DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 & 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2019/0165491).
Regarding Claim 1, Sato discloses a system comprising:
a bonding site (i.e. terminal 5/109/315) configured to electrically couple a first electronic device to a second electronic device; and
a wire (i.e. conductor 9/113 of electric wire 3/105/307) having a cylindrical portion (i.e. part of conductor 9/113/wire 307 covered by sheath 7/111/303) terminating with a taper (i.e. tapered shape) to an end (i.e. bonded portion 11/103/309 of exposed conductor 113/305),
wherein the end has a smaller diameter (i.e. as shown in Fig. 1, 5, 9, 11, 16B, 16C, & 17) than the cylindrical portion and the end is electrically coupled to the bonding site (Fig. 1, 3, 5, 7-14, 16A-16C, 17; Abstract; Paragraphs 0003-0010, 0068-, 0082-0090, 0100, 0103, 0117-0118, 0126-0165).
Regarding Claim 2, Sato discloses that the bonding site (i.e. terminal 5/109/315) comprises a pad (i.e. terminal) or a pin (Fig. 1, 5, 7-14, 16C, 17).
Regarding Claim 6, Sato discloses a cable (i.e. electric wire 3/105/307) having insulation (i.e. sheath/insulator 7/111/303) and the wire (i.e. conductor 9/113), wherein the insulation encases only the cylindrical portion (i.e. part of conductor 9/113/wire 307 covered by sheath 7/111/303) (Fig. 1, 5, 7-14, 16C, 17; Paragraphs 0004, 0007, 0047, 0049, 0051-0052, 0072, 0123, 0128, 0130, 0132-0137).
Regarding Claim 7, Sato discloses that the wire (i.e. conductor 9/113 of electric wire 3/105/307) has a location between the end and the cylindrical portion and the wire is tapered (i.e. tapered shape) between the end and the location, and wherein the location has a diameter equivalent to the diameter of the cylindrical portion of the wire (Fig. 1, 5, 9, 11, 16B,16C, 17; Paragraph 0082, 0100, 0103, 0117, 0118).
Regarding Claim 8, Sato discloses an information handling system comprising:
a first and second electronic device, each electronic device having a bonding site (i.e. terminal 5/109/315); and
a cable (i.e. electric wire 3/105/307) configured to electrically connect the first and second electronic device, the cable having multiple wires (i.e. strands 13/115/311 of conductor 9/113/305) each with tapered ends (i.e. tapered shape of bonded portion 11/103/309);
wherein each tapered end is electrically coupled to one of the bonding sites of the first or second electronic device (Fig. 1, 3, 5, 7-14, 16A-16C, 17; Abstract; Paragraphs 0003-0010, 0068-, 0082-0090, 0100, 0103, 0117-0118, 0126-0165).
Regarding Claim 9, Sato discloses that each bonding site (i.e. terminal 5/109/315) has a size configured to correspond to the diameter of a coupled end (i.e. at the wire barrel portion 15/107/313) (Fig. 1, 5, 11; Paragraphs 0114-0115, 0166-0173).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2019/0165491).
Regarding Claim 3, Sato does not explicitly disclose that the diameter of the end is less than or equal to 50% of the diameter of the cylindrical portion.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the diameter of the end less than or equal to 50% of the diameter of the cylindrical portion, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have also been an obvious matter of design choice to make the diameter of the end less than or equal to 50% of the diameter of the cylindrical portion, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 4, Sato discloses that the bonding site (i.e. terminal 5/109/315) has a size corresponding to the diameter of the taper (i.e. at bell mouth portion 43B/125A) (Fig. 1, 5, 11; Paragraphs 0114-0115, 0166-0173).
Regarding Claim 5, Sato discloses that the bonding site (i.e. terminal 5/109/315) has a size smaller (i.e. at the wire barrel portion 15/107/313) than a size corresponding to a diameter of the cylindrical portion (Fig. 1, 5, 11; Paragraphs 0060-0070, 0114-0115, 0140-0148, 0166-0173).
Relevant Cited Art
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However, it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847