DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 14-20, in the reply filed on 17 June 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 June 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification paragraphs 40-41 is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 does not set forth the full term for the abbreviation “PHS” (press hardening steel). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2021/0187906).
Considering claim 14, Lu teaches a press-hardened steel assembly comprising a core layer and first surface layer (abstract). The assembly comprises a core of a first sheet and a second steel sheet thereon (Paragraph 8). The core comprises a first steel layer having a composition comprising 0.01-6 wt.% Cr (Paragraph 17) and may be coated with an Al-Si coating (Paragraph 20). The second steel may have a composition of 0.01-6 wt.% Cr (Paragraph 17) and may not require a coating (Paragraph 100). The press-hardened steel may be welded at the edges (Paragraph 25) (e.g. comprises a weld seem therebetween).
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed component this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Lu as this is considered a combination of conventionally known steel sheets with compositions overlapping (e.g. one steel sheet may optionally have a greater Cr content than another) and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the composition of Cr between the steel sheets disclosed by Lu overlap the claimed concentration difference and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 15, Lu teaches where the second steel composition comprises Fe and C content of about 0.2-0.45 wt.%, Mn content of about 0.5-4.5 wt.%, a Cr content of about 0.01-6 wt.%, and a Si content of about 0-3 wt.% (Paragraph 17). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 16, Lu teaches where the Nb content may be about 0-0.8 wt.% (Paragraph 97), the V content may be about 0-0.8 wt.% (Paragraph 98), and a Ni content of about 0-5 wt.% (Paragraph 99). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 17, Lu teaches where the Cr content is about 0.01-6 wt.% and Si content is about 0-3 wt.% (Paragraph 17) overlapping the claimed ratio. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 18-19, Lu is silent regarding the claimed Cr-enriched carbides, Al and Cr content in the weld, and microstructure. However, as outlined above, Lu teaches a substantially identical welded component of materials overlapping that which is claimed and therefore these features are expected to be present after pressing as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112. Additionally, Lu teaches where the press-hardened steel assembly comprises greater than or equal to 90 vol.% martensite (Paragraph 8). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 20, Lu teaches where the assembly may be a B pillar and door components (Paragraph 46).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Breuer et al. (US 2015/0306702) and Haouas (US 2021/0163080) teach steel laminates with compositions overlapping that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784