column 1, Lines 48-67 and Figure 1, shown below) including: a roll paper supply device configured to roll out roll paper and cut a rolled-out portion of the roll paper to produce a first sheet of a specific size, and convey the first sheet toward a print position (Freund et al. – Column 1, Lines 48-67; Column 3, Lines 1-23; Column 4, Lines 6-33; and Figure 1, Reference #12, #20, #24, & #36, shown below); a cut sheet supply device configured to convey a second sheet of the specific size accommodated in an accommodating portion toward the print position (Freund et al. – Column 3, Lines 1-23; Column 5, Line 66 – Column 6, Line 13; and Figure 3, Reference #58, #58’, #60, #60’, & #36, shown below); and a printing device configured to execute a print process of forming an image on the first sheet or the second sheet at the print position (Freund et al. – Column 1, Lines 48-67, Column 3, Lines 1-23; Column 4, Lines 6-33; and Figures 1 & 3, Reference #36, shown below), the image formation control method comprising: when continuous print processing in which the print process is repeated a plurality of times is executed, determining, by a control device, whether or not the roll paper supply device is in a specific state in which the roll paper supply device has conveyed the first sheet to a specific position, for each of the print processes; causing, by the control device, the roll paper supply device to execute a process of conveying the first sheet toward the print position when it is determined that the roll paper supply device is in the specific state, for each of the print processes (Freund et al. – Column 1, Lines 48-67, Column 3, Lines 1-23; Column 4, Lines 6-33; Column 5, Lines 5-44; and Figures 1 & 3, Reference #54, shown below).
Continuing with independent claim 1, Freund et al. does not specifically teach both a cut sheet supply device and a roll paper supply device in the same conveyance path. However, Tsuzawa teaches an image formation control method for controlling an image forming apparatus including a roll paper supply device, a cutter, and a cut sheet supply device (Tsuzawa – Page 2, Paragraph 26; Page 3, Paragraphs 41-43; and Figure 1, Reference #14, #26, #28, #24, & #14, shown below), wherein the cut sheet supply device is in the same conveyance path of the roll paper supply device (Tsuzawa – Figure 1, Reference #24, #26, & #28, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paper supply devices of Freund et al. with the paper supply devices of Tsuzawa in an effort to provide multiple options for media available for use in an image forming apparatus controlled by an image formation method which reduces the occurrence of image irregularities caused by fluctuations in load when conveying a recording medium and providing specifically sized printed images (Tsuzawa – Page 1, Paragraphs 3 & 16). The combination continues to teach causing, by the control device, the cut sheet supply device to execute a process of conveying the second sheet toward the print position when it is determined that the roll sheet supply device is not in the specific state, for each of the print processes (Freund et al. – Column 5, Lines 5-44 & Line 66 – Column 6, Line 13 and Tsuzawa – Page 2, Paragraphs 26 – 31).
As related to dependent claim 2, the combination of Freund et al. and Tsuzawa remains as applied above and continues to teach determining, by the control device, whether or not the roll paper supply device is in a sheet produced state in which the roll paper supply device has already produced the first sheet when a last print process of the print processes in the continuous print processing is executed; and causing, by the control device, the roll paper supply device to execute a process of conveying the first sheet toward the print position regardless of a conveyance position of the first sheet when it is determined that the roll paper supply device is in the sheet produced state when a last print process of the print processes in the continuous print processing is executed (Freund et al. – Column 5, Lines 5-44 & Line 66 – Column 6, Line 13 and Tsuzawa – Page 2, Paragraphs 26 – 31 & Page 3, Paragraphs 41-50).
As related to dependent claim 3, the combination of Freund et al. and Tsuzawa remains as applied above and continues to teach repeatedly determining, by the control device, whether or not the roll paper supply device is in a normal state in which the roll paper supply device is able to supply the first sheet in a sheet feed operation period from when the control device receives a request for the continuous print processing to when a last print process of the print processes in the continuous print processing is executed; and repeatedly causing, by the control device, the roll paper supply device to execute a process of producing the first sheet and conveying the first sheet to the specific position when it is determined that the roll paper supply device is in the normal state during the sheet feed operation period (Freund et al. – Column 5, Lines 5-44 & Line 66 – Column 6, Line 13 and Tsuzawa – Page 2, Paragraphs 26 – 31 & Page 3, Paragraphs 41-50).
As related to dependent claim 4, the combination of Freund et al. and Tsuzawa remains as applied above and continues to teach an image forming apparatus (Freund et al. – Figures 1-3 and Tsuzawa – Figure 1) comprising: a roll paper supply device configured to roll out roll paper and cut a rolled-out portion of the roll paper to produce a first sheet of a specific size, and convey the first sheet toward a print position (Freund et al. – Column 5, Line 45 – Column 6, Line 12 & Figures 1-2, Reference #12 & #12’ and Tsuzawa – Page 2, Paragraphs 22-27 & Page 3, Paragraphs 41-45); a cut sheet supply device configured to convey a second sheet of the specific size accommodated in an accommodating portion toward the print position; a printing device configured to execute a print process of forming an image on the first sheet or the second sheet at the print position; and a control device configured to implement the image formation control method (Freund et al. – Column 5, Lines 5-44 & Line 66 – Column 6, Line 13; Figures 1-3, Reference #58, #58’, & #36 and Tsuzawa – Page 2, Paragraphs 26 – 31; Page 3, Paragraphs 41-50; & Figure 1, Reference #24 & #12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Murai (US 5,829,897 A) teaches a printer and printing method having roll paper which is printed, cut, printed, etc. to form various sized printed items. Takagi (US 2005/0024464 A1) teaches a printer and printing method which uses roll paper and transports in two directions for printing and cutting. Sai (US 6,923,534 B2) teaches a recording device and method using roll printing paper and a cutting device. Ipponyari et al. (US 2012/0148326 A1) teaches a printer and printing method which uses roll paper and transports in two directions for printing and cutting. WAKITA (US 2012/0299991 A1) teaches a printer and printing method which uses roll paper and transports in two directions for printing and cutting. Kanada et al. (US 2016/0101636 A1) teaches a printer and printing method which executes a cutting operation on a roll paper medium before the printing/ejecting operation. Hada et al. (US 12,053,975 B2) teaches a printing apparatus and method for control which uses roll paper and a cutter before the printing section.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853