Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/30/24 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the examiner is considering the information disclosure statement.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the receiving hole extending entirely through the block, as recited in claim 19, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Currently, Figure 6 shows the receiving hole extending through one side of the block, but not the entire block. The receiving hole does not extend through a right side of the block, as shown in Figure 6.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-20 are objected to because each should begin with “The system as claimed in claim” instead of “The claim as claimed in claim”. Appropriate correction is required.
5. Claims 4, 10, and 16, are objected to because the limitation “the top of the block” lacks proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 3 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 7, and 13, the scope of the limitation “imprint area” is unclear. Applicant’s originally filed Specification mentions an “imprint 15 from a set screw, indicating where the fastener 30 applies pressure” and also “as the screw 30 protrudes into the inner side of the block 20, it applies pressure to surface of the adapter stick 10” (see Page7 line 30 - Page 8 line 3). It is not clear if the claimed “imprint area” requires an actual imprint or if the “imprint area” is simply a surface of the adapter stick which is capable of being imprinted by the pressure of the set screw. It seems clear that the block slides along the length of the adapter stick which would seem to suggest there could be more than one physical imprint as a user tightens the set screw at different locations of the block along the adapter stick. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the claimed “imprint area” is nothing more than a surface of the adapter stick capable of being imprinted by the pressure of the set screw.
Regarding claim 19, the scope of “extends entirely through the block” is unclear. At face value, the language seems clear that the receiving hole extends entirely through the block from one side to the other, however, this is not what is shown in Figure 6. It seems clear the receiving hole extends entirely through at least a portion of the block, as shown in Figure 6, but not the entire block, as claimed. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that this limitation is equivalent to “extends entirely through at least one portion of the block” as this seems to be supported by the originally filed disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Long Point Gear (NPL U on the PTO-892 form).
Regarding claim 1, Long Point Gear discloses a system comprising: a block (see B below), an adapter stick (see AS below) detachably connected (as evidence by the use of screw F below) to the block, and a fastener (see F below).
Regarding claim 2, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the adapter stick includes an L-shape member (see wider portion L above).
Regarding claim 3, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the adapter stick includes an elongated member having an imprint area (any area along the surface of AS above), with a first end and a second end, the first end includes an L-shape member (see wider portion L above).
Regarding claim 4, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the block comprises a slot (inherent in order to be slid onto the adapter stick, AS above, and secured in place with the screw, F above) located at the top of the block, designed to receive the body of the adapter stick, thereby allowing for the insertion of the adapter stick through the slot.
Regarding claim 5, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the block comprises a second receiving hole (inherent hole in the block B above for the screw F above).
Regarding claim 7, Long Point Gear discloses a system comprising: a block (B above) having a slot (inherent in order to be slid onto the adapter stick, AS above, and secured in place with the screw, F above), an adapter stick (AS above) having an imprint area (any area along the surface of AS above), detachably connected to the block (as evidence by the use of screw F above), and a fastener (F above).
Regarding claim 8, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 7, wherein the adapter stick includes an L-shape member (see wider portion L above).
Regarding claim 9, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 7, wherein the adapter stick includes a first end and a second end, the first end includes an L-shape member (see wider portion L above).
Regarding claim 10, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the slot is located at the top of the block, designed to receive the body of the adapter stick, thereby allowing for the insertion of the adapter stick through the slot (see above).
Regarding claim 11, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the block comprises a second receiving hole (inherent hole in the block B above for the screw F above).
Regarding claim 13, Long Point Gear discloses a system comprising: a block (see B above) having a receiving hole (inherent hole in the block B above for the screw F above), an adapter stick (see AS above), having an imprint area (any area along the surface of AS above), detachably connected to the block (as evidence by the use of screw F above), and a fastener (see F above).
Regarding claim 14, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the adapter stick includes an L-shape member (see wider portion L above).
Regarding claim 15, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the adapter stick includes an elongated member having an imprint area (any area along the surface of AS above), with a first end and a second end, the first end includes an L-shape member (see wider portion L above).
Regarding claim 16, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 15, wherein the block comprises a slot (inherent in order to be slid onto the adapter stick, AS above, and secured in place with the screw, F above) located at the top of the block, designed to receive the body of the adapter stick.
Regarding claim 18, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the slot extends entirely through the block, thereby forming a hollow structure within the block (inherent in order to slide onto the adapter stick, AS above, and be held in place using the screw, F above).
Regarding claim 19, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the receiving hole extends entirely through the block (inherent in order for the screw to function), thereby forming a hollow structure within the block that facilitates the insertion and securement of the fastener through the receiving hole.
Regarding claim 20, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the slot is disposed perpendicularly to the receiving hole (see above).
10. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ralph (US 9,504,309 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ralph discloses a system comprising: a block (120/130), an adapter stick (110) detachably connected (see Figures) to the block, and a fastener (140/150).
Regarding claim 2, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the adapter stick includes an L-shape member (116/117).
Regarding claim 3, Ralph the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the adapter stick includes an elongated member having an imprint area (119), with a first end and a second end, the first end includes an L-shape member (116/117).
Regarding claim 4, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the block comprises a slot (within 120) located at the top of the block, designed to receive the body of the adapter stick, thereby allowing for the insertion of the adapter stick through the slot (see Figures).
Regarding claim 5, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the block comprises a second receiving hole (124/135).
Regarding claim 6, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the block comprises recessed area (see recessed area around 124 in Figure 1A) surrounding the second receiving hole.
Regarding claim 7, Ralph discloses a system comprising: a block (120/130) having a slot (with 120), an adapter stick (110) having an imprint area (119), detachably connected to the block (see Figures), and a fastener (140/150).
Regarding claim 8, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 7, wherein the adapter stick includes an L-shape member (116/117).
Regarding claim 9, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 7, wherein the adapter stick includes a first end and a second end, the first end includes an L-shape member (116/117).
Regarding claim 10, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the slot is located at the top of the block, designed to receive the body of the adapter stick, thereby allowing for the insertion of the adapter stick through the slot (see Figures).
Regarding claim 11, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the block comprises a second receiving hole (124/135).
Regarding claim 12, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 11, wherein the block comprises recessed area (see recessed area around 124 in Figure 1A) surrounding the second receiving hole.
Regarding claim 13, Ralph discloses a system comprising: a block (120/130) having a receiving hole (124/135), an adapter stick (110), having an imprint area (119), detachably connected to the block (see Figures), and a fastener (140/150).
Regarding claim 14, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the adapter stick includes an L-shape member (116/117).
Regarding claim 15, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the adapter stick includes an elongated member having an imprint area (119), with a first end and a second end, the first end includes an L-shape member (116/117).
Regarding claim 16, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 15, wherein the block comprises a slot (within 120) located at the top of the block, designed to receive the body of the adapter stick (see Figures).
Regarding claim 17, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the block comprises recessed area (see recessed area around 124 in Figure 1A) surrounding the second receiving hole.
Regarding claim 18, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the slot extends entirely through the block, thereby forming a hollow structure within the block (see Figures).
Regarding claim 19, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the receiving hole extends entirely through the block (see Figures), thereby forming a hollow structure within the block that facilitates the insertion and securement of the fastener through the receiving hole (see Figures).
Regarding claim 20, Ralph discloses the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the slot is disposed perpendicularly to the receiving hole (see Figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 6, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long Point Gear (NPL U on the PTO-892 form) in view of Hill (US 7,007,352 B1).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 17, Long Point Gear discloses the system as claimed in claims 5, 11, and 13, but fails to disclose wherein the block comprises recessed area surrounding the second receiving hole. Hill teaches that it was already known in the art for a fastener receiving hole (100) to include a recessed area surround the hole so that the fastener is flush mounted (see Figures and col. 6 lines 45-49). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the screw hole of Long Point Gear with a surround recess, the motivation being to allow the screw to be flush, as taught by Hill, and reduce the overall profile of the system.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
14. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 2/2/26