DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 18, “the PLL clock and configuration parameters.” in line 9 should be corrected to “the PLL clock and the configuration parameters.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DP83TG721x-Q1 (“1000BASE-T1 Automotive Ethernet PHY with Advanced TSN and AVB”, Texas Instruments, June 2024).
Re claim 16, DP83TG721x-Q1 discloses of a method comprising: receiving, by Ethernet physical (PHY) including packet decoder circuitry (1722 CRF Packet Decode, Figures 5-2 and 5-3), a reference clock generator (wall clock generator as shown in Figures 5-2 and 5-3) coupled to the packet decoder circuitry (the coupling as shown in Figures 5-2 and 5-3), a media clock generator (PLL, Fig.5-2 and clock generator, Fig.5-3) coupled to the reference clock generator (the coupling as shown in Figures 5-2 and 5-3), and control circuitry (comparator, Fig.5-2) coupled to the reference clock generator and the media clock generator (the coupling as shown in Figures 5-2 and 5-3), a clock reference packet (The “1722 CRF Packet Decode” receives as input a clock reference format (CRF) packet, Page 5 and Figure 5-2); decoding, by the packet decoder circuitry of the Ethernet PHY (1722 CRF Packet Decode, Figures 5-2 and 5-3), a time stamp from the clock reference packet (the “1722 CRF Packet Decode” decodes the received CRF packets to generate CRF time stamps, Figure 5-2); adjusting (comparator, Fig.5-2), by the reference clock generator of the Ethernet PHY, a reference clock signal (wall clock, Figures 5-2 and 5-3) based on the time stamp (based on the CRF time stamps, Figure 5-2); and generating, by the media clock generator of the Ethernet PHY, a media clock based on the adjusted reference clock (output of FRAC-PLL/VCXO, Figure 5-2).
Re claim 19, DP83TG721x-Q1 discloses of further comprising: receiving, by a coder/decoder (CODEC) (Audio Codec, Figure 5-2), media data (Audio data, Figure 5-2); receiving, by the CODEC, a media clock signal (clock signal from Frac-PLL/VCXO, Figure 5-2); and provide a media stream responsive to the media data and the media clock (data output from CODEC, Figure 5-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DP83TG721x-Q1 in view of Sarda (US 2021/0367748).
Re claim 17, DP83TG721x-Q1 discloses of further comprising receiving, by the Ethernet PHY, a subsequent clock reference packet; decoding, by the Ethernet PHY, a subsequent time stamp from the subsequent clock reference packet; adjusting, by the Ethernet PHY, the reference clock signal based on the subsequent time stamp; and generating, by the Ethernet PHY, a media clock based on the adjusted reference clock signal (see claim 1 for the current synchronization) ( The DP83TG721-Q1 provides all physical layer functions needed to transmit and receive data over unshielded/shielded single twisted-pair cables, Col 2, Page 1) (The DP83TG721-Q1 performs subsequent synchronizations for subsequent or different data transmissions/receptions). However, DP83TG721x-Q1 does not specifically disclose of wherein the media clock is adjusted over several cycles using a coarse adjustment and at least one fine adjustment.
Sarda teaches of a clock being adjusted over several cycles using a coarse adjustment and at least one fine adjustment (Figures 7 – 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the media clock adjusted over several cycles using a coarse adjustment and at least one fine adjustment for wide range and high precision.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 15 are allowed.
Claims 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633