DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 10,271,351).
Referring to Claim 1, Wang teaches a mobile base station configured to provide a wireless communication service using a citizen’s broadband radio service (CBRS) frequency (see col. 8, lines 40-61 which shows a UE operating under CBRS noting that a mobile UE is known in the art to act as a base station), comprising:
a core (enhanced packet core of 5g core) (see col. 8, lines 40-61 which shows LTE core which is enhanced packet core) and a base station being provided in one box (see col. 8, lines 40-61 which shows a UE operating under CBRS in an LTE network noting that a mobile UE is known in the art to act as a base station),
wherein the base station is configured to be operated as a citizen’s broadband radio service device (CBSD) (see col. 8, lines 40-61 which shows a UE operating under CBRS),
wherein the core has CBSD information of the base station (see col. 8, lines 40-61 which shows a UE operating under CBRS and where the core and UE are the same device implying that the core has CBSD information),
wherein the base station is configured to obtain position information and transmit the position information to the core (see col. 13, lines 37-60 which shows obtaining GPS data),
wherein the core is configured to:
register the base station in a spectrum access system (SAS) server based on the CBSD information of the base station (see col. 9, lines 43-54 which shows the UE registering with the SAS);
request information on an available CBRS channel based on the position information of the base station to the SAS server (see col. 12, line 57 to col. 13, line 16 which shows information regarding permissible interference on a channel requested by the UE);
receive the information on an available CBRS channel based on the position information from the SAS server (see col. 12, line 57 to col. 13, line 16 which shows the denial by the SAS impling information regarding too much impermissible interference from the particular location);
determine a CBRS channel to be used and a maximum transmission power based on the information on an available CBRS channel, request an approval on the CBRS channel to be used and the maximum transmission power to the SAS server (see col. 13, lines 17-36 which shows the UE requesting a different channel to operate on at the max transmission power);
receive an approval message from the SAS server; transmit the determined CBRS channel to be used and the maximum transmission power to the base station (see col. 15, lines 3-11 which shows the SAS granting permission to the UE to operate on the uplink channel at max transmission power); and
provide a wireless communication service based on the determined CBRS channel to be used and the maximum transmission power (see col. 17, lines 34-60 which shows the process of the UE providing wireless service to a specific area).
Claim 11 has similar limitations as claim 1.
Referring to Claims 2 and 12, Wang also teaches wherein the approval message comprises use approved time of the CBRS channel to be used, and wherein the base station ends providing a wireless communication service when the use approved time is exceeded, or interwork with the SAS server is not performed (see col. 9, lines 2-43 which shows the license for the channel to be used granted for a three year period where it is inherent that the service ends when the three year period has passed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6-8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Ahmet et al. (US 2020/0351989).
Referring to Claim 6, Wang teaches a mobile base station configured to provide a wireless communication service using a citizen’s broadband radio service (CBRS) frequency (see col. 8, lines 40-61 which shows a UE operating under CBRS noting that a mobile UE is known in the art to act as a base station), comprising:
a core (enhanced packet core of 5g core) (see col. 8, lines 40-61 which shows LTE core which is enhanced packet core); and a base station, each of which being provided in one box (see col. 8, lines 40-61 which shows a UE operating under CBRS in an LTE network noting that a mobile UE is known in the art to act as a base station and where the core and UE are the same device),
wherein the base station is configured to be operated as a citizen’s broadband radio service device (CBSD) (see col. 8, lines 40-61 which shows a UE operating under CBRS),
wherein the base station is configured to:
register in a spectrum access system (SAS) server based on the CBSD information (see col. 9, lines 43-54 which shows the UE registering with the SAS);
obtain position information (see col. 13, lines 37-60 which shows obtaining GPS data),
request information on an available CBRS channel based on the position information to the SAS server (see col. 12, line 57 to col. 13, line 16 which shows information regarding permissible interference on a channel requested by the UE);
receive the information on an available CBRS channel based on the position information from the SAS server (see col. 12, line 57 to col. 13, line 16 which shows the denial by the SAS impling information regarding too much impermissible interference from the particular location);
determine a CBRS channel to be used and a maximum transmission power based on the information on an available CBRS channel, request an approval on the CBRS channel to be used and the maximum transmission power to the SAS server (see col. 13, lines 17-36 which shows the UE requesting a different channel to operate on at the max transmission power);
receive an approval message from the SAS server (see col. 15, lines 3-11 which shows the SAS granting permission to the UE to operate on the uplink channel at max transmission power); and
provide a wireless communication service based on the determined CBRS channel to be used and the maximum transmission power (see col. 17, lines 34-60 which shows the process of the UE providing wireless service to a specific area).
Wang does not teach wherein the core has a network address translation device configured to convert a private IP address of the base station into a public IP address. Ahmet teaches wherein the core has a network address translation device configured to convert a private IP address of the base station into a public IP address (see paragraph 84 which shows the process of converting a private IP address into a public IP address). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Ahmet to the device of Wang in order to better handle high amounts of wireless traffic.
Referring to Claim 7, Wang also teaches wherein the approval message comprises use approved time of the CBRS channel to be used, and wherein the base station ends providing a wireless communication service when the use approved time is exceeded, or interwork with the SAS server is not performed (see col. 9, lines 2-43 which shows the license for the channel to be used granted for a three year period where it is inherent that the service ends when the three year period has passed).
Referring to Claims 3, 8, and 13, Ahmet also teaches the approval message comprises heartbeat time interval information, and wherein the core delivers a heartbeat message at the heartbeat time interval to the SAS server; receives a response message from the SAS server; and determines that the interwork with the SAS server is not performed when the response message is not received (see paragraph 77 which shows sending a heartbeat request and receiving a heartbeat response in addition to determining an error when a response is not received after a time period which implies interwork not being performed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Ahmet to the device of Wang in order to better handle high amounts of wireless traffic.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 4, 9, and 14, Wang and Ahmet do not teach wherein when the information on an available CBRS channel based on the position information of the base station is not received from the SAS server, or there is no CBRS channel available to be used, the core requests information on an available CBRS channel with respect to a plurality of positions; receives information on an available CBRS channel with respect to each of the plurality of positions from the SAS server; determines positions to provide a wireless communication service based on the information on an available CBRS channel with respect to each of the plurality of positions; and determines a CBRS channel to be used and a maximum transmission power based on the information on an available CBRS channel with respect to the positions.
Conclusion
/EUGENE YUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648