DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed 08/03/2026.
Claims 1 and 8 have been amended Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument is that the cited reference fails to disclose the limitations of the independent claims. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Namely, what the independent claims necessitate is detection of a first signal and detecting a second signal if the detection of the first signal and configuration information indicate a correspondence between the detection of the first signal and the detection of the second signal. In the cited Siomina reference a user terminal detects a first signal in a system information broadcast (SIB) for example or a higher layer signaling (RRC) that provides DRX configuration, for example (see fig. 1; col. 15, lines 52-65; amongst others). In response to receiving this signal, and the DRX configuration information received by the terminal (col. 16, lines 20-26), the terminal determines to receive a paging signal and/or monitor PDCCH (col. 15, lines 52-65). Thus, the reference meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as they stand.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 17, and 19-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,075,354. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed is directed to the same inventive concept related to discontinuous reception.
Regarding claim 1 12,075,354 discloses a wireless communication method, comprising:
detecting a first signal or channel sent by a network device (claim 1); and
determining whether to detect a second signal or channel according to a detection result of the first signal or channel and configuration information sent by the network device indicating a relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel (claim 1).
Regarding claim 2 12,075,354 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving the configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel, wherein the first signal or channel is a specific signal sequence or a physical channel, and the second signal or channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (claim 1).
Regarding claim 3 12,075,354 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining whether to detect the second signal or channel comprises: determining whether to detect the second signal or channel at a specific detection time period or a specific detection time point according to the detection result of the first signal or channel and the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel configured by the configuration information (claim 2); wherein the specific detection time period or the specific detection time point is at least one detection time period or time point in periodic detection time periods or time points; wherein the specific detection time period or the specific detection time point is an on duration in a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle; or, the specific detection time point is at least one paging occasion in periodic paging occasions (claim 2).
Regarding claim 4 12,075,354 discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein determining whether to detect the second signal or channel comprises: determining whether to detect the second signal or channel in the on duration of a current DRX cycle, according to the detection result of the first signal or channel at a specific time or time period in an opportunity for DRX of a previous DRX cycle of the current DRX cycle, and the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel configured by the configuration information (claim 3); or determining whether to detect the second signal or channel at a current paging occasion, according to the detection result of the first signal or channel at a specific time or time period before the current paging occasion and the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel configured by the configuration information; wherein the configuration information is carried in a system message, Radio Resource Control (RRC) dedicated signaling, PDCCH signaling, or a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (claim 3).
Regarding claim 5 12,075,354 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is not detected; and/or wherein the first configuration is further used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is detected (claim 4).
Regarding claim 6 12,075,354 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is detected and a first field of the first signal or channel carries a first value (claim 5); or wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is detected and the first field of the first signal or channel carries a second value (claim 5).
Regarding claim 7 12,075,354 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises a second configuration; wherein the second configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is not detected; and/or wherein the second configuration is further used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is detected (claim 6).
Regarding claim 8 12,075,354 discloses a terminal device (claim 17), comprising:
a processor (claim 17);
a memory for storing programs executable by the processor (claim 17); and
a transceiver (claim 17);
wherein: the transceiver is configured to detect a first signal or channel sent by a network device (claim 17); the processor is configured to determine whether to detect a second signal or channel according to a detection result of the first signal or channel and configuration information sent by the network device indicating a relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel (claim 17).
Regarding claim 9 12,075,354 discloses the terminal device according to claim 8, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive the configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel, wherein the first signal or channel is a specific signal sequence or a physical channel, and the second signal or channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (claim 17).
Regarding claim 10 12,075,354 discloses the terminal device according to claim 9, wherein the configuration information comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is not detected; and/or wherein the first configuration is further used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is detected (claim 19).
Regarding claim 12 12,075,354 discloses the terminal device according to claim 8, wherein the configuration information comprises a second configuration; wherein the second configuration is used to indicate detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is not detected; and/or wherein the second configuration is further used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is detected (claim 20).
Regarding claim 14 12,075,354 discloses a network device, comprising:
a processor (claim 21);
a memory for storing programs executable by the processor (claim 21); and
a transceiver (claim 21);
wherein: the transceiver is configured to send configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure a relationship between a detection result of a first signal or channel performed by a terminal device and whether to detect a second signal or channel, wherein the first signal or channel is a specific signal sequence or a physical channel, and the second signal or channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (claim 21).
Regarding claim 15 12,075,354 discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the transceiver is further configured to send the first signal or channel to the terminal device (claim 21).
Regarding claim 16 12,075,354 discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the configuration information according to a service condition of the terminal device and/or a network condition (claim 22).
Regarding claim 18 12,075,354 discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the configuration information is carried in a system message, Radio Resource Control (RRC) dedicated signaling, PDCCH signaling, or a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (claim 23).
Regarding claim 19 12,075,354 discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the configuration information comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration is configured to indicate that the terminal device performs detection of the second signal or channel when the first signal or channel is not detected (claim 24); and/or wherein the first configuration is further used to indicate that the terminal device does not perform detection of the second signal or channel when the first signal or channel is detected (claim 24).
Regarding claim 20 12,075,354 discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the configuration information comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that the terminal device performs detection of the second signal or channel when the first signal or channel is detected and a first field of the first signal or channel carries a first value (claim 25); or wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that the terminal device does not perform the detection of the second signal or channel when the first signal or channel is detected and the first field of the first signal or channel carries a second value (claim 25).
Claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 9-13, and 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,812,380. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed is directed to the same inventive concept related to discontinuous reception.
Regarding claim 1 11,812,380 discloses a wireless communication method, comprising:
detecting a first signal or channel sent by a network device (claim 1); and
determining whether to detect a second signal or channel according to a detection result of the first signal or channel and configuration information sent by the network device indicating a relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel (claim 1).
Regarding claim 2 11,812,380 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving the configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel, wherein the first signal or channel is a specific signal sequence or a physical channel, and the second signal or channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (claim 1).
Regarding claim 4 11,812,380 discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein determining whether to detect the second signal or channel comprises: determining whether to detect the second signal or channel in the on duration of a current DRX cycle, according to the detection result of the first signal or channel at a specific time or time period in an opportunity for DRX of a previous DRX cycle of the current DRX cycle, and the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel configured by the configuration information (claim 1); or determining whether to detect the second signal or channel at a current paging occasion, according to the detection result of the first signal or channel at a specific time or time period before the current paging occasion and the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel configured by the configuration information; wherein the configuration information is carried in a system message, Radio Resource Control (RRC) dedicated signaling, PDCCH signaling, or a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (claim 1).
Regarding claim 5 11,812,380 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is not detected; and/or wherein the first configuration is further used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is detected (claim 2).
Regarding claim 6 11,812,380 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is detected and a first field of the first signal or channel carries a first value (claim 3); or wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is detected and the first field of the first signal or channel carries a second value (claim 3).
Regarding claim 7 11,812,380 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises a second configuration; wherein the second configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is not detected; and/or wherein the second configuration is further used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is detected (claim 4).
Regarding claim 8 11,812,380 discloses a terminal device, comprising:
a processor (claim 9);
a memory for storing programs executable by the processor (claim 9); and
a transceiver (claim 9);
wherein: the transceiver is configured to detect a first signal or channel sent by a network device (claim 9); the processor is configured to determine whether to detect a second signal or channel according to a detection result of the first signal or channel and configuration information sent by the network device indicating a relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel (claim 9).
Regarding claim 9 11,812,380 discloses the terminal device according to claim 8, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive the configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel, wherein the first signal or channel is a specific signal sequence or a physical channel, and the second signal or channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (claim 9).
Regarding claim 10 11,812,380 discloses the terminal device according to claim 9, wherein the configuration information comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is not detected; and/or wherein the first configuration is further used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is detected (claim 10).
Regarding claim 11 11,812,380 discloses the terminal device according to claim 8, wherein the configuration information comprises a first configuration; wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is detected and a first field of the first signal or channel carries a first value (claim 11); or wherein the first configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is detected and the first field of the first signal or channel carries a second value (claim 11).
Regarding claim 12 11,812,380 discloses the terminal device according to claim 8, wherein the configuration information comprises a second configuration; wherein the second configuration is used to indicate detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is not detected (claim 12); and/or wherein the second configuration is further used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is detected (claim 12).
Regarding claim 13 11,812,380 discloses the terminal device according to claim 8, wherein the configuration information comprises a second configuration; wherein the second configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is performed when the first signal or channel is detected and a second field of the first signal or channel carries a third value (claim 13); or wherein the second configuration is used to indicate that detection of the second signal or channel is not performed when the first signal or channel is detected and the second field of the first signal or channel carries a fourth value (claim 13).
Regarding claim 14 11,812,380 discloses a network device, comprising:
a processor (claim 16);
a memory for storing programs executable by the processor (claim 16); and
a transceiver (claim 16);
wherein: the transceiver is configured to send configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure a relationship between a detection result of a first signal or channel performed by a terminal device and whether to detect a second signal or channel, wherein the first signal or channel is a specific signal sequence or a physical channel, and the second signal or channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (claim 16).
Regarding claim 15 11,812,380 discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the transceiver is further configured to send the first signal or channel to the terminal device (claim 17).
Regarding claim 16 11,812,380 discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the configuration information according to a service condition of the terminal device and/or a network condition (claim 18).
Regarding claim 18 11,812,380 discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the configuration information is carried in a system message, Radio Resource Control (RRC) dedicated signaling, PDCCH signaling, or a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (claim 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Siomina et al. (USPN 11,265,960; hereinafter Siomina).
Regarding claim 1 Siomina discloses a wireless communication method, comprising: detecting a first signal or channel sent by a network device (col. 12, lines 8-38; wherein the UE detects or monitors a paging message (herein interpreted as the first signal/channel sent by a network device) during a window); and determining whether to detect a second signal or channel according to a detection result of the first signal or channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; wherein indication information included in paging message (or first signal/channel) is used for the UE to determine detection or monitoring of a PDCCH channel (herein the second signal/channel)) and configuration information sent by the network device indicating a relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; wherein the paging message comprises DRX configuration information which determines when the UE will detect or monitor the PDCCH according to a DRX schedule).
Regarding claim 2 Siomina discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving the configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; wherein the paging message comprises DRX configuration information which determines when the UE will detect or monitor the PDCCH according to a DRX schedule), wherein the first signal or channel is a specific signal sequence or a physical channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; a paging message), and the second signal or channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; a PDCCH).
Regarding claim 8 Siomina discloses a terminal device (fig. 9), comprising:
a processor (processor 920);
a memory for storing programs executable by the processor (memory 930); and
a transceiver (transceiver 910); wherein:
the transceiver is configured to detect a first signal or channel sent by a network device (col. 12, lines 8-38; wherein the UE detects or monitors a paging message (herein interpreted as the first signal/channel sent by a network device) during a window); the processor is configured to determine whether to detect a second signal or channel according to a detection result of the first signal or channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; wherein indication information included in paging message (or first signal/channel) is used for the UE to determine detection or monitoring of a PDCCH channel (herein the second signal/channel)) and configuration information sent by the network device indicating a relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; wherein the paging message comprises DRX configuration information which determines when the UE will detect or monitor the PDCCH according to a DRX schedule).
Regarding claim 9 Siomina discloses the terminal device according to claim 8, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive the configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure the relationship between the detection result of the first signal or channel and whether to detect the second signal or channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; wherein the paging message comprises DRX configuration information which determines when the UE will detect or monitor the PDCCH according to a DRX schedule), wherein the first signal or channel is a specific signal sequence or a physical channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; a paging message), and the second signal or channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; a PDCCH).
Regarding claim 14 Siomina discloses a network device (fig. 11), comprising:
a processor (processor 1120);
a memory for storing programs executable by the processor (memory 1130); and
a transceiver (transceiver 1140); wherein:
the transceiver is configured to send configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure a relationship between a detection result of a first signal or channel performed by a terminal device and whether to detect a second signal or channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; wherein the paging message comprises DRX configuration information which determines when the UE will detect or monitor the PDCCH according to a DRX schedule), wherein the first signal or channel is a specific signal sequence or a physical channel (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; paging message), and the second signal or channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (col. 9, lines 33-52, col. 12, lines 15-24, col. 14, lines 2-15, col. 15, lines 52-65; a PDCCH).
Regarding claim 15 Siomina discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the transceiver is further configured to send the first signal or channel to the terminal device (col. 12, lines 8-38; wherein the UE detects or monitors a paging message (herein interpreted as the first signal/channel sent by a network device) during a window).
Regarding claim 16 Siomina discloses the network device according to claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the configuration information according to a service condition of the terminal device and/or a network condition (col. 14, lines 15-30; values for configuration determined according to radio conditions).
Allowable Subject Matter
The present application is a continuation of 18/316,367 now USPN 12,075,354, which is a continuation of 16/610,510 now USPN 11,812,380.
Claims 3-7, 10-13, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The subject matter recited in these dependent (and intervening) claims is similar to the language indicated as allowable in the parent cases, when in combination with the parent claims.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 2021/0112495 to Liang et al. - that discloses when a terminal receives a wake-up signal and is woken up, monitoring, within a time window, a paging channel and/or a control channel in a discontinuous reception or an extended discontinuous reception manner; if the terminal receives a paging message and/or control channel scheduling information within the time window, then processing the paging message and/or processing the control channel scheduling information; and if the terminal does not receive a paging message and/or control channel scheduling information within the time window, then not monitoring the paging channel and/or control channel any more, and continuing to receive a wake-up signal.
US Patent Application Publication 2020/0145921 to Zhang et al. - that discloses a wireless communications device may receive, from a gNB, information indicating parameters associated with a wake-up signal time window and may power down its first receiver and second receiver based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. The wireless communications device may wake up the second receiver to receive, from the gNB, a wake-up signal during a configured WUS time window and determine whether a wake-up or a non-wake-up condition is indicated.
US Patent Application Publication 2019/0239189 to Hwang et al. - that teaches a step of deciding a wake-up signal occasion (WUSO) window for attempting to receive a wake-up signal (WUS); and a step of monitoring a downlink control channel during a paging window so as to attempt to receive a paging message, if the WUS is received within the decided WUSO window.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466