DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made that claims 1, 26, 30 and 34 are amended. Claims 6 and 8-20 are cancelled. Claims 5, 7, 21-25 and 29-33 are objected to. Claims 1-5, 7 and 21-34 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 7/20/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
On page 10 of the Remarks, Applicant indicates claim 34 is amended to obviate the 101 rejection. The rejection is therefore, withdrawn.
Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 26-28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2024/0273326), hereinafter Xu in view of Xu et al. (US 2024/0072882), hereinafter Xu ‘882.
Claims 1, 26 and 34 are amended with the following limitations:
“A method, comprising:
receiving, by an access network device, a first request message requesting to execute a first operation on target terminals, wherein the first request message comprises first identification information of the target terminals and indication information of the first operation, wherein the first operation is at least one of: read, write, kill, lock, blockwrite, blockerase, access, encrypt, or decrypt;
…
receiving, by the access network device and from the first target terminal, a first execution result of executing the first operation, wherein the first execution result indicates read data obtained from the first target terminal or a success or failure indication of executing the first operation.” (Emphasis added)
On page 13 of the Remarks, Applicant argues prior art of record fails to teach the amended features recited in claims 1, 26 and 34. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, therefore, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Dependent Claims 2-5, 7, 21-25 and 27-33
Applicant argues these claims conditionally based on the arguments presented to their parent’s claim(s). Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, therefore, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 26-28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2024/0273326), hereinafter Xu in view of Xu et al. (US 2024/0072882), hereinafter Xu ‘882 and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2023/0345212), hereinafter Xu’212.
As for claim 1, Xu teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by an access network device, a first request message requesting to execute a first operation on target terminals (paragraph [0222] describes a reader functions as an access network device; paragraphs [0232]-[0236] describe the reader receives an inventory instruction from an operation requester. The inventory instruction instructs the reader to perform an inventory operation of one or more tags),
sending, by the access network device, to the target terminals, and based on the first request message, a first query request to obtain second identification information of a first target terminal (paragraphs [0235]-[0237] describe the reader sends a corresponding inventory message based on the inventory instruction, and the tags whose identifiers range from 1 to 100 each send a response message to the reader, the response message includes the identifier of the tag), wherein the first target terminal is one of the target terminals (paragraph [0237] describes the tags that identifiers range from 1 to 100 each send a response);
receiving, by the access network device and from the first target terminal, the second identification information (paragraph [0237] describes each of the tags sends a response to the inventory message. The response message includes the identifier of the tag);
sending, by the access network device and to a first target terminal, a first operation request message requesting to execute a first operation (Fig. 8, S606; paragraph [0407] describes the target reader performs a tag operation according to the operation instruction 2).
Xu fails to teach
wherein the first operation is at least one of: read, write, kill, lock, blockwrite, blockerase, access, encrypt, or decrypt;
receiving, by the access network device and from the first target terminal, a first execution result of executing the first operation, wherein the first execution result indicates read data obtained from the first target terminal or a success or failure indication of executing the first operation.
Xu ‘882 discloses
receiving, by an access network device and from a first target terminal, a first execution result of executing a first operation (paragraph [0272] describes a tag sends, in response to an inventory instruction, a fourth identification information of the tag to an access network device that serves the tag).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Xu ‘882 for sending information to an access device in response to an inventory. The teachings of Xu ‘882, when implemented in the Xu system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain identification information of a device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Xu ‘882 in the Xu system in order to manage inventory of IoT devices in a network system.
The combined system of Xu and Xu’882 fails to teach
wherein the first operation is at least one of: read, write, kill, lock, blockwrite, blockerase, access, encrypt, or decrypt;
wherein the first execution result indicates read data obtained from the first target terminal or a success or failure indication of executing the first operation.
Xu’212 discloses
wherein the first operation is at least one of: read, write, kill, lock, blockwrite, blockerase, access, encrypt, or decrypt (paragraphs [0102]-[0103] describe a server sends an RFID operation instruction to a middleware, the operation instruction indicates an operation type of the RFID, for example, a read operation, a write operation);
wherein the first execution result indicates read data obtained from the first target terminal or a success or failure indication of executing the first operation (paragraph [0144] describes the middleware sends an RFID operation result to the server, the operation result is used to respond to the RFID operation instruction delivered by the server to the middleware. If the operation type is a read operation, the operation result includes data read from a storage area of the tag).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Xu ‘212 for providing result of an operation. The teachings of Xu ‘212, when implemented in the Xu and Xu’ 882 system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to read data from an RFID tag. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Xu ‘212 in the Xu and Xu’882 system in order to implement an inventory operation which helps implement a proper charging method.
As for claim 2, the combined system of Xu, Xu ‘889 and Xu’212 teaches wherein the first request message further comprises an operation parameter corresponding to the first operation (Xu: paragraph [0234] describes the inventory instruction includes details about the requested operation (i.e. inventory) ; identifier information and location).
As for claim 3, the combined system of Xu, Xu ‘889 and Xu’212 teaches wherein after receiving the first execution result, the method further comprises:
sending, by the access network device and to a mobility management function network element, a first message comprising the second identification information and the first execution result (Xu: Fig. 8, S607; paragraph [0408] and [0410] describe the target reader sends an operation result to an AMF, when the tag operation is an inventory operation, if the operation result is successful, the operation results includes identifier of the tag inventoried by the reader).
As for claim 4, the combined system of Xu, Xu ‘889 and Xu’212 teaches
sending, by the access network device and to the target terminals, a second query request to obtain third identification information of a second target terminal (Xu: Fig. 9, S708; paragraph [0433]-[0435] describe an UPF determines a second target reader and sends an operation instruction to the second target reader), wherein the second target terminal is another one of the target terminals other than the first target terminal (Xu: paragraph [0434] describes the second target reader is any one reader or any one group of readers in other readers than the first target reader);
receiving, by the access network device and from the second target terminal, the third identification information (Xu: paragraph [0438] refers to S706 – for S706, see paragraphs [0429]-[0431] which describe the first target reader sends an operation result to the UPF, the operation result includes an identifier of the tag);
sending, by the access network device and to the second target terminal, a second operation request message (Xu: Fig. 9, S709; paragraph [0436] describes the second target reader performs a tag operation according to the operation instruction 3. The second target reader performs a tag operation is construed as sending an operation request to the target terminal); and
receiving, by the access network device and from the second target terminal, a second execution result of executing the first operation (Xu: paragraphs [0470]-[0472] describe the second target reader sends an operation result to the AMF. The description refers to S806 which includes paragraph [0463]-[0465] which describe the operation result includes identifier of the tag, this information is construed as the target reader receives the operation result from the target).
As for claim 26, Xu teaches an access network device comprising (Fig. 14, Communication apparatus 10):
a transceiver configured to communicate with a plurality of target terminals (Fig. 14, Transceiver module 11; paragraph [0095] describes the communication apparatus comprises a transceiver module; paragraph [0576] describes the communication apparatus corresponds to a reader (i.e. access device); paragraph [0236] describes a reader sends a corresponding inventory message including the identifier(s) of one or more tags); and
one or more processors coupled to the transceiver and configured to execute instructions to (paragraph [0603] describes the communication apparatus includes a processor configured to perform functions):
receive a first request message requesting to execute a first operation on the target terminals (paragraph [0222] describes a reader functions as an access network device; paragraphs [0232]-[0236] describe the reader receives an inventory instruction from an operation requester. The inventory instruction instructs the reader to perform an inventory operation of one or more tags), wherein the first request message comprises first identification information of the target terminals and indication information of the first operation (paragraphs [0232] describe the inventory instruction includes an area location information of inventory, identification of a tag);
send to the target terminals, and based on the first request message, a first query request to obtain second identification information of a first target terminal (paragraphs [0235]-[0237] describe the reader sends a corresponding inventory message based on the inventory instruction, and the tags whose identifiers range from 1 to 100 each send a response message to the reader, the response message includes the identifier of the tag), wherein the first target terminal is one of the target terminals (paragraph [0237] describes the tags that identifiers range from 1 to 100 each send a response);
receive, from the first target terminal, the second identification information (paragraph [0237] describes each of the tags sends a response to the inventory message. The response message includes the identifier of the tag);
send, to the first target terminal, a first operation request message requesting to execute the first operation (Fig. 8, S606; paragraph [0407] describes the target reader performs a tag operation according to the operation instruction 2).
wherein the first operation is at least one of: read, write, kill, lock, blockwrite, blockerase, access, encrypt, or decrypt;
receiving, by the access network device and from the first target terminal, a first execution result of executing the first operation, wherein the first execution result indicates read data obtained from the first target terminal or a success or failure indication of executing the first operation.
Xu ‘882 discloses
receiving, by an access network device and from a first target terminal, a first execution result of executing a first operation (paragraph [0272] describes a tag sends, in response to an inventory instruction, a fourth identification information of the tag to an access network device that serves the tag).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Xu ‘882 for sending information to an access device in response to an inventory. The teachings of Xu ‘882, when implemented in the Xu system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain identification information of a device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Xu ‘882 in the Xu system in order to manage inventory of IoT devices in a network system.
The combined system of Xu and Xu’882 fails to teach
wherein the first operation is at least one of: read, write, kill, lock, blockwrite, blockerase, access, encrypt, or decrypt;
wherein the first execution result indicates read data obtained from the first target terminal or a success or failure indication of executing the first operation.
Xu’212 discloses
wherein the first operation is at least one of: read, write, kill, lock, blockwrite, blockerase, access, encrypt, or decrypt (paragraphs [0102]-[0103] describe a server sends an RFID operation instruction to a middleware, the operation instruction indicates an operation type of the RFID, for example, a read operation, a write operation);
wherein the first execution result indicates read data obtained from the first target terminal or a success or failure indication of executing the first operation (paragraph [0144] describes the middleware sends an RFID operation result to the server, the operation result is used to respond to the RFID operation instruction delivered by the server to the middleware. If the operation type is a read operation, the operation result includes data read from a storage area of the tag).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Xu ‘212 for providing result of an operation. The teachings of Xu ‘212, when implemented in the Xu and Xu’ 882 system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to read data from an RFID tag. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Xu ‘212 in the Xu and Xu’882 system in order to implement an inventory operation which helps implement a proper charging method.
As for claim 27, the combined system of Xu and Xu ‘886 teaches wherein the first request message further comprises an operation parameter corresponding to the first operation (Xu: paragraph [0234] describes the inventory instruction includes details about the requested operation (i.e. inventory) ; identifier information and location), and wherein the first operation request message further comprises the operation parameter (Xu: paragraphs [0235]-[0236] describe after receiving the inventory instruction, the reader performs an invention operation based on the identification information that is of the tag and the reader sends a corresponding inventory message based on the inventory instruction).
As for claim 28, the combined system of Xu, Xu ‘889 and Xu’212 teaches wherein after receiving the first execution result, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to send, to a mobility management function network element, a first message comprising the second identification information and the first execution result (Xu: Fig. 8, S607; paragraph [0408] and [0410] describe the target reader sends an operation result to an AMF, when the tag operation is an inventory operation, if the operation result is successful, the operation results includes identifier of the tag inventoried by the reader).
As for claim 34, the claim lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in a computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of an access network device, cause the access network device to performs operations (Xu: paragraph [0612] describes computer instructions that are stored in a computer-readable storage medium and are executed by a computer to perform operations/functions). Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 34.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 21-25 and 29-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited prior art of record does not teach, fairly suggest, or make obvious a method as recited in the listed claims 5-7, 21-25 and 29.
The method of claim 4, wherein after receiving the second execution result, the method further comprises:
sending, by the access network device and to a mobility management function network element, a second message comprising the second identification information, the first execution result, the third identification information, and the second execution result.
The method of claim 4, wherein after receiving the second execution result, the method further comprises:
sending, by the access network device and to a mobility management function network element, a second message comprising the second identification information, the first execution result, the third identification information, and the second execution result.
7. The method of claim 3, further comprising receiving, by the access network device, a first association identifier associating the first request message with the first message, wherein the first message comprises the first association identifier.
21. The method of claim 4, wherein after receiving the second execution result, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the access network device, an address of a first receiving network element, and
sending, by the access network device, to the first receiving network element, and based on the address, a second message comprising the second identification information.
22. The method of claim 4, wherein after receiving the second execution result, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the access network device, first tunnel information indicating a user plane port of a second receiving network element, and
sending, by the access network device, to the second receiving network element, and based on the first tunnel information, a second message comprising the second identification information.
23. The method of claim 1, wherein after receiving the first execution result, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the access network device, an address of a first receiving network element, and
sending, by the access network device, to the first receiving network element, and based on the address, a first message comprising the second identification information and the first execution result.
24. The method of claim 1, wherein after receiving the first execution result, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the access network device, first tunnel information indicating a user plane port of a second receiving network element, and
sending, by the access network device, to the second receiving network element, and based on the first tunnel information, a first message comprising the second identification information and the first execution result.
25. The method of claim 24, wherein before receiving the first tunnel information, the method further comprises:
sending, by the access network device and to a mobility management function network element, a second request message to obtain the first tunnel information.
The cited prior art of record does not teach, fairly suggest, or make obvious an access network device as recited in the listed claims 29-33.
29. The access network device of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to receive a first association identifier associating the first request message with the first message, and wherein the first message comprises the first association identifier.
30. The access network device of claim 26, wherein after receiving the first execution result, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to:
receive an address of a first receiving network element, and send, by the access network device, to the first receiving network element, and based on the address, a first message comprising the second identification information and the first execution result; or
receive first tunnel information indicating a user plane port of a second receiving network element, and send, by the access network device, to the second receiving network element, and based on the first tunnel information, the first message.
31. The access network device of claim 30, wherein before receiving the first tunnel information, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to send, to a mobility management function network element, a second request message to obtain the first tunnel information.
32. The access network device of claim 26, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to:
send, to the target terminals, a second query request to obtain third identification information of a second target terminal, wherein the second target terminal is another one of the target terminals other than the first target terminal;
receive, from the second target terminal, the third identification information;
send, to the second target terminal, a second operation request message; and
receive, from the second target terminal, a second execution result of executing the first operation.
33. The access network device of claim 32, wherein after receiving the second execution result, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to:
send, to a mobility management function network element, a second message comprising the second identification information, the first execution result, the third identification information, and the second execution result;
receive an address of a first receiving network element, and send to the first receiving network element, and based on the address, the second message; or receive first tunnel information indicating a user plane port of a second receiving network element, and send to the second receiving network element, and based on the first tunnel information, the second message.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuchida et al. (US 2018/0349655) teach wireless communication apparatus, and wireless communication system
Butler et al. (US 2015/0129666) teach radio frequency identification tag with hardened memory system
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L. T. N/
Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459