Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangolae (WO 2016/182530); hereinafter Bangolae, in view of Höglund (US 2024/0179792); hereinafter Höglund.
8. Regarding claim 1, Bangolae teaches the network node configuration defines at least one allowability status for at least an idle extended discontinuous reception; and receive a paging request from the at least one other network node ([0023] For example, some examples of the present disclosure can assist a Mobility Management Entity (MME) with SI Paging (SI referring to an interface between an eNB and a core network) by making the MME aware of an eDRX cycle so that the MME knows when to send an SI Paging message (e.g., shortly ahead of a Paging Occasion (PO))), but does not explicitly teach a network node, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the network node to perform: transmit a network node configuration to at least one other network node.
9. Höglund, in the same field of wireless communication, teaches a network node, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the network node to perform: transmit a network node configuration to at least one other network node ([0021] A method of operating a radio access network (RAN) includes receiving, from a core network (CN) node, extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) assistance information describing a CN eDRX configuration for a user equipment (UE) served by the RAN node, generating a RAN eDRX configuration for the UE based on the eDRX assistance information, and configuring the UE with the RAN eDRX configuration).
10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae’s allowability status for an idle extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) and receiving a paging request with Höglund’s network node configuration. The motivation to do so would have been to improve network efficiency and coordination between network nodes.
11. Regarding claim 2, Bangolae teaches the network node of claim 1, wherein the network node comprises at least: a base station ([0107] The node can include a base station (BS), a Node B (NB), an evolved Node B (eNB), a baseband unit (BBU), a remote radio head (RRH), a remote radio equipment (RRE), a remote radio unit (RRU), or a central processing module (CPM)), but does not explicitly teach a radio access network (RAN) node, or a gNB, and the at least one other network node that comprises a core network that further comprises at least an access mobility and management function (AMF).
12. Höglund, in the same field of wireless communication teaches a radio access network (RAN) node, or a gNB, and the at least one other network node that comprises a core network that further comprises at least an access mobility and management function (AMF) ([0026] The CN node may host an access and mobility management function, AMF. The RAN node may be a gNodeB.).
13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bangolae and Höglund. Bangolae teaches various types of network nodes such as a base station (BS) that facilitate communication within a network node. Höglund teaches that a radio access (RAN) node (e.g., gNodeN) can be connected to a core network hosting an access and mobility management function, AMF. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify of the network node of Bangolae to include the AMF functionality taught by Höglund in order to provide improved network management between network nodes.
14. Regarding claim 3, Bangolae teaches the network node of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the paging request from the at least one other network node but does not explicitly teach is based at least on the network node configuration ([0023] For example, some examples of the present disclosure can assist a Mobility Management Entity (MME) with SI Paging (SI referring to an interface between an eNB and a core network) by making the MME aware of an eDRX cycle so that the MME knows when to send an SI Paging message (e.g., shortly ahead of a Paging Occasion (PO))).
15. Höglund, in the same field of wireless communication, teaches is based at least on the network node configuration ([0021] A method of operating a radio access network (RAN) includes receiving, from a core network (CN) node, extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) assistance information describing a CN eDRX configuration for a user equipment (UE) served by the RAN node, generating a RAN eDRX configuration for the UE based on the eDRX assistance information, and configuring the UE with the RAN eDRX configuration).
16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Höglund’s teachings of a RAN node receiving eDRX assistance information from a core network node and using it to generate an eDRX configuration with Bangolae’s paging-aware system. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the core network’s paging procedures and the RAN’s eDRX configuration management.
17. Regarding claim 4, Bangolae teaches the network node of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the network node configuration defines one or more of: an allowability status for inactive extended discontinuous reception or an inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception; one or more allowability statuses associated with a plurality of cells; the at least one allowability status as the idle extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the network node receives the paging request at once; the at least one allowability status as the idle extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the network node receives the paging request only before a next paging occasion which is calculated based on an idle extended discontinuous reception cycle of a user equipment; the at least one allowability status as the inactive extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the network node receives the paging request at once; and the at least one allowability status as the inactive extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the network node receives the paging request from the at least one other network node only before a next paging occasion which is calculated based on an inactive extended discontinuous reception cycle of a user equipment.
18. Höglund, in the same field or wireless communications, teaches wherein the network node configuration defines one or more of: an allowability status for inactive extended discontinuous reception or an inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception; one or more allowability statuses associated with a plurality of cells; the at least one allowability status as the idle extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the network node receives the paging request at once; the at least one allowability status as the idle extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the network node receives the paging request only before a next paging occasion which is calculated based on an idle extended discontinuous reception cycle of a user equipment; the at least one allowability status as the inactive extended discontinuous reception is not allowed ([0030] The UE may be in RRC_Inactive state when the request for eDRX assistance information is received. [0012] However, from the standpoint of RAN the UE is in an inactive state and can save power by applying DRX. To reach the UE in downlink, the UE would then have to be paged, by so-called RAN paging. In existing approaches with shorter DRX cycles, the downlink data is buffered by the anchor gNB which is responsible for the RAN paging), the network node receives the paging request at once ([Table 1] Paging allows the network to reach UEs in RRC_IDLE and in RRC_INACTIVE state through Paging messages. Paging DRX is defined where the UE in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE is only required to monitor paging channels during one Paging Occasion (PO) per DRX cycle (see TS 38.304 [10])); and the at least one allowability status as the inactive extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the network node receives the paging request from the at least one other network node only before a next paging occasion which is calculated based on an inactive extended discontinuous reception cycle of a user equipment.
19. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae’s teachings of paging behavior with eDRX cycles with Höglund’s teachings of DRX and paging operations in the RRC inactive state. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to integrate these teachings to ensure consistent paging delivery regardless of whether eDRX is permitted, because eliminating inactive enhanced eDRX removes periodic paging occasions therefore requires immediate paging transmission. The motivation to do so would have been to enable reliable paging delivery when inactive enhanced eDRX is unavailable, ensuring paging messages are transmitted and received without delay.
20. Regarding claim 5, Bangolae teaches wherein the network node is further caused to: receive the paging request from the at least one other network node ([0023] For example, some examples of the present disclosure can assist a Mobility Management Entity (MME) with SI Paging (SI referring to an interface between an eNB and a core network) by making the MME aware of an eDRX cycle so that the MME knows when to send an SI Paging message (e.g., shortly ahead of a Paging Occasion (PO))) , when a second network node that allows idle extended discontinuous reception receives the paging request ([0137] Example 28 includes an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) that supports idle-mode extended discontinuous reception (I-eDRX)… identify a time window in which the UE is to be prepared to receive a paging message based on the reference time and based on the mapping relation), but does not explicitly teach the configuration of the network node of claim 1.
21. Höglund, in the same field of wireless communication, teaches the configuration of the network node of claim 1 ([0021] A method of operating a radio access network (RAN) includes receiving, from a core network (CN) node, extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) assistance information describing a CN eDRX configuration for a user equipment (UE) served by the RAN node, generating a RAN eDRX configuration for the UE based on the eDRX assistance information, and configuring the UE with the RAN eDRX configuration).
22. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Höglund’s teachings of network node configuration with Bangolae’s teachings of idle-mode eDRX based paging. The motivation to do so would have been to improve efficient paging operations, ensure consistent paging timings with the eDRX cycle, and enhance coordination of paging between network nodes.
23. Regarding claim 6, Bangolae teaches the network node of claim 4, wherein the network node is further caused to: receive the paging request from the at least one other network node ([0023] For example, some examples of the present disclosure can assist a Mobility Management Entity (MME) with SI Paging (SI referring to an interface between an eNB and a core network) by making the MME aware of an eDRX cycle so that the MME knows when to send an SI Paging message) but does not explicitly teach when a second network node that allows inactive extended discontinuous reception receives the paging request.
24. Höglund, in the same field of wireless communication, teaches when a second network node that allows inactive extended discontinuous reception receives the paging request ([0111] While the UE 300 is in RRC_Inactive state, the RAN node 400 optionally sends a request 602 for eDRX assistance to the CN node 500. [0023] The UE may be in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state when the eDRX assistance information is received).
25. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae’s teachings of paging operations based eDRX cycles with Höglund’s teachings of applying eDRX assistance information while the UE is in an RRC inactive state. The motivation to do so would have been to improve network node coordination, ensure consistent paging timing when the UE is inactive, and enhance efficient paging delivery across network nodes.
26. Regarding claim 7, Bangolae teaches the network node of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein when the network node configuration defines the at least one allowability status as the inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the network node receives the paging request at once.
27. Höglund, in the same field of wireless communication, teaches wherein when the network node configuration defines the at least one allowability status as the inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is not allowed ([0030] The UE may be in RRC_Inactive state when the request for eDRX assistance information is received. [0012] However, from the standpoint of RAN the UE is in an inactive state and can save power by applying DRX. To reach the UE in downlink, the UE would then have to be paged, by so-called RAN paging. In existing approaches with shorter DRX cycles, the downlink data is buffered by the anchor gNB which is responsible for the RAN paging), the network node receives the paging request at once ([Table 1] Paging allows the network to reach UEs in RRC_IDLE and in RRC_INACTIVE state through Paging messages. Paging DRX is defined where the UE in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE is only required to monitor paging channels during one Paging Occasion (PO) per DRX cycle (see TS 38.304 [10])).
28. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae’s teachings of paging behavior with eDRX cycles with Höglund’s teachings of DRX and paging operations in the RRC inactive state. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to integrate these teachings to ensure consistent paging delivery regardless of whether eDRX is permitted, because eliminating inactive enhanced eDRX removes periodic paging occasions therefore requires immediate paging transmission. The motivation to do so would have been to enable reliable paging delivery when inactive enhanced eDRX is unavailable, ensuring paging messages are transmitted and received without delay.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
29. Claim(s) 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangolae and Höglund, further in view of Jeong (WO 2024/210561 A1); hereinafter Jeong.
30. Regarding claim 8, Bangolae teaches the network node of claim 7, wherein the network node is further caused to: receive the paging request from the at least one other network node when a second network node ([0023] For example, some examples of the present disclosure can assist a Mobility Management Entity (MME) with SI Paging (SI referring to an interface between an eNB and a core network) by making the MME aware of an eDRX cycle so that the MME knows when to send an SI Paging message (e.g., shortly ahead of a Paging Occasion (PO))) but does not explicitly teach that allows inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception receives the paging request.
31. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches that allows inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception receives the paging request ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE).
32. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeong’s teachings of inactive enhances eDRX allowability into paging operations of Bangolae and Höglund. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance paging efficiency and reduce paging delays across network nodes.
33. Regarding claim 9, Bangolae and Höglund teach the network node of claim 4 ([0026] The legacy paging scheme illustrated by FIG. 1 a can be modified so that an MME can be aware of a UE's paging cycle and wait to send an paging message for the UE to a serving eNB so that the paging message will not have to be stored at the eNB for relatively long time periods; Bangolae), but does not explicitly teach wherein when the network node configuration defines the at least one allowability status as the inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the network node receives the paging request only before a next paging occasion which is calculated based on an inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception cycle of a user equipment.
34. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein when the network node configuration defines the at least one allowability status as the inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is allowed ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE), the network node receives the paging request only before a next paging occasion which is calculated based on an inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception cycle of a user equipment ([0171] In addition, the MME/AMF may transmit an S1 paging request during a PTW or immediately before the start of the PTW, in order to avoid a procedure in which a base station stores a paging message. [0164] Through the above, the UE may receive whether the corresponding cell or base station allows or supports eDRX (e.g., eDRX-Allowed, eDRX-AllowedIdle, eDRX-AllowedInactive). In operation 9-40, the UE may calculate a paging monitoring cycle in an inactive or idle mode by using received eDRX configuration information, DRX configuration information, an SIB indicator, or the like, so as to monitor paging).
35. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae’s teachings in which the network node becomes aware of the UE’s paging cycle to avoid delay of paging messages with Jeong’s teachings of the use of enhanced eDRX (eDRX-AllowedInactive) to ensure that paging occurs only before the next paging occasion determines by the inactive eDRX cycle. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance paging efficiency and synchronization between eDRX cycles and paging operations.
36. Regarding claim 10, Bangolae teaches a user equipment that comprises a idle extended discontinuous reception ([0137] Example 28 includes an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) that supports idle-mode extended discontinuous reception (I-eDRX)), but does not explicitly teach a user equipment, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the user equipment to perform: determine a user equipment configuration, wherein the user equipment configuration comprises at least one inactive extended discontinuous reception.
37. Höglund, in the same field or wireless communication, teaches a user equipment, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the user equipment to perform: determine a user equipment configuration, wherein the user equipment configuration ([0021] A method of operating a radio access network (RAN) includes receiving, from a core network (CN) node, extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) assistance information describing a CN eDRX configuration for a user equipment (UE) served by the RAN node, generating a RAN eDRX configuration for the UE based on the eDRX assistance information, and configuring the UE with the RAN eDRX configuration) comprises at least one inactive extended discontinuous reception ([0111] While the UE 300 is in RRC_Inactive state, the RAN node 400 optionally sends a request 602 for eDRX assistance to the CN node 500. [0023] The UE may be in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state when the eDRX assistance information is received).
38. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Höglund’s user equipment configuration and inactive extended discontinuous reception with Bangolae’s teachings of supports idle-mode extended discontinuous reception. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance paging efficiency and consistent paging monitoring across idle and inactive extended discontinuous receptions.
39. Further Bangolae and Höglund does not explicitly teach inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception; determine a network node configuration, wherein the network node configuration defines an allowability status for at least one of idle extended discontinuous reception, inactive extended discontinuous reception, or inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception;
determine a discontinuous reception cycle based at least on the user equipment configuration and the network node configuration; and receive a paging request based on the discontinuous reception cycle.
40. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([0186] In Release 17 NR, different from an eDRX configuration in LTE, an existing TeDRX may be classified as an eDRX cycle (=TeDRX_IDLE) for an RRC_IDLE UE and an eDRX cycle (=TeDRX_INACTIVE) for an RRC_INACTIVE UE. [0190] According to an embodiment, the case of TeDRX_INACTIVE > 10.24 seconds may be supported/defined in order to reduce energy consumption by an inactive mode UE); determine a network node configuration, wherein the network node configuration defines an allowability status for at least one of idle extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedIdle - The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for CN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE), inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE), or inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception [Table 22] eDRX-AllowedInactive - The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging not longer than 10.24s is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE); determine a discontinuous reception cycle based at least on the user equipment configuration and the network node configuration ([153 – 157] A paging DRX cycle may be configured by a network: 1) For CN paging, a default cycle (or a default CN paging cycle or a default paging cycle) may be broadcasted via system information… A UE may use the smallest value among DRX cycles applicable (i.e., configured) based on an RRC mode may be used as a paging monitoring cycle.); and receive a paging request based on the discontinuous reception cycle ([0163] In this instance, the eDRX configuration may include an eDRX cycle (e.g., TeDRX or TeDRX_IDLE). In this instance, paging time window (PTW) length information (e.g., a PTW or PTW_IDLE length) may be included in the eDRX configuration. [0170] During a PTW, 1) a UE may monitor paging 1) during a PTW period, or 2) until a paging message including a NAS identity of the UE is received (, or until one that occurs earlier between the two events).
41. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae and Höglund’s teachings of determining user equipment eDRX configurations in idle-mode, and inactive-mode with Jeong’s teachings of receiving a paging request and user equipment configurations for inactive enhanced eDRX and network node configurations for idle-mode, inactive-mode, and inactive enhanced eDRX cycles. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance paging efficiency and consistent paging monitoring across idle, inactive, and enhanced inactive modes.
42. Regarding claim 11, Bangolae and Höglund teach the user equipment of claim 10, wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises idle extended discontinuous reception ([0137] Example 28 includes an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) that supports idle-mode extended discontinuous reception (I-eDRX); Bangolae), but does not explicitly teach and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as idle extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to the idle extended discontinuous reception.
43. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as idle extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to the idle extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedIdle-r17 ENUMERATED {true}. eDRX-AllowedIdle - The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for CN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE).
44. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae teachings idle-mode eDRX with Jeong’s eDRX cycle selection rules. The motivation to do so would have been to improve paging efficiency and behavior.
45. Regarding claim 12, Bangolae and Höglund teaches the user equipment of claim 10, wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises idle extended discontinuous reception ([0137] Example 28 includes an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) that supports idle-mode extended discontinuous reception (I-eDRX); Bangolae), but does not explicitly teach, and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as idle extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to the discontinuous reception.
46. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as idle extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to the discontinuous reception ([Table 15] In the case in which eDRX-AllowedIdle is not configured, TDRX_IDLE,NR = min (UE specific paging cycle, Default paging cycle)).
47. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae’s teachings idle-mode eDRX with Jeong’s rule for when idle eDRX is not allowed; the UE reverts to the default DRX cycle. The motivation to do so would have been to maintain reliable paging consistency when idle eDRX is not allowed.
48. Regarding claim 13, Bangolae and Höglund teaches the user equipment of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises inactive extended discontinuous reception and not inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception, and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive extended discontinuous reception.
49. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE) and not inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([0190] According to an embodiment, the case of TeDRX_INACTIVE > 10.24 seconds may be supported/defined in order to reduce energy consumption by an inactive mode UE), and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 15] Case 3INACTIVE,NR) TeDRX_IDLE ≤ 10.24 seconds is configured, and TeDRX_INACTIVE ≤ 10.24 seconds is configured. => In the case in which eDRX-AllowedIdle is configured and eDRX-AllowedInactive is configured, TDRX_INACTIVE,NR = min (TeDRX_IDLE, TeDRX_INACTIVE)).
50. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae and Höglund’s teachings of coordinated paging with Jeong’s inactive eDRX rules. Jeong teaches that when TeDRX_INACTIVE ≤ 10.24 seconds is configured and the network signals that inactive eDRX is allowed (eDRX-AllowedInactive), the UE selects TeDRX_INACTIVE as the DRX cycle for paging monitoring. The motivation to do so would have been to maintain reliable paging consistency when inactive eDRX is allowed.
51. Regarding claim 14, Bangolae and Höglund teaches the user equipment of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises inactive extended discontinuous reception and not inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception, and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive discontinuous reception.
52. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE) and not inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([0190] According to an embodiment, the case of TeDRX_INACTIVE > 10.24 seconds may be supported/defined in order to reduce energy consumption by an inactive mode UE), and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive discontinuous reception ([Table 15] In the case in which eDRX-AllowedIdle is not configured, and eDRX-AllowedInactive is not configured, TDRX_INACTIVE,NR = min (UE specific paging cycle, Default paging cycle, RAN paging cycle).
53. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae and Höglund’s teaching of coordinated paging with Jeong’s inactive eDRX rules. Jeong teaches that when eDRX-AllowedInactive I not configured, the UE reverts to the standard inactive DRX cycle. The motivation to combine these teachings would have been to maintain reliable paging consistency when inactive eDRX is not allowed.
54. Regarding claim 15, Bangolae and Höglund teaches the user equipment of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception and not inactive extended discontinuous reception, and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive enhanced discontinuous reception.
55. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([0190] According to an embodiment, the case of TeDRX_INACTIVE > 10.24 seconds may be supported/defined in order to reduce energy consumption by an inactive mode UE), and not inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE), and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive enhanced discontinuous reception ([Table 15] TeDRX_IDLE > 10.24 seconds is configured and, TeDRX_INACTIVE is not configured. In the case in which eDRX-AllowedIdle is configured, within a PTW, TDRX_INACTIVE,NR = min (UE specific paging cycle, Default paging cycle, RAN paging cycle).
56. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae and Höglund’s teaching of coordinated paging with Jeong’s inactive enhanced eDRX rules. The motivation to combine these teachings would have been to maintain reliable paging consistency when inactive enhanced eDRX is allowed.
57. Regarding claim 16, Bangolae and Höglund teach the user equipment of claim 10 ([0023] For example, some examples of the present disclosure can assist a Mobility Management Entity (MME) with SI Paging (SI referring to an interface between an eNB and a core network) by making the MME aware of an eDRX cycle so that the MME knows when to send an SI Paging message (e.g., shortly ahead of a Paging Occasion (PO)); Bangolae), but does not explicitly teach wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception and not inactive extended discontinuous reception, and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive discontinuous reception.
58. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([0190] According to an embodiment, the case of TeDRX_INACTIVE > 10.24 seconds may be supported/defined in order to reduce energy consumption by an inactive mode UE) and not inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE), and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive-r17 ENUMERATED {true}. The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE. [Table 15] In the case in which eDRX-AllowedIdle is configured, and eDRX-AllowedInactive is not configured, TDRX_INACTIVE, NR = min (UE specific paging cycle, Default paging cycle, RAN paging cycle)).
59. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae and Höglund’s teaching of coordinated paging with Jeong’s inactive enhanced eDRX rule to revert to the default inactive DRX cycle when inactive enhanced eDRX is not allowed. The motivation to combine these teachings would have been to maintain reliable paging consistency when inactive enhanced eDRX is not allowed.
60. Regarding claim 17, Bangolae and Höglund teach the user equipment of claim 10, wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises both inactive extended discontinuous reception and inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception, and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is not allowed and inactive extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive discontinuous reception.
61. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communication, teaches wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises both inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE) and inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([0190] According to an embodiment, the case of TeDRX_INACTIVE > 10.24 seconds may be supported/defined in order to reduce energy consumption by an inactive mode UE), and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is not allowed and inactive extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive discontinuous reception (([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive-r17 ENUMERATED {true}. The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE. [Table 15] In the case in which eDRX-AllowedIdle is not configured, and eDRXAllowedInactive is not configured, TDRX_INACTIVE,NR = min (UE specific paging cycle, Default paging cycle, RAN paging cycle).
62. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae and Höglund’s teaching of coordinated paging with Jeong’s inactive enhanced eDRX rule to revert to the default inactive DRX cycle when both inactive eDRX and inactive enhanced eDRX is not allowed. The motivation to combine these teachings would have been to maintain reliable paging consistency when both inactive eDRX inactive enhanced eDRX is not allowed.
63. Regarding claim 18, Bangolae and Höglund teach The user equipment of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises both inactive extended discontinuous reception and inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception, and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is allowed and inactive extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception.
64. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises both inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE) and inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([0190] According to an embodiment, the case of TeDRX_INACTIVE > 10.24 seconds may be supported/defined in order to reduce energy consumption by an inactive mode UE), and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is allowed and inactive extended discontinuous reception is not allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([Table 15] TeDRX_IDLE > 10.24 seconds is configured and, TeDRX_INACTIVE is not configured. In the case in which eDRX-AllowedIdle is configured, and eDRX-AllowedInactive is not configured, TDRX_INACTIVE, NR = min (TeDRX_IDLE, RAN paging cycle)).
65. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae and Höglund’s teaching of coordinated paging with Jeong’s teaching to select the enhanced inactive eDRX cycle whenever it is available and allowed. The motivation to combine these teachings would have been to maintain reliable paging consistency when inactive eDRX is not allowed and inactive enhanced eDRX is allowed.
66. Regarding claim 19, Bangolae and Höglund teach the user equipment of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises both inactive extended discontinuous reception and inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception, and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is not allowed and inactive extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive extended discontinuous reception.
67. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises both inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE) and inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([0190] According to an embodiment, the case of TeDRX_INACTIVE > 10.24 seconds may be supported/defined in order to reduce energy consumption by an inactive mode UE), and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is not allowed and inactive extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive-r17 ENUMERATED {true} The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE. The UE may stop using extended DRX for RAN paging in RRC_INACTIVE if eDRX-AllowedInactive is not present. [Table 15] TeDRX_IDLE ≤ 10.24 seconds is configured, and TeDRX_INACTIVE is not configured. In the case in which eDRX-AllowedIdle is configured, TDRX_INACTIVE, NR = min (TeDRX_IDLE, RAN paging cycle)).
68. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae and Höglund’s teaching of coordinated paging with Jeong’s teaching that when enhanced inactive eDRX is not allowed, and inactive eDRX is allowed, the UE falls back to the inactive eDRX cycle. The motivation to combine these teachings would have been to maintain reliable paging consistency when inactive enhanced eDRX is not allowed and inactive eDRX is allowed.
69. Regarding claim 20, Bangolae and Höglund teaches the user equipment of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises both inactive extended discontinuous reception and inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception, and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is allowed and inactive extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception.
70. Jeong, in the same field of wireless communications, teaches wherein when the user equipment configuration comprises both inactive extended discontinuous reception ([Table 21] eDRX-AllowedInactive – The presence of this field indicates that extended DRX for RAN paging is allowed in the cell for UEs in RRC_INACTIVE) and inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([0190] According to an embodiment, the case of TeDRX_INACTIVE > 10.24 seconds may be supported/defined in order to reduce energy consumption by an inactive mode UE), and when the network node configuration defines the allowability status as inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception is allowed and inactive extended discontinuous reception is allowed, the discontinuous reception cycle is set to inactive enhanced extended discontinuous reception ([Table 15] TeDRX_IDLE > 10.24 seconds is configured, and TeDRX_INACTIVE ≤ 10.24 seconds is configured. In the case in which eDRX-AllowedIdle is configured and eDRX-AllowedInactive is configured, TDRX_INACTIVE, NR = min (TeDRX_IDLE, TeDRX_INACTIVE)).
71. It would have been It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bangolae and Höglund’s teaching of coordinated paging with Jeong’s teaching that when enhanced inactive eDRX is allowed, and inactive eDRX is allowed, the UE falls back to the inactive eDRX cycle. The motivation to combine these teachings would have been to maintain reliable paging consistency when both inactive enhanced eDRX and inactive eDRX is allowed.
Conclusion
/LABIBAH ILMA ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465