DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 7/30/24, 2/20/25, and 10/2/25 are considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 15, “third corner” is believed to be intended to read –third corner portion–;
Claim 14, line 2, “coupled” should read –couple–.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation of “electrically coupled with the sixth side portion and the third fourth corner portion” is indefinite in that it is not made clear, concise, and exact, whether the first matching circuit is intended to be electrically coupled with the third corner portion, the fourth corner portion, or a distinct third fourth corner portion; the invention as claimed is thus indefinite in scope. To expedite prosecution, the claim will be examined as best understood by the examiner.
Claims 12-20, being dependent upon claim 11, are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0266524) in view of Iwai et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2011/0057847).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon et al. teaches (Figs. 1-20) an electronic device comprising: a first housing (220); a second housing (210) comprising a second support member (260 supports display 230); a hinge structure coupled with the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are foldable relative to each other using the hinge structure as a central axis (264); and a wireless communication circuit provided on the second support member of the second housing (190; see ¶142, ¶108, circuit boards 271 comprise wireless communication circuit 190, disposed on the second support member 260), wherein the second housing further comprises (see 502 of Fig. 5; see ¶116, 502 and 501 represent configurations of housings of the device 200 of Fig. 2): a sixth side portion comprising a first conductive portion (514 and portion of 513 which form a horizontal line; see ¶150); a fifth side portion facing the sixth side portion and comprising a second conductive portion (512; see ¶150, Fig. 5); a fourth side portion facing the hinge structure and comprising a third conductive portion (portion of 511 which forms a straight line; see ¶150, Fig. 5); a third corner portion between the sixth side portion and the fourth side portion and comprising a fourth conductive portion (portion of 513 which forms a corner, see Fig. 5); a fourth corner portion between the fifth side portion and the fourth side portion and comprising a fifth conductive portion (portion of 511 which forms a corner, see Fig. 5).
Yoon does not teach a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion.
Iwai et al. teaches (Fig. 3) an electronic device comprising: a first housing (120); a second housing (110) comprising a second support member (101); a hinge structure coupled with the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are foldable relative to each other using the hinge structure as a central axis (130); and a wireless communication circuit provided on the second support member of the second housing (104); a sixth side portion comprising a first conductive portion (107); and a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion (103; see ¶31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Yoon to include a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion, employing the teachings of Iwai.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of enabling function as an antenna resonating at a predetermined frequency (Iwai, Abstract lines 17-22).
Yoon does not teach the matching circuit being configured to induce a second surface current having a second phase opposite to a first phase of a first surface current induce on the first housing, the second housing, and the hinge structure based on the electronic device being in a folded state in which the first housing and the second housing are folded with respect to each other; however, the configuration of a particular current induction amounts to functional language, and as the structure of the claimed invention is determined to be taught by the prior art, the functionality which follows inherently from such structure is also determined to be taught by the prior art, per MPEP 2114(I), “If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc. 661 F.3d 629, 639-40, 100 USPQ2d, 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
In the instant case, the electronic device as taught is inherently capable of being configured to induce a second surface current having a second phase opposite to a first phase of a first surface current induced on the first housing, the second housing, and the hinge structure based on the electronic device being in a folded state in which the first housing and the second housing are folded with respect to each other; see Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 2, Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Yoon does not teach wherein a second parasitic resonance formed by the second surface current is configured to shift a frequency band of a first parasitic resonance induced by the first surface current; however, the configuration of a particular current induction amounts to functional language, and as the structure of the claimed invention is determined to be taught by the prior art, the functionality which follows inherently from such structure is also determined to be taught by the prior art, per MPEP 2114(I), “If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc. 661 F.3d 629, 639-40, 100 USPQ2d, 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
In the instant case, the electronic device as taught is inherently capable of forming a second parasitic resonant by the second surface current and configuring it to shift a frequency band of a first parasitic resonance induced by the first surface current; see Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 3, Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a first ground member (see ¶123) configured to electrically ground the fourth side portion (portion of 511 which forms a straight line; see ¶150, Fig. 5) to the second support member (260; see ¶123 lines 8-15, and ¶110 lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Yoon does not teach wherein a first end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a first point of the second support member, and wherein a second end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a first point of the sixth side portion.
Iwai et al. teaches (Fig. 3) an electronic device comprising: a first housing (120); a second housing (110) comprising a second support member (101); a hinge structure coupled with the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are foldable relative to each other using the hinge structure as a central axis (130); and a wireless communication circuit provided on the second support member of the second housing (104); a sixth side portion comprising a first conductive portion (107); and a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion (103; see ¶31), wherein a first end of the first matching circuit (103) is electrically coupled with a first point of the second support member (connected to elements of 101 by 152, see Fig. 3), and wherein a second end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a first point of the sixth side portion (connected via 151, see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Yoon to include a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion, wherein a first end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a first point of the second support member, and wherein a second end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a first point of the sixth side portion, employing the teachings of Iwai.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of enabling function as an antenna resonating at a predetermined frequency (Iwai, Abstract lines 17-22).
Regarding claim 11, Yoon et al. teaches (Figs. 1-20) an electronic device comprising: a first housing (220); a second housing (210) comprising a second support member (260 supports display 230); a hinge structure coupled with the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are foldable relative to each other using the hinge structure as a central axis (264); and a wireless communication circuit provided on the second support member of the second housing (190; see ¶142, ¶108, circuit boards 271 comprise wireless communication circuit 190, disposed on the second support member 260), wherein the second housing further comprises (see 502 of Fig. 5; see ¶116, 502 and 501 represent configurations of housings of the device 200 of Fig. 2): a sixth side portion comprising a first conductive portion (514 and portion of 513 which form a horizontal line; see ¶150); a fifth side portion facing the sixth side portion and comprising a second conductive portion (512; see ¶150, Fig. 5); a fourth side portion facing the hinge structure and comprising a third conductive portion (portion of 511 which forms a straight line; see ¶150, Fig. 5); a third corner [portion] between the sixth side portion and the fourth side portion and comprising a fourth conductive portion (portion of 513 which forms a corner, see Fig. 5); a fourth corner portion between the fifth side portion and the fourth side portion and comprising a fifth conductive portion (portion of 511 which forms a corner, see Fig. 5).
Yoon does not teach a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion and the third fourth corner portion.
Iwai et al. teaches (Fig. 3) an electronic device comprising: a first housing (120); a second housing (110) comprising a second support member (101); a hinge structure coupled with the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are foldable relative to each other using the hinge structure as a central axis (130); and a wireless communication circuit provided on the second support member of the second housing (104); a sixth side portion comprising a first conductive portion (107); a third fourth corner portion (106, being a conductive corner in a folded state); and a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion and the third fourth corner portion (103; see ¶31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Yoon to include a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion and the third fourth corner portion, employing the teachings of Iwai.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of enabling function as an antenna resonating at a predetermined frequency (Iwai, Abstract lines 17-22).
Yoon does not teach the matching circuit being configured to induce a second surface current having a second phase opposite to a first phase of a first surface current induce on the first housing, the second housing, and the hinge structure based on the electronic device being in a folded state in which the first housing and the second housing are folded with respect to each other using the hinge structure as the central axis; however, the configuration of a particular current induction amounts to functional language, and as the structure of the claimed invention is determined to be taught by the prior art, the functionality which follows inherently from such structure is also determined to be taught by the prior art, per MPEP 2114(I), “If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc. 661 F.3d 629, 639-40, 100 USPQ2d, 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
In the instant case, the electronic device as taught is inherently capable of being configured to induce a second surface current having a second phase opposite to a first phase of a first surface current induced on the first housing, the second housing, and the hinge structure based on the electronic device being in a folded state in which the first housing and the second housing are folded with respect to each other using the hinge structure as the central axis; see Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 12, Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 11.
Yoon does not teach wherein a second parasitic resonance formed by the second surface current is configured to shift a frequency band of a first parasitic resonance induced by the first surface current; however, the configuration of a particular current induction amounts to functional language, and as the structure of the claimed invention is determined to be taught by the prior art, the functionality which follows inherently from such structure is also determined to be taught by the prior art, per MPEP 2114(I), “If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc. 661 F.3d 629, 639-40, 100 USPQ2d, 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
In the instant case, the electronic device as taught is inherently capable of forming a second parasitic resonant by the second surface current and configuring it to shift a frequency band of a first parasitic resonance induced by the first surface current; see Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 13, Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 11, further comprising: a first ground member (see ¶123) configured to electrically ground the fourth side portion (portion of 511 which forms a straight line; see ¶150, Fig. 5) to the second support member (260; see ¶123 lines 8-15, and ¶110 lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 18, Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 11.
Yoon does not teach wherein a first end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a second point of the sixth side portion, and wherein a second end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a second point of the third corner.
Iwai et al. teaches (Fig. 3) an electronic device comprising: a first housing (120); a second housing (110) comprising a second support member (101); a hinge structure coupled with the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are foldable relative to each other using the hinge structure as a central axis (130); and a wireless communication circuit provided on the second support member of the second housing (104); a sixth side portion comprising a first conductive portion (107); a third corner (106); and a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion (103; see ¶31), wherein a first end of the first matching circuit (103) is electrically coupled with a second point of the sixth side portion (connected to 107 via 151, see Fig. 3), and wherein a second end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a second point of the third corner (second end of 103 is electrically interconnected to point of 106 via 151 and 107, see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Yoon to include a first matching circuit on the second support member, electrically coupled with the sixth side portion, wherein a first end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a second point of the sixth side portion, and wherein a second end of the first matching circuit is electrically coupled with a second point of the third corner, employing the teachings of Iwai.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of enabling function as an antenna resonating at a predetermined frequency (Iwai, Abstract lines 17-22).
Claims 9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0266524) in view of Iwai et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2011/0057847) as applied to claims 8 and 18 above, and further in view of Liao et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0014575).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 8.
Yoon does not teach wherein the first matching circuit comprises a second switch and at least one first inductor, and wherein the first matching circuit is configured to: turn on the second switch based on the electronic device being in the folded state; and turn off the second switch based on the electronic device based on the electronic device not being in the folded state.
Liao et al. teaches (Figs. 1-3, 8) an electronic device (50) comprising: a first housing (52); a second housing (54); a hinge structure coupled with the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are foldable relative to each other using the hinge structure as a central axis (56); a wireless communication circuit (within 10); and a first matching circuit (20 and encompassing circuit), wherein the first matching circuit comprises a second switch (36) and at least one first inductor (L1), and wherein the first matching circuit is configured to: turn on the second switch based on the electronic device being in the folded state; and turn off the second switch based on the electronic device not being in the folded state (¶17, lines 46-67; Liao herein teaches a switch whose state is functionally tied to the folded or unfolded state of the encompassing electronic device; as the function of the claimed switch is not recited other than to itself turn to an on or off state, this reference is sufficient to teach the claim as recited).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Yoon by forming the first matching circuit such that it comprises a second switch and at least one first inductor, and wherein the first matching circuit is configured to: turn on the second switch based on the electronic device being in the folded state; and turn off the second switch based on the electronic device not being in the folded state, employing the teachings of Liao.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of resolving coupling problems when the first housing and second housing overlap (Liao, ¶17 lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 19, Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 18.
Yoon does not teach wherein the first matching circuit comprises a second switch and at least one first inductor.
Liao et al. teaches (Figs. 1-3, 8) an electronic device (50) comprising: a first housing (52); a second housing (54); a hinge structure coupled with the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are foldable relative to each other using the hinge structure as a central axis (56); a wireless communication circuit (within 10); and a first matching circuit (20 and encompassing circuit), wherein the first matching circuit comprises a second switch (36) and at least one first inductor (L1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Yoon by forming the first matching circuit such that it comprises a second switch and at least one first inductor, employing the teachings of Liao.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of resolving coupling problems when the first housing and second housing overlap (Liao, ¶17 lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 20, Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 19.
Yoon does not teach wherein the first matching circuit is configured to: turn on the second switch based on the electronic device being in the folded state; and turn off the second switch based on the electronic device based on the electronic device not being in the folded state.
Liao et al. teaches (Figs. 1-3, 8) an electronic device (50) comprising: a first housing (52); a second housing (54); a hinge structure coupled with the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are foldable relative to each other using the hinge structure as a central axis (56); a wireless communication circuit (within 10); and a first matching circuit (20 and encompassing circuit), wherein the first matching circuit comprises a second switch (36) and at least one first inductor (L1), and wherein the first matching circuit is configured to: turn on the second switch based on the electronic device being in the folded state; and turn off the second switch based on the electronic device not being in the folded state (¶17, lines 46-67; Liao herein teaches a switch whose state is functionally tied to the folded or unfolded state of the encompassing electronic device; as the function of the claimed switch is not recited other than to itself turn to an on or off state, this reference is sufficient to teach the claim as recited).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Yoon by forming the first matching circuit such that it is configured to: turn on the second switch based on the electronic device being in the folded state; and turn off the second switch based on the electronic device not being in the folded state, employing the teachings of Liao.
Doing so would provide the predictable benefit of resolving coupling problems when the first housing and second housing overlap (Liao, ¶17 lines 65-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with other claimed limitations, the limitation of “a first connecting portion configured to electrically couple with the fourth side portion and the third corner portion” and the modification over the art of record to teach the claimed limitation it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 5-7 and 10 are included for their dependency upon claim 4.
Claims 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with other claimed limitations, the limitation of “a first connecting portion configured to electrically coupled with the fourth side portion and the third corner” and the modification over the art of record to teach the claimed limitation it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 15-17 are included for their dependency upon claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yun et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0269314), Oh et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0115768), and Lin et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0318720) each teach various switchable matching circuits incorporated into foldable electronic devices.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/Jordan E. DeWitt/Examiner, Art Unit 2845