DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huber (WO 2012089543 A2), hereinafter Huber.
Regarding claim 1, Huber discloses an oven appliance defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction, the oven appliance comprising:
a cabinet defining a cooking chamber (“domestic appliance 100 has a hob 110 and an oven 120” All citations provided from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference);
a door rotatably mounted to the cabinet to provide selective access to the cooking chamber (“The oven 120 has a oven door 125”); and
a user interface panel mounted to the cabinet, the user interface panel comprising:
a control board housing (“a circuit board housing 200”);
a control board mounted to the control board housing, the control board comprising one or more electronic components (“an electronic circuit board 420 is respectively mounted between the bearing surface 316 and the fixing surface 314 of the retaining element 210. The electronics board 420 further comprises at least one display and / or operating element 425”);
a control board cover positioned over the control board housing and the control board (“the board housing 200 is pressed with an electronic board held therein to an inner surface 160 of the cooktop cover 117”); and
a sealing element positioned between the control board housing and the control board or the control board cover (“The housing edge 240 is provided with a sealing element 280, which after the installation between the inner surface 160 of the hob cover 1 17 and the housing edge 240 is arranged. The sealing element 280 may be, for example, a sealing lip made of silicone, rubber or the like”).
Regarding claim 8, Huber discloses the oven appliance of claim 1, wherein the sealing element is a silicone, rubber, or fiber gasket (“The housing edge 240 is provided with a sealing element 280, which after the installation between the inner surface 160 of the hob cover 117 and the housing edge 240 is arranged. The sealing element 280 may be, for example, a sealing lip made of silicone, rubber or the like”).
Regarding claim 10, Huber discloses the oven appliance of claim 1, wherein the control board housing, the sealing element, and the control board cover form a sealed enclosure (“the housing edge may have a sealing element which is arranged between the edge of the housing and the hob cover. Such an embodiment of the present invention has the advantage that in the installed state in the hob, the board housing with the electronic board therein can be protected from the ingress of moisture and other vapors”).
Regarding claim 12, Huber discloses a user interface panel for an appliance, the appliance comprising a cabinet defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction (Figure 1A), the user interface panel comprising:
a control board housing mounted to the cabinet (“a circuit board housing 200”);
a control board mounted to the control board housing, the control board comprising one or more electronic components (“an electronic circuit board 420 is respectively mounted between the bearing surface 316 and the fixing surface 314 of the retaining element 210. The electronics board 420 further comprises at least one display and / or operating element 425”);
a control board cover positioned over the control board housing and the control board (“the board housing 200 is pressed with an electronic board held therein to an inner surface 160 of the cooktop cover 117”); and
a sealing element positioned between the control board housing and the control board or the control board cover (“The housing edge 240 is provided with a sealing element 280, which after the installation between the inner surface 160 of the hob cover 1 17 and the housing edge 240 is arranged. The sealing element 280 may be, for example, a sealing lip made of silicone, rubber or the like”).
Regarding claim 19, Huber discloses the user interface panel of claim 12, wherein the sealing element is a silicone, rubber, or fiber gasket (“The housing edge 240 is provided with a sealing element 280, which after the installation between the inner surface 160 of the hob cover 1 17 and the housing edge 240 is arranged. The sealing element 280 may be, for example, a sealing lip made of silicone, rubber or the like”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, in view of Graff (DE 102015214882 A1), hereinafter Graff.
Regarding claim 2, Huber discloses the oven appliance of claim 1, wherein the one or more electronic components comprise a plurality of touch sensors (“the display and / or operating element 425 may comprise a sensor which is designed to detect a touch of a region of the cooktop cover by means of the sensor according to the touch panel touch detection”).
Huber does not explicitly disclose wherein the touch sensors comprise capacitive touch sensors.
However, Graff teaches (“On the control board may be arranged a number of sensor element devices for capacitive touch switches, which are pressed together with the control board by the inner springs against the flat surface. Such sensor element devices can be, for example, capacitive sensor elements for the touch switches, which can be operated through the hob plate or control panel or by placing a finger on the hob plate” All citations provided from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference).
Huber does not explicitly disclose capacitive touch sensors. Graff teaches capacitive touch sensors. The substitution of one known element (the touch sensors of Huber) for another (the touch sensors of Graff) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the capacitive touch sensors taught in Graff would have yielded predictable results, namely, sensors for detection the touch of a user Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Regarding claim 13, Huber discloses the user interface panel of claim 12, wherein the one or more electronic components comprise a plurality of touch sensors (“the display and / or operating element 425 may comprise a sensor which is designed to detect a touch of a region of the cooktop cover by means of the sensor according to the touch panel touch detection”).
Huber does not explicitly disclose wherein the touch sensors comprise capacitive touch sensors.
However, Graff teaches (“On the control board may be arranged a number of sensor element devices for capacitive touch switches, which are pressed together with the control board by the inner springs against the flat surface. Such sensor element devices can be, for example, capacitive sensor elements for the touch switches, which can be operated through the hob plate or control panel or by placing a finger on the hob plate” All citations provided from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference).
Huber does not explicitly disclose capacitive touch sensors. Graff teaches capacitive touch sensors. The substitution of one known element (the touch sensors of Huber) for another (the touch sensors of Graff) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the capacitive touch sensors taught in Graff would have yielded predictable results, namely, sensors for detection the touch of a user Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, in view of Ebrom (US 20160201877 A1), hereinafter Ebrom.
Regarding claim 3, Huber discloses the oven appliance of claim 1, wherein the control board comprises a plurality of display elements (“display and / or operating element 425, which may be a display element, by means of which a status display, for example, about a current power supply to a heating element of a cooking zone or a temperature of a cooking zone is output”).
Huber does not disclose wherein the display elements comprise light sources and the control board housing defines a plurality of light guides for reflecting or redirecting light from the plurality of light sources.
However, Ebrom teaches wherein the display elements comprise light sources and the control board housing defines a plurality of light guides for reflecting or redirecting light from the plurality of light sources (“Mounted to the rear surface 278 of the PCB 270, confronting the front surface 262 of the console shell 260, a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 265 are configured such that at least one LED 265 is mounted adjacent to each opening 272. The integrated light reflector cups 264 of the console shell 260 are positioned adjacent to the PCB 270 for directing illumination towards the user. As illustrated, the console shell 260 provided with the integrated light reflector cups 264 is disposed immediately adjacent the PCB 270” paragraph [0038]).
In view of Ebrom’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the display elements as is taught in Ebrom, in the appliance disclosed by Huber because Ebrom states “By provision of an integrated light reflector cup or an array of integrated light reflector cups, the console assembly may achieve a desirably bright output light intensity by direct reflection of the light from an LED off the integrated light reflector cup and through the opening in the PCB” (paragraph [0041]). Therefore, including the display elements of Ebrom will improve brightness of the display.
Regarding claim 14, Huber discloses the user interface panel of claim 12, wherein the control board comprises a plurality of display elements (“display and / or operating element 425, which may be a display element, by means of which a status display, for example, about a current power supply to a heating element of a cooking zone or a temperature of a cooking zone is output”).
Huber does not disclose wherein the display elements comprise light sources and the control board housing defines a plurality of light guides for reflecting or redirecting light from the plurality of light sources.
However, Ebrom teaches wherein the display elements comprise light sources and the control board housing defines a plurality of light guides for reflecting or redirecting light from the plurality of light sources (“Mounted to the rear surface 278 of the PCB 270, confronting the front surface 262 of the console shell 260, a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) 265 are configured such that at least one LED 265 is mounted adjacent to each opening 272. The integrated light reflector cups 264 of the console shell 260 are positioned adjacent to the PCB 270 for directing illumination towards the user. As illustrated, the console shell 260 provided with the integrated light reflector cups 264 is disposed immediately adjacent the PCB 270” paragraph [0038]).
In view of Ebrom’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the display elements as is taught in Ebrom, in the appliance disclosed by Huber because Ebrom states “By provision of an integrated light reflector cup or an array of integrated light reflector cups, the console assembly may achieve a desirably bright output light intensity by direct reflection of the light from an LED off the integrated light reflector cup and through the opening in the PCB” (paragraph [0041]). Therefore, including the display elements of Ebrom will improve brightness of the display.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, in view of Bach (US 9464781 B1), hereinafter Bach.
Regarding claim 4, Huber discloses the oven appliance of claim 1.
Huber does not explicitly disclose wherein the control board cover is formed from ceramic glass and has a masking layer that defines a plurality of control panel indicators or control inputs.
However, Bach teaches wherein the control board cover is formed from ceramic glass (“Cooktop appliance 100 includes a panel 110 for supporting thereon cooking utensils such as pots or pans. Panel 110 may be constructed from, e.g., glass, ceramics, and/or combinations thereof” column 3, line 30) and has a masking layer that defines a plurality of control panel indicators or control inputs (“light transmissive layer 140 is a graphics overlay, masking, or support layer that may be a clear layer of, e.g., a PET film for providing various graphics on user interface 130 by passing light through layer 140. Using a masking material (not shown) applied to light transmissive layer 140, text, digits, and/or symbols may be formed such that the text, digits, and/or symbols are presented to the user of cooktop 100 when light from light source 162 is directed through light transmissive layer 140” column 6, line 30).
In view of Bach’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the control board cover is formed from ceramic glass and has a masking layer that defines a plurality of control panel indicators or control inputs as is taught in Bach, in the appliance disclosed by Huber because Bach states that that the masking provides various graphics on the user interface. Therefore, providing the masking taught by Bach will simplify use of the appliance by providing indicia.
Regarding claim 15, Huber discloses the user interface panel of claim 12.
Huber does not explicitly disclose wherein the control board cover is formed from ceramic glass and has a masking layer that defines a plurality of control panel indicators or control inputs.
However, Bach teaches wherein the control board cover is formed from ceramic glass (“Cooktop appliance 100 includes a panel 110 for supporting thereon cooking utensils such as pots or pans. Panel 110 may be constructed from, e.g., glass, ceramics, and/or combinations thereof” column 3, line 30) and has a masking layer that defines a plurality of control panel indicators or control inputs (“light transmissive layer 140 is a graphics overlay, masking, or support layer that may be a clear layer of, e.g., a PET film for providing various graphics on user interface 130 by passing light through layer 140. Using a masking material (not shown) applied to light transmissive layer 140, text, digits, and/or symbols may be formed such that the text, digits, and/or symbols are presented to the user of cooktop 100 when light from light source 162 is directed through light transmissive layer 140” column 6, line 30).
In view of Bach’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the control board cover is formed from ceramic glass and has a masking layer that defines a plurality of control panel indicators or control inputs as is taught in Bach, in the appliance disclosed by Huber because Bach states that that the masking provides various graphics on the user interface. Therefore, providing the masking taught by Bach will simplify use of the appliance by providing indicia.
Claims 5, 6, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, in view of Parkinson (US 3851825 A), hereinafter Parkinson.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Huber discloses the oven appliance of claim 1.
Huber does not disclose wherein the sealing element is a crush ring that is integrally molded to the control board housing, wherein the crush ring extends from a top of the control board housing and is tapered along the vertical direction.
However, Parkinson teaches wherein the sealing element is a crush ring that is integrally molded to the housing, wherein the crush ring extends from a top of the housing and is tapered along the vertical direction (“The diaphragm 2 embodies a crush ring 16 which is superimposed upon and is preferably molded into the upstream side of the diaphragm 2. The crush ring 16 is generally brought into intimate contact with the underside of a substantially flat ring 17 which may be part of the conventional spout or faucet 18 to which the body 1 is threadedly connected at 19. The crush ring 16, when it is brought into firm contact with the flat ring 17, deforms somewhat as shown in FIG. 6 and presents a barrier or dam tending to plug the device against water leakage over the rim or dam formed by crush ring 16 and through the crevices of the threaded segment 19 which connects body 1 to faucet 18” column 3, line 25).
Huber does not disclose the claimed seal type. Parkinson teaches the claimed seal type. The substitution of one known element (the seal of Huber) for another (the seal of Parkinson) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the seal taught in Parkinson would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for sealing between the inside and outside of the housing Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Huber discloses the user interface panel of claim 12,
Huber does not disclose wherein the sealing element is a crush ring that is integrally molded to the control board housing, wherein the crush ring extends from a top of the control board housing and is tapered along the vertical direction.
However, Parkinson teaches wherein the sealing element is a crush ring that is integrally molded to the housing, wherein the crush ring extends from a top of the housing and is tapered along the vertical direction (“The diaphragm 2 embodies a crush ring 16 which is superimposed upon and is preferably molded into the upstream side of the diaphragm 2. The crush ring 16 is generally brought into intimate contact with the underside of a substantially flat ring 17 which may be part of the conventional spout or faucet 18 to which the body 1 is threadedly connected at 19. The crush ring 16, when it is brought into firm contact with the flat ring 17, deforms somewhat as shown in FIG. 6 and presents a barrier or dam tending to plug the device against water leakage over the rim or dam formed by crush ring 16 and through the crevices of the threaded segment 19 which connects body 1 to faucet 18” column 3, line 25).
Huber does not disclose the claimed seal type. Parkinson teaches the claimed seal type. The substitution of one known element (the seal of Huber) for another (the seal of Parkinson) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the seal taught in Parkinson would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for sealing between the inside and outside of the housing Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, in view of Huff (US 5160474 A), hereinafter Huff.
Regarding claim 7, Huber discloses the oven appliance of claim 1, wherein the control board housing is injection molded from a polymer material (“The circuit board housing 200 is, for example, a shaped body, which is produced in one piece from a suitable material, for example from a plastic material, by a suitable method, for example by an injection molding method”).
Huber does not explicitly disclose the sealing element is overmolded onto the control board housing.
However, Huff teaches the sealing element is overmolded onto the housing (“The thermoplastic substrate or tank can be made by use of conventional injection molding or die casting techniques which are well known in the art. Overmolding of the gasket onto the tank can be accomplished by use of a conventional injection molding press” column 4, line 23).
Huber does not disclose the claimed seal attachment. Huff teaches the claimed seal attachment. The substitution of one known element (the seal attachment of Huber) for another (the seal attachment of Huff) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the seal attachment taught in Huff would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for positioning and retaining the sealing element Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Regarding claim 18, Huber discloses the user interface panel of claim 12, wherein the control board housing is injection molded from a polymer material (“The circuit board housing 200 is, for example, a shaped body, which is produced in one piece from a suitable material, for example from a plastic material, by a suitable method, for example by an injection molding method”).
Huber does not explicitly disclose the sealing element is overmolded onto the control board housing.
However, Huff teaches the sealing element is overmolded onto the housing (“The thermoplastic substrate or tank can be made by use of conventional injection molding or die casting techniques which are well known in the art. Overmolding of the gasket onto the tank can be accomplished by use of a conventional injection molding press” column 4, line 23).
Huber does not disclose the claimed seal attachment. Huff teaches the claimed seal attachment. The substitution of one known element (the seal attachment of Huber) for another (the seal attachment of Huff) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the seal attachment taught in Huff would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for positioning and retaining the sealing element Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, in view of Grosser (ES 2387318 T3), hereinafter Grosser.
Regarding claim 9, Huber discloses the oven appliance of claim 1.
Huber does not explicitly disclose wherein the control board housing defines a receiving shoulder, the sealing element being positioned at least partially within the receiving shoulder.
However, Grosser teaches wherein the control board housing defines a receiving shoulder, the sealing element being positioned at least partially within the receiving shoulder (“To seal the detection surface 6 or the printed circuit board 5 against the humidity of the environment, between the fixing bracket 10 and the lower side 4 of the screen 2 a sealing gasket is arranged peripheral 14, which surrounds the detection surface 6 or the printed circuit board 5 in the form of a frame” All citations provided from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference. The examiner notes that Figure 1 shows that element 10 forms a receiving shoulder for sealing element 14).
Huber does not disclose the claimed seal seat. Grosser teaches the claimed seal seat. The substitution of one known element (the seal seat of Huber) for another (the shoulder of Grosser) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the shoulder taught in Grosser would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for positioning and retaining the sealing element Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Regarding claim 20, Huber discloses the user interface panel of claim 12.
Huber does not explicitly disclose wherein the control board housing defines a receiving shoulder, the sealing element being positioned at least partially within the receiving shoulder.
However, Grosser teaches wherein the control board housing defines a receiving shoulder, the sealing element being positioned at least partially within the receiving shoulder (“To seal the detection surface 6 or the printed circuit board 5 against the humidity of the environment, between the fixing bracket 10 and the lower side 4 of the screen 2 a sealing gasket is arranged peripheral 14, which surrounds the detection surface 6 or the printed circuit board 5 in the form of a frame” All citations provided from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference. The examiner notes that Figure 1 shows that element 10 forms a receiving shoulder for sealing element 14).
Huber does not disclose the claimed seal seat. Grosser teaches the claimed seal seat. The substitution of one known element (the seal seat of Huber) for another (the shoulder of Grosser) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the shoulder taught in Grosser would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for positioning and retaining the sealing element Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, in view of Krause (US 20150160850 A1), hereinafter Krause.
Regarding claim 11, Huber discloses the oven appliance of claim 1, wherein the user interface panel is mounted at a front, top of the cabinet above the door (Figure 1A).
Huber does not disclose wherein the user interface panel is mounted at a corner of the cabinet.
However, Krause teaches wherein the user interface panel is mounted at a corner of the cabinet (“the operating front plate 12 comprises at least one control panel component 14” paragraph [0077]).
In view of Krause’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the user interface panel is mounted at a corner of the cabinet as is taught in Krause, in the appliance disclosed by Huber because the court has held shifting a position to be an obvious modification In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) where claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In the present case, the difference between the claims and the prior art is the position of the user interface which would not have modified operation of the appliance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kalayci (WO 2007077153 A2) discloses a control board housing with a sealing member 11
Winkelmann (US 20160179235 A1) discloses a control board housing with a sealing member 19
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762