Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vazin (US 6,473,944) in view of Schaefer (US 2,084,412).
Regarding claim 1, Vazin discloses an apparatus comprising:
a body member (1) including:
a series of through openings formed in said body member, said through openings being arranged in a row substantially along a longitudinal axis of the body member and including:
a first opening (4) for passage of said lace therethrough from said eyelet; and
a second opening (12) located a spaced distance from said first opening for passage of said lace therethrough from said first opening,
an edge extending generally transverse to the longitudinal axis of said body member and located on a side of said second opening generally opposite said first opening for passage of said lace thereover from said second opening in said body member (Fig. 1 as shown); and
Vazin fails to disclose a plurality of teeth for forming an engagement with material of said lace, the plurality of teeth being defined on said edge and extending along said first end of the body adjacent to said second opening.
Schaefer teaches an apparatus comprising a plurality of teeth (9; Fig. 1 shows teeth/corrugations along the edge of a first end of the body. Fig. 2 also shows the full extension of the teeth/corrugations to the outer edge of the device).
From this teaching of Schaefer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include teeth/corrugations along the first edge of the body member to further secure a lacing against an edge thus preventing slippage of the lace. Corrugations would also allow for a user to further grip the lace to apply further tension when securing the lace on a shoe or other application.
Regarding claim 2, Vazin further discloses wherein said series of through openings further include: a third opening (5) located a spaced distance from said first opening on a side opposite said second opening for passage of said lace therethrough from said edge on said body member, said third opening being generally slot-shaped and extending substantially perpendicular to said row in which said openings are arranged (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 3, Vazin further discloses wherein said body member comprises: a thin, generally flat body member (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 4, Vazin further discloses wherein said body member is formed of a substantially rigid material (Column 5, lines 20-22 list substantially rigid materials).
Regarding claim 5, Vazin further discloses wherein said body member further comprises:
a first end located proximate said second through opening (Fig. 1 as shown); and
a second, opposite end located proximate said third through opening (Fig. 1 as shown);
said first and second ends of said body member each comprising an edge extending substantially perpendicular to said row along which said through openings are arranged (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Vazin further discloses wherein said body member comprises: a flat, generally rectangular body member, said row along which said series of through openings is arranged being substantially aligned with a long axis of said rectangular body member (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Vazin further discloses wherein said slot-shaped third opening comprises: a generally slot-shaped opening dimensioned to spread said lace into a flattened form therein (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Vazin further discloses wherein said first and second through openings each comprise: a generally round opening having a diameter sized to permit said lace to pass substantially freely therethrough (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 9, Vazin further discloses wherein said slot-shaped third opening comprises: a narrow, substantially rectangular through opening (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 11, Vazin further discloses wherein said second and third openings are spaced outwardly from said first opening by distances sufficient that at least portions of said second and third openings will be positioned beyond a predetermined perimeter of said eyelet when said first opening is aligned coaxially therewith (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 12, Vazin discloses an apparatus comprising:
a thin, flat body member (1) having first and second ends (Fig. 1 as shown);
a series of through openings formed in said body member, said series of through openings being arranged in a row substantially along a longitudinal axis of said rectangular body member and comprising:
a first, generally circular through opening (4); and
a second, generally circular through opening (12) located a spaced distance from said first opening and proximate said first end of said rectangular body member.
Vazin fails to disclose a plurality of teeth defined on an edge extending generally transverse to the longitudinal axis along said first end of said body member for forming an engagement with material of said lace that passes through said openings of said body member.
Schaefer teaches an apparatus comprising a plurality of teeth along an edge (9; Fig. 1 shows teeth/corrugations along the edge of a first end of the body).
From this teaching of Schaefer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include teeth/corrugations along the first edge of the body member to further secure a lacing against an edge thus preventing slippage of the lace. Corrugations would also allow for a user to further grip the lace to apply further tension when securing the lace on a shoe or other application.
Regarding claim 13, Vazin further discloses wherein said series of through opening in said body member further comprises: a rectangular slot-shaped through opening (5) located a spaced distance from said middle opening and proximate said second end of said body member and dimensioned to spread said lace into a flattened form therein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 11 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,464,292. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims only appear to be broader in scope than the scope of the patented claims and the limitations of the instant application appear to be captured by the patented claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant appears to repeat the arguments regarding the teeth (13) of Schaefer. However, as noted above Schaefer has corrugations (9) that are clearly shown in Figs. 1 and 2 extending to the edge at an end of the body consistent with the language as claimed.
Regarding Applicant’s comments about a Terminal Disclaimer. To this date, no Terminal Disclaimer has been received.
Conclusion
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677