18789233DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/30/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the combination of claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,851. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claim 20 of the present invention are taught by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,851.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,599. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claim 20 of the present invention are taught by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,599.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1: Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0298925 A1 Inoue et al.
2: As for Claim 1, Inoue et al depicts in Figures 1, 4, 6 and 7 and teaches in Paragraph [0033] A camera module comprising: a housing(element 11 depicted in Figure 1); a lens assembly (element 21 depicted in Figure 1 and in Figure 3) that is coupled to the housing (11) and comprises at least one lens (21a); a first circuit board (element 32 depicted in Figure 3) disposed inside the housing (11) (Paragraph [0035]); a second circuit board (33) disposed below the first circuit board (32) (see Paragraph [0040]); a first flexible circuit board (element 36 depicted in Figure 9 and discussed in Paragraph [0043])
that electrically connects the first (32) and second circuit boards (33); a first shield can (element 35 depicted in Figure 7 and discussed in Paragraph [0035]) disposed in the housing (11) to support the first circuit board and the second circuit board (See Figure 10), wherein the first shield can (35) comprises a plurality of sidewalls (Figure 7 depicts multiple sides of the shield can having numerous holes on different sides), and wherein among the plurality of sidewalls, a thickness of a sidewall on which the first flexible circuit board (36) is disposed is thinner in an optical axis direction than a thickness of other sidewalls in the optical axis direction. Figure 7 shows multiple side walls with different sections of side walls having different lengths (widths) along the OA direction.
3: As for Claim 2, Inoue et al depicts in Figure 10 wherein the plurality of side walls comprises a first side wall, and wherein the first sidewall includes a hole disposed to overlap the first circuit board or second circuit board in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Inoue et al depicts and teaches the shield can has numerous holes that accept portions of the circuit boards in order to secure them in place.
4: As for Claim 9, Inoue et al teaches in Paragraph [0041] wherein the first circuit board is mounted with the image sensor (element 31), wherein the first side wall comprises a first region, an entirety of which is overlapped with the first flexible circuit board (36) in a lateral direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (see Figure 10).
5: As for Claim 10, Inoue et al teaches wherein an area of the first shield can (35) where the first flexible circuit board (36) is disposed is formed in a bar shape partially cut away (cutout 35f depicted in Figure 7 and discussed in Paragraph [0049]).
6: As for Claim 11, Inoue et al teaches in Paragraph [0049, 0068 and 0069] wherein a first ground part is formed on a side surface of the first circuit board, and the first ground part is in contact with an inner surface of the first shield can (35). Inoue et al teaches the shield can 35 is in electrical contact with the circuit boards to provide a ground level.
7: As for Claim 12, Inoue et al teaches in Paragraph [0049, 0068 and 0069] wherein a second ground part is formed on a side surface of the second circuit board, and the second ground part is in contact with an inner surface of the first shield can. Inoue et al teaches the shield can 35 is in electrical contact with the circuit boards to provide a ground level.
8: As for Claim 13, Inoue et al depicts in Figure 9 wherein the first circuit board and the second circuit board are formed in the same size. Inoue et al teaches the circuit boards fix within the shield can (35).
9: As for Claim 14, Inoue et al teaches in Paragraph [0047] wherein the first shield can (35) is manufactured with a metal material, and edges of the first circuit board are formed with a ground part electrically grounded to the first shield can (35).
10: As for Claim 20, Inoue et al depicts in Figures 1, 4, 6 and 7 and teaches in Paragraph [0033] A camera module comprising: a housing (element 11 depicted in Figure 1); a lens assembly (element 21 depicted in Figure 1 and in Figure 3) that is coupled to the housing (11) and comprises at least one lens (21a); a first circuit board (element 32 depicted in Figure 3) disposed inside the housing (11) (Paragraph [0035]); a second circuit board (33) disposed below the first circuit board (32) (see Paragraph [0040]); and a first shield can (element 35 depicted in Figure 7 and discussed in Paragraph [0035]) disposed in the housing (11) to support the first circuit board (32) and the second circuit board (33) (see Figure 10), wherein the first shield can (35) comprises a first side wall, and wherein the first sidewall includes a hole (Figure 7 depicts multiple sides of the shield can having numerous holes on different sides).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES M HANNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639
JMH
February 3, 2026