Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupta et al. (WO/2010/104760).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 5, Gupta teaches that it is known to impregnate polyurethane catheters [0011][0036] with a nitric oxide releasing compound mixed with polyurethane (Tecoflex) in a solvent, wherein Gupta further shows wherein the dip coated layers may further comprise chlorhexidine diacetate [0039] and therein after the layer is dried by removing the solvent [0036]. This singular reads upon the combined steps of the current claims. Further the polyurethane of Gupta would be both undegraded and free of solvent after drying. Further still, the polyurethane coating comprising chlorhexidine of Gupta would read upon both the solvent impregnation material of the current claims and the polyurethane coating material of the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (WO2010/104760) as applied to claims 1, 3 and 5 above and further in view of Herrmann et al. (USPGPub 2004/0171589).
Regarding claims 2, 4 and 6-8, the teachings of Gupta are as shown above. Gupta fails to teach wherein the nitric oxide releasing element is either of those claimed. However, Herrmann teaches that both of the compounds claimed are known to be used as nitric oxide releasing elements in the production of medical catheters [0135]. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute either of the nitric oxide releasing agents employed in the production of catheters by Herrmann in the invention of Gupta as a simple substitute for one known nitric oxide releasing agent for another employed in catheter manufacture for another wherein the results would be predictable. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that the catheters of Gupta are extruded from a material comprising polyurethane, SNP and chlorhexidine and that this process used would form a product that it distinct from one that would be formed by solvent impregnation as claimed herein. However, the applicant’s statements are misleading. The examiner cited multiple paragraphs that the current response does not acknowledge including especially paragraphs [0036] and [0039]. The examiner acknowledges that Gupta does provide polyurethane, SNP and chlorohexidine by extrusion but is also noted that within [0036] and [0039], Gupta also teaches providing SNP, polyurethane and chlorhexidine solutions wherein in [0036] Gupta explicitly states that “extrusions were then dip coated” and goes on to describe a similar composition to that described above. As such, while the examiner does agree that Gupta does teach providing extrusions wherein polyurethane, SNP and chlorohexidine are present, Gupta additionally teaches the claimed impregnation using a solvent wherein it is further noted that the current claims do not exclude the use of a pre-impregnated catheter.
The applicant further argues that an impregnated catheter body inherently possesses a concentration gradient and therefore the catheter of Gupta is structurally different than the one claimed. However, the examiner notes that because Gupta follows the same impregnation step claimed, the prior art impregnated device would reasonably function in the same manner and be the same. Further it is noted that the current claims do not preclude the use of an impregnated catheter. Further, if it the intent of the applicant to claim a catheter having a gradient impregnation it would be appropriate to claim this concept because it is not present in the current claims. Further the applicants arguments stating that impregnated catheters necessarily have concentration gradients appears to be mere conjecture. Factually, the examiner found evidence to refute both the applicant’s assertion that extruded catheters provide uniform drug distribution while impregnated catheters do not within a single reference (see provided reference Dai et al., CN10250033). Dai specifically teaches that extruded medical devices with drugs present in the extrusion mixture are known to provide “uneven distribution of medicine” [0003] and in order to resolve this the prior art provides their alternative solution that provides “uniform distribution of medicine” [0004] using a solvent impregnation method. As such, there is at least conflicting information present in the art that sheds doubt on the inherency arguments of the applicant.
All other arguments provided are in relation to supposed deficiencies present in the prior art of record wherein it is the position of the examiner that the prior art of record is not deficient as described above and as such the current claims should remain properly rejected as they currently are.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717