DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the amendments filed on August 27, 2026.
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, and 16 have been amended.
Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 102 Rejections
Applicant’s argument regarding the 102-rejection filed on August 27, 2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argued in substance that the Shu reference doesn’t teach or suggest the claimed limitation that the first frame “includes signal strength information and communication speed information for the relay node”.
Examiner response
Examiner respectfully disagree and would like to point out that during examination the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. Shu in paragraph [0035] teaches measuring an actual signal strength compare that strength with the carried transmit power (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shu (USPGPub 2014/0349663).
As per claim 1, Shu teaches a first station (STA) (Shu, see paragraph [0028], A station (Station, STA)) in a wireless network, the first STA comprising: at least one processor including processing circuitry when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively cause the first sta to (Shu, see paragraph [0247], a read-only memory (ROM, Read-Only Memory))
determine a relay node that can perform one or more relay operations to communicate with the first STA (Shu, see paragraph [0041], …AP may also determine which STA serves as the relay STA of the first STA)
transmit, to a second STA, a first frame that includes information regarding the relay node that can be used to communicate with the first STA (Shu, see paragraph [0043], the AP may inform a neighboring STA of the first STA that the neighboring STA serves as the relay STA of the first STA) wherein the first frame includes signal strength information and communication speed information for the relay node (Shu, see paragraph [0035], The STA 130 may measure an actual signal strength at a time when the message is received, compare the signal strength with the carried transmit power to determine a power loss during transmission of a wireless signal, and send a response message to the STA 120) and
communicate with the second STA via the first relay node (Shu, see paragraph [0048], The relay STA may send the data alone or together with data of the relay STA and/or data of other STAs to the AP, thereby ensuring normal data transmission between the STA and the AP by transmitting the data in relay mode).
As per claim 2 Shu teaches the first STA of claim 1, wherein the first STA is an access point (AP) and the second STA is a non-AP STA (Shu, see paragraph [0005], an access point, and a station, which enable the station to perform normal data transmission with the access point by using another station).
As per claim 3 Shu teaches the first STA of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the second STA, the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively cause the first STA to: receive a second frame from the second STA that has been forwarded by the relay node. (Shu, see paragraph [0034], Each STA 120 may receive a data frame or a message from the STA or the AP in an "awake period (Awake Period)", or send a data frame or a message in the channel service period).
As per claim 4 Shu teaches the first STA of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to receive, from the relay node, a second frame that includes information regarding capabilities of the relay node. (Shu, see paragraph [0031], For example, when remaining capacity of a first STA is lower than a threshold, the first STA that is farther from the AP may be unable to directly and continuously communicate with the AP, but the first STA may still continuously communicate, at a lower power, with a neighboring STA that is closer to the first STA for a period of time).
As per claim 5 Shu teaches the first STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively cause the first STA to receive, from the relay node, a second frame that includes information on one or more access points (APs) and STAs that can communicate with the relay node (Shu, see paragraph [0045], when the first STA sends the data on the channel in the channel service period, a second STA may receive the data. The second STA may immediately and directly forward a received data frame to the AP, or send the data (that is, relay data) received from the first STA to the AP at a proper time).
As per claim 6 Shu teaches the first STA of claim 5, wherein the second STA is included in the information in the second frame. (Shu, see paragraph [0046], the data may adopt a form of a data frame; the data frame may include identification information of the first STA (for example, a MAC address) as a source address, and include an address of the second STA as a destination address).
As per claim 7 Shu teaches the first STA of claim 1, wherein the first frame includes information on a plurality of relay nodes that can be used to connect to the first STA. (Shu, see paragraph [0046], the data may adopt a form of a data frame; the data frame may include identification information of the first STA (for example, a MAC address) as a source address, and include an address of the second STA as a destination address).
As per claim 9 Shu teaches the first STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively cause the first STA to transmit a second frame to one or more STAs that advertises one or more relay nodes that can be used to communicate with the first STA. (Shu, see paragraph [0047], the AP may filter the neighboring STAs included in the information about the neighboring STAs, which is statically configured in advance, according to an actual network access condition of the STAs after the network operates, and form information about available neighboring STAs).
As per claim 10, Shu teaches the first STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively cause the first STA to: transmit a second frame to one or more STAs to check which of the one or more STAs can perform relay operations to relay communications to the first STA; and receive a third frame from a third STA in the one or more STAs that indicates that the third STA can perform relay operations to relay communications to the first STA (Shu, see paragraph [0047], when each STA in a surrounding area directly communicate with the AP to perform a network access operation, the STA may further obtain the information about the neighboring STAs in the surrounding area by receiving messages for the STAs in the surrounding area to communicate with the AP, and store and maintain the information about the neighboring STAs of the STA in the STA or the AP).
As per claim 11,
[Rejection rational for claim 1 is applicable].
As per claim 12 Shu teaches the relay node of claim 11, wherein the relay node is an access point (AP) and the first STA is a non-AP STA. (Shu, see paragraph [0005], an access point, and a station, which enable the station to perform normal data transmission with the access point by using another station).
As per claim 13 Shu teaches the relay node of claim 11, wherein the first frame includes information regarding capabilities of the relay node. (Shu, see paragraph [0031], For example, when remaining capacity of a first STA is lower than a threshold, the first STA that is farther from the AP may be unable to directly and continuously communicate with the AP, but the first STA may still continuously communicate, at a lower power, with a neighboring STA that is closer to the first STA for a period of time).
As per claim 14 Shu teaches the relay node of claim 11, wherein the second STA is included in the information regarding one or more STAs that the relay node can communicate with. (Shu, see paragraph [0045], when the first STA sends the data on the channel in the channel service period, a second STA may receive the data. The second STA may immediately and directly forward a received data frame to the AP, or send the data (that is, relay data) received from the first STA to the AP at a proper time).
As per claim 16,
[Rejection rational for claim 1 is applicable].
As per claim 17, Shu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16, wherein the first STA is an access point (AP) and the second STA is a non-AP STA. (Shu, see paragraph [0005], an access point, and a station, which enable the station to perform normal data transmission with the access point by using another station).
As per claim 18, Shu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16, further comprising receiving, to communicate with the second STA, a second frame from the second STA that has been forwarded by the relay node. (Shu, see paragraph [0034], Each STA 120 may receive a data frame or a message from the STA or the AP in an "awake period (Awake Period)", or send a data frame or a message in the channel service period).
As per claim 19, Shu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16, further comprising receiving, from the relay node, a second frame that includes information regarding capabilities of the relay node. (Shu, see paragraph [0031], For example, when remaining capacity of a first STA is lower than a threshold, the first STA that is farther from the AP may be unable to directly and continuously communicate with the AP, but the first STA may still continuously communicate, at a lower power, with a neighboring STA that is closer to the first STA for a period of time).
As per claim 20, Shu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16, further comprising receiving, from the relay node, a second frame that includes information on one or more access points (APs) and STAs that can communicate with the relay node. (Shu, see paragraph [0045], when the first STA sends the data on the channel in the channel service period, a second STA may receive the data. The second STA may immediately and directly forward a received data frame to the AP, or send the data (that is, relay data) received from the first STA to the AP at a proper time).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HERMON ASRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449