DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/30/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 07/30/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12, 14-17, and 18- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et al. (US 20240381263 A1), hereinafter “Barton”; and in further view of Montemurro et al. (US 20230262786 A1), hereinafter “Montemurro”.
Regarding claim 1, Barton teaches a method comprising:
obtaining a multi-link operation (MLO) policy for establishing a multi-link connection to a wireless network [Barton: Fig. 4; Par. 66- 81 teaches of receiving policy, and instructions for MLO operation in wireless network]; and
performing an MLO association for establishing the multi-link connection to the wireless network based on the MLO policy in which the MLO association is restricted to a single link [Barton: Fig. 4; Par. 66- 81 further teach of based on policy, restrict the applications that are not on MLO; Par. 95 further disclosed under policy, only activate a single operation]. during a web authentication for access to the wireless network.
However, Barton does not teach performing an MLO association during a web authentication for access to the wireless network.
Nevertheless, Montemurro, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches performing an MLO association during a web authentication for access to the wireless network [Montemurro: Fig. 2; Par. 67 teaches of using server 218 may authenticate the non-AP STA 106 and retrieve policies for the non-AP STA 106 from the policy server 206 via a protocol such as Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) or other similar protocols. Then, the results of the authentication along with any policies may be passed back to the access network. When the authentication procedure is successful, the non-AP STA 106 establishes network connectivity, and the access network applies the network policy for the non-AP STA 106].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Montemurro to authentication. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Montemurro with a motivation to make this modification in order to provide priority access service defined by policy (Montemurro: Par. 75).
Regarding claim 3, the combined Barton in view of Montemurro teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Barton in view of Montemurro further teaches wherein the MLO association is restricted to the single link during the web authentication based on an authorization indicator in the MLO policy [Montemurro: Fig. 2; Par. 67].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Barton in view of Montemurro teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Barton in view of Montemurro further teaches establishing, by one or more of an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) or a wireless local access network controller, the single link for the web authentication by a non-AP MLD; and establishing at least one additional link for the non-AP MLD after the web authentication [Montemurro: Par. 67- 70].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Barton in view of Montemurro teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Barton in view of Montemurro further teaches generating an MLO authorization indicator that indicates that the web authentication is to be completed prior to establishing at least one additional link with the wireless network for a client station [Barton: Par. 36 teaches of using SSID and BSSID as identifying indicator]; and
adding the MLO authorization indicator to a guest basic service set identifier [Montemurro: Par. 35 teaches of authorizing user or device for service].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Barton in view of Montemurro teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 5. Barton in view of Montemurro further teaches providing, to the client station, one or more of: a beacon, a probe response, an association response, or a reassociation response, each of which includes the MLO authorization indicator [Montemurro: See Par. 67- 70 of providing authorization access].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Barton in view of Montemurro teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Barton in view of Montemurro further teaches determining a user type based on information from a wireless client device [Montemurro: Par. 35 teaches of authorizing user or device for service];
associating the MLO policy based on the user type; and
providing, to the wireless client device, an action frame that defines a number of additional links that are to be established after completing the web authentication [Barton: Fig. 2; Montemurro: Fig. 4 teaches of using different policy and authentication for priority access].
Regarding claim 12, Barton teaches An apparatus comprising:
a memory; a network interface configured to enable network communications; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform a method comprising [Barton: Figs. 1-2]:
obtaining a multi-link operation (MLO) policy for establishing a multi-link connection to a wireless network [Barton: Fig. 4; Par. 66- 81 teaches of receiving policy, and instructions for MLO operation in wireless network]; and
performing an MLO association for establishing the multi-link connection to the wireless network based on the MLO policy in which the MLO association is restricted to a single link [Barton: Fig. 4; Par. 66- 81 further teach of based on policy, restrict the applications that are not on MLO; Par. 95 further disclosed under policy, only activate a single operation]. during a web authentication for access to the wireless network.
However, Barton does not teach performing an MLO association during a web authentication for access to the wireless network.
Nevertheless, Montemurro, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches performing an MLO association during a web authentication for access to the wireless network [Montemurro: Fig. 2; Par. 67 teaches of using server 218 may authenticate the non-AP STA 106 and retrieve policies for the non-AP STA 106 from the policy server 206 via a protocol such as Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) or other similar protocols. Then, the results of the authentication along with any policies may be passed back to the access network. When the authentication procedure is successful, the non-AP STA 106 establishes network connectivity, and the access network applies the network policy for the non-AP STA 106].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Montemurro to authentication. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Montemurro with a motivation to make this modification in order to provide priority access service defined by policy (Montemurro: Par. 75).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Claims 2, 7, 11, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et al. (US 20240381263 A1), hereinafter “Barton”; and in further view of Montemurro et al. (US 20230262786 A1), hereinafter “Montemurro”, and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20220174768 A1), hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 2, the combined Barton in view of Montemurro teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Barton in view of Montemurro further teaches wherein the single link is an onboarding MLO link [Montemurro: Fig. 2; Par. 67].
However, Barton in view of Montemurro does not teach the single link is an onboarding MLO link for the web authentication via a captive portal.
Nevertheless, Kim, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches the single link is an onboarding MLO link for the web authentication via a captive portal [Kim: Par. 118 teaches A portal 220 may serve as a bridge which connects the wireless LAN network (i.e. EE 802.11) and another network (e.g., 802.X)].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kim to include portal to authentication in MLO operation. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to provide communication for authentication (Kim: Par. 126).
Regarding claim 7, the combined Barton in view of Montemurro teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1.
However, Barton in view of Montemurro does not teach remediating a captive portal remediation page for a wireless client device during the web authentication.
Nevertheless, Kim, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches remediating a captive portal remediation page for a wireless client device during the web authentication [Kim: Par. 118 teaches A portal 220 may serve as a bridge which connects the wireless LAN network (i.e. EE 802.11) and another network (e.g., 802.X)].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kim to include portal to authentication in MLO operation. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to provide communication for authentication (Kim: Par. 126).
Regarding claim 11, the combined Barton in view of Montemurro teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1.
However, Barton in view of Montemurro does not teach wherein the wireless network is a wireless local access network and the web authentication is a Layer 3 security authentication.
Nevertheless, Kim, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches wherein the wireless network is a wireless local access network and the web authentication is a Layer 3 security authentication. [Kim: Par. 118 teaches A portal 220 may serve as a bridge which connects the wireless LAN network (i.e. EE 802.11) and another network (e.g., 802.X)].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kim to include portal to authentication in MLO operation. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kim with a motivation to make this modification in order to provide communication for authentication (Kim: Par. 126).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowable subject matter:
A full search was conducted and the features of the instant claims 8- 9 were not found to be in any reasonable combination of the closest prior art in combination of Barton in view of Montemurro.
With respect to exemplary, the prior arts in above teach of method and devices for MLO devices communication using policy and instructions to limit MLO operations and authenticate to provide priority network access for multi-link [Barton: Fig. 4; Montemurro: Fig. 2].
However, the combined Barton in view of Montemurro does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations in instant claims 8 and 9 reciting such as;
“remediating a captive portal during the web authentication by:
displaying, via a web browser of a wireless client device, content received from the captive portal;
obtaining user input related to authenticating a user associated with the wireless client device onto the wireless network via the captive portal;
providing the user input to the captive portal;
obtaining, from the captive portal, a response indicating one of:
access to the wireless network of the captive portal is granted, or
further input to obtain the access to the wireless network via the captive portal is to be provided; and
detecting a completion of a remediation with the captive portal; and
while remediating with the captive portal, establishing only the single link with the wireless network.”
Therefore, Claims 8 and 9 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter and allowed over the closest Prior Art references of Barton in view of Montemurro.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412