Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Wang (CN 118366416 A, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a computing system comprising: one or more processing devices configured to: receive an input video including a plurality of frames; (see pg. 1 ¶5-6, pg. 4 ¶8: input at least one set of image features (associated with the visual frame) and motion features into a pretrained vector quantization VQ generation model)
at a video-to-music machine learning model including a video encoder and an autoregressive decoder: (see pg. 4 ¶9-10, pg. 7 ¶4-9: pre-trained visual encoder implemented to the training process of VQ generation model, Jukebox decoder (technique used in machine learning models particularly in context of GANs))
compute a plurality of video feature tensors at the video encoder based at least in part on the input video; (see pg. 4 ¶5: normalize each of the video units in a time dimension to obtain a standard video unit, in which the process inherently leads toward tensor representation)
and autoregressively generate a plurality of music tokens at the autoregressive decoder based at least in part on the video feature tensors, wherein the video-to-music machine learning model has been trained using: (see pg. 7 ¶3-12: obtaining a Vector Quantized (VQ) representation sequence for audio converts continuous audio signals into a discrete sequence of symbols or tokens.)
a training data set including a plurality of training input pairs that each include a training input video and respective training background music; (see pg. 4-5: build a training sample dataset including one set of sample motion features extracted from sample video in time sequence and at least one set of background music matching the sample video, as sample audio)
and a loss function including a video-music contrastive loss term and an autoregressive loss term; (see pg. 5-6: loss function, feature matching loss function as optimization objective function)
convert the music tokens into background music associated with the input video; (see pg. 7 ¶10, page 8 ¶5-6: data modeling the correlation between video and music generating background music consistent with video by synthesizing the VQ representation sequence into audio )
and output the background music. (see pg. 7 ¶10, page 8 ¶5-6: synthesizing the VQ representation sequence into audio as the background music for the video to be processed and output)
Regarding claim 11, the claimed limitations are a method claim directly corresponding to the system claim 1; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 1-2 as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5-10 and 12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 118366416 A, hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Sanil (US 20170024614 A1, hereinafter “Sanil”).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the autoregressive loss term includes a video-music alignment weighting factor that is computed for each of the training input pairs at least in part by: computing a plurality of music beat locations within the training background music; computing a plurality of video beat locations within the training input video; and computing the video-music alignment (see pg. 7 ¶13 – pg. 8 ¶1: a beat coverage score and beat hit score which evaluates the rhythm of the music corresponding to the beat of a video)
Wang does not mention a weighting factor. However, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to evaluate the video-music alignment using a weighting factor. Official notice is taken that it is well known to use a weighting factor to ensure that the results accurately represent the data set being evaluated. It gives weight to a given data point to assign a ‘weight’ or importance into a group, thus would not yield unexpected results in applying a weighting factor.
Regarding claim 5, Wang does not explicitly teach the one or more processing devices are configured to compute the video-music alignment weighting factor at least in part by determining whether, for each of the video beat locations, the training background music includes a music beat location within a predefined temporal distance of that video beat location.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary sill to compute a video-music alignment weighting factor by determining, for each video beat, whether a music beat occurs within a predefined temporal distance, because it is a standard and well-known approach to quantify temporal correspondence between rhythmic events, and applying this weighting factor to guide music alignment is one way for implementation.
Regarding claim 6, Wang does not explicitly teach the one or more processing devices are configured to compute the music beat locations at least in part by: processing the training background music at a pretrained music tokenizer model to obtain a plurality of training music tokens; and performing onset detection on the training music tokens to identify the music beat locations.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to train a predetermined music tokenizer model on the training background music to obtain music tokens and perform onset direction to identify music beat locations, because tokenizing musical input and detecting onsets are standard techniques for extracting temporal structure from music, and applying them to determine beats in Wang’s system is a predictable and known method.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the video-music contrastive loss term is computed between: aggregated video representations computed by applying mean pooling to respective training video feature tensors computed from the training input videos; and aggregated music representations computed by applying mean pooling to estimated music tokens predicted at the video-to-music machine learning model. (see pg. 5 ¶7-15: perform global average pooling and global maximum pooling)
Regarding claim 8, Wang does not explicitly teach the video encoder includes a plurality of spatial down sampling blocks; and at each of the spatial down sampling blocks, the one or more processing devices are configured to spatially downscale a respective intermediate video representation computed at the video encoder.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that including down sampling block in the video encoder. The examiner takes official notice that it is notoriously well known in the art for down sampling in order to reduce spatial resolution, decrease computational cos, and retain essential visual features for further processing. Applying such a block to Wang’s encoder would have been an obvious to efficiently process video without altering the functionality
Regarding claim 9, Wang does not explicitly teach the spatial down sampling blocks are interspersed among a plurality of transformer blocks.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that down sampling at intermediate stages. The examiner takes official notice that the method to reduce computational load while preserving essential features is notoriously well known in the art. Arranging down sampling within an encoder is a standard practice in video processing and applying this modification would have been obvious and yield no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 10, Wang does not explicitly teach the autoregressive decoder includes a plurality of causal attention blocks alternating with a plurality of multi-head attention blocks.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that for an autoregressive decoder includes a plurality of causal attention blocks alternating with a plurality of multi-head attention blocks. The examiner takes official notice that alternating attentions patterns are standard in sequence modeling to capture both past dependencies and contextual information is notoriously well known in the art. Hence, applying this structure in Wang’s decoder would yield no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 12 and 15-19, the claimed limitations are a method claim directly corresponding to the system claim 2 and 5-9; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 2 and 5-9 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 20, the claimed limitations are directly corresponding to the claim 1, 2, and 5; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 1, 2 and 5 as discussed above.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 118366416 A, hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Sanil (US 20170024614 A1, hereinafter “Sanil”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches video beat locations (see pg. 7 ¶13) but does not explicitly teach the video beat locations are computed at least in part by: computing a plurality of optical flow magnitudes of respective training frame pairs included in the training input video; and computing the video beat locations within the training input video based at least in part on the optical flow magnitudes.
However, Sanil teaches computing a plurality of optical flow magnitudes of respective training frame pairs included in the training input video; and computing the video beat locations within the training input video based at least in part on the optical flow magnitudes. (see [0065]-[0072]: calculating the optical flow (measured motion) between frames.)
Wang and Sanil are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of analyzing video content in motion. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang to determine video beat locations using optical flow magnitudes as taught by Sanil, because optical flow provides a known and predictable technique for measuring frame-to-frame motion, and video beats in dance or motion-based content corresponds to change in motion intensity. The combination applies a known motion analysis technique to obtain timing information required by Wang, yielding no unpredictable results.
Regarding claim 4, Wang is silent to the video beat locations are local maxima of the optical flow magnitudes.
However, Sanil teaches the video beat locations are local maxima of the optical flow magnitudes. (see [0065]-[0072]: local maxima is identified and the segments of the video corresponding to the local maxima may be selected as hotspots - in this case beat locations.)
Wang and Sanil are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of analyzing video content in motion. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine video beat locations as the local maxima of optical flow magnitudes, because peaks in motion intensity naturally correspond to beat points, and using known maxima of optical flow to identify temporal events in video is a predictable application of Sanil’s teachings.
Regarding claim 13-14, the claimed limitations are a method claim directly corresponding to the system claim 3-14; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 3-14 as discussed above.
Conclusion
/ANNABELLE KANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695