Status of Claims
Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination and accompanying amendment filed September 18, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1–21 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claims 22–72 were previously cancelled. Claims 1–21 are rejected. This action is non-final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 18, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendment of claim 1 to recite the voltage-to-frequency converter (VFC) in place of “the VDC,” and of claim 15 to delete the recitation “conducting a power supply current that generates three respective power supply magnetic fields,” is acknowledged. The rejections of claims 1–7 and 15–21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the final Office action mailed June 30, 2026, are withdrawn. New rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), directed to defects not previously identified, are set forth below.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pp. 10–11) that Petersen teaches away from the use of an alternating current source because Petersen states, at col. 1, ll. 7–24, that a direct-current motor-generator set is provided where an alternating current source is not available. This argument is not persuasive. A reference teaches away only when it criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the claimed solution. In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2004); MPEP § 2145(X)(D)(1). Petersen’s statement describes direct-current operation as a solution for locations at which alternating current is unavailable; it contains no criticism of, and no statement discouraging, alternating-current operation of a motor-generator set. Moreover, the rejection did not rely on Petersen for the alternating-current supply or the voltage-to-frequency converter; those features were supplied by Swamy, and nonobviousness cannot be established by attacking references individually where the rejection is based on a combination of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 426 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 1097 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Notwithstanding the foregoing, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Petersen in view of Swamy, alone and further in view of Bedini, Devol, and Du Puy, are withdrawn in favor of the new grounds of rejection set forth below, in which Kim (US 2018/0198317 A1) is applied as the primary reference. Kim is applicant’s own earlier publication, corresponding to U.S. Patent No. 10,615,640, which the present specification incorporates by reference at ¶[0042]. Kim was published July 12, 2018, more than one year before the July 30, 2024 effective filing date of the present application, and is therefore prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) to which the exceptions of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1) do not apply. Kim discloses a motor-generator set whose motor is driven, through a speed controller that converts the supplied alternating current to three-phase power, from an alternating current wall outlet, for the express purpose of electrically disconnecting the generator output from the supply (Kim ¶¶[0047], [0056], [0059]). Applicant’s contention that one of ordinary skill in the art would not operate a motor-generator set from an alternating current source is thus contradicted by applicant’s own prior disclosure.
Applicant further argues that the dependent claims are allowable for at least the same reasons as their respective independent claims. No separate argument is presented for any dependent claim, and the dependent claims stand rejected as set forth below.
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because they use the generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function: in claim 15, “means for receiving three-phase sinusoidal power,” “means for conducting a power supply current,” “means for converting the power supply current to movement,” “means for controlling the power supply current,” and “means for converting the movement into a second electric current”; and in claim 21, “means for switching a switching circuit.” Because these limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structures are: for the means for receiving, the voltage-to-frequency converter 80 (Spec. ¶¶[0037], [0046]; FIG. 2); for the means for conducting, the power supply conductors 12A, 12B, 12C (¶[0046]; FIG. 2); for the means for converting the power supply current to movement, the electric motor 16 including the motor stator 52 and motor rotor 54 (¶¶[0027]–[0029], [0039]; FIG. 1); for the means for controlling, the controller 84 and the voltage-to-frequency converter 80 (¶¶[0037], [0046]; FIG. 2); for the means for converting the movement into a second electric current, the generator 18 including the generator stator 62 and generator rotor 64 (¶¶[0031]–[0033], [0040]; FIG. 1); and for the means for switching, the switching circuit 92 having switches 116, 118 operated by the controller 84 (¶¶[0048]–[0051]; FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 each recite that the power supply current generates “three respective power supply magnetic fields” and subsequently recite a generator magnetic field “that is uncoupled from the power supply magnetic field.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the power supply magnetic field” in the claims, and it is unclear whether the singular recitation refers to one of the three recited fields, to a particular one of them, or to the fields collectively. Claims 2–7, 9–14, and 16–21 are rejected as depending from claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, and incorporating the same indefiniteness.
Claim 7 recites “a controller.” Claim 1, from which claim 7 depends, already recites “a controller.” It is unclear whether the controller of claim 7 is the controller of claim 1 or an additional controller, and the scope of the claim therefore cannot be determined.
Claim 8 recites “the movable output component,” “the movable input component,” “the motor,” “the housing,” and “the generator.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim, which does not previously recite a movable output component, a movable input component, a motor, a housing, or a generator. Claims 9–14 are rejected as depending from claim 8 and incorporating the same indefiniteness.
Claims 12 and 13 recite “the electric motor.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 14 recites “the output terminal.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 8 does not recite an output terminal.
Claim 15 recites “the movable output component,” “the movable input component,” “the motor,” “the housing,” and “the generator.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim, which does not previously recite a movable output component, a movable input component, a motor, a housing, or a generator. Claims 16–21 are rejected as depending from claim 15 and incorporating the same indefiniteness.
Claims 19 and 20 recite “the electric motor.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 21 recites “the output terminal.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 15 does not recite an output terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–5, 8–12, and 15–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2018/0198317 A1) in view of SWAMY (US 2015/0311853 A1) and PETERSEN (US 1,978,688).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a system for transferring electric power comprising(¶[0045]; FIG. 5; system 110 having a first subsystem 112 converting electric power to mechanical power, a second subsystem 114 converting mechanical power to electric power, and a third subsystem 116 for charging batteries):
a voltage-to-frequency converter (VFC) for receiving power from an alternating current power supply(¶¶[0047], [0056]; FIG. 5; speed controller 122 receiving alternating current from a wall outlet through power supply conductor 118 and converting the alternating current to three-phase alternating current at an operator-selected speed and power);
three power supply conductors connected to the VFC to conduct a power supply current provided by the VFC and generate three respective power supply magnetic fields(¶¶[0046]–[0048]; FIG. 5; first, second, and third three-phase motor power supply conductors 124 connected to speed controller 122, each conductor supplying a respective coil of motor 126, the energized coils producing the magnetic field that rotates the rotor);
an electric motor having three power input terminals connected to the power supply conductors, respectively(¶[0047]; FIG. 5; each conductor 124 connected to a respective power input terminal 128 of electric motor 126),
and a movable output component, the electric motor being configured to convert the power supply current to movement of the movable output component(¶[0048]; rotating output axle 130 rotated by the rotor of motor 126);
the VFC providing the three-phase power over the power supply conductors(¶¶[0048], [0056]; speed controller 122 providing three-phase power through conductors 124 to motor 126, the power and speed provided being set by adjustable input 132);
a generator having a movable input component connected to the movable output component such that the movable output component causes movement of the movable input component(¶¶[0049], [0057]; FIG. 5; rotating input axle 134 of generator 136 directly connected to rotating output axle 130 in a one-to-one ratio),
and a power output terminal(¶[0052]; brushes 154 delivering the generated current to power delivery circuit 142),
the generator being configured to convert the movement of the movable input component into a power output current to the power output terminal that generates a generator magnetic field that is uncoupled from the power supply magnetic field(¶¶[0051], [0058], [0059]; rotation of coil 148 in the field of permanent magnets 144, 146 generates the output current; second subsystem 114 is not electrically connected to first subsystem 112, and the resultant magnetic field of the second subsystem is disconnected from and not interfered with by that of the first);
wherein the motor includes a motor stator and a motor rotor(¶[0048]; coils forming the stator of motor 126 and a rotor carrying permanent magnets).
Kim does not explicitly teach a controller; the VFC being connected to the controller, for receiving three-phase sinusoidal power from the alternating current power supply; or the VFC providing the three-phase sinusoidal power as a predetermined waveform with the controller controlling power provided by the VFC over the power supply conductors.
However, Swamy teaches a controller(¶¶[0030]–[0032]; FIG. 2; controller 34 controlling the variable frequency drive);
a voltage-to-frequency converter (VFC), connected to the controller, for receiving three-phase sinusoidal power from an alternating current power supply(¶¶[0029]–[0030]; FIG. 1; variable frequency drive 14 powered by AC source 12 and connectable to a three-phase AC source on all three of its terminals R, S, T, its AC/DC converter 18 being a full-wave bridge rectifier operable to convert three-phase AC power to DC power; drive 14 operated by controller 34);
three power supply conductors connected to the VFC to conduct a power supply current provided by the VFC and generate three respective power supply magnetic fields(¶¶[0029]–[0031]; FIG. 1; inverter 22 output terminals U, V, W connected by three conductors to terminals T1, T2, T3 of three-phase motor 16, the sine-wave voltage impressed across U, V, W driving the three phases of the motor);
three power input terminals connected to the power supply conductors, respectively(¶[0029]; FIG. 1; motor terminals T1, T2, T3 connected respectively to inverter output terminals U, V, W);
and the VFC providing the three-phase sinusoidal power as a predetermined waveform with the controller controlling power provided by the VFC over the power supply conductors(¶¶[0030]–[0032]; FIGS. 1–2; pulse-width-modulated inverter 22 controlled by controller 34, the pulse width being varied so that the average voltage at the motor is a sine wave of a selected frequency; controller 34 varying the frequency and thereby controlling the power delivered over conductors U, V, W).
Swamy is analogous art, being in the same field of endeavor of electric motor drive and control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supply the motor of Kim from a three-phase alternating current source through the controller-operated voltage-to-frequency converter of Swamy, as recited. One would be motivated to do this in order to manage and optimize operation of the electric motor by supplying it with a controlled, variable-frequency sinusoidal waveform, thereby enabling variable-speed control and optimal utilization of the drive (Swamy ¶¶[0031], [0047]). Such a combination is the use of a known motor-drive technique to improve a known motor-generator set in the same way it improves other motor drives, yielding the predictable result of controlled, variable-speed operation. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Kim in view of Swamy does not explicitly teach a housing; a shaft movably mounted to the housing; wherein the movable output component and the movable input component are parts of the shaft; wherein the motor includes a motor stator mounted to the housing and a motor rotor mounted to the shaft; or wherein the generator includes a generator stator mounted to the housing and a generator rotor mounted to the shaft.
However, Petersen teaches a housing(col. 2, ll. 71–77; FIG. 1; motor frame with end bells 16, 18 formed as die castings and hollow extension portion 20 of end bell 18 forming the structural housing of the unit);
a shaft movably mounted to the housing(col. 2, ll. 78–82; FIG. 1; shaft 26 journalled in bearings in end bell 16 and in hollow portion 20, mounted for rotation relative to the housing);
wherein the movable output component and the movable input component are parts of the shaft(col. 2, ll. 78–80; FIGS. 1, 3; motor armature 27 and generator rotating element 25 both mounted on common shaft 26, the shaft carrying the motor output and the generator input);
wherein the motor includes a motor stator mounted to the housing and a motor rotor mounted to the shaft(col. 2, ll. 61–63, 71–82; FIG. 1; Petersen claim 1; motor 12 having a frame to which end bells 16, 18 are secured, the frame carrying the stationary motor structure; armature 27 of the motor mounted on shaft 26);
and wherein the generator includes a generator stator mounted to the housing and a generator rotor mounted to the shaft(col. 2, ll. 83–97; FIGS. 1–3; magneto pole shoes 28 secured within the wall portions of bore 24 of extension 20 and permanent magnet 38 seated on extension 20, forming the generator stator; generator rotating element 25 mounted on shaft 26).
Petersen is analogous art, being in the same field of endeavor of motor-generator sets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the motor and the generator of Kim in view of Swamy in a common housing on a single shaft journalled in the housing, with the motor stator and generator stator mounted to the housing and the motor rotor and generator rotor mounted to the shaft, as taught by Petersen. One would be motivated to do this in order to obtain a compact motor-generator unit and to eliminate the shaft coupling and additional bearings that would otherwise be required between separate motor and generator shafts (Petersen col. 3, ll. 28–33). Such a combination is the application of a known motor-generator construction to the known motor-generator set of Kim to yield the predictable result of a compact, single-shaft unit. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a method of transferring electric power comprising(¶¶[0045], [0056]–[0058]; FIG. 5; operating system 110 to convert electric power to mechanical power and back to electric power for charging batteries):
receiving power from an alternating current power supply(¶¶[0047], [0056]; speed controller 122 receiving alternating current from a wall outlet through conductor 118);
conducting a power supply current that generates three respective power supply magnetic fields(¶¶[0046]–[0048]; three-phase power conducted over the three conductors 124 to the coils of motor 126, the energized coils producing the magnetic field that rotates the rotor);
converting the power supply current to movement of the movable output component(¶[0048]; the coils causing rotation of the rotor and of rotating output axle 130);
controlling the power supply current by providing the three-phase power(¶¶[0048], [0056]; speed controller 122 converting the supplied alternating current to three-phase alternating current, the power and speed being set by adjustable input 132); and
converting the movement into a second electric current that generates a generator magnetic field that is uncoupled from the power supply magnetic field(¶¶[0057]–[0059]; rotation of coil 148 by input axle 134 generating an alternating current converted to direct current for batteries 166; second subsystem 114 electrically disconnected from first subsystem 112 so that the resultant magnetic field of the second subsystem is disconnected from that of the first);
wherein the motor includes a motor stator and a motor rotor(¶[0048]; stator coils and permanent-magnet rotor of motor 126).
Kim does not explicitly teach receiving three-phase sinusoidal power from the alternating current power supply, or controlling the power supply current by providing the three-phase sinusoidal power as a predetermined waveform. Kim is silent as to these steps because its speed controller 122 is supplied from a single-phase wall outlet (¶[0046]) and Kim does not describe the waveform the speed controller produces.
However, Swamy teaches receiving three-phase sinusoidal power from an alternating current power supply(¶¶[0029]–[0030]; FIG. 1; drive 14 connectable to a three-phase AC source on terminals R, S, T, its full-wave bridge rectifier 18 operable to convert three-phase AC power to DC power);
conducting a power supply current that generates three respective power supply magnetic fields(¶¶[0029]–[0031]; three-phase sine-wave voltage on conductors U, V, W driving the three phases of motor 16 through terminals T1, T2, T3);
and controlling the power supply current by providing the three-phase sinusoidal power as a predetermined waveform(¶¶[0030]–[0032]; FIGS. 1–2; controller 34 and pulse-width-modulated inverter 22 providing a sine-wave output of a selected frequency).
Swamy is analogous art, being in the same field of endeavor of electric motor drive and control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supply the motor of Kim from a three-phase alternating current source through the controller-operated voltage-to-frequency converter of Swamy, as recited. One would be motivated to do this in order to manage and optimize operation of the electric motor by supplying it with a controlled, variable-frequency sinusoidal waveform, thereby enabling variable-speed control and optimal utilization of the drive (Swamy ¶¶[0031], [0047]). Such a combination is the use of a known motor-drive technique to improve a known motor-generator set in the same way it improves other motor drives, yielding the predictable result of controlled, variable-speed operation. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Kim in view of Swamy does not explicitly teach wherein the movable output component and the movable input component are parts of a shaft, wherein the motor includes a motor stator mounted to the housing and a motor rotor mounted to the shaft, and wherein the generator includes a generator stator mounted to the housing and a generator rotor mounted to the shaft. Kim is silent as to these features because FIG. 5 depicts the motor and the generator schematically as separate units whose respective axles 130 and 134 are coupled together (¶[0057]), without describing a housing or the mounting of the stators and rotors.
However, Petersen teaches wherein the movable output component and the movable input component are parts of a shaft(col. 2, ll. 78–80; FIGS. 1, 3; motor armature 27 and generator rotating element 25 both mounted on common shaft 26), wherein the motor includes a motor stator mounted to the housing and a motor rotor mounted to the shaft(col. 2, ll. 61–63, 71–82; FIG. 1; Petersen claim 1; motor 12 having a frame to which end bells 16, 18 are secured, the frame carrying the stationary motor structure and forming with hollow extension 20 the housing; armature 27 on shaft 26), and wherein the generator includes a generator stator mounted to the housing and a generator rotor mounted to the shaft(col. 2, ll. 83–97; FIGS. 1–3; pole shoes 28 secured in the walls of bore 24 of extension 20 and magnet 38 seated on extension 20; rotating element 25 on shaft 26).
Petersen is analogous art, being in the same field of endeavor of motor-generator sets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the motor and the generator of Kim in view of Swamy in a common housing on a single shaft journalled in the housing, with the motor stator and generator stator mounted to the housing and the motor rotor and generator rotor mounted to the shaft, as taught by Petersen. One would be motivated to do this in order to obtain a compact motor-generator unit and to eliminate the shaft coupling and additional bearings that would otherwise be required between separate motor and generator shafts (Petersen col. 3, ll. 28–33). Such a combination is the application of a known motor-generator construction to the known motor-generator set of Kim to yield the predictable result of a compact, single-shaft unit. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a system for transferring electric power comprising(¶[0045]; FIG. 5; system 110), the recited means-plus-function limitations being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as set forth above, and the prior art disclosing the corresponding structures or their art-recognized equivalents:
means for receiving power from an alternating current power supply(¶¶[0047], [0056]; FIG. 5; speed controller 122 receiving alternating current from a wall outlet and converting it to three-phase alternating current, equivalent structure to voltage-to-frequency converter 80);
means for conducting a power supply current that generates three respective power supply magnetic fields(¶¶[0046]–[0048]; FIG. 5; three-phase motor power supply conductors 124 carrying three-phase power to the coils of motor 126, equivalent to conductors 12A–12C);
means for converting the power supply current to movement of the movable output component(¶[0048]; motor 126 having stator coils and a permanent-magnet rotor driving rotating output axle 130, equivalent to motor 16, stator 52, rotor 54);
means for controlling the power supply current by providing the three-phase power(¶¶[0048], [0056]; speed controller 122 with adjustable input 132 setting the power and speed provided over conductors 124); and
means for converting the movement into a second electric current that generates a generator magnetic field that is uncoupled from the power supply magnetic field(¶¶[0049]–[0052], [0057]–[0059]; FIG. 5; generator 136 having permanent magnets 144, 146 and coil 148 driven by input axle 134, equivalent to generator 18, stator 62, rotor 64; second subsystem 114 electrically disconnected from first subsystem 112 so that its resultant magnetic field is disconnected from that of the first);
wherein the motor includes a motor stator and a motor rotor(¶[0048]; stator coils and permanent-magnet rotor of motor 126).
Kim does not explicitly teach the means for receiving three-phase sinusoidal power from the alternating current power supply, or means for controlling the power supply current by providing the three-phase sinusoidal power as a predetermined waveform.
However, Swamy teaches means for receiving three-phase sinusoidal power from an alternating current power supply(¶¶[0029]–[0030]; FIG. 1; variable frequency drive 14 connectable to a three-phase AC source on terminals R, S, T, with full-wave bridge rectifier 18 operable to convert three-phase AC power to DC, equivalent structure to voltage-to-frequency converter 80);
means for conducting a power supply current that generates three respective power supply magnetic fields(¶¶[0029]–[0031]; FIG. 1; conductors U, V, W carrying the three-phase sine-wave output to terminals T1, T2, T3 of motor 16, equivalent to conductors 12A–12C);
and means for controlling the power supply current by providing the three-phase sinusoidal power as a predetermined waveform(¶¶[0030]–[0032]; FIGS. 1–2; controller 34 and pulse-width-modulated inverter 22 producing a sine-wave output of a selected frequency, equivalent to controller 84 and voltage-to-frequency converter 80).
Swamy is analogous art, being in the same field of endeavor of electric motor drive and control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supply the motor of Kim from a three-phase alternating current source through the controller-operated voltage-to-frequency converter of Swamy, as recited. One would be motivated to do this in order to manage and optimize operation of the electric motor by supplying it with a controlled, variable-frequency sinusoidal waveform, thereby enabling variable-speed control and optimal utilization of the drive (Swamy ¶¶[0031], [0047]). Such a combination is the use of a known motor-drive technique to improve a known motor-generator set in the same way it improves other motor drives, yielding the predictable result of controlled, variable-speed operation. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Kim in view of Swamy does not explicitly teach wherein the movable output component and the movable input component are parts of a shaft, wherein the motor includes a motor stator mounted to the housing and a motor rotor mounted to the shaft, and wherein the generator includes a generator stator mounted to the housing and a generator rotor mounted to the shaft. Kim is silent as to these features because FIG. 5 depicts the motor and the generator schematically as separate units whose respective axles 130 and 134 are coupled together (¶[0057]), without describing a housing or the mounting of the stators and rotors.
However, Petersen teaches wherein the movable output component and the movable input component are parts of a shaft(col. 2, ll. 78–80; FIGS. 1, 3; motor armature 27 and generator rotating element 25 both mounted on common shaft 26), wherein the motor includes a motor stator mounted to the housing and a motor rotor mounted to the shaft(col. 2, ll. 61–63, 71–82; FIG. 1; Petersen claim 1; motor 12 having a frame to which end bells 16, 18 are secured, the frame carrying the stationary motor structure and forming with hollow extension 20 the housing; armature 27 on shaft 26), and wherein the generator includes a generator stator mounted to the housing and a generator rotor mounted to the shaft(col. 2, ll. 83–97; FIGS. 1–3; pole shoes 28 secured in the walls of bore 24 of extension 20 and magnet 38 seated on extension 20; rotating element 25 on shaft 26).
Petersen is analogous art, being in the same field of endeavor of motor-generator sets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the motor and the generator of Kim in view of Swamy in a common housing on a single shaft journalled in the housing, with the motor stator and generator stator mounted to the housing and the motor rotor and generator rotor mounted to the shaft, as taught by Petersen. One would be motivated to do this in order to obtain a compact motor-generator unit and to eliminate the shaft coupling and additional bearings that would otherwise be required between separate motor and generator shafts (Petersen col. 3, ll. 28–33). Such a combination is the application of a known motor-generator construction to the known motor-generator set of Kim to yield the predictable result of a compact, single-shaft unit. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Regarding claims 2/1, 9/8, and 16/15, Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 8, and the system of claim 15, respectively.
Kim further teaches wherein the motor stator includes at least one motor coil that generates a motor coil magnetic field(¶[0048]; FIG. 5; coils forming the stator of motor 126, the coils when supplied with three-phase power generating the magnetic field that causes rotation of the rotor);
and wherein the motor rotor includes at least one motor permanent magnet that is located in the motor coil magnetic field(¶[0048]; rotor of motor 126 carrying a plurality of permanent magnets and rotated by the field of the stator coils).
Regarding claims 3/2, 10/9, and 17/16, Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen teaches the system of claim 2, the method of claim 9, and the system of claim 16, respectively.
Kim is silent wherein the generator rotor includes at least one generator permanent magnet and the generator stator includes at least one generator coil located in the permanent magnet field, because the generator 136 of Kim has stationary permanent magnets 144, 146 and a rotating coil 148 (¶¶[0050]–[0051]).
However, Petersen teaches wherein the generator rotor includes at least one generator permanent magnet that has a generator permanent magnet magnetic field; and wherein the generator stator includes at least one generator coil that is located in the generator permanent magnet magnetic field(col. 3, ll. 25–27; a rotating-field type of magneto, in which the permanent-magnet field element rotates on the shaft within a stationary winding, may be used in lieu of the stationary-magnet, wound-rotor magneto of FIGS. 1–3; col. 3, ll. 1–4, 10–13; any suitable generator of the required voltage and frequency rating may be accommodated, and the output varied to meet the requirements of other uses).
One would be motivated to construct the generator of Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen as a rotating-field magneto having a permanent-magnet rotor and a stationary coil in order to deliver the generated current from a stationary winding without conducting it off the rotating element, while retaining the single-shaft mounting of the rotating parts of the motor and generator that Petersen teaches results in a compact set (Petersen col. 3, ll. 25–33).
Regarding claims 4/1, 11/8, and 18/15, Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 8, and the system of claim 15, respectively.
Kim is silent wherein the shaft is rotatably mounted to the housing, because Kim does not describe a housing (¶[0057]).
However, Petersen teaches wherein the shaft is rotatably mounted to the housing(col. 2, ll. 78–82; FIG. 1; shaft 26 journalled in bearings in end bell 16 and hollow portion 20, free to rotate relative to the housing).
One would be motivated to mount the shaft of Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen for rotation in the housing in order to support the common shaft carrying both the motor armature and the generator rotating element in a compact unit without a separate shaft coupling or added bearings (Petersen col. 3, ll. 28–33).
Regarding claims 5/4, 12/11, and 19/18, Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen teaches the system of claim 4, the method of claim 11, and the system of claim 18, respectively.
Kim is silent wherein first and second shaft bearings rotatably mount the shaft to the housing with the electric motor and the generator between the bearings, because Kim does not describe the bearing arrangement of its motor and generator (¶[0057]).
However, Petersen teaches first and second shaft bearings rotatably mounting the shaft to the housing with the electric motor and the generator between the first and second shaft bearings(col. 2, ll. 79–82; FIG. 1; Petersen claim 7; a bearing in end bell 16 at the motor end and a bearing in hollow extension 20 at the generator end, the bearings being located outwardly of the magneto so that armature 27 and generator rotating element 25 on shaft 26 lie between the two bearings), and thus wherein first and second shaft bearings rotatably mount the shaft to the housing with the electric motor and the generator between the first and second shaft bearings(col. 2, ll. 79–82; FIG. 1; Petersen claim 7) as recited in claims 12 and 19.
One would be motivated to journal the shaft of Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen in bearings at the two ends of the housing with the motor and generator between them in order to support the single shaft at both ends while eliminating the additional bearings that separate motor and generator shafts would require (Petersen col. 3, ll. 28–33).
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2018/0198317 A1) in view of SWAMY (US 2015/0311853 A1) and PETERSEN (US 1,978,688), and further in view of TURNER(US 2002/0121818 A1).
Regarding claims 6/1, 13/8, and 20/15, Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 8, and the system of claim 15, respectively.
Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen does not explicitly teach a push fan; and a pull fan, the push fan and the pull fan being mounted in positions so that air flows sequentially over the push fan, then over a unit that includes the electric motor and the generator, and then over the pull fan. Kim is silent as to cooling of the motor and the generator, and Petersen describes no fan.
However, Turner teaches a push fan(¶¶[0021], [0027]–[0028]; FIG. 1; fan 58 formed by flywheel 62 with blades 60 on crankshaft 51 at the forward end of engine 50, drawing ambient air into the enclosure through louvers 44a–44e and forcing it over the engine);
and a pull fan(¶¶[0025], [0028], [0030]; FIG. 1; fan 120 with blades 122 on flywheel 124 on alternator shaft 52, in exhaust compartment 42c at the rearward end of alternator 54, drawing the air toward the rear of the enclosure and urging it out through louvers 161a–161e),
the push fan and the pull fan being mounted in positions so that air flows sequentially over the push fan, then over a unit that includes the electric motor and the generator, and then over the pull fan(¶¶[0020], [0027]–[0031]; FIG. 1; engine 50 and alternator 54 coupled on common shafts 51, 52 between fan 58 at the forward end and fan 120 at the rearward end; ambient air enters through forward wall 16, is forced by fan 58 over engine 50 and muffler 74, is drawn together with the air drawn over alternator 54 through opening 150 to fan 120, and is purged through rear wall 18),
and wherein air is directed over a push fan and a pull fan so that air flows sequentially over the push fan, then over a unit that includes the electric motor and the generator, and then over the pull fan(¶¶[0027]–[0031]; FIG. 1; fans 58, 120; engine 50; alternator 54; louvers 44a–44e, 161a–161e) as recited in claims 13 and 20.
Turner is analogous art, being in the same field of endeavor of enclosed generator sets driven through a common shaft and the cooling of their components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the housing of the motor-generator set of Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen with a fan at the air-inlet end and a fan at the air-outlet end, mounted so that air flows over the first fan, then over the motor and the generator, and then over the second fan, as taught by Turner. One would be motivated to do this in order to draw ambient air continually through the housing and purge the heated air after heat exchange rather than recirculating it, thereby maintaining the motor and generator at lower temperatures and improving operating efficiency (Turner ¶¶[0003], [0031]). Such a combination is the application of a known two-fan cooling arrangement to a known motor-generator set to yield the predictable result of improved cooling. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
11. Claims 7, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2018/0198317 A1) in view of SWAMY (US 2015/0311853 A1) and PETERSEN (US 1,978,688), and further in view of DU PUY et al. (US 3,617,851).
Regarding claims 7/1, 14/8, and 21/15, Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 8, and the system of claim 15, respectively.
Kim further teaches that the power output terminal is connectable to a battery to charge the battery(¶¶[0053], [0058]; FIG. 5; delivery circuit 142 having sets 164 of charging terminals 174, 176 to which batteries 166 are connected and charged with the direct-current voltage from the generator).
Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen does not explicitly teach a resistor load; a controller; and a switching circuit that is connected to the controller, the controller being operable to switch the switching circuit between a charging configuration wherein the power output terminal is connectable to a battery to charge the battery and the battery is disconnected from the resistor load, and a discharging configuration wherein the output terminal is disconnected from the battery and the battery is connected to the resistor load to discharge the battery.
However, Du Puy teaches a resistor load(col. 3, ll. 1–16; FIG. 1; load resistor 53 connectable across charger output terminals 24, 26); a controller(col. 2, ll. 40–58; control circuit 11 and current signal amplifier 32 controlling the cyclical on/charging and off/discharging periods); and a switching circuit that is connected to the controller, the controller being operable to switch the switching circuit between a charging configuration wherein the power output terminal is connectable to a battery to charge the battery and the battery is disconnected from the resistor load, and a discharging configuration wherein the output terminal is disconnected from the battery and the battery is connected to the resistor load to discharge the battery(col. 2, ll. 40–58; col. 3, ll. 1–16; FIG. 1; relay having coil 50 and contact sets 12, 52 operated by control circuit 11; during the charging period coil 50 is energized, opening contact 52 to disconnect load resistor 53 while the SCRs 20 conduct to charge battery 27 through terminals 24, 26; during the discharging period coil 50 is de-energized, closing contact 52 to connect load resistor 53 across battery 27 while the SCRs are held nonconducting to disconnect the output).
Du Puy thus teaches switching, with a controller, a switching circuit between a charging configuration wherein the output terminal is connectable to a battery to charge the battery and the battery is disconnected from a resistor load, and a discharging configuration wherein the output terminal is disconnected from the battery and the battery is connected to the resistor load to discharge the battery(col. 2, ll. 40–58; col. 3, ll. 1–16; FIG. 1; control circuit 11 operating relay coil 50 and contacts 12, 52) as recited in claim 14, and means for switching a switching circuit between a charging configuration wherein the output terminal is connectable to a battery to charge the battery and the battery is disconnected from a resistor load, and a discharging configuration wherein the output terminal is disconnected from the battery and the battery is connected to the resistor load to discharge the battery(col. 2, ll. 40–58; col. 3, ll. 1–16; FIG. 1; relay coil 50 and contact sets 12, 52 operated by control circuit 11, equivalent structure to switching circuit 92 and controller 84) as recited in claim 21.
Du Puy is analogous art, being reasonably pertinent to the particular problem of charging and resistively discharging a battery from a power source. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the resistor load, controller, and charge/discharge switching circuit of Du Puy into the battery-charging output of Kim in view of Swamy and Petersen. One would be motivated to do this in order to enable controlled battery charging from the generator output and rapid resistive discharging for battery testing and conditioning, with a reasonable expectation of success (Du Puy col. 1, ll. 15–23; col. 3, ll. 1–16; col. 4, ll. 30–34). See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Van Sickle (US 4,442,385) teaches a motor-generator/alternator set driven from a utility alternating current source to supply isolated, buffered power to a load.
Windhorn (US 5,880,537) teaches a hybrid rotary uninterruptible power supply having a utility-driven alternating current motor and a generator coupled on a common shaft, with a battery-charging subsystem electrically isolated from the utility.
Kim (US 10,615,640 B2), Kim (US 2020/0195050 A1), and Kim (US 11,616,396 B2) share the disclosure of the applied Kim reference (US 2018/0198317 A1).
Devol et al. (US 2,355,208) teaches a motor-generator having a booster fan and a supercharger blower on a common shaft drawing cooling air over the generator and then over the motor.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached on 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMED AHMED QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834