CTNF 18/788,996 CTNF 83149 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25 AIA Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-14 , in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 , is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “ the product of claim 15 is comprised of “a resin” and various features “embedded within the resin”. Accordingly, the product of claim 15 is a resinous product. Because the product of claim 15 is a resinous product, it cannot be materially different than “a resinous product” produced by the process of Group I. Therefore, the basis for restriction between Group I and Group II is flawed. ” This is not found persuasive because the claimed final part in claim 15 is a syntactic-foam part and not a resinous product. Further, the indicated “resinous product”, in page 2, refers to resinous product, other than, a synthetic foam part. Therefore, the process, as claimed in claim 1 , is still patentably independent and distinct from “a syntactic-foam part”, as claimed in claim 15 . The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. 08-05 AIA Claim s 15-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group of the invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-03 Claim 1 recites “low -density spheres ” which renders the claim vague and indefinite. The term “low -density ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 11 and 12 recite “ uniformly ” and “ non-uniformly ” which render the claim indefinite. The term “ uniformly ” and “ non-uniformly ” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite scope of such terms, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver et al. (US 2023/0159721) . As to claim 1, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) disclose a method of making a syntactic-foam part (¶ [0004]), the method comprising: - positioning at least one thermally-conductive media layer ( a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing, ¶ [0047] ) within a mold (a housing 200 with a void volume 210 , ¶ [0046]) such that at least a portion of the at least one thermally-conductive media layer (a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing, ¶ [0047]) is spaced apart from an interior surface (a base portion 205 of the housing, ¶ [0047]) of the mold (a housing 200 , ¶ [0046]) ; [AltContent: textbox (Low-density spheres (250))] [AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Introducing a resin into the mold through an inlet 220)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A mold (200))][AltContent: textbox (A base portion (205))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A thermally-conductive media layer (240))] PNG media_image1.png 248 387 media_image1.png Greyscale - loading low-density spheres ( the microspheres 250 , ¶ [0043] and ¶ [0049] ) into the mold such that the low-density spheres (the microspheres 250 , ¶ [0043] and ¶ [0049]) form a lattice arrangement within the mold (a housing 200 with a void volume 210 , ¶ [0046]) and surround the at least one thermally-conductive media layer (a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing, ¶ [0047]) ; - introducing a resin into the mold (housing 200 , ¶ [0048]), through an inlet 220 , so that the at least one thermally-conductive layer ( a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing, ¶ [0047] ) and the low-density spheres ( the microspheres 250, ¶ [0043] and ¶ [0049] ) are embedded within the resin (a resin-microsphere matrix 280 , ¶ [0055] ) , - solidifying the resin after the resin is introduced into the mold ( the resin-microsphere matrix 280 in the housing 200 can be cured to produce a cured composition 290 , e.g., a molded article, ¶ [0058] and ¶ [0059] ) ; and - transferring heat through the at least one thermally-conductive media layer ( 240 ) when the resin is being solidified. ( ¶ [0058]: heat may be applied to the housing to cure the resin in the housing ) Weaver et al. (US ‘721) disclose the blind ( 240 ), as the claimed at least one thermally-conductive media layer, can be a screen or porous material that allows resin to flow through, but prevents any microspheres from flowing through the blind ( 240 ). ( See ¶ [0047] ) Weaver et al. (US ‘721) is silent on disclosing if the at least one thermally-conductive media layer ( 240 ) has a thermal conductivity that is greater than a thermal conductivity of the low-density spheres ( the microspheres 250 , ¶ [0043] and ¶ [0049] ) and a thermal conductivity of the resin, as claimed in claim 1. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify the at least one thermally-conductive media layer, as taught by Weaver et al. (US ‘721), so to have a greater thermal conductivity than a thermal conductivity of the low-density spheres and a thermal conductivity of the resin in order to improve a dimension accuracy for the synthetic foam so to produce a foam part that maintains its specific size. As to claim 2, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) disclose the at least one thermally-conductive media layer ( a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing, ¶ [0047] ) is positioned within the mold ( the housing 200 , ¶ [0046] - ¶ [0048] ) before the low-density spheres ( the microspheres 250 , ¶ [0043] and ¶ [0049] ) are loaded into the mold ( the housing 200 , ¶ [0046] - ¶ [0048] ) . As to claim 3, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) teach the at least one thermally-conductive media layer is porous (¶ [0047]: the blind 240 can be a screen or porous material that allows resin to flow through) ; and - at least some of the low-density spheres (the microspheres 250 , ¶ [0049] - ¶ [0051]) pass through the at least one thermally-conductive media layer ( ¶ [0047]: the blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing ) when the low-density spheres (the microspheres 250 , ¶ [0049]) are loaded into the mold (housing 200 , ¶ [0046] - ¶ [0055]). As to claim 4, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) teach the at least one thermally-conductive media layer ( ¶ [0047]: the blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing ) is perpendicular to a loading direction of the low-density spheres ( ¶ [0049]: the microspheres 250 can be poured through the top portion 206 of the housing 200 ) and a filling direction of the resin ( ¶ [0053]: the inlet is slowly opened to allow the resin 270 , e.g. low-viscosity resin, to be characterized by a uniform flow from when contacting the microspheres 250 ). As to claim 5, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) teach the at least one thermally-conductive media layer ( ¶ [0047]: the blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing ) is parallel to a loading direction of the low-density spheres ( ¶ [0049]: the microspheres 250 can be poured through the top portion 206 of the housing 200 ) and a filling direction of the resin ( ¶ [0053]: the inlet is slowly opened to allow the resin 270 , e.g. low-viscosity resin, to be characterized by a uniform flow from when contacting the microspheres 250 ). As to claim 6, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) disclose the at least one thermally-conductive media layer is partially porous ( ¶ [0047]: the blind 240 can be a semi-porous material that allows air and liquids to pass through but not the microspheres 250 ) such that the low-density spheres do not pass through the at least one thermally-conductive media layer when loaded into the mold ( ¶ [0047]) ; and - the resin does pass through the at least one thermally-conductive media layer when introduced into the mold ( ¶ [0047]: the blind 240 can be a semi-porous material that allows air and liquids to pass through but not the microspheres 250 ) . As to claim 7, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) teach the at least one thermally-conductive media layer is porous ( ¶ [0047]: the blind 240 can be a screen or porous material that allows resin to flow through ) ; and - at least a portion of the resin passes through the at least one thermally-conductive media layer when the resin is introduced into the mold ( ¶ [0047]: the blind 240 can be a screen or porous material that allows resin to flow through ) . As to claim 8, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) disclose loading the low-density spheres into the mold comprises loading a first quantity of the low-density spheres and loading a second quantity of the low-density spheres ( ¶ [0049]: the microspheres 250 can be poured through the top portion 206 of the housing 200 ) ; - positioning the at least one thermally-conductive media layer within the mold comprises positioning the at least one thermally-conductive media layer onto the first quantity of the low-density spheres after the first quantity of the low-density spheres is loaded into the mold ( a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing, ¶ [0047] ) ; and - the second quantity of the low-density spheres is loaded onto the at least one thermally-conductive media layer ( ¶ [0049]: the microspheres 250 can be poured through the top portion 206 of the housing 200 ) As to claim 9, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) teach the at least one thermally-conductive media layer extends across an entirety of a width, a height, or a length of the mold and is in thermal conduction engagement with the interior surface of the mold at opposing ends of the at least one thermally-conductive media layer ( ¶ [0049]: the housing 200 may include a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing ) ; and - at least a portion of the heat transferred through the at least thermally-conductive media layer (a blind 240 ) is transferred directly to the interior surface of the mold (a housing 200 with a void volume 210 , ¶ [0046]) from the at least one thermally-conductive media layer (a blind 240 ) via conduction. (¶ [0058]: heat may be applied to the housing to cure the resin in the housing) As to claim 11, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) discloses the plurality of thermally-conductive media layers ( ¶ [0049]: the housing 200 may include a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing ) are uniformly spaced within the mold (a housing 200 with a void volume 210 , ¶ [0046]). As to claim 12, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) discloses the plurality of thermally-conductive media layers ( ¶ [0049]: the housing 200 may include a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing ) are non-uniformly spaced within the mold (a housing 200 with a void volume 210 , ¶ [0046]). As to claim 13, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) is silent on disclosing the at least one thermally-conductive media layer has a specific thermal conductivity between, and inclusive of, 80 watts per meter-kelvin per grams per cubic centimeter (W/mK/(g/cc)) and 1,400 W/mK/(g/cc), however, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of Applicant’s invention, to modify the at least one thermally-conductive media layer, as taught by Weaver et al. (US ‘721), so for the layer to have a specific thermal conductivity between 80 W/mK/(g/cc) and 1,400 W/mK/(g/cc) in order to improve a dimension accuracy for the synthetic foam so to produce a foam part that maintains its specific size. As to claim 14, Weaver et al. (US ‘721) disclose the at least one thermally-conductive media layer comprises a perforated sheet. ( a blind 240 at a base portion 205 of the housing wherein the blind ( 240 ) can be a screen or porous material, see ¶ [0047] ) Correspondence Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH whose telephone number is (571)272-6215. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30AM-5:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, SUSAN D. LEONG can be reached at (571)270-1487. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner Art Unit 1754 05/29/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/788,996 Page 2 Art Unit: 1754 Application/Control Number: 18/788,996 Page 3 Art Unit: 1754 Application/Control Number: 18/788,996 Page 4 Art Unit: 1754 Application/Control Number: 18/788,996 Page 5 Art Unit: 1754 Application/Control Number: 18/788,996 Page 6 Art Unit: 1754 Application/Control Number: 18/788,996 Page 7 Art Unit: 1754