DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 10667991) in view of Ye (CN 110522627; translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Taylor discloses a facial basin assembly comprising:
a basin (200, 200a, 200b, 230) with a concave top side (200a) capable of retaining a liquid (101), wherein the concave top side has an interior surface (203), and further wherein the top concave top side is opposite a bottom side (200b) of the basin (see Fig. 2G, 3B, and 4A);
a receiving element (470) disposed proximate to a ledge (225) that is circumferentially disposed about the interior surface (see Fig. 2G, 3B, and 4A);
a coupling device (420, 430) removably inserted into the receiving element (see Fig. 4G-H); wherein the coupling device comprises:
a body (430) defining, at least in part, an airflow pathway (pathway of 430) and at least one inlet-outlet (431), wherein the airflow pathway is adapted to exhaust air (col. 56, ll. 2-13); and
a first airflow conduit (420) having a tubular body (body of 420) disposed near the concave top side (see Fig. 4A and 4G-H), the first airflow conduit having a first proximate end (422) coupled to the at least one inlet-outlet (see Fig. 4A and 4G-H) and a first distal end (421) coupled to a mouthpiece (401, 403) at a first coupling end (405), wherein the mouthpiece comprises a body (body of 401, 403) defining an air flow passage (air flow passage of 401, 403) from an engagement end (end of 403) to at least the first coupling end (see Fig. 4A).
However, Taylor does not disclose wherein the airflow pathway is adapted to exhaust air below a bottom side surface of the bottom side of the basin as claimed.
Ye discloses a washbasin wherein the airflow pathway (5) is adapted to exhaust air below a bottom side surface (bottom side surface of 2) of the bottom side of the basin (2; see Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the airflow pathway of Taylor, to be adapted to exhaust air below a bottom side surface of the bottom side of the basin as claimed, as taught by Ye, in order to provide good ventilation effect (p. 5, ll. 4-15).
Regarding claim 2, the combination above and specifically Taylor further discloses the body of the coupling device is of a unitary construction (see Fig. 4K).
Regarding claim 3, the combination above and specifically Taylor further discloses the coupling device comprises at least one slotted groove (groove near 437 and 439) adapted to receive a corresponding protrusion (471, 473) of the receiving element.
Regarding claim 5, the combination above and specifically Taylor further discloses a second airflow conduit (left one of 420) having a second tubular body (body of 420) disposed proximate to the top side (see Fig. 2H, 4A, and 4G-H) is coupled to a second inlet-outlet (inlet 431 of the left one of 430) at a second proximate end (left one of 422), and a distal end (421 of left one of 420) of the second airflow conduit is coupled to the mouthpiece at a second coupling end (left one of 405) opposite the first coupling end (see Fig. 2H and 4A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination above and specifically Taylor further discloses the basin further comprises a sidewall (205-206, 230) having a base portion (230) and a curved portion (205-206) such that air can transfer from the bottom side of the basin to the environment (air can transfer from 200B to the exterior environment; see Fig. 2G, 3A, and 4C).
Regarding claim 7, the combination above and specifically Taylor further discloses wherein the receiving element is disposed on a proximal portion (portion of 225) of the ledge (see Fig. 2G, 3B, and 4A).
Regarding claim 8, the combination above and specifically Taylor further discloses the receiving element comprises at least one protrusion (471, 473) corresponding to at least one slot (slot near 437 and 439) of the coupling device (430).
Regarding claim 9, the combination above and specifically Taylor further discloses a plurality of support elements (509, 512) disposed on a bottom convex surface (501).
Regarding claim 10, Taylor discloses a facial basin assembly comprising:
a basin (200, 200a, 200b, 230) with a concave top side (200a) capable of retaining a liquid (101), wherein the concave top side has an interior surface (203), and further wherein the concave top side is opposite a bottom side (200b) of the basin (see Fig. 2G, 3B, and 4A);
a receiving element (470) disposed proximate to a ledge (225) that is circumferentially disposed about the interior surface (see Fig. 2G, 3B, and 4A);
a coupling device (420, 430) removably inserted into the receiving element (see Fig. 4G-H), wherein the coupling device comprises:
a body (430) defining, at least in part, an airflow pathway (pathway of 430) and at least one inlet-outlet (431), wherein the airflow pathway is adapted to direct exhaust air (col. 56, ll. 2-13); and
a first airflow conduit (420) having a tubular body (body of 420) disposed near the concave top side (see Fig. 4A and 4G-H), the first airflow conduit having a first proximate end (422) coupled to the at least one inlet-outlet (see Fig. 4A and 4G-H) and a first distal end (421) coupled to a mouthpiece (401, 403) at a first coupling end (405), wherein the mouthpiece comprises a body (body of 401, 403) defining an air flow passage (air flow passage of 401, 403) from an engagement end (end of 403) to at least the first coupling end (see Fig. 4A).
However, Taylor does not disclose wherein the airflow pathway is adapted to direct exhaust air toward a region below a bottom side surface of the bottom side of the basin as claimed.
Ye discloses a washbasin wherein the airflow pathway (5) is adapted to direct exhaust air toward a region (region below 2 near 21-22) below a bottom side surface (bottom side surface of 2) of the bottom side of the basin (2; see Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the airflow pathway of Taylor, to be adapted to direct exhaust air toward a region below a bottom side surface of the bottom side of the basin as claimed, as taught by Ye, in order to provide good ventilation effect (p. 5, ll. 4-15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM R KLOTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754