DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kunz et al [US 2023/0056129]
Claim 1. A wheel component for at least partially muscle-powered vehicles and in particular bicycles (the bicycle 60, see Fig. 1, para [0045]), comprising: a rim for accommodating a tire provided with a tire tread (the rim 8, see Figs. 1, 2B, para [0045, 0049);
and comprising a magnetic device with a housing and a magnet (the housing 5 and magnet 4, see Fig. 1, para [0045]);
wherein the rim comprises a rim body with a circumferential rim well and lateral rim flanks, which form rim flanges at the radially outwardly ends (the flanges of rim 8, see Fig. 2b, para [0049, 0050]);
wherein the rim body comprises a valve hole in a radially outwardly rim well area (the stem 2 of valve 3 attached through an opening or valve hole 20 by a valve nut 10, see Figs. 1-4, para [0052, 0060]);
and wherein a tire cavity is defined between the rim well and the tire tread of a tire provided to be accommodated on the rim body (read upon the tire cavity is formed between the tire tread or inner tube (not shown) and rim 8, see Figs. 9, 12, para [0050]);
the housing of the magnetic device is connected with the rim body, secure against loss, by an adhesive layer between the rim well and the housing of the magnetic device (the anti-twist protection is formed by an adhesive, in particular in the form of double-sided adhesive tape 15, applied to the magnet 4 and/or the housing 5 thereof. In this way, particularly rapid and simple fixing of the magnet on the stem of the valve is possible and for preventing loss, see Figs. 2B, 3, 4, para [0019, 0060]);
and in the region of the valve hole, the housing of the magnetic device has a through opening for the valve, through which the valve protrudes, and fastens the magnetic device radially outwardly on the rim well of the rim body and thus inside of the tire cavity (the component, i.e., magnet 4 and housing 5 thereof, includes an opening or bore 20, which has the diameter of the largest valve stem diameter to be covered, e.g., that of a Schrader valve. For a Presta valve, an adapter sleeve 22, as shown here, may be inserted between stem 2 and bore 20 of component 4, 5. Valve nut 10 is then screwed onto valve 3 until it rests on adapter sleeve 22. Valve nut 10 now presses the component onto rim 8 by way of adapter sleeve 22. Flexible fins 11 are pressed onto the flanges of rim 8 and partially adapt to the shape of rim 8, see Figs. 2B, 4, para [0049, 0060]).
Claim 2. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the housing of the magnetic device is retained on the rim body, secure against loss, by an adhesive layer between the rim well and the housing of the magnetic device (the adhesive tape 15, see Figs. 2B, 4, para [0060]).
Claim 3. The wheel component according to claim 2, wherein the adhesive layer is disposed directly between the housing of the magnetic device and the rim well (see Fig. 4).
Claim 4. The wheel component according to claim 2, wherein between the housing of the magnetic device and the rim well, a circumferential rim tape is disposed, and wherein the adhesive layer is disposed directly between the housing of the magnetic
device and the rim tape (the circumferential rim tap 15, see Fig. 4).
Claim 5. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein a hollow space is configured in the rim body, wherein the hollow space is radially inwardly enclosed by the rim base and radially outwardly, by the rim well (the hollow space inside the rim 8, see Figs. 2B, 12).
Claim 6. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the housing of the magnetic device is configured curved in the peripheral direction of the rim (the bottom curved housing 5 of magnet 4, see Figs. 9, 11, 12).
Claim 7. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the housing of the magnetic device is adapted to the cross sectional profile of the rim well area (the cross-sectional profile, see Figs. 5, 6, para [0020, 0069]).
Claim 8. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein a circumferential rim well trough is configured on the rim well, in which the magnetic device is accommodated (the magnet 4 in a circumferential on the valve stem 2 and rim 8, see Figs. 2B, 12, para [0007, 0050]).
Claim 9. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the lateral distance of the rim flange from the magnetic device is larger than the axial wall thickness of the rim flange (the magnetic 4 and housing 5 is larger than the lateral rim 8, see Figs. 2B, 3, 6, para [0049]).
Claim 10. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein an adhesive tape is attached to the bottom surface of the housing, which connects the magnetic device with the rim body, wherein the adhesive tape is glued onto one of the rim tape and the rim
body (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 2B-4, para [0060]).
Claim 11. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein radially outwardly end regions of the rim flanges form axially inwardly protruding, circumferential beads,
and wherein a tire is accommodated on the rim flanges (the housing 5 includes at least one resilient element, which is configured so as to protrude on the housing 5 in an axial direction of the stem 2, and in particular is configured so as to taper 15 partially inwards towards the middle of the housing 5. In this way, a pre-tension may be created in an axial direction, allowing particularly reliable fixing on the valve 3. If, for example, the tire pressure drops, the valve protrudes further out of the rim 8, see Fig. 2B, 5, 6, para [0016, 0047]), and
wherein tire beads of the tire bear axially inwardly against the axially inwardly protruding, circumferential beads of the rim flanges, and wherein the magnetic device is accommodated axially between the circumferential beads (see Figs. 2B, 12, para [0007, 0016, 0102-0112]).
Claim 12. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic device is accommodated radially between the rim well and the radially outwardly end regions of the rim flanges, and axially between and spaced apart from, the rim flanges (magnet 4 is position between the rim 8 and outside/outward of rim 8 and spaced from the flanges of rim 8, see Figs. 5-7, see para [0049]]).
Claim 15. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the rim body has an axial width that is less than the radial height of the rim body (see Figs. 2B, 12).
Claim 16. The wheel component according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic device comprises a seating for sealing the valve at the mounting hole, and wherein a sealant is accommodated on the seating (read upon the magnet 4, 5 is shown in the form of a mono magnet. Mono magnet 4, 5 includes two components: a monolithic magnet block 4 and plastics overmolding 5 or rubber sleeve 23. For mounting on stem 2 of a valve 3, mono magnet 4, 5 includes a central hole or bore 20 (see Figs. 7B, 7C, 11, para [0076, 0088]), wherein the plastics overmolding or rubber sleeve is used to protect and shield the magnet device.
Claim 17. A bicycle comprising: at least two wheels and an at least partially muscle-powered pedal drive; wherein at least one of the wheels comprises a wheel component according to claim 1; wherein at least one of the wheels is configured as a front wheel and at least one of the wheels, as a rear wheel, each comprising a hub and connected with the hub; a rim with a rim body with lateral rim flanks, which form rim flanges at the
radially outwardly ends; wherein the rim body comprises between the rim flanges, a rim well with a radially outwardly rim well area on which a valve hole is configured; and a tire with a tire tread mounted on the rim body; wherein the tire tread and the rim well define a tire cavity; wherein at least one wheel accommodates a magnetic device on the rim well inside of the tire cavity, for generating pulses on a sensor as the wheel rotates (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 1, 2B, 4-7A-C, 12).
Claim 18. The bicycle according to claim 17, wherein at least one sensor is comprised for obtaining at least one travelling parameter, capturing magnetic pulses from the rotary motion of the wheel (pulse generator in the form of a magnet according to the rotation or speed of the traveling tire rim, see para [0006, 0012]).
Claim 19. The bicycle according to claim 18, wherein at least one sensor is disposed on the frame and in particular in the region of the bottom bracket or on the seat tube (the bicycle 60 is shown in the region of drivetrain 61. In a conventional manner, drivetrain 61 includes a magnetic field sensor 62 integrated therein. Furthermore, a rim arrangement 50 with rim magnet arrangement 1 is shown with a rim 8, which includes a valve 3. Valve 3 includes a valve stem 2, onto which a magnet 4 arranged in a housing 5 is placed. Housing 5 and magnet 4 include a central bore 20 for this purpose. The bottom of housing 5 rests on rim 8 of bicycle 60. Both are then fixed on stem 2 of valve 3 by way of a mounting nut 10. Magnet 4 provides a magnetic field 200, which may be measured by magnetic field sensor 62, see Fig. 1, para [0006, 0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al [US 2023/0056129]
Claim 13. Kunz et al fails to disclose wherein the axial distances of the magnetic device from the two beads are each larger than the thinnest wall thickness of the rim flanges. However,
Kunz et al teaches that the magnet 4 and housing 5 is mounted to the magnet 4 together with housing 5 mounted by way of a fixing device 6 is shown fixed on stem 2 of a valve 3. To this end, magnet 4 is first pushed over valve 3—more precisely stem 2 of valve 3—in axial direction 100 of stem 2 until flexible fins 11 touch rim 8. Flexible fins 11 are pressed onto the flanges of rim 8 and partially adapt to the shape of rim 8. The wider the rim 8 and the more acute the flange angle of rim 8, the more pre-tensioning force is generated since fins 11 are pressed further apart (see Figs. 2A, 2B, para [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the fins are functionally equivalent to the beads for attaching the magnet to the rim depending on the shaped of rim.
Claim 14. Kunz et al fails to disclose wherein the radial distance of the magnetic device from the radially outwardly end regions of the rim flanges is larger than 0.25 mm. However, Kunz et al silence about the thickness of adhesive tape 15 or securing clamp 16 radial distance outwardly between the housing 5 of magnet 4 and flanges rim 8, see Fig. 4-6, para [0060, 0069, 0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the thickness of the tape or securing clamp outwardly from the rim could be less or more than 0.25 mm as a design choice or user choice to select the size and/or thickness of the tape and/or securing clamp for adapting to fix a particular rim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al [US 2023/0056129] in view of Ferguson [US 2017/0334516]
Claim 20. Kunz et al fails to disclose wherein an electric motor for assisting the pedal drive is comprised, wherein the electric motor is configured as a mid-mounted motor and is accommodated in the longitudinal direction between the front wheel and the rear wheel, and wherein a sensor is accommodated in the housing of the electric motor for obtaining at least one travelling parameter. However,
Kunz et al disclose a manual two wheel bicycle (see Fig. 1, abstract).
Ferguson suggests that in bicycles, for example, space limitations between the front or rear forks restricts the available space within which to locate an electric hub motor 31. Standard size bicycle hubs, for example, are often 100 mm wide and folding cycles are often smaller at 74 mm which severely limits the application of hub motors. In many instances, this has meant that hub motors are fitted into non-standard spacing of the forks, requiring modified or converted replacement forks. Replacement or modified forks are expensive to produce and limit the acceptability of converting exiting bicycles to electric drive. (see Figs. 1-3, 5, para [0002, 0008, 0124-0127]).
The rotor may also include an outer peripheral rim 43a that projects away from a region at or close to the outermost edge of the main body so that it overhangs an outer peripheral face of the stator, the outer peripheral rim 43a carrying the plurality of rotor magnets 42 that interact with a magnetic field generated by the stator when the motor 31 is in operation (see para [0032, 0067, 0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or implement the electric motor of the bicycle of Ferguson to the manual bicycle of Kunz et al for providing convenience and powerful bicycle use by a rider, since the exiting manual bicycle could be replaced or modified to an electric drive bicycle and/or hybrid bicycle are available in the bicycle industries or bicycle shops.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Frieden discloses the bicycle dynamo with an external rotor which carries a plurality of permanent magnets on the inside, said permanent magnets generating an electrical voltage in the internal stationary stator winding, wherein the cylindrical outer shell of the external rotor carries an elastic ring for frictional engagement at the rim of the bicycle wheel. [US 2015/0062939]
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
06/10/2026