DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al [US 2023/0056129] on view or Ross et al [US 2009/0079556]
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) A wheel component for at least partially muscle-powered vehicles and in particular bicycles (the bicycle 60, see Fig. 1, para [0045]), comprising: a rim for accommodating a tire provided with a tire tread (the rim 8, see Figs. 1, 2B, para [0045, 0049);
and comprising a magnetic device with a housing and a magnet (the housing 5 and
magnet 4, see Fig. 1, para [0045]);
wherein the rim comprises a rim body with a circumferential rim well with an external surface and lateral rim flanks, which form rim flanges at the radially outwardly ends (the surface and flanges of rim 8, see Figs. 2b, 4, 12, para [0049, 0050, 0095]);
wherein the rim body comprises a valve hole in a radially outwardly rim well area (the
stem 2 of valve 3 attached through an opening or valve hole 20 by a valve nut 10, see
Figs. 1-4, para [0052, 0060]);
and wherein a tire cavity is defined between the exterior surface of the rim well and the tire tread of a tire provided to be accommodated on the rim body (read upon the tire cavity is formed between the tire tread or inner tube (not shown) and rim 8, see Figs. 2b, 4, 9, 12, para [0050, 0095]). But
Kunz et al fails to disclose the housing of the magnetic device is connected with the rim body, secure against loss, by an adhesive layer between exterior surface of the rim well and the housing of the magnetic device; and in the region of the valve hole, the housing of the magnetic device has a through opening for the valve, through which the valve protrudes, and fastens the magnetic device radially outwardly on the exterior surface of the rim well of the rim body and thus the housing of the magnetic device is located inside of the tire cavity. However,
Kunz et al teaches that the anti-twist protection is formed by an adhesive, in particular in the form of double-sided adhesive tape 15, applied to the magnet 4 and/or the housing 5 thereof. In this way, particularly rapid and simple fixing of the magnet on the stem of the valve is possible and for preventing loss, see Figs. 2B, 3, 4, 12, para [0019, 0060]).
The magnet 4 and housing 5 thereof, includes an opening or bore 20, which has the diameter of the largest valve stem diameter to be covered, e.g., that of a Schrader valve. For a Presta valve, an adapter sleeve 22, as shown here, may be inserted between stem 2 and bore 20 of component 4, 5. Valve nut 10 is then screwed onto valve 3 until it rests on adapter sleeve 22. Valve nut 10 now presses the component onto rim 8 by way of adapter sleeve 22. Flexible fins 11 are pressed onto the flanges of rim 8 and partially adapt to the shape of rim 8, see Figs. 2B, 4, 12, para [0049, 0060]).
Ross et al suggests that the tire monitoring system includes a support or housing adapted for mounting within the internal cavity of the wheel with the support or housing being exposed to the tire pressure. (See Fig. 1-4, para [0008]).
The sensor 26 detects the presence of the first and second magnets 46, 48 with each rotation of the wheel 14. The controller 28 determines the length of the casing 24 from the detection by the sensor 26 of the presence of the first and second magnets 46, 48. The controller 28 calculates changes in the tire pressure based on the varying length L.sub.O, L.sub.I, L.sub.D of the casing 24 by the relative movement of the magnets 46, 48 in response to changes in the tire pressure within the internal cavity 18 of the wheel 14. (see Figs. 1-6, para [0033]).
The housing 22 may be attached to the rim 16 of the wheel 14 or mounted within the internal cavity 18 of the wheel 14 by various methods. As shown in FIG. 9, the housing 22 is mounted to the wheel 14 by a bonding material 38. The bonding material 38 may be an adhesive for gluing or securing the housing 22 to the wheel 14. (See Fig. 9, para [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the magnetic housing device is mounted to the exterior or external of the rim of a bicycle of Kunz et al for the magnetic device mounted internal or inside the tire cavity and inside the rim of a wheel of a vehicle of Ross et al for an advantage of sensing both tire pressure and rotation of the tire by the magnetic sensor, since either the bicycle rim and the rim of a wheel of a vehicle are designed to mounted with its tire for driving, which will not affection the operation functions and results of the magnetic sensor, and as well as to provide protection of the magnetic device from the environmental and weather conditions such as dirt, musk, rain, rock and/or snow, etc.
Claim 2. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the housing of the magnetic device is retained on the rim body, secure against loss, by an adhesive layer between the rim well and the housing of the magnetic device (the adhesive tape 15, see Figs. 2B, 4, para [0060]).
Claim 3. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 2, wherein the adhesive layer is disposed directly between the housing of the magnetic device and the rim well (see Fig. 4).
Claim 4. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 2, wherein between the housing of the magnetic device and the rim well, a circumferential rim tape is disposed, and wherein the adhesive layer is disposed directly between the housing of the magnetic device and the rim tape (the circumferential rim tap 15, see Fig. 4).
Claim 5. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein a hollow space is configured in the rim body, wherein the hollow space is radially inwardly enclosed by the rim base and radially outwardly, by the rim well (the hollow space inside the rim 8, see Figs. 2B, 12).
Claim 6. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the housing of the magnetic device is configured curved in the peripheral direction of the rim (the bottom curved housing 5 of magnet 4, see Figs. 9, 11, 12).
Claim 7. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the housing of the magnetic device is adapted to the cross sectional profile of the rim well area (the cross-sectional profile, see Figs. 5, 6, para [0020, 0069]).
Claim 8. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein a circumferential rim well trough is configured on the rim well, in which the magnetic device is accommodated (the magnet 4 in a circumferential on the valve stem 2 and rim 8, see Figs. 2B, 12, para [0007, 0050]).
Claim 9. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the lateral distance of the rim flange from the magnetic device is larger than the axial wall thickness of the rim flange (the magnetic 4 and housing 5 is larger than the lateral rim 8, see Figs. 2B, 3, 6, para [0049]).
Claim 10. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein an adhesive tape is attached to the bottom surface of the housing, which connects the magnetic device with the rim body, wherein the adhesive tape is glued onto one of the rim tape and the rim body (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 2B-4, para [0060]).
Claim 11. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein radially outwardly end regions of the rim flanges form axially inwardly protruding, circumferential beads, and wherein a tire is accommodated on the rim flanges (the housing 5 includes at least one resilient element, which is configured so as to protrude on the housing 5 in an axial direction of the stem 2, and in particular is configured SO as to taper 15 partially inwards towards the middle of the housing 5. In this way, a pre-tension may be created in an axial direction, allowing particularly reliable fixing on the valve 3. If, for example, the tire pressure drops, the valve protrudes further out of the rim 8, see Fig. 2B, 5, 6, para [0016, 0047]), and wherein tire beads of the tire bear axially inwardly against the axially inwardly protruding, circumferential beads of the rim flanges, and wherein the magnetic device is accommodated axially between the circumferential beads (see Figs. 2B, 12, para [0007, 0016, 0102-0112]).
Claim 12. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic device is accommodated radially between the rim well and the radially outwardly end regions of the rim flanges, and axially between and spaced apart from, the rim flanges (magnet 4 is position between the rim 8 and outside/outward of rim 8 and spaced from the flanges of rim 8, see Figs. 5-7, see para [0049]).
Claim 13. (Original) Kunz et al fails to disclose the axial distances of the magnetic device from the two beads are each larger than the thinnest wall thickness of the rim flanges. However,
Kunz et al teaches that the magnet 4 and housing 5 is mounted to the magnet 4
together with housing 5 mounted by way of a fixing device 6 is shown fixed on stem 2 of
a valve 3. To this end, magnet 4 is first pushed over valve 3-more precisely stem 2 of
valve 3-in axial direction 100 of stem 2 until flexible fins 11 touch rim 8. Flexible fins
11 are pressed onto the flanges of rim 8 and partially adapt to the shape of rim 8. The
wider the rim 8 and the more acute the flange angle of rim 8, the more pre-tensioning
force is generated since fins 11 are pressed further apart (see Figs. 2A, 2B, para
[0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the fins
are functionally equivalent to the beads for attaching the magnet to the rim depending
on the shaped of rim.
Claim 14. (Original) Kunz et al fails to disclose wherein the radial distance of the magnetic device from the radially outwardly end regions of the rim flanges is larger than 0.25 mm. However,
Kunz et al silence about the thickness of adhesive tape 15 or securing clamp 16 radial distance outwardly between the housing 5 of magnet 4 and flanges rim 8, see Fig. 4-6, para [0060, 0069, 0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the
thickness of the tape or securing clamp outwardly from the rim could be less or more
than 0.25 mm as a design choice or user choice to select the size and/or thickness of
the tape and/or securing clamp for adapting to fix a particular rim.
Claim 15. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the rim body has an axial width that is less than the radial height of the rim body (see Figs. 2B, 12).
Claim 16. (Original) The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic device comprises a seating for sealing the valve at the mounting hole, and wherein a sealant is accommodated on the seating (read upon the magnet 4, 5 is shown in the form of a mono magnet. Mono magnet 4, 5 includes two components: a monolithic magnet block 4 and plastics over molding 5 or rubber sleeve 23. For mounting on stem 2 of a valve 3, mono magnet 4, 5 includes a central hole or bore 20 (see Figs. 7B, 7C, 11, para [0076, 0088]), wherein the plastics over molding or rubber sleeve is used to protect and shield the magnet device.
Claim 17. (Original) A bicycle comprising: at least two wheels and an at least partially muscle-powered pedal drive; wherein at least one of the wheels comprises a wheel component according to claim 1; wherein at least one of the wheels is configured as a front wheel and at least one of the wheels, as a rear wheel, each comprising a hub and connected with the hub; a rim with a rim body with lateral rim flanks, which form rim flanges at the radially outwardly ends; wherein the rim body comprises between the rim flanges, a rim well with a radially outwardly rim well area on which a valve hole is configured; and a tire with a tire tread mounted on the rim body; wherein the tire tread and the rim well define a tire cavity; wherein at least one wheel accommodates a magnetic device on the rim well inside of the tire cavity, for generating pulses on a sensor as the wheel rotates (as the combination between Kunz et al and Ross et al in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 1, 2B, 4-7A-C, 12).
Claim 18. (Original) The bicycle according to claim 17, wherein at least one sensor is comprised for obtaining at least one travelling parameter, capturing magnetic pulses from the rotary motion of the wheel (pulse generator in the form of a magnet according to the rotation or speed of the traveling tire rim, see para [0006, 0012]).
Claim 19. (Original) The bicycle according to claim 18, wherein at least one sensor is disposed on the frame and in particular in the region of the bottom bracket or on the seat tube (the bicycle 60 is shown in the region of drivetrain 61. In a conventional manner, drivetrain 61 includes a magnetic field sensor 62 integrated therein. Furthermore, a rim arrangement 50 with rim magnet arrangement 1 is shown with a rim 8, which includes a valve 3. Valve 3 includes a valve stem 2, onto which a magnet 4 arranged in a housing 5 is placed. Housing 5 and magnet 4 include a central bore 20 for this purpose. The bottom of housing 5 rests on rim 8 of bicycle 60. Both are then fixed on stem 2 of valve 3 by way of a mounting nut 10. Magnet 4 provides a magnetic field 200, which may be measured by magnetic field sensor 62, see Fig. 1, para [0006, 0045]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al
[US 2023/0056129] and Ross et al [US 2009/0079556] and further in view of Ferguson [US 2017/0334516]
Claim 20. (Original) Kunz et al fails to disclose wherein an electric motor for assisting the pedal drive is comprised, wherein the electric motor is configured as a mid-mounted motor and is accommodated in the longitudinal direction between the front wheel and the rear wheel, and wherein a sensor is accommodated in the housing of the electric motor for obtaining at least one travelling parameter. However,
Kunz et al disclose a manual two wheel bicycle (see Fig. 1, abstract).
Ferguson suggests that in bicycles, for example, space limitations between the front or
rear forks restricts the available space within which to locate an electric hub motor 31.
Standard size bicycle hubs, for example, are often 100 mm wide and folding cycles are
often smaller at 74 mm which severely limits the application of hub motors. In many
instances, this has meant that hub motors are fitted into non-standard spacing of the
forks, requiring modified or converted replacement forks. Replacement or modified forks
are expensive to produce and limit the acceptability of converting exiting bicycles to
electric drive. (see Figs. 1-3, 5, para [0002, 0008, 0124-0127]).
The rotor may also include an outer peripheral rim 43a that projects away from a region
at or close to the outermost edge of the main body so that it overhangs an outer
peripheral face of the stator, the outer peripheral rim 43a carrying the plurality of
rotor magnets 42 that interact with a magnetic field generated by the stator when
the motor 31 is in operation (see para [0032, 0067, 0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to modify or implement the electric motor of the bicycle of
Ferguson to the manual bicycle of Kunz et al and Ross et al for providing convenience and powerful bicycle use by a rider, since the exiting manual bicycle could be replaced or modified to an electric drive bicycle and/or hybrid bicycle are available in the bicycle industries or bicycle shops.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment, filed 09/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under Kunz et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ross et al to make the rejection smoother.
Applicant’s arguments:
(A) Claim 1 has been amended to emphasize this significant structural distinction
between the disclosure of Kunz and the present device. Among other things,
claim 1 now recites, wherein a tire cavity is defined between the exterior surface
of the rim well and the tire tread of a tire provided to be accommodated on the rim
body; the housing of the magnetic device is connected with the rim body. Thus, the housing of the magnetic device is located inside of the tire cavity.
(B) The dependent claims 13 and 14. The arguments asserted above traversing Kunz are reasserted here. Kunz fails to disclose or suggest the placement of the magnetic housing inside the tire cavity as now recited.
(C) Dependent claim 20 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of a combination of Kunz and Ferguson (US 2017/0334516). The arguments asserted above traversing Kunz are reasserted here.
Response to the arguments:
(A) It is obvious to one skill in the art to modify or substitute the magnetic housing device is mounted to the exterior or external of the rim of a bicycle of Kunz et al for the magnetic device mounted internal or inside the tire cavity and inside the rim of a wheel of a vehicle of Ross et al for an advantage of sensing both tire pressure and rotation of the tire by the magnetic sensor, since either the bicycle rim and the rim of a wheel of a vehicle are designed to mounted with its tire for driving, which will not affection the operation functions and results of the magnetic sensor, and as well as to provide protection of the magnetic device from the environmental and weather conditions such as dirt, musk, rain, rock and/or snow, etc.
(B) The dependent claims 13 and 14, it is obvious according to the combination between Kunz et al and Ross et al regarding the magnetic housing device is mounted inside the tire cavity and inside of the rim as discussed in claim 1 and section (A) above.
(C) The dependent claim 20, it is obvious to combine between Kunz et al and Ross et al and Ferguson regarding the magnetic housing device is mounted inside the tire cavity and inside of the rim of a manual and electric bicycle having manual pedal drive and electric power, as discussed in claims 1, 20 and section (A) above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
09/21/2026