DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “projection” as recited in line 17 of claim 1 and line 22 of claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 recite “a projection” in line 22 and again in line 28. This appears to be an error. Are these meant to be different limitations? Please all the claims for similar grammatical inconsistencies. Appropriate action necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first housing mounting bracket” and “the second housing mounting bracket" in lines 3 and 4, respectively. These limitations were not previously introduced and so there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggest introducing the terms first as “a first housing mounting bracket,” for example, to avoid insufficient antecedence. Appropriate action necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liao 11,467,633.
Regarding claim 1, Liao discloses a hinge mechanism (Fig 6) for a foldable electronic device (Fig 5), comprising: the hinge mechanism is disposed corresponding to a bendable part (at 10, Fig 5) of a flexible display of the electronic device (103, Fig 5), and comprises a base (11, Fig 6) and a main hinge module (portion 10, Fig 7); and the main hinge module comprises a first rotating component (12, Fig 7) and a second rotating component (13, Fig 7), wherein: the first rotating component and the second rotating component are located on two opposite sides of the base (see Fig 7), the first rotating component comprises a first support arm (123, Fig 7), a first swing arm (122, Fig 7), and a first housing mounting bracket (121, Fig 8), and the second rotating component comprises a second support arm (133, Fig 10), a second swing arm (132, Fig 10), and a second housing mounting bracket (131, Fig 10); the first support arm and the second support arm are separately rotatably connected to the base (see Figs 7, 10), and the first swing arm and the second swing arm are separately rotatably connected to the base (see Figs 7, 10); and a rotation axis of the first support arm is parallel to and does not coincide with a rotation axis of the first swing arm (at R1, R2, Fig 8), and a rotation axis of the second support arm is parallel to and does not coincide with a rotation axis of the second swing arm (similar to first but on opposite side, Fig 8 – not labeled); a first sliding groove (1212, Fig 12) extending in a first direction (direction of first sliding groove, Fig 12) and a second sliding groove (1242, Fig 13) extending in a second direction (direction of second sliding groove, Fig 13) are disposed on the first housing mounting bracket (Fig 12), the first support arm is slidably connected to the first sliding groove (via slider, par 0066), the first swing arm is slidably connected to the second sliding groove (via slider, par 0066), a projection (arc projection 1221 projecting lengthwise of the device, Fig 11) in the first direction in a first cross section is not parallel to a projection in the second direction in the first cross section (note projection as cited in correctional view Fig 11 runs in direction not parallel to first direction, Figs 11, 14), and the first cross section is a reference plane perpendicular to the rotation axis of the first support arm and the rotation axis of the first swing arm (cross section view of 1231 as visually shown in Fig 11 includes plane that is perpendicular to rotation axis that runs length of device, Figs 13, 14); and a third sliding groove extending in a third direction and a fourth sliding groove extending in a fourth direction are disposed on the second housing mounting bracket (same as first and second sliding groove but on second housing side, Figs 11-12), the second support arm is slidably connected to the third sliding groove, the second swing arm is slidably connected to the fourth sliding groove (same as first and second sliding groove but on second housing side, Figs 11-12), a projection in the third direction in a second cross section is not parallel to a projection in the fourth direction in the second cross section (same as first and second projection but on second housing side, Figs 11-12), and the second cross section is a reference plane perpendicular to the rotation axis of the second support arm and the rotation axis of the second swing arm (same as first and second sliding groove but on second housing side, Figs 11-12).
Regarding claim 2, Liao discloses the hinge mechanism according to claim 1, wherein neither of angles at which the first support arm and the first swing arm rotate relative to the base is greater than 90° (see Fig 7 with respect to Fig 8), and neither of angles at which the second support arm and the second swing arm rotate relative to the base is greater than 90° (see Fig 7 with respect to Fig 8).
Regarding claim 3, Liao discloses the hinge mechanism according to claim 1, wherein a first arc-shaped slot (113, Fig 11) and a second arc-shaped slot (114, Fig 11) are disposed on the base (Fig 11), and a first arc-shaped rotation block is disposed at an end that is of the first swing arm (at 1221, Fig 11) and that is used to rotatably connect to the base (see Figs 11-12); and the first arc-shaped rotation block is accommodated in the first arc-shaped slot (Fig 11) and is capable of rotating along an arc-shaped surface of the first arc-shaped slot (Figs 11-12); and a second arc-shaped rotation block (1321, Fig 11) is disposed at an end that is of the second swing arm (see Fig 11) and that is used to rotatably connect to the base (Figs 11-12); and the second arc-shaped rotation block is accommodated in the second arc-shaped slot (Fig 11) and is capable of rotating along an arc-shaped surface of the second arc-shaped slot (Figs 11-12).
Regarding claim 5, Liao discloses the hinge mechanism according to claim 1, wherein a second sliding rail (1321, Fig 11) is disposed on the second sliding groove (Fig 11); a second sliding block (142, Fig 11) is disposed on the first swing arm (Fig 11); and the second sliding block is clamped in the second sliding rail (see Fig 11), and the second sliding block is capable of sliding along the second sliding rail (Figs 8-11); and a fourth sliding rail (1221, Fig 11) is disposed on the fourth sliding groove (Fig 11); a fourth sliding block (141, Fig 11) is disposed on the second swing arm (Fig 11); and the fourth sliding block is clamped in the fourth sliding rail (Fig 11), and the fourth sliding block is capable of sliding along the fourth sliding rail (Figs 8-11).
Regarding claim 8, Liao discloses the hinge mechanism according to claim 5, wherein the second sliding rail is an arc-shaped sliding rail (at 114, Fig 11), and the fourth sliding rail is an arc-shaped sliding rail (at 113, Fig 11).
Regarding claim 9, Liao discloses the hinge mechanism according to claim 8, wherein when the hinge mechanism is in an unfolded state (as in Fig 10), an axis center of the arc-shaped sliding rail is located on a side that is of the arc-shaped sliding rail and that is away from the base (see Figs 8-11).
Regarding claim 20, Liao discloses an electronic device (100, Fig 5), comprising a first housing (101, Fig 5), a second housing (102, Fig 5), a flexible display (103, Fig 5), and a hinge mechanism (Title), wherein the first housing and the second housing are respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the hinge mechanism (see Fig 5), the first housing mounting bracket (121, Figs 7, 8) is fastened to the first housing (Figs 7,8), and the second housing mounting bracket (131, Figs 7, 8) is fastened to the second housing (Figs 7, 8); and the flexible display contiguously covers the first housing (Fig 5), the second housing (Fig 5), and the hinge mechanism (see Fig 5), and the flexible display is fastened to the first housing and the second housing (Fig 5); and wherein the hinge mechanism is disposed corresponding to a bendable part (see bending of display at 10, Fig 5) of the flexible display of the electronic device (Fig 5), and comprises a base (11, Fig 6) and a main hinge module (10, Fig 6); and the main hinge module comprises a first rotating component (12, Fig 7) and a second rotating component (13, Fig 7), wherein the first rotating component and the second rotating component are located on two opposite sides of the base (see Fig 7), the first rotating component comprises a first support arm (123, Fig 7), a first swing arm (122, Fig 7), and a first housing mounting bracket (121, Figs 7, 8), and the second rotating component comprises a second support arm (133, Fig 10), a second swing arm (132, Fig 10), and a second housing mounting bracket (131, Figs 7, 8); the first support arm and the second support arm are separately rotatably connected to the base (see Figs 7, 10), and the first swing arm and the second swing arm are separately rotatably connected to the base (see Figs 7, 10); and a rotation axis of the first support arm is parallel to and does not coincide with a rotation axis of the first swing arm (at R1, R2, Fig 8), and a rotation axis of the second support arm is parallel to and does not coincide with a rotation axis of the second swing arm (similar to first but on opposite side, Fig 8 – not labeled); a first sliding groove (1212, Fig 12) extending in a first direction (direction of first sliding groove, Fig 12) and a second sliding groove (1242, Fig 13) extending in a second direction (direction of second sliding groove, Fig 13) are disposed on the first housing mounting bracket (Fig 12), the first support arm is slidably connected to the first sliding groove (via slider, par 0066), the first swing arm is slidably connected to the second sliding groove (via slider, par 0066), a projection (arc projection 1221 projecting lengthwise of the device, Fig 11) in the first direction in a first cross section is not parallel to a projection in the second direction in the first cross section (note projection as cited in correctional view Fig 11 runs in direction not parallel to first direction, Figs 11, 14), and the first cross section is a reference plane perpendicular to the rotation axis of the first support arm and the rotation axis of the first swing arm (cross section view of 1231 as visually shown in Fig 11 includes plane that is perpendicular to rotation axis that runs length of device, Figs 13, 14); and a third sliding groove extending in a third direction and a fourth sliding groove extending in a fourth direction are disposed on the second housing mounting bracket (same as first and second sliding groove but on second housing side, Figs 11-12), the second support arm is slidably connected to the third sliding groove, the second swing arm is slidably connected to the fourth sliding groove (same as first and second sliding groove but on second housing side, Figs 11-12), a projection in the third direction in a second cross section is not parallel to a projection in the fourth direction in the second cross section (same as first and second projection but on second housing side, Figs 11-12), and the second cross section is a reference plane perpendicular to the rotation axis of the second support arm and the rotation axis of the second swing arm (same as first and second sliding groove but on second housing side, Figs 11-12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7 and 10-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims listed below, in combination with the remaining
elements of the independent claim(s) from which they directly/indirectly depend,
are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record.
Claim 4. The hinge mechanism according to claim 3, wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises a cover plate, the cover plate covers the base, a first arc-shaped protrusion is disposed on a surface that is of the cover plate and that faces the first arc-shaped slot, and the first arc-shaped rotation block is inserted between the first arc-shaped protrusion and the first arc-shaped slot; and a second arc-shaped protrusion is disposed on a surface that is of the cover plate and that faces the second arc-shaped slot, and the second arc-shaped rotation block is inserted between the second arc-shaped protrusion and the second arc-shaped slot.
Claim 6. The hinge mechanism according to claim 5, wherein the second sliding rail is a straight-line sliding rail, and the fourth sliding rail is a straight-line sliding rail. *Claim 7 depend directly from claim 6 and is therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 10. The hinge mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the main hinge module further comprises a first drive connecting rod and a second drive connecting rod, the first drive connecting rod is located between the first support arm and the first swing arm, the first drive connecting rod comprises a first connection part and a second connection part, the first connection part is rotatably connected to the first support arm through a first connecting rod, the second connection part is rotatably connected to the first swing arm through a second connecting rod, and axes of the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod are parallel and do not coincide; and the second drive connecting rod is located between the second support arm and the second swing arm, the second drive connecting rod comprises a third connection part and a fourth connection part, the third connection part is rotatably connected to the second support arm through a third connecting rod, the fourth connection part is rotatably connected to the second swing arm through a fourth connecting rod, and axes of the third connecting rod and the fourth connecting rod are parallel and do not coincide.
Claim 11. The hinge mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the main hinge module further comprises a first drive connecting rod and a second drive connecting rod, the first drive connecting rod is located between the first support arm and the first swing arm, the first drive connecting rod comprises a first connection part and a second connection part, the first connection part is slidably connected to the first swing arm through a first connecting rod, and the second connection part is fastened to the first support arm; and the second drive connecting rod is located between the second support arm and the second swing arm, the second drive connecting rod comprises a third connection part and a fourth connection part, the third connection part is slidably connected to the second swing arm through a third connecting rod, and the fourth connection part is fastened to the second support arm. *Claim 12 depend directly from claim 11 and is therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 13. The hinge mechanism according to claim 10, wherein the second sliding rail is disposed on the second sliding groove; the second sliding block is disposed on the first swing arm; and the second sliding block is capable of sliding along the second sliding rail, and the second sliding block is in clearance fit with the second sliding rail; and the fourth sliding rail is disposed on the fourth sliding groove; the fourth sliding block is disposed on the second swing arm; and the fourth sliding block is capable of sliding along the fourth sliding rail, and the fourth sliding block is in clearance fit with the fourth sliding rail.
Claim 14. The hinge mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises a first support plate and a second support plate, and the first support plate and the second support plate are respectively disposed on two sides of the base; the first support plate is rotatably connected to the first housing mounting bracket, and the first support plate is slidably connected to at least of the first support arm or the first swing arm; and the second support plate is rotatably connected to the second housing mounting bracket, and the second support plate is slidably connected to at least of the second support arm or the second swing arm; and when the first housing mounting bracket and the second housing mounting bracket rotate toward each other, an end that is of the first support plate and that is close to the base moves in a direction away from the base, and an end that is of the second support plate and that is close to the base moves in a direction away from the base. *Claims 15-19 depend either indirectly or directly from claim 14 and are therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841