DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 32-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,808 in view of Soerensen et al (US 2016/0235924). Note that the instant application has been filed as a divisional of 17/036,556, now US 12,102,808 currently relied upon in this double patenting rejection. Claims 32-40 were not presented in the parent application and therefore were not subject to the restriction requirement in that application. As such, these claims are not precluded from a double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 32 of the application, claim 1 of the patent recites a drug delivery device (claim 1, line 62) comprising: a housing having an opening (claim 1, line 63); a drug storage container including a delivery member having an insertion end configured to extend at least partially through the opening in the housing (claim 1, lines 64-66); a plunger (claim 1, line 67); a drive mechanism activatable to drive the plunger in a distal direction to expel a drug from the drug storage container through the delivery member (claim 1, lines 1-3); a guard moveably disposed adjacent to the opening and operably coupled to the drive mechanism (claim 1, lines 4-5); a lock selectively engageable with the guard to limit movement of the guard in a proximal direction (claim 1, lines 9-13).
Claim 32 of the application differs from claim 1 of the patent in calling for an indicator operably coupled to the drive mechanism to generate a continuous or repeating audible signal during drug delivery. Soerensen teaches a drug delivery device including an indicator operatively coupled to the drive mechanism to generate a continuous or repeating audible signal during drug delivery to indicate to the user that the drug is being delivered to increase patient safety (page 10, para. 0098). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drug delivery device of claim 32 of the patent to include an indicator as taught by Soerensen to provide an indication that the drug is being delivered to increase safety of use of the device.
Regarding claim 33, Soerensen further teaches that the indicator is rotatable relative to the housing (page 5, para. 0051).
Regarding claim 34, Soerensen further teaches that activating the drive mechanism causes the drive mechanism to rotate the indicator relative to the housing, and wherein the drive mechanism ceases rotating the indicator when drug delivery is complete (page 5, para. 0051; page 10, para. 0098).
Regarding claim 35, Soerensen further teaches a first plurality of projections 251 coupled to the indicator (fig. 4); and a second plurality of projections 241 concentrically arranged with the first plurality of projections (fig. 8; page 5, para. 0051), wherein the first plurality of projections slidably engages the second plurality of projections to generate the continuous or repeating audible signal during drug delivery (page 5, para. 0051; page 10, para. 0098).
Regarding claim 36, Soerensen further teaches that the second plurality of projections is disposed around the first plurality of projections (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 37, Soerensen further teaches that during drug delivery, the first plurality of projections rotates relative to the second plurality of projections such that each projection of the first plurality of projections slidably engages one or more projections of the second plurality of projections (page 10, para. 0098).
Regarding claim 38, Soerensen further teaches that each projection of the first plurality of projections 251 extends in a radially outward direction, and wherein each projection of the second plurality of projections 241 extends in a radially inward direction (figs. 4, 8).
Regarding claim 39, Soerensen further teaches that each projection of the first plurality of projections 251 includes a flexible arm moveable between a first radial position and a second radial position when the flexible arm engages a respective projection of the second plurality of projections (page 10, para. 0098: ratchet arms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of claim 1 of the patent to include the features as taught by Soerensen as described above to provide the mechanism for making an audible indication during drug delivery to alert the user that the injection indeed took place thereby increasing safety of the device.
Regarding claim 40, claim 13 of the patent recites wherein the drug storage container is filled or pre-filled with the drug, and wherein the drug comprises one of: a drug containing a human IgG1 kappa antibody, a drug containing a small interfering RNA (siRNA) that lowers lipoprotein(a), efavaleukin alfa, evolocumab, a drug containing a gastric inhibitory polypeptide receptor (GIPR) antagonist and a GLP-1R agonist, romiplostim, etanercept, blinatumomab, and tezepelumab.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-30, 32-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soerensen et al (US 2016/0235924).
Regarding claim 21, Soerensen discloses a drug delivery device 1 comprising: a housing 2 having an opening (fig. 2A); a drug storage container 380 including a delivery member (col. 3, para. 0039: needle not shown) having an insertion end configured to extend at least partially through the opening in the housing (fig. 12A); a plunger 280; a drive mechanism 270 activatable to drive the plunger to expel a drug from the drug storage container through the delivery member (page 10, para. 0098); and an indicator 250 operably coupled to the drive mechanism to generate a continuous or repeating audible signal during drug delivery, and to cease generating the continuous or repeating audible signal when drug delivery is complete (page 10, para. 0098: ratchet arms 251 provide clicks during dose delivery).
Regarding claim 22, Soerensen discloses that the indicator is rotatable relative to the housing (page 5, para. 0051).
Regarding claim 23, Soerensen discloses that activating the drive mechanism causes the drive mechanism to rotate the indicator relative to the housing, and wherein the drive mechanism ceases rotating the indicator when drug delivery is complete (page 5, para. 0051; page 10, para. 0098).
Regarding claim 24, Soerensen discloses that the drive mechanism includes a rotational biasing member 139 initially held in an energized state and a mechanical linkage 290 operably coupling the rotational biasing member and the plunger, and wherein the mechanical linkage is configured to rotate as the rotational biasing member de-energizes (page 5, para. 0048; page 11, para. 0101).
Regarding claim 25, Soerensen disclose that the mechanical linkage 290 includes a plunger guide 270 having a proximal end and a distal end, the plunger being at least partially disposed within the distal end of the plunger guide (page 5, para. 0049), the proximal end of the plunger guide being coupled to the indicator such that the indicator rotates jointly with the plunger guide (page 8, para. 0073).
Regarding claim 26, Soerensen discloses a first plurality of projections 251 coupled to the indicator (fig. 4); and a second plurality of projections 241 concentrically arranged with the first plurality of projections (fig. 8; page 5, para. 0051), wherein the first plurality of projections slidably engages the second plurality of projections to generate the continuous or repeating audible signal during drug delivery (page 5, para. 0051; page 10, para. 0098).
Regarding claim 27, Soerensen discloses that the second plurality of projections is disposed around the first plurality of projections (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 28, Soerensen discloses that during drug delivery, the first plurality of projections rotates relative to the second plurality of projections such that each projection of the first plurality of projections slidably engages one or more projections of the second plurality of projections (page 10, para. 0098).
Regarding claim 29, Soerensen discloses that each projection of the first plurality of projections 251 extends in a radially outward direction, and wherein each projection of the second plurality of projections 241 extends in a radially inward direction (figs. 4, 8).
Regarding claim 30, Soerensen discloses that each projection of the first plurality of projections 251 includes a flexible arm moveable between a first radial position and a second radial position when the flexible arm engages a respective projection of the second plurality of projections (page 10, para. 0098: ratchet arms).
Regarding claim 32, Soerensen discloses a drug delivery device 1 comprising: a housing 2 having an opening (fig. 2A); a drug storage container 380 including a delivery member (col. 3, para. 0039: needle not shown) having an insertion end configured to extend at least partially through the opening in the housing (fig. 12A); a plunger 280; a drive mechanism 270 activatable to drive the plunger to expel a drug from the drug storage container through the delivery member (page 10, para. 0098); a guard 331 moveably disposed adjacent to the opening and operably coupled to the drive mechanism (page 6, para. 0057-0058), a lock 219 selectively engageable with the guard to limit movement of the guard in the proximal direction (page 6, para. 0056, 0058; fig. 4), and an indicator 250 operably coupled to the drive mechanism to generate a continuous or repeating audible signal during drug delivery, and to cease generating the continuous or repeating audible signal when drug delivery is complete (page 10, para. 0098: ratchet arms 251 provide clicks during dose delivery).
Regarding claim 33, Soerensen discloses that the indicator is rotatable relative to the housing (page 5, para. 0051).
Regarding claim 34, Soerensen discloses that activating the drive mechanism causes the drive mechanism to rotate the indicator relative to the housing, and wherein the drive mechanism ceases rotating the indicator when drug delivery is complete (page 5, para. 0051; page 10, para. 0098).
Regarding claim 35, Soerensen discloses a first plurality of projections 251 coupled to the indicator (fig. 4); and a second plurality of projections 241 concentrically arranged with the first plurality of projections (fig. 8; page 5, para. 0051), wherein the first plurality of projections slidably engages the second plurality of projections to generate the continuous or repeating audible signal during drug delivery (page 5, para. 0051; page 10, para. 0098).
Regarding claim 36, Soerensen discloses that the second plurality of projections is disposed around the first plurality of projections (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 37, Soerensen discloses that during drug delivery, the first plurality of projections rotates relative to the second plurality of projections such that each projection of the first plurality of projections slidably engages one or more projections of the second plurality of projections (page 10, para. 0098).
Regarding claim 38, Soerensen discloses that each projection of the first plurality of projections 251 extends in a radially outward direction, and wherein each projection of the second plurality of projections 241 extends in a radially inward direction (figs. 4, 8).
Regarding claim 39, Soerensen discloses that each projection of the first plurality of projections 251 includes a flexible arm moveable between a first radial position and a second radial position when the flexible arm engages a respective projection of the second plurality of projections (page 10, para. 0098: ratchet arms).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soerensen in view of Sanchez (US 2018/0021521).
Regarding claim 31, Soerensen discloses that the drug storage container is filled or pre-filled with the drug (page 6, para. 0055), but fails to disclose the specific drug. Sanchez teaches a drug delivery device wherein the drug is etanercept or romiplostim (page 9, para. 0077). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drug of Soerensen to be etanercept of romiplostim as taught by Sanchez because such drugs are suitable for delivery using a self delivery device.
Regarding claim 40, Soerensen discloses that the drug storage container is filled or pre-filled with the drug (page 6, para. 0055), but fails to disclose the specific drug. Sanchez teaches a drug delivery device wherein the drug is etanercept or romiplostim (page 9, para. 0077). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drug of Soerensen to be etanercept of romiplostim as taught by Sanchez because such drugs are suitable for delivery using a self delivery device.
Conclusion
LAURA A. BOUCHELLE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783