CTFR 18/789,124 CTFR 93813 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1, 3-8, 11, 13-18 and 21-24 are currently being examined. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 5 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: in each claim, “includes one or more” should read as – includes the one or more” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1, 3-8, 11, 13-18 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 11 each recite: “at least one trapped vortex combustion zone fuel nozzle providing the first fuel flow to the trapped vortex combustion zone” which is unclear whether this is the same as or different from “one or more pilot fuel nozzles providing a first fuel flow to the trapped vortex combustor; a trapped vortex combustion zone operable to receive and to combust the first fuel flow from the one or more pilot fuel nozzles and a first airflow” recited earlier in each claim. Specification [0026] recites “The one or more pilot fuel nozzles 120 are operable to inject a first fuel (or reactant) into the TV combustion zone 12” and specification [0039] recites “In operation, the combustor 1 or 2 or 3 utilizes the pilot fuel nozzle(s) 120 or 220 or 320 for introducing the first fuel in the TV combustion zone 12 or 22 or 32 to mix with the first air 124 or 224 or 324.” The specification only uses “pilot fuel nozzle(s)” to describe fuel nozzles which provide first fuel to the trapped vortex combustion zone. Therefore, the ‘at least one trapped vortex combustion zone fuel nozzle’ of claims 1 and 11 is just a different naming of the one or more pilot fuel nozzles. MPEP 608.01(o) states "The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted”. Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention because it is improper to use a confusing variety of terms for the same thing. For current examination purposes in each of claims 1 and 11, “at least one trapped vortex combustion zone fuel nozzle” is interpreted as the same as one or more pilot fuel nozzles recited earlier in the claim. Claims dependent upon claims 1 and 11 are rejected as being indefinite for the same reasons as the rejected base claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, 11, 13-15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stumpf et al. 20040079083 in view of Hoke et al. 20160123596 . Regarding independent claim 1, as best understood, Stumpf teaches a trapped vortex combustor (Fig. 1 para. 0016 describes combustor 10 as having at least one trapped vortex cavity) for a gas turbine engine (para. 0014), the trapped vortex combustor having a longitudinal axis (15 Fig. 1) therethrough defining an axial direction (direction along 15) and comprising: a combustor exit (labeled in annotated Fig. 1) through which final combustion products exit the trapped vortex combustor (as shown in annotated Fig. 1, combustion products from a mixture of fuel and air which have been ignited per [0023] flow through and exit the trapped vortex combustor 10 via the combustor exit just upstream of a turbine nozzle); one or more pilot fuel nozzles (projecting tube forming 31 in Fig. 1; per para. 0023, 31 provides fuel and air to create a trapped vortex, and nozzle per online American Heritage dictionary is a projecting part with an opening, as at the end of a hose, for regulating and directing a flow of fluid and 31 in Fig. 1 is an opening in a projecting tube for directing the flow of fuel, i.e., a fuel nozzle, into the trapped vortex cavity 40) providing a first fuel flow to the trapped vortex combustor (per [0023] fuel flow is provided to trapped vortex cavity 40 of trapped vortex combustor 10 via 31); a trapped vortex combustion zone (trapped vortex combustion zone within trapped vortex cavity 40 in Fig. 1) operable to receive and to combust the first fuel flow from the one or more pilot fuel nozzles and a first airflow ([0016] describes a first injection comprising a first fuel and a first airflow provided into 40 from 31 and [0023] describes combustion region within 40 receives the fuel and air from 31 to create a trapped vortex of fuel and air therein and the mixture is ignited by an igniter; in addition some first air also enters 40 via cooling holes 68 as labeled in Fig. 3 but also described as 69 in [0020], and although both Figs. 3 and 4 show cooling holes in first arcuate portion 48 and wall portions 44 and 46 which define trapped vortex cavity 38 of radially outer liner 16, Stumpf teaches the cooling holes are in a first arcuate portion of either the outer liner 16 or inner liner 18 per original claims 1, 4, 5 and 12 such that cooling holes are also in portions 60 and 58 which define trapped vortex cavity 40 of radially inner liner 18; in addition in Fig. 2, holes can be seen in 44,48,46 and in 56,60,58), and to produce first combustion products flowing as a toroidal flow therein (per para. 0023 the igniter ignites the fuel and air mixture to form combustion gases, i.e., first combustion products, therein; and by the fuel and air creating a trapped vortex, the first combustion products flow as a toroidal flow due to the vortex and that 40 is an annulus about longitudinal axis 15) , the trapped vortex combustion zone being delimited by a forward wall (wall in which 31 is located in Fig. 2) , an aft wall (58 in Fig. 2) , and a radially lowest wall (interpreted as radially inwardmost wall which is 56 in Fig. 2) of the trapped vortex combustor, the aft wall comprising one of: (i) an inlet (one of cooling holes 68) positioned in a radially upper half of the aft wall (inlet is in one of the radially outer rows of cooling holes 68 in a radially upper, interpreted as radially outward, half of 58 with position shown in annotated Fig. 2) of the trapped vortex combustion zone to direct some of the first airflow into the trapped vortex combustion zone opposite of some of the first fuel flow entering the trapped vortex combustion zone from the one or more pilot fuel nozzles (inlet in annotated Fig. 2 directs some of first airflow into trapped vortex combustion zone within 40 opposite of some of the first fuel flow entering from 31) such that the toroidal flow of the combustion products in the trapped vortex combustion zone flows in a counterclockwise direction (first airflow and first combustion products in 40 each flow in a vortex which is flow with a whirling or circular motion such that the circular motion is either clockwise or counterclockwise depending on a reference perspective when viewing the vortex flow) ; or (ii) an inlet (one of cooling holes 68) positioned in a radially lower half of the aft wall (inlet is in one of the radially inner rows of cooling holes 68 in a radially lower, interpreted as radially inward, half of 58 with position shown in annotated Fig. 2) of the trapped vortex combustion zone to direct the first airflow into the trapped vortex combustion zone opposite of some of the first fuel flow entering the trapped vortex combustion zone from the one or more pilot fuel nozzles such that the toroidal flow of the combustion products in the trapped vortex combustion zone flows in a clockwise direction (first airflow and first combustion products in 40 each flow in a vortex which is flow with a whirling or circular motion such that the circular motion is either clockwise or counterclockwise depending on a reference perspective when viewing the vortex flow) ; at least one trapped vortex combustion zone fuel nozzle (see 112(b): interpreted as the same as one or more pilot fuel nozzles: projecting tube forming 31 in Fig. 1; per para. 0023, 31 provides fuel and air to create a trapped vortex, and nozzle per online American Heritage dictionary is a projecting part with an opening, as at the end of a hose, for regulating and directing a flow of fluid and 31 in Fig. 1 is an opening in a projecting tube for directing the flow of fuel, i.e., a fuel nozzle, into the trapped vortex cavity 40) providing the first fuel flow to the trapped vortex combustion zone (per paras. 0016, 0023 fuel is provided to trapped vortex combustion zone in 40 via 31); at least one secondary combustion zone (para. 0023 where fuel is injected into inlet passages 33 and into combustor 10 in Fig. 1 to mix with main stream air flowing therethrough, with the mixture being ignited by the trapped vortex first combustion products, i.e., forming a secondary combustion zone) disposed downstream of the trapped vortex combustion zone (secondary combustion zone is downstream of trapped vortex combustion zone within 40 across a downstream end of dome plate 28 per para. 0023 and as labeled in annotated Fig. 1), and operable to receive and to combust the first combustion products and at least one of (i) a second fuel flow or (ii) a second fuel flow and a second airflow (as described in para. 0015, a second fuel and a second airflow flow into combustion chamber 14 in Fig. 1 via 30,32,33), and to produce second combustion products (as described in para. 0023 the mixture of fuel and air received from 30,32,33 in secondary combustion zone interact with and are ignited by the trapped vortex first combustion products exhausting across dome plate 28 such that second combustion products are formed in the secondary combustion zone), wherein the at least one secondary combustion zone is radially outward of the trapped vortex combustion zone (secondary combustion zone in annotated Fig. 1 is radially outward of trapped vortex combustion zone within 40 with respect to centerline axis 15); and at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle (30, 32, 33 with 33 formed between 32 in Fig. 1) providing the second fuel flow to the at least one secondary combustion zone (as described in para. 0015 fuel and compressed air are permitted to flow into combustion chamber 14 via 30 where a pair of baffles 32 extending upstream and positioned adjacent each opening 30 form an inlet passage 33 in alignment with each opening 30 which assist in directing air into combustion chamber 14 with fuel injected into 33 via atomizer 35, i.e., 30,32,33 is a fuel nozzle, and as described in para. 0023 second fuel flow is provided through 30, 33 to the combustor in secondary combustion zone); a radially outermost wall (walls 16 and 18 form annular combustion chamber 14 about centerline axis 15 of trapped vortex combustor 10 in Fig. 1 and per para. 0014, and 16 is a radially outermost wall compared to 18) of the trapped vortex combustor. PNG media_image1.png 630 746 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 774 938 media_image2.png Greyscale Stumpf is silent on the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle being disposed on the radially outermost wall of the trapped vortex combustor; wherein both the at least one secondary combustion zone and the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle are located axially nearer to the combustor exit than is the trapped vortex combustion zone and are therefore both downstream of the trapped vortex combustion zone to prevent the trapped vortex combustion zone from being over-loaded in temperature. Hoke teaches an annular combustor (56 in Fig. 1 with combustion chamber 66 shown in Fig. 5; para. 0056 describes combustion chamber 66 as annular) for a gas turbine engine (Fig. 1), where 66 comprises at least one combustion zone with axial fuel injection system 92 (Fig. 5; para. 0059) directing a fuel-air mixture into the combustion chamber into a combustion zone of combustion chamber 66 shown in annotated Fig. 5 and a radial fuel injection system 120 (Fig. 5) which communicates fuel and air into another combustion zone of combustion chamber 66 downstream of the combustion zone in annotated Fig. 5. Annular combustion chamber 66 is formed by walls 72 and 70 about engine central longitudinal axis A in annotated Fig. 5 and 72 is a radially outermost wall compared to 70 in annotated Fig. 5. The axial fuel injection system 92 of Hoke is similarly located at the upstream end of the combustion chamber as secondary combustion fuel nozzle 30,32, 33 of Stumpf in Fig. 1. Hoke teaches at least one combustion fuel nozzle (fuel nozzle 86, 90 of axial fuel injection system 92, where 86, 90 are labeled in Fig. 3, and fuel nozzle 126,130 of radial fuel injection system 120 in Fig. 5) providing a fuel flow to the at least one combustion zone (a fuel flow is provided via 86,90 into combustion zone and a fuel flow is provided via 126,130 into another combustion zone in annotated Fig. 5). Hoke teaches the at least one combustion fuel nozzle being disposed on the radially outermost wall of the combustor (126,130 is disposed on 72 in Fig. 5); wherein both the at least one combustion zone (another combustion zone in annotated Fig. 5) and the at least one combustion fuel nozzle (fuel nozzle 126,130 in Fig. 5) are located axially nearer to the combustor exit than is the combustion zone in Fig. 5 and are therefore both downstream of the combustion zone (another combustion zone and 126,130 are both downstream of the combustion zone in annotated Fig. 5) to prevent the combustion zone from being over-loaded in temperature (as described in paras. 0081-0082 in order to achieve lower NOx emissions at low, mid and high power operation, during idle operation a higher percentage of fuel is provided to axial fuel injection system 92 for fuel rich operation in the combustion zone than to the radial fuel injection system 120, and at high power operation a fuel-lean combustion environment is provided in both the forward combustion zone and the downstream another combustion zone with a higher percentage of fuel provided to radial fuel injection system 120 than to axial fuel injection system 92, which accordingly allows the forward combustion zone to not be over-loaded in temperature at high power operation). The radial fuel injection system 120 including 126,130 introduces a portion of the fuel required for desired combustion performance; e.g., emissions, operability, durability as well as to lean-out the fuel contribution provided by the axial fuel injection system 92 (para. 0067). PNG media_image3.png 568 806 media_image3.png Greyscale Stumpf already teaches that during operation, trapped vortex combustion zone 40 is used to achieve and sustain combustion per para. 0016 and is used as a pilot with the mixture of fuel and air in 40 being ignited with an igniter to form combustion gases which exhausts from 40 across a downstream end of dome plate 28 so as to interact with a core flow streamline entering inlet passages 33; and if higher power or additional thrust is needed, fuel is injected through 33 and mixed with air flowing therethrough which is ignited by combustion gases from 40 exhausting across downstream end of dome plate 28 to operate in a dual stage manner per para. 0023. Stumpf as modified in view of Hoke to achieve lower NOx emissions at low, mid and high power operation, as shown below in annotated Fig. 1 of Stumpf includes a radial fuel injection system with another secondary combustion fuel nozzle being disposed on the radially outermost wall 16 of the trapped vortex combustor along with another secondary combustion zone receiving fuel from the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle on 16, both being axially nearer to the combustor exit than the forward secondary combustion zone and are therefore both downstream of the forward secondary combustion zone, and similarly the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle located on 16 and the another secondary combustion zone both are axially nearer to the combustor exit than trapped vortex combustion zone 40 and therefore both are downstream of trapped vortex combustion zone 40 which is at the axially forward and upstream end of the trapped vortex combustor. Therefore, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle being disposed on the radially outermost wall of the trapped vortex combustor; wherein both the at least one secondary combustion zone and the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle are located axially nearer to the combustor exit than is the trapped vortex combustion zone and are therefore both downstream of the trapped vortex combustion zone to prevent the trapped vortex combustion zone from being over-loaded in temperature as claimed. PNG media_image4.png 720 787 media_image4.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trapped vortex combustor in the invention of Stumpf to have the at least one secondary combustion zone include another secondary combustion zone downstream of the forward secondary combustion zone shown in annotated Fig. 1 of Stumpf and have the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle include another secondary combustion fuel nozzle providing the second fuel flow into the another secondary combustion zone, the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle disposed on the radially outermost wall; wherein both the another secondary combustion zone and the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle are located axially nearer to the combustor exit than is the trapped vortex combustion zone and are therefore both downstream of the trapped vortex combustion zone to prevent the trapped vortex combustion zone from being over-loaded in temperature as taught by Hoke in order to introduce a portion of the second fuel flow axially downstream via the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle on the radially outermost wall which is required for desired combustion performance, e.g., emissions, operability, durability as well as to lean-out the second fuel flow contribution provided by the axial fuel injection of the secondary combustion fuel nozzle at the upstream end of the combustion chamber when desired, as the ability to vary the respective second fuel flow amounts into the upstream secondary combustion zone and downstream in another secondary combustion zone in the combustion chamber provides for lower nitrogen oxide emissions at low, mid, and high power operation, and having less second fuel flow at high power operation at the forward end of the combustor accordingly allows the forward secondary combustion zone and trapped vortex combustion zone to not be over-loaded in temperature at high power operation (Hoke paras. 0081-0082). Regarding independent claim 11, as best understood, Stumpf teaches a trapped vortex combustor (Fig. 1 para. 0016 describes combustor 10 as having at least one trapped vortex cavity) for a gas turbine engine (para. 0014), the trapped vortex combustor having a longitudinal axis (15 Fig. 1) therethrough defining an axial direction (direction along 15) and comprising: a combustor exit (labeled in annotated Fig. 1) through which final combustion products exit the trapped vortex combustor (as shown in annotated Fig. 1, combustion products from a mixture of fuel and air which have been ignited per [0023] flow through and exit the trapped vortex combustor 10 via the combustor exit just upstream of a turbine nozzle); one or more pilot fuel nozzles (projecting tube forming 31 in Fig. 1; per para. 0023, 31 provides fuel and air to create a trapped vortex, and nozzle per online American Heritage dictionary is a projecting part with an opening, as at the end of a hose, for regulating and directing a flow of fluid and 31 in Fig. 1 is an opening in a projecting tube for directing the flow of fuel, i.e., a fuel nozzle, into the trapped vortex cavity 40) providing a first fuel flow to the trapped vortex combustor (per [0023] fuel flow is provided to trapped vortex cavity 40 of trapped vortex combustor 10 via 31); a trapped vortex combustion zone (trapped vortex combustion zone within trapped vortex cavity 40 in Fig. 1) operable to receive and to combust the first fuel flow from the one or more pilot fuel nozzles and a first airflow ([0016] describes a first injection comprising a first fuel and a first airflow provided into 40 from 31 and [0023] describes combustion region within 40 receives the fuel and air from 31 to create a trapped vortex of fuel and air therein and the mixture is ignited by an igniter; in addition some first air also enters 40 via cooling holes 68 as labeled in Fig. 3 but also described as 69 in [0020], and although both Figs. 3 and 4 show cooling holes in first arcuate portion 48 and wall portions 44 and 46 which define trapped vortex cavity 38 of radially outer liner 16, Stumpf teaches the cooling holes are in a first arcuate portion of either the outer liner 16 or inner liner 18 per original claims 1, 4, 5 and 12 such that cooling holes are also in portions 60 and 58 which define trapped vortex cavity 40 of radially inner liner 18; in addition in Fig. 2, holes can be seen in 44,48,46 and in 56,60,58), and to produce first combustion products flowing as a toroidal flow therein (per para. 0023 the igniter ignites the fuel and air mixture to form combustion gases, i.e., first combustion products, therein; and by the fuel and air creating a trapped vortex, the first combustion products flow as a toroidal flow due to the vortex and that 40 is an annulus about longitudinal axis 15) , the trapped vortex combustion zone being delimited by a forward wall (wall in which 31 is located in Fig. 2) , an aft wall (58 in Fig. 2) , and a radially lowest wall (interpreted as radially inwardmost wall which is 56 in Fig. 2) of the trapped vortex combustor, the aft wall comprising either: (i) an inlet (one of cooling holes 68) positioned in a radially upper half of the aft wall (inlet is in one of the radially outer rows of cooling holes 68 in a radially upper, interpreted as radially outward, half of 58 with position shown in annotated Fig. 2) of the trapped vortex combustion zone to direct some of the first airflow into the trapped vortex combustion zone opposite of some of the first fuel flow entering the trapped vortex combustion zone from the one or more pilot fuel nozzles (inlet in annotated Fig. 2 directs some of first airflow into trapped vortex combustion zone within 40 opposite of some of the first fuel flow entering from 31) such that the toroidal flow of the combustion products in the trapped vortex combustion zone flows in a counterclockwise direction (first airflow and first combustion products in 40 each flow in a vortex which is flow with a whirling or circular motion such that the circular motion is either clockwise or counterclockwise depending on a reference perspective when viewing the vortex flow) ; or (ii) an inlet (one of cooling holes 68) positioned in a radially lower half of the aft wall (inlet is in one of the radially inner rows of cooling holes 68 in a radially lower, interpreted as radially inward, half of 58 with position shown in annotated Fig. 2) of the trapped vortex combustion zone to direct the first airflow into the trapped vortex combustion zone opposite of some of the first fuel flow entering the trapped vortex combustion zone from the one or more pilot fuel nozzles such that the toroidal flow of the combustion products in the trapped vortex combustion zone flows in a clockwise direction (first airflow and first combustion products in 40 each flow in a vortex which is flow with a whirling or circular motion such that the circular motion is either clockwise or counterclockwise depending on a reference perspective when viewing the vortex flow) ; at least one trapped vortex combustion zone fuel nozzle (see 112(b): interpreted as the same as one or more pilot fuel nozzles: projecting tube forming 31 in Fig. 1; per para. 0023, 31 provides fuel and air to create a trapped vortex, and nozzle per online American Heritage dictionary is a projecting part with an opening, as at the end of a hose, for regulating and directing a flow of fluid and 31 in Fig. 1 is an opening in a projecting tube for directing the flow of fuel, i.e., a fuel nozzle, into the trapped vortex cavity 40) providing the first fuel flow to the trapped vortex combustion zone (per paras. 0016, 0023 fuel is provided to trapped vortex combustion zone in 40 via 31); at least one secondary combustion zone (para. 0023 where fuel is injected into inlet passages 33 and into combustor 10 in Fig. 1 to mix with main stream air flowing therethrough, with the mixture being ignited by the trapped vortex first combustion products, i.e., forming a secondary combustion zone) disposed downstream of the trapped vortex combustion zone (secondary combustion zone is downstream of trapped vortex combustion zone within 40 across a downstream end of dome plate 28 per para. 0023 and as labeled in annotated Fig. 1), and operable to receive and to combust the first combustion products and a second fuel flow (as described in para. 0015, a second fuel and a second airflow flow into combustion chamber 14 in Fig. 1 via 30,32,33) into the at least one secondary combustion zone (fuel from 30,32,33 is injected into secondary combustion zone in annotated Fig. 1), and to produce second combustion products (as described in para. 0023 the mixture of fuel and air received from 30,32,33 in secondary combustion zone interact with and are ignited by the trapped vortex first combustion products exhausting across dome plate 28 such that second combustion products are formed in the secondary combustion zone), wherein the at least one secondary combustion zone is radially outward of the trapped vortex combustion zone (secondary combustion zone in annotated Fig. 1 is radially outward of trapped vortex combustion zone within 40 with respect to centerline axis 15); and at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle (30, 32, 33 with 33 formed between 32 in Fig. 1) providing the second fuel flow to the at least one secondary combustion zone (as described in para. 0015 fuel and compressed air are permitted to flow into combustion chamber 14 via 30 where a pair of baffles 32 extending upstream and positioned adjacent each opening 30 form an inlet passage 33 in alignment with each opening 30 which assist in directing air into combustion chamber 14 with fuel injected into 33 via atomizer 35, i.e., 30,32,33 is a fuel nozzle, and as described in para. 0023 second fuel of the at least one secondary injection is provided through 30, 33 to the combustor in secondary combustion zone); a radially outermost wall (walls 16 and 18 form annular combustion chamber 14 about centerline axis 15 of trapped vortex combustor 10 in Fig. 1 and per para. 0014, and 16 is a radially outermost wall compared to 18) of the trapped vortex combustor. PNG media_image1.png 630 746 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 774 938 media_image2.png Greyscale Stumpf is silent on the second fuel flow radially into the at least one secondary combustion zone, the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle being disposed on the radially outermost wall of the trapped vortex combustor; wherein both the at least one secondary combustion zone and the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle are located axially nearer to the combustor exit than is the trapped vortex combustion zone and are therefore both downstream of the trapped vortex combustion zone to prevent the trapped vortex combustion zone from being over-loaded in temperature. Hoke teaches an annular combustor (56 in Fig. 1 with combustion chamber 66 shown in Fig. 5; para. 0056 describes combustion chamber 66 as annular) for a gas turbine engine (Fig. 1), where 66 comprises at least one combustion zone with axial fuel injection system 92 (Fig. 5; para. 0059) directing a fuel-air mixture into the combustion chamber into a combustion zone of combustion chamber 66 shown in annotated Fig. 5 and a radial fuel injection system 120 (Fig. 5) which communicates fuel and air radially into another combustion zone of combustion chamber 66 downstream of the combustion zone in annotated Fig. 5. Annular combustion chamber 66 is formed by walls 72 and 70 about engine central longitudinal axis A in annotated Fig. 5 and 72 is a radially outermost wall compared to 70 in annotated Fig. 5. The axial fuel injection system 92 of Hoke is similarly located at the upstream end of the combustion chamber as secondary combustion fuel nozzle 30,32, 33 of Stumpf in Fig. 1. Hoke teaches at least one combustion fuel nozzle (fuel nozzle 86, 90 of axial fuel injection system 92, where 86, 90 are labeled in Fig. 3, and fuel nozzle 126,130 of radial fuel injection system 120 in Fig. 5) providing a fuel flow to the at least one combustion zone (a fuel flow is provided via 86,90 axially into combustion zone, and a fuel flow is provided via 126,130 radially into another combustion zone in annotated Fig. 5). Hoke teaches the at least one combustion fuel nozzle being disposed on the radially outermost wall of the combustor (126,130 is disposed on 72 in Fig. 5); wherein both the at least one combustion zone (another combustion zone in annotated Fig. 5) and the at least one combustion fuel nozzle (fuel nozzle 126,130 in Fig. 5) are located axially nearer to the combustor exit than is the combustion zone in Fig. 5 and are therefore both downstream of the combustion zone (another combustion zone and 126,130 are both downstream of the combustion zone in annotated Fig. 5) to prevent the combustion zone from being over-loaded in temperature (as described in paras. 0081-0082 in order to achieve lower NOx emissions at low, mid and high power operation, during idle operation a higher percentage of fuel is provided to axial fuel injection system 92 for fuel rich operation in the combustion zone than to the radial fuel injection system 120, and at high power operation a fuel-lean combustion environment is provided in both the forward combustion zone and the downstream another combustion zone with a higher percentage of fuel provided to radial fuel injection system 120 than to axial fuel injection system 92, which accordingly allows the forward combustion zone to not be over-loaded in temperature at high power operation). The radial fuel injection system 120 including 126,130 introduces a portion of the fuel required for desired combustion performance; e.g., emissions, operability, durability as well as to lean-out the fuel contribution provided by the axial fuel injection system 92 (para. 0067). PNG media_image3.png 568 806 media_image3.png Greyscale Stumpf already teaches that during operation, trapped vortex combustion zone 40 is used to achieve and sustain combustion per para. 0016 and is used as a pilot with the mixture of fuel and air in 40 being ignited with an igniter to form combustion gases which exhausts from 40 across a downstream end of dome plate 28 so as to interact with a core flow streamline entering inlet passages 33; and if higher power or additional thrust is needed, fuel is injected through 33 and mixed with air flowing therethrough which is ignited by combustion gases from 40 exhausting across downstream end of dome plate 28 to operate in a dual stage manner per para. 0023. Stumpf as modified in view of Hoke to achieve lower NOx emissions at low, mid and high power operation, as shown below in annotated Fig. 1 of Stumpf includes a radial fuel injection system providing a second fuel flow radially into the another secondary combustion zone with another secondary combustion fuel nozzle being disposed on the radially outermost wall 16 of the trapped vortex combustor along with another secondary combustion zone receiving fuel flow from the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle on 16, both being axially nearer to the combustor exit than the forward secondary combustion zone and are therefore both downstream of the forward secondary combustion zone, and similarly the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle located on 16 and the another secondary combustion zone both are axially nearer to the combustor exit than trapped vortex combustion zone 40 and therefore both are downstream of trapped vortex combustion zone 40 which is at the axially forward and upstream end of the trapped vortex combustor. Therefore, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches the second fuel flow radially into the at least one secondary combustion zone, the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle being disposed on the radially outermost wall of the trapped vortex combustor; wherein both the at least one secondary combustion zone and the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle are located axially nearer to the combustor exit than is the trapped vortex combustion zone and are therefore both downstream of the trapped vortex combustion zone to prevent the trapped vortex combustion zone from being over-loaded in temperature as claimed. PNG media_image4.png 720 787 media_image4.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trapped vortex combustor in the invention of Stumpf to have the at least one secondary combustion zone include another secondary combustion zone downstream of the forward secondary combustion zone shown in annotated Fig. 1 of Stumpf and have the at least one secondary combustion fuel nozzle include another secondary combustion fuel nozzle providing the second fuel flow radially into the another secondary combustion zone, the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle disposed on the radially outermost wall; wherein both the another secondary combustion zone and the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle are located axially nearer to the combustor exit than is the trapped vortex combustion zone and are therefore both downstream of the trapped vortex combustion zone to prevent the trapped vortex combustion zone from being over-loaded in temperature as taught by Hoke in order to introduce a portion of the second fuel flow axially downstream via the another secondary combustion fuel nozzle on the radially outermost wall which is required for desired combustion performance, e.g., emissions, operability, durability as well as to lean-out the second fuel flow contribution provided by the axial fuel injection of the secondary combustion fuel nozzle at the upstream end of the combustion chamber when desired, as the ability to vary the respective second fuel flow amounts into the upstream secondary combustion zone and downstream in another secondary combustion zone in the combustion chamber provides for lower nitrogen oxide emissions at low, mid, and high power operation, and having less second fuel flow at high power operation at the forward end of the combustor accordingly allows the forward secondary combustion zone and trapped vortex combustion zone to not be over-loaded in temperature at high power operation (Hoke paras. 0081-0082). Regarding claim 3 and 13, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches all that is claimed above and Stumpf further teaches the trapped vortex combustion zone is disposed wholly radially inward of the at least one secondary combustion zone (trapped vortex combustion zone within 40 is disposed wholly radially inward of the at least one secondary combustion zone in annotated Fig. 1). Regarding claim 4 and 14, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches all that is claimed above and Stumpf further teaches the trapped vortex combustor comprises an annular combustor (combustor 10 in Fig. 1 is an annular combustor per para. 0014), and the trapped vortex combustion zone is configured as substantially arcuate (in Fig. 1 which is a longitudinal cross section per para. 0010, trapped vortex cavity 40 including trapped vortex combustion zone includes arcuate portion 60, i.e., is substantially arcuate, which is also described in para. 0017). Regarding claim 5 and 15, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches all that is claimed above and Stumpf further teaches the at least one trapped vortex combustion fuel nozzle includes one or more pilot fuel nozzles (as discussed in claims 1 and 15, the at least one trapped vortex combustion fuel nozzle is interpreted as the same as one or more pilot fuel nozzles: projecting tube forming 31 in Fig. 1) for introducing the first fuel flow into the trapped vortex combustion zone to mix with the first airflow (projecting tube forming 31 introduces first fuel and first air into the trapped vortex combustion zone in 40 which mix to form a mixture of fuel and air and are ignited and act as the pilot per para. 0023). Regarding claim 7 and 17, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches all that is claimed above and Stumpf further teaches the inlet is positioned in the radially upper half of the aft wall (inlet is in one of the radially outer rows of cooling holes 68 in a radially upper, interpreted as radially outward, half of 58 with position shown in annotated Fig. 2) of the trapped vortex combustion zone to direct some of the first airflow into the trapped vortex combustion zone opposite of some of the first fuel flow entering the trapped vortex combustion zone nozzles (inlet in annotated Fig. 2 directs some of first airflow into trapped vortex combustion zone within 40 opposite of some of the first fuel flow entering from 31) such that the toroidal flow of the combustion products in the trapped vortex combustion zone flows in the counterclockwise direction (first airflow and first combustion products in 40 each flow in a vortex which is flow with a whirling or circular motion such that the circular motion is either clockwise or counterclockwise depending on a reference perspective when viewing the vortex flow) , wherein the forward wall comprises another inlet directing some of the first airflow into the trapped vortex combustion zone (some of the first airflow enters via 31 which is in the forward wall, such that 31 is another inlet) , and wherein at least some of the first airflow and at least some of the first fuel flow enter the trapped vortex combustion zone in a same direction with respect to an axis of the gas turbine engine (both first fuel and some of first airflow each enter via opening 31 per para. 0023 into the trapped vortex combustion zone in 40 such that some of the first airflow and first fuel enter in a same direction toward the trapped vortex combustion zone with respect to an axis of 31 which is an axis of the gas turbine engine since projecting tube forming 31 is a component of trapped vortex combustor 10 which is a component of the gas turbine engine per para. 0014). Regarding claim 8 and 18, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches all that is claimed above and Stumpf further teaches the trapped vortex combustion zone is configured as a trapped vortex combustion cavity (40 Fig. 1 para. 0016), and the first airflow is directed into the trapped vortex combustor along a periphery of the trapped vortex combustion cavity (first air is directed into 40 via 31 which is an opening along a periphery of 40 as seen in Fig. 1) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stumpf et al. 20040079083 in view of Hoke et al. 20160123596 as applied to claim s 5 and 15, respectively , above, and further in view of Haynes et al. 20040103663 . Regarding claims 6 and 16, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches all that is claimed above but Stumpf is silent regarding at least some of the first airflow and at least some of the first fuel flow enter the trapped vortex combustion zone in directions opposite of each other with respect to an axis of the gas turbine engine. Haynes teaches a gas turbine combustor (Fig. 1 para. 0014) with a trapped vortex cavity (40 Fig. 9) in which airflow (110 injected through hole 112 in Fig. 9 in an upstream direction) and fuel flow (115 injected through fuel injection hole 70 in Fig. 9 in a downstream direction) enter a trapped vortex combustion zone (trapped vortex combustion zone in 40 in which trapped vortex 41 of fuel and air mixture is ignited by igniter 43) in directions opposite of each other with respect to an axis (18 Fig. 1) of a gas turbine engine (para. 0023) which promotes formation of the vortex and mixing of the fuel and air. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Stumpf in view of Hoke to have at least some of the first airflow and at least some of the first fuel flow enter the trapped vortex combustion zone in directions opposite of each other with respect to an axis of the gas turbine engine as taught by Haynes to promote formation of the vortex and mixing of the fuel and air . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stumpf et al. 20040079083 in view of Hoke et al. 20160123596 as applied to claim s 1 and 11, respectively , above, and further in view of Burrus et al. 6295801 . Regarding claim 21 and 23, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches all that is claimed above but Stumpf does not explicitly teach the one or more pilot fuel nozzles include a plurality of pilot fuel nozzles that are disposed on the forward wall of the trapped vortex combustion zone symmetrically about the longitudinal axis. Stumpf further teaches in Fig. 1 and per [0014]-[0015] that trapped vortex combustor 10 includes hollow body 12 which is generally annular in form about longitudinal axis 15 and includes annular dome plate 28 and the forward wall is part of dome plate 28, and a plurality of openings 30 are formed in a middle portion of dome plate 28 so that fuel and compressed air are permitted to flow into combustion chamber 14 and dome plate 28 includes a pair of baffles 32 extending upstream and positioned adjacent each opening 30 to form an inlet passage 33 in alignment with each opening 30 to assist in directing air into combustion chamber 14; there are a plurality of fuel injector bars 34 which provide fuel within each inlet passage 33 via an atomizer 35, where each fuel injector bar 34 is located within one of a plurality of circumferentially spaced slots or openings formed within baffles 32, i.e., injector bars 34 are disposed symmetrically about longitudinal axis 15 in light of instant specification [0024]. Stumpf also teaches dome plate 28 may be like that of Burrus et al. 6295801. Burrus teaches a similar trapped vortex combustor in Fig. 1 with a plurality of fuel bars 50 distributed circumferentially about longitudinal axis 14, i.e., are disposed symmetrically about longitudinal axis 15 in light of instant specification [0024], and which each have injector 72 positioned within an opening 74 located at a radially inner end as shown in Fig. 2 and through which fuel flows to a radially inner trapped vortex cavity 42 shown in Fig. 1 and as described in col 3 lines 57-67 to col 4 lines 1-6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Stumpf in view of Hoke to have the one or more pilot fuel nozzles include a plurality of pilot fuel nozzles that are disposed on the forward wall of the trapped vortex combustion zone symmetrically about the longitudinal axis as taught by Burrus to evenly distribute fuel circumferentially around the trapped vortex combustion zone. Regarding claims 22 and 24, Stumpf in view of Hoke teaches all that is claimed above but Stumpf is silent regarding the one or more pilot fuel nozzles include an air-blast nozzle, a pressure atomizer nozzle, or a plain jet orifice nozzle. Burrus teaches a similar trapped vortex combustor in Fig. 1 with a plurality of fuel bars 50 distributed circumferentially about longitudinal axis 14, i.e., are disposed symmetrically about longitudinal axis 15 in light of instant specification [0024], and which each have injector 72 positioned within an opening 74 located at a radially inner end as shown in Fig. 2 and through which fuel flows to a radially inner trapped vortex cavity 42 shown in Fig. 1 and as described in col 3 lines 57-67 to col 4 lines 1-6. Injectors 72 may be atomizers, i.e., pressure atomizers, per col 4 lines 16-19. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . . . [W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Stumpf in view of Hoke to have the one or more pilot fuel nozzles include a pressure atomizer nozzle as taught by Burrus as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results in this case have one of the pilot fuel nozzles be a pressure atomizer nozzle to predictably inject first fuel into the trapped vortex combustion zone. Response to Arguments 07-37 Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that prior art of record Stumpf in view of Hoke does not teach the new limitations added to amended claims 1 and 11. However, in the above 103 rejections of claims 1 and 11, Examiner shows that Stumpf in view of Hoke does teach the new limitations and all that is claimed in claims 1 and 11. Applicant does not provide arguments for the dependent claims. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Correspondence Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSON JOAN HARRINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2359. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9 am - 5 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Phutthiwat Wongwian can be reached at (571) 270-5426. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.J.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/789,124 Page 2 Art Unit: 3741