DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment/Request for Reconsideration-After Non-Final Rejection filed 06/17/2026.
Status of the Claims:
Claims 1-20 were pending prior to the Action.
Claims 1-20 remain pending. The detail office action to the pending claims is as shown below.
Response to the Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s request for entry of the Amendment filed 06/17/2026. By this amendment, claims 1, 8,9, and 18 are amended. Upon entry of the amendment all the pending claims will be fully examined for patentability.
Response to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks Made in Amendment filed 06/17/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-8, 10-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wajcer in view of Steigerwald have been fully considered. The Applicant submits (see REMARKS, page 9) claims 1 ,8, and 18 has been amended to recite, controller/deserializer circuitry configured to transmit a stop message. This limitation is similar to a limitation previously recited by claim 9, which was objected to for depending upon a rejected base claim. In view of the amendment, the applicant requests allowance of claims 1, 8, 18 and their dependent claims. These Applicant Remarks/Arguments have been thoroughly and carefully reconsidered; however the Examiner respectfully traverses the assertion because: firstly, this limitation (i.e. the limitation recited in currently amended claims 1, 8, 18) similar to previously recited limitation of claim 9. Secondly, the office Action clearly describes ( see for example, pages 12 of the Non-Final Rejection dated 03/04/2026, claim 9 was objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of its base claim and any intervening claim (emphases added) and not just a sentence of previously presented claim 9. As such, the applicant’s arguments/remarks have been thoroughly reviewed but are NOT found persuasive. With respect to the rejection of currently amended independent claims 1, 8 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wajcer in view of Steigerwald, the arguments/remarks have been reviewed but considered moot in light of the claims amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US7245129 to Wajcer et al. (“Wajcer”) in view of US20250310663 to Steigerwald et al. (“Steigerwald”) (The remarks and/or references placed in the parentheses apply to the prior art)
RE claims 1, 8, Wajcer discloses an apparatus (e.g. Fig. 1) comprising: transmitter circuitry (18) having an input and an output (as shown in Fig. 1) ; receiver circuitry (26) having an input coupled to the output of the transmitter circuitry and an output (as shown in Fig. 1); and controller circuitry (16, 50) having an input coupled to the output of the receiver circuitry (see reflection feed line in Fig. 1) and an output coupled to the input of the transmitter circuitry (output of the 16 is towards 18 as shown in Fig. 1); the controller circuitry configured to: instruct the transmitter circuitry to transmit a stop message via the cable interface terminal (e.g. Wajcer, col. 6, line 50-65: uses a TDR (controller) to identify or detect faults such as open cable, shorted cable, unmatched loads along the cable and generates and transmits a pulse out message onto the cable or end of the cable interface); instruct the transmitter circuitry to transmit a signal (e.g. Wajcer col. 2, lines 25-35: uses the TDR (controller) mechanism to transmit pulses); and determine, responsive to a voltage received at the output of the receiver circuitry after the transmission of the signal, when a fault exists in a cable coupled to the output of the transmitter circuitry (e.g. Wajcer, col. 2, lines 25-35, transmits pulses, to the receiver, and any resulting signal reflections to be detected are analyzed to generate diagnostic information about the channel; and col. 8, lines 25, the detected reflection signals are direct current (DC) signals having positive and negative portions OR col. 6, line 15-20, the receives signal comprise a signal representing energy from the original transmitted signal that has been reflected back towards the transmitter; and col. 2, lines 25-30, the cable diagnostic mechanism, presented in the invention, enables detection and identification of cables faults).
While Wajcer discloses transmitting, pulses to the receiver, and any resulting signal reflections to be detected are analyzed to generate diagnostic information about the channel and wherein the detected reflection signals are direct current (DC) signals having positive and negative portions, as discussed above, and while it is well within the level of a person of ordinary skill in the art to comprehend that DC signals are voltage signals that are constant electrical potentials which cause electric signals to flow in certain directions, the subject matter of claims 1, 8 differs from Wajcer in that Wajcer does not expressly recite the term “voltage” as recited. However, Steigerwald teaches or fairly suggests, in the same technical field, said term (see for example, Figs 4-7 and Para [0032] of Steigerwald, which describe, for example, the ECU may include line fault monitoring (LFM) via a voltage divider. The voltage divider can be used to monitor the voltage level on the coaxial cable, and a deviation from the expected voltage range can indicate a fault, such as a short circuit or open circuit. A comparator circuit, then, can be used to compare the divided voltage with a predetermined threshold to trigger a fault signal.) Hence, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the feature/element disclosed by Wajcer with the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specification or with Steigerwald’s teachings or suggestions in order to monitor the voltage level on the coaxial cable, and determined a deviation from the expected voltage range that can indicate a fault (see for example, Figs 4-7 and Para [0032] of Steigerwald). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art, such as an individual working in a field related to wireless communications and techniques for hybrid beamforming configuration could have combined the features/elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each feature/method merely performs the same function as it does separately, with each feature/method retaining its advantageous function, yielding predictable result/s. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the Examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to claims 1 and 8.
RE claim2, Wajcer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to detect whether the fault is an open circuit or a short circuit (e.g. Wajcer, col. 2, lines 40-45, … capable of detecting and identifying cable faults, such as open cables, shorted cables; and col. 6, lines 20-25, the transmitted signal may be reflected back due to a channel fault such as an open cable, shorted cable.)
RE claim 3, Wajcer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller circuitry is configured to detect a location of the fault on the cable (e.g. Wajcer, col. 6, lines 60-65, the TDR (controller) generates and transmits a pulse out onto the cable. When the pulse reaches a fault along the cable (i.e. open cable, shorted cable), a portion of the transmitted pulse energy is reflected back. Using knowledge of the propagation speed along the cable the invention estimates the location of the fault.)
RE claim 4, Wajcer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cable is a coaxial cable (e.g. Wajcer, col. 2, line 25-30:… is a coaxial cable) used to: support bi-directional communications between the apparatus and an external device coupled to the cable (Fig. 1 shows bi-directional communications is supported); and [……].
Wajcer does not expressly disclose the limitation [power the external device], as recited. However, Steigerwald teaches or fairly suggests, in the same technical field, said limitation (see for example, Para [0037] of Steigerwald, which describe, the ECU may provide the enable signal to the camera by applying a static DC voltage (i.e., a DC bias) to the coaxial cable). Hence, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the feature/element disclosed by Wajcer with the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specification or with Steigerwald’s teachings or suggestions in order to provide the enable signal by applying a static DC voltage to the coaxial cable (see for example, Para [0037] of Steigerwald). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art, such as an individual working in a field related to wireless communications and techniques for hybrid beamforming configuration could have combined the features/elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each feature/method merely performs the same function as it does separately, with each feature/method retaining its advantageous function, yielding predictable result/s. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the Examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to claim 4.
RE claim 5, Wajcer discloses the apparatus of claim 4, as set forth above with the claim’s rejection.
Wajcer does not expressly disclose wherein, the transmitter circuitry implements back-channel communications with the external device by performing serializer operations; and the receiver circuitry supports forward-channel communications with the external device by performing deserializer operations., as recited. However, Steigerwald teaches or fairly suggests, in the same technical field, wherein the transmitter circuitry implements back-channel communications with the external device by performing serializer operations (e.g. Steigerwald, Figs. 4-7 and Para [0022]: implements back channel communications by performing serializer/deserializer (serdes) operations); and the receiver circuitry supports forward-channel communications with the external device by performing deserializer operations (e.g. Steigerwald, Figs. 4-7 and Para [0022]: and reverse channel communication for bi-directional communication via the serdes operations). Hence, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the feature/element disclosed by Wajcer with the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specification or with Steigerwald’s teachings or suggestions in order to provide back channel and reverse channel communications via a serdes operations (see for example, Para [0022] of Steigerwald). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art, such as an individual working in a field related to wireless communications and techniques for hybrid beamforming configuration could have combined the features/elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each feature/method merely performs the same function as it does separately, with each feature/method retaining its advantageous function, yielding predictable result/s. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the Examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to claim 5.
RE claim 6, Wajcer discloses the apparatus of claim 4, as set forth above with the claim’s rejection.
Wajcer does not expressly disclose wherein: the transmitter circuitry implements forward-channel communications with the external device by performing serializer operations; and the receiver circuitry supports back-channel communications with the external device by performing deserializer operations, as recited. However, Steigerwald teaches or fairly suggests, in the same technical field, wherein the transmitter circuitry implements forward-channel communications with the external device by performing serializer operations (e.g. Steigerwald, Figs. 4-7 and Para [0022]: implements forward channel communications by performing serializer/deserializer (serdes) operations); and the receiver circuitry supports forward-channel communications with the external device by performing deserializer operations (e.g. Steigerwald, Figs. 4-7 and Para [0022]: and reverse channel communication for bi-directional communication via the serdes operations). Hence, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the feature/element disclosed by Wajcer with the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specification or with Steigerwald’s teachings or suggestions in order to provide for channel and reverse channel communications via a serdes operations (see for example, Para [0022] of Steigerwald). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art, such as an individual working in a field related to wireless communications and techniques for hybrid beamforming configuration could have combined the features/elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each feature/method merely performs the same function as it does separately, with each feature/method retaining its advantageous function, yielding predictable result/s. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the Examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to claim 6.
RE claim 7, Wajcer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the receiver circuitry further includes: echo cancellation circuitry (48) having a first input coupled to the transmitter circuitry, second input coupled to the output of the transmitter circuitry, and an output (e.g. Wajcer, Fig. 2); equalization circuitry (70) having an input coupled to the output of the echo cancellation circuitry and an output (e.g. Wajcer, Fig. 2); variable gain adapter (VGA) circuitry (64) having an input coupled to the output of the echo cancellation circuitry and an output (e.g. Wajcer, Fig. 2); and slicer circuitry (78) having a first input coupled to the output of the VGA circuitry, a second input, and an output (e.g. Wajcer, Fig. 2).
RE claim 10, Wajcer discloses the controller circuitry of claim 8, further configured to determine: a type of the fault (e.g. Wajcer, col. 2, lines 40-45, detects and identifys cable faults, such as open cables, shorted cables, unmatched loads or any irregularities in the impedance along the cable); and a location of the fault (e.g. Wajcer, col. 6, lines 60-65, using knowledge of the propagation speed along the cable, estimates the location of the fault.)
RE claim 11, Wajcer discloses the controller circuitry of claim 10, wherein to determine the type of fault, the controller circuitry is configured to: instruct the transmitter circuitry to transmit a voltage step signal on the cable interface terminal (e.g. Wajcer, col. 6, lines 15-20 and lines 55-65, generates and transmits a pulse out signal, representing energy, onto the cable), the voltage step signal to reflect at the fault and travel back towards the device (e.g. Wajcer, col. 6, lines 15-20, the transmitted signal may be reflected back due to a channel fault such as an open cable, shorted cable); and measure, using the receiver circuitry, a polarity of the reflected voltage step signal (e.g. Wajcer, col. 6, lines 60-67, examining the amplitude and polarity of the reflected signal, it is also able to estimate the impedance of the fault)
RE claim 12, Wajcer discloses the controller circuitry of claim 11, further configured to identify the type of fault as an open circuit responsive to the reflected voltage step signal having a positive polarity (e.g. Wajcer, Fig. 5, col. 6, lines 60-67, by examining the amplitude and the polarity of the reflected signal, the invention is able to estimate the impedance of the fault; and col. 9, lines 55-60, if the identified peak is greater than the high threshold (i.e. positive), then an open cable is declared.)
RE claim 13, Wajcer discloses the controller circuitry of claim 11, further configured to identify the type of fault as a short circuit responsive to the reflected voltage step signal having a negative polarity (e.g. Wajcer, col. 6, lines 60-67, by examining the amplitude and the polarity of the reflected signal, the invention is able to estimate the impedance of the fault; and Fig. 5, col. 9, lines 55-60, if the identified peak is less than the high threshold (i.e. negative), then a shorted cable is declared.)
RE claim 14, Wajcer discloses the controller circuitry of claim 11, wherein to measure the polarity of the reflected voltage step signal, the controller circuitry is configured to compare a magnitude of the reflected voltage step signal to a threshold voltage (e.g. Wajcer, Figs. 3-5B, col. 6, lines 60-67, and col. 9, lines 55-60, compare magnitude of the reflected energy signal to a threshold level).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steigerwald in view of Wajcer (The remarks and/or references placed in the parentheses apply to the prior art)
RE claim 18, Steigerwald discloses a system (Fig. 4) comprising: serializer circuitry having an interface terminal (e.g. SER of Figs. 4-7); a cable (e.g. Coax of Figs. 4-7) having: a fault (e.g. Para [0032] includes fault); a first terminal coupled to the interface terminal of the serializer circuitry (e.g. terminal coupled to the interface of the serializer of Figs. 4-7); and a second terminal (e.g. terminal coupled to the interface of the serializer of Fig. 10); and deserializer circuitry having an interface terminal coupled to the second terminal of the cable (e.g. DES of Figs. 4-7, having an interface terminal coupled to the second terminal of the cable), the deserializer circuitry configured to: transmit a stop message (e.g. Wajcer, col. 6, line 50-65: transmits a pulse out message onto the cable or end of the cable interface); the deserializer circuitry further configured to determine: the fault exists within the cable (e.g. Para [0032], monitors the voltage level on the coaxial cable, and determines a deviation from the expected voltage range that can indicate a fault); a type of the fault (e.g. Para [0032], faults such as a short circuit or open circuit); and [….].
Steigerwald does not expressly disclose the limitation [a location of the fault], as recited. However, Wajcer teaches or fairly suggests, in the same technical field, said limitation (see for example, Wajcer, col. 6, lines 60-65, the controller generates and transmits a pulse out onto the cable. When the pulse reaches a fault along the cable, a portion of the transmitted pulse energy is reflected back. Using knowledge of the propagation speed along the cable the invention estimates the location of the fault). Hence, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the feature/element disclosed by Steigerwald with the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specification or with Wajcer’s teachings or suggestions in order to estimates the location of the fault (see for example, col. 6, lines 60-65 of Wajcer’). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art, such as an individual working in a field related to wireless communications and techniques for hybrid beamforming configuration could have combined the features/elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each feature/method merely performs the same function as it does separately, with each feature/method retaining its advantageous function, yielding predictable result/s. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the Examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to claim 18.
RE claim 19, Steigerwald discloses the system of claim 18, wherein: the cable is a Shielded Twisted Pair (e.g. Figs. 4-7 show the cable is a coax (shielded pair)); the system further includes: camera circuitry coupled to an input terminal of the serializer circuitry (e.g. Steigerwald Figs. 4-7 illustrate camera circuitry coupled to an input terminal of the serializer circuitry); and image signal processor (ISP) circuitry coupled to an input terminal of the deserializer circuitry (e.g. Steigerwald Figs. 4-7 illustrate processor (ECU) coupled to an input terminal of the deserializer circuitry); wherein the cable is configured to support bi-directional communication (e.g. Para [0022], supports bidirectional communication) including: forward-channel communications from the ISP circuitry to the camera circuitry (e.g. Figs. 4-7, forward channel to the camera); and back-channel communications from the camera circuitry to the ISP circuitry (e.g. Figs. 4-7, backward channel to the processor).
RE claim 20, Steigerwald discloses the system of claim 19, wherein to detect the existence, type, and location of the fault, the deserializer circuitry is configured to: transmit a signal across the cable using the interface terminal (e.g. Steigerwald, Fig. 3B, para [0039], deserializer (ECU) provides the enable signal to the camera over the coaxial cable); and [….].
Steigerwald does not expressly disclose the limitation [measure a reflected version of the signal at the interface terminal, wherein one or more of an amplitude, polarity, or timing of the measurement is responsive to a characteristic of the fault], as recited. However, Wajcer teaches or fairly suggests, in the same technical field, said limitation. See for example, Wajcer, col. 2, lines 25-35, which describe transmitting pulse signals, to the receiver, and any resulting signal reflections to be detected are analyzed to generate diagnostic information about the channel; and col. 6, lines 60-67 of Wajcer discusses, by examining the amplitude and polarity of the reflected signal, the system is able to estimate the impedance of the fault. Further, col. 2, lines 25-30 of Wajcer, describes the cable diagnostic mechanism, that is configured to enable detection and identification of the cable faults). Hence, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the feature/element disclosed by Steigerwald with the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specification or with Wajcer’s teachings or suggestions in order to estimates the location of the fault (see for example, col. 6, lines 60-65 of Wajcer’). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art, such as an individual working in a field related to wireless communications and techniques for hybrid beamforming configuration could have combined the features/elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each feature/method merely performs the same function as it does separately, with each feature/method retaining its advantageous function, yielding predictable result/s. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the Examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to claim 20.
Objected but Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of their respective base claims and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are (See the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)). These prior arts are considered pertinent because they relate generally to the field of data communications and more particularly relates to methods of performing high accuracy cable diagnostics including detection of cable faults, locations and cable length.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERHANU TADESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632