DETAILED ACTION
1. This initial office action is based on the application filed on 07/30/2024, which claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Status of Claim
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined below, of which, claims 1 and 20 are presented in independent form.
Priority
3. This application is a CON of 18/061,923 filed on 12/05/2022 PAT 12056476 which is CON of 16/949,753 filed on 11/12/2020 PAT 11520571 which claims benefit of 62/934,517 filed on 11/12/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2024, 10/01/2024, 01/06/2025, 08/28/2025, 10/22/2025 and 08/31/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
5. Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Double Patenting
7. Claims (1+10+15+17), (2-9), (11-14, 16) and (18-19) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No.11520571 in view of Mcgregor et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0138651 A1 – herein after Mcgregor) in view of Oleynik (US Pub. No. 2023/0031545 A1 – herein after Oleynik). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1-16 of U.S. Patent No.11520571 recites the elements of claims (1+10+15+17), (2-9), (11-14, 16) and (18-19) of the instant application 18/789,558.
Instant Application
18/789,558
Patent No. 11520571
1. A software defined manufacturing system comprising:
a physical robotic cell including a plurality of sensors, the physical robotic cell controlled by a recipe instructing the physical robotic cell to perform a process;
1. A software defined manufacturing system comprising:
a physical robotic cell including a plurality of sensors, the physical robotic cell controlled by a recipe instructing the physical robotic cell to perform a process;
a memory to collect operational data from the physical robotic cell, the operational data including the process and concurrent data from the plurality of sensors;
a memory to collect operational data from the physical robotic cell, the operational data including the process and concurrent data from the plurality of sensors;
a processor implementing a virtual representation of the physical robotic cell, the virtual representation configured with the operational data from the physical robotic cell to mirror the physical robotic cell;
a processor implementing a digital twin of the physical robotic cell, the digital twin configured with sensor data and state data from the physical robotic cell to represent the physical robotic cell;
wherein the recipe is tested on the digital twin, and the recipe is then remotely deployed to the physical robotic cell and a set of dependencies is identified for a particular command or action in the recipe;
wherein the recipe is run on the virtual representation, and successful execution of the recipe is verified on the virtual representation prior to deployment of the recipe to a remote physical robotic cell;
wherein the virtual representation is used to validate and monitor the robotic cell.
wherein the digital twin is used to validate and monitor the physical robotic cell and
17. The system of claim 1, further comprising: the digital twin configured to enable previewing of the robotic cell’s actions during a process, track actions of the robotic cell during the process, and review the actions after the process.
provide a visual representation of the physical robotic cell, the digital twin configured to enable previewing of actions of the physical robotic cell during a process, track the actions of the physical robotic cell during the process, and review the actions after the process, and provide a non-visual representation of the physical robotic cell; and
15. The system of claim 1, further comprising: an integrated debugger to enable debugging the physical robotic cell utilizing logged sensor data, and displaying a step-by-step execution of the recipe on the digital twin.
integrated debugger to enable an debugging the physical robotic cell utilizing the recipe and the operational data from the execution of the recipe of the physical robotic cell, the integrated debugger configured to display a step-by-step execution of the recipe, with associated operational data on the digital twin;
wherein data aggregation collects and logs data from cameras and the plurality of sensors in the physical robotic cell for training, tracking effectiveness of the recipe by machine learning; and
10. The system of claim 1, further comprising: a machine learning and self-improvement system to iteratively alter settings in the robotic cell, monitor and evaluate results of the alteration, and provide continuous improvement of process parameters.
a machine learning and self-improvement system to iteratively alter settings in the physical robotic cell, monitor and evaluate results of the alteration, and provide continuous improvement of process parameters.
2. The system of claim 1, further comprising: a configuration management system to track a state of the robotic cell, the configuration management system enabling deploying changes to the robotic cell, and rolling back changes from a robotic cell.
2. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: a configuration management system to track a state of the physical robotic cell, the configuration management system enabling deploying changes to the physical robotic cell, and rolling back changes from the physical robotic cell.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the state of the robotic cell includes hardware, software, settings, and the recipe.
3. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 2, wherein the state of the physical robotic cell includes hardware, software, settings, and the recipe.
4. The system of claim 2, further comprising: deployment management system to enable deployment of one or more configuration changes to the robotic cell, wherein the deployment management system enables deployment to a selected one or more robotic cells via a cloud-based system.
4. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 2, further comprising: deployment management system to enable deployment of one or more configuration changes to the physical robotic cell, wherein the deployment management system enables deployment to a selected one or more robotic cells via a cloud-based system.
5. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: wherein physical robotic cell calibrated using the sensors, and calibration data is used to update the digital twin.
5. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the physical robotic cell is calibrated using the sensors, and calibration data is used to update the digital twin.
6. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: development tools to create the recipe using declarative programming; a compiler to compile the recipe to robotic commands; and one or more drivers associated with devices of the physical robotic cell, to translate the robotic commands to device-specific commands, thereby enabling device agnostic recipes.
6. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: development tools to create the recipe using declarative programming; a compiler to compile the recipe to robotic commands; and one or more drivers associated with devices of the physical robotic cell, to translate the robotic commands to device-specific commands, thereby enabling device agnostic recipes.
7. The system of claim 1, further comprising: a programming interface to create the recipe based on data obtained from the physical robotic cell, the programming interface providing an application user interface based on a topology of the robotic cell.
7. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: a programming interface to create the recipe based on data obtained from the physical robotic cell, the programming interface providing an application user interface based on a topology of the physical robotic cell.
8. The system of claim 7, wherein the recipe is compiled to device-specific commands, which enables use of a heterogeneous set of parts within the physical robotic cell, abstracting the recipe from a particular device definition.
8. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 7, wherein the recipe is compiled to device-specific commands, which enables use of a heterogeneous set of parts within the physical robotic cell, abstracting the recipe from a particular device definition.
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising:
one or more of the physical robotic cells defining a physical micro-factory to perform a process; wherein individual robotic cells in the micro-factory can be reconfigured, such that the micro-factory continues to function when a new robotic cell is added or a robotic cell is removed from the micro-factory.
9. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: one or more physical robotic cells defining a physical micro-factory to perform a process; wherein individual robotic cells in the physical micro-factory can be reconfigured, such that the physical micro-factory continues to function when a new robotic cell is added or a robotic cell is removed from the physical micro-factory.
11. The system of claim 1, further comprising: an inspection system configured to utilize the sensors in the robotic cell to provide in-process inspection which need not be directly connected to the current process.
10. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: an inspection system configured to utilize the sensors in the physical robotic cell to provide in-process inspection which need not be directly connected to a current process.
12. The system of claim 1, further comprising: a design-for-manufacture-or-automation (DFMA) system to use develop computer aided design (CAD) data for a product to be manufactured based on manufacturing capabilities of the robotic cells.
11. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: a design-for-manufacture-or-automation (DFMA) system to use develop computer aided design (CAD) data for a product to be manufactured based on manufacturing capabilities of the physical robotic cell.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the CAD data is refined based on the sensor data and the state data from the physical robotic cell.
12. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 11, wherein the CAD data is refined based on the sensor data and the state data from the physical robotic cell.
14. The system of claim 1, further comprising: automatically generating a portion of the recipe based on data from a computer aided design (CAD) system.
13. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: automatically generating a portion of the recipe based on data from a computer aided design (CAD) system.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the integrated debugger enables one or more of: remote live debugging of the physical robotic cell using the logged sensor data, replay of a set of steps on the digital twin using the logged sensor data, and simulation debugging on the digital twin.
14. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the integrated debugger enables one or more of: remote live debugging of the physical robotic cell using the sensor data, replay of a set of steps on the digital twin using the sensor data, and simulation debugging on the digital twin.
18. The system of claim 1, further comprising: an integrated debugger to enable stepwise debugging while controlling the physical robotic cell.
15. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: the integrated debugger further configured to enable stepwise debugging while controlling the physical robotic cell.
19. The system of claim 1, further comprising: the micro-factory enabling reconfiguration of individual robotic cells, to continue functioning when a robotic cell is added to, or removed from, the micro-factory.
16. The software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising: a micro-factory enabling reconfiguration of individual robotic cells, to continue functioning when a robotic cell is added to, or removed from, the micro-factory.
Patent No. 11520571 does not teach wherein the recipe is run on the virtual representation, and successful execution of the recipe is verified on the virtual representation prior to deployment of the recipe to a remote physical robotic cell. However, Mcgregor discloses allow end users to safety test and debug their robot programs prior to deployment on the plant floor, some robot vendors many also provide vendor-specific simulation platforms that simulate the behavior of the robot under the control of a user-defined robot program – See paragraphs [0029-0030]
Patent No. 11520571 and Mcgregor are analogous art because they are in the same field of technology such that verify/test robot program/script. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Patent No. 11520571's teaching with Mcgregor teaching of verify/test robot program instructions/recipes.
Patent No. 11520571 does not teach an integrated debugger to enable debugging the physical robotic cell utilizing logged sensor data. However, Oleynik discloses the raw sensor data is logged (for playback) in and processed – See paragraph [0286].
Patent No. 11520571 and Oleynik are analogous art because they are in the same field of technology such that analyze/test logged sensor data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Patent No. 11520571's teaching with Oleynik teaching of analyze/test logged sensor data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 2, 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a configuration management system" in line 2; claim 4 recites the limitation "deployment management system" in line 2; claim 20 recites the limitation "a data aggregation system" in line 4 and "a configuration and deployment management system" in line 7 render the claims indefinite since it is unclear what a configuration management system, deployment management system, a data aggregation system and a configuration and deployment management system define.
Claim 3 are also rejected under 112(b) as being dependent upon claim 2.
Clarification and appropriate correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1, 6-10 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mcgregor et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0138651 A1 – herein after Mcgregor) in view of Oleynik (US Pub. No. 2023/0031545 A1 – herein after Oleynik).
Regarding claim 1.
Mcgregor discloses
A software defined manufacturing system (allowing the designer to observe a simulation of the robot's expected operation under control of the user-defined program 304. Control design and testing system 202 can incorporate digital models 302 (or other types of digital models) representing robots manufactured by one or more vendors into a larger digital model of an industrial automation system in which the robots will operate – See paragraphs [0040 and 0044]) comprising:
a physical robotic cell (types of robotic end effectors (e.g., mechanical grippers, suction grippers, etc.) – See paragraph [0070]) including a plurality of sensors (robot depends on states of multiple part presence sensors – See paragraph [0051]), the physical robotic cell controlled by a recipe instructing the physical robotic cell to perform a process (the two industrial robots operate within this industrial environment—under control of their respective robot programs 304a and 304 --to perform such functions as material handling (e.g., picking parts from one conveyor and moving to another, or picking parts from a conveyor and stacking on a pallet) – See paragraph [0047]. Define executable scripts that can be executed by simulation component 206 and applied to an associated element of the digital model 408 (e.g., an element labeled with the corresponding aspect by the user), causing the element to mimic the behavior of its corresponding physical component within the simulation environment – See paragraph [0077]);
a memory to collect operational data from the physical robotic cell (the process of reasoning about or inferring states of the system, environment, and/or user from a set of observations as captured via events and/or data – See paragraph [0024]. During simulation, simulation component 206 generates digital and analog I/O values representing, for example, sensor outputs, metering outputs, or other plant data analogous to the data expected to be generated by the physical system based on the static and dynamic characteristics of the physical system represented by the digital model. Control program 404 processes these inputs according to user-defined algorithms and generates digital and/or analog controller output data 602 based on the processing. This output data 602 represents the physical outputs that would be generated by a controller executing control program 404 and transmitted to the hardwired field devices comprising the automation system (e.g., PID loop control outputs, solenoid energizing outputs, motor control outputs, actuator control outputs, robot control outputs, etc.) – See paragraphs [0058-0060]), [[the operational data including the process and concurrent data from the plurality of sensors;]]
a processor implementing a virtual representation of the physical robotic cell (the digital model 408 of the automation system can comprise an assembly of simulation-capable digital representations of mechanical and/or control elements that make up the automation system. In some scenarios, a designer can create this virtual assembly within the control design and testing system 202 as part of the design process; e.g., by selecting components to be included in the automation system from a library of available components (representing such elements as conveyors, motors, motor drives, workstations, tooling machines, guarding, sensors, piping, conduit, control panels, safety devices, etc.) – See paragraph [0066]), the virtual representation configured with the operational data from the physical robotic cell to mirror the physical robotic cell (each aspect definition 222 defines a set of physical, kinematic, or mechatronic properties that dictate how that aspect behaves within a simulation environment. The properties defined by an aspect definition 222 substantially mirror physical behaviors and characteristics of the corresponding physical aspect in the real world – See paragraph [0069]);
wherein the recipe is run on the virtual representation (mechanical design of the automation system by emulating execution of the control program against the virtual model of the automation system – See paragraph [0040]), and successful execution of the recipe is verified on the virtual representation prior to deployment of the recipe to a remote physical robotic cell (To allow end users to safety test and debug their robot programs prior to deployment on the plant floor, some robot vendors many also provide vendor-specific simulation platforms that simulate the behavior of the robot under the control of a user-defined robot program – See paragraphs [0029-0030]);
Mcgregor does not disclose
the operational data including the process and concurrent data from the plurality of sensors;
wherein the virtual representation is used to validate and monitor the robotic cell.
Oleynik discloses
a memory to collect operational data from the physical robotic cell (Data Cloud—refers to a collection of sensor or data-based numerical measurement values from a particular space (three-dimensional laser/acoustic range measurement, RGB-values from a camera image, etc.) collected at certain intervals and aggregated based on a multitude of relationships, such as time, location, etc. – See paragraphs [0021]), the operational data including the process (a well-defined pre-programmed sequence of actuator actions and collection of sensory feedback in a robot's task-execution behavior, as defined by performance and execution parameters (variables, constants, controller-type and -behaviors, etc.) – See paragraph [0224]) and concurrent data from the plurality of sensors (collection of sensory feedback in a robot's task-execution behavior, as defined by performance and execution parameters (variables, constants, controller-type and -behaviors, etc.), used in one or more low-to-high level control-loops to achieve desired motion/interaction behavior for one or more actuators ranging from individual actuations to a sequence of serial and/or parallel multi-actuator coordinated motions (position and velocity)/interactions (force and torque) to achieve a specific task with desirable performance metrics. MMs can be combined in various ways by combining lower-level MM behaviors in serial and/or parallel to achieve ever-higher and higher-level more-and-more complex application-specific task behaviors with an ever higher level of (task-descriptive) abstraction – See paragraph [0224]);
wherein the virtual representation is used to validate and monitor the robotic cell (the notion of being able to carry out proper environment interaction manipulation and handling tasks faithfully is made possible through a real-time process-verification by way of (i) 3D world modeling as well as (ii) minimanipulation. Both the verification and manipulation steps are carried out through the addition of the robot wrist and hand configuration modifier 260. This software module uses data from the 3D world configuration modeler 262, which creates a new 3D world model at every sampling step from sensory data supplied by the multimodal sensor(s) unit(s), in order to ascertain that the configuration of the robotic kitchen systems and process matches that required by the recipe script (database). While the configuration modifier 260 continually feeds modified commanded configuration data to the robot arm system controller 270, it relies on the handling/manipulation verification software module 272 to verify not only that the operation is proceeding properly but also whether continued manipulation/handling is necessary – See paragraphs [0299-0300]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Oleyink’s teaching into Mcgregor's invention because incorporating Oleyink's teaching would enhance Mcgregor to enable to provide handling/manipulation verification software module that carries out this check by using the knowledge of the recipe script database and the 3D world configuration modeler to verify the appropriate progress as suggested by Oleyink (paragraphs [0299-0300]).
Regarding claim 6, the software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising:
Oleynik discloses
development tools to create the recipe using declarative programming (the raw data is processed by one or more software abstraction engines to create a recipe-script that is both human-readable and, through further processing, machine-understandable and machine-executable, spelling out all actions and motions for all steps of a particular recipe. The raw sensor data is logged (for playback) in 182 and processed to generate information at different abstraction levels (tools/equipment used, techniques employed, times/temperatures started/ended, etc.), and then used to create a recipe-script 18 – See paragraphs [0011 and 0286]);
a compiler to compile the recipe to robotic commands (The recipe-script generation engine process 222 process-specific steps within each, which can then be translated into robotic-kitchen machine-executable command-scripts – See paragraph [0294]); and
one or more drivers associated with devices of the physical robotic cell, to translate the robotic commands to device-specific commands, thereby enabling device agnostic recipes (These commands range in complexity from controlling individual joints, to a particular joint-motion profile over time, to abstraction levels of commands, with lower-level motion-execution commands embedded therein, associated with specific steps in a recipe – See paragraphs [0010-0012]. The setup is capable of being computer-controlled, thereby allowing the entire multi-arm/hand robotic kitchen setup to perform replication cooking tasks respectively, regardless of whether the arm/hand robotic modules execute a single recipe sequentially (end-product from one station gets supplied to the next station for a subsequent step in the recipe script) or multiple recipes/steps in parallel – See paragraphs [0484-0485]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Oleyink’s teaching into Mcgregor's invention because incorporating Oleyink's teaching would enhance Mcgregor to enable to process process-specific steps within each, which can then be translated into robotic-kitchen machine-executable command-scripts as suggested by Oleyink (paragraphs [0294]).
Regarding claim 7, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Oleynik discloses
a programming interface to create the recipe based on data obtained from the physical robotic cell (The algorithms will process and abstract the data to the point that a human and a computer-controlled robotic kitchen can understand the activities, tasks, actions, equipment, ingredients and methods, and processes used by the human, including replication of key skills of a particular chef. The raw data is processed by one or more software abstraction engines to create a recipe-script – See paragraph [0011]), the programming interface providing an application user interface based on a topology of the robotic cell (his recipe-script is stored 164 alongside the entire raw data set 166 in the data storage module 168 and is made accessible to either a remote robotic cooking station through the robotic kitchen interface module 170 or a human user 172 via a graphical user interface (GUI) 174—See paragraphs [0285-0286]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Oleyink’s teaching into Mcgregor's invention because incorporating Oleyink's teaching would enhance Mcgregor to enable to process data by one or more software abstraction engines to create a recipe-script as suggested by Oleyink (paragraphs [0011]).
Regarding claim 8, the system of claim 7,
Oleynik discloses
wherein the recipe is compiled to device-specific commands (The recipe-script generation engine process 222 is responsible for melding (blending/combining) all the available data and sets into a structured and sequential cooking script with clear process-identifiers (prepping, blanching, frying, washing, plating, etc.) and process-specific steps within each, which can then be translated into robotic-kitchen machine-executable command-scripts that are synchronized based on process-completion and overall cooking time and cooking progress – See paragraph [0294]), which enables use of a heterogeneous set of parts within the physical robotic cell (robotic-kitchen machine-executable command-scripts that are synchronized based on process-completion and overall cooking time and cooking progress – See paragraph [0294]), abstracting the recipe from a particular device definition (Abstraction Recipe—refers to a representation of a chef's recipe, which a human knows as represented by the use of certain ingredients, in certain sequences, prepared and combined through a sequence of processes and methods, as well as skills of the human chef. An abstraction recipe used by a machine for execution in an automated way requires different types of classifications and sequences – See paragraphs [0204-0205]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Oleyink’s teaching into Mcgregor's invention because incorporating Oleyink's teaching would enhance Mcgregor to enable to translate the recipes as suggested by Oleyink (paragraphs [0294]).
Regarding claim 9, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Megregor discloses
one or more of the physical robotic cells defining a physical micro-factory to perform a process (This physics modeling can be based in part on aspect metadata added to components of the overall automation system model, including the robot. For example, the robot's end effectors can be enhanced with end effector metadata that accurately models the physics of the robot's grippers-- See paragraphs [0032-0033]); ;
wherein individual robotic cells in the micro-factory can be reconfigured, such that the micro-factory continues to function when a new robotic cell is added or a robotic cell is removed from the micro-factory (Each box 704 is deposited on one of the available chutes 710, and a stacking robot 702 picks each box 704 in turn from the bottom of the chute 710 (as illustrated in FIG. 7a) and stacks the box 704 on the pallet 714 located at the end of the chute 710 (as illustrated in FIG. 7b). The simulation also includes a simulated model of a forklift 708, which collects and removes each pallet 714 once the pallet 714 has been stacked with its full allotment of boxes 704 -- See paragraphs [0063 and 0069-0070]).
Regarding claim 10, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Oleynik discloses
a machine learning and self-improvement system to iteratively alter settings in the robotic cell, monitor and evaluate results of the alteration, and provide continuous improvement of process parameters (Machine Learning—refers to the technology wherein a software component or program improves its performance based on experience and feedback. One kind of machine learning often used in robotics is reinforcement learning, where desirable actions are rewarded and undesirable ones are penalized. Another kind is case-based learning, where previous solutions, e.g. sequences of actions by a human teacher or by the robot itself are remembered, together with any constraints or reasons for the solutions, and then are applied or reused in new settings – See paragraph [0223]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Oleyink’s teaching into Mcgregor's invention because incorporating Oleyink's teaching would enhance Mcgregor to enable to provide machine learning to the technology wherein a software component or program improves its performance based on experience and feedback performance based on experience and feedback as suggested by Oleyink (paragraphs [0223]).
Regarding claim 12, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Megregor discloses
a design-for-manufacture-or-automation (DFMA) system to use develop computer aided design (CAD) data for a product to be manufactured based on manufacturing capabilities of the robotic cells (one or more embodiments of control design and testing system 202 can incorporate digital models 302 (or other types of digital models) representing robots manufactured by one or more vendors into a larger digital model of an industrial automation system in which the robots will operate, and simulate these robot models 302 within the context of the automation system as a whole by executing, within the system's simulation environment - See paragraphs [0047, 0065-0068]).
Regarding claim 13, the system of claim 12,
Megregor discloses
wherein the CAD data is refined based on the sensor data and the state data from the physical robotic cell (The CAD model 902 may represent a mechanical design for one or more components of the automation system developed within a separate CAD system, and model import component 212 can import this model 902 either directly from the CAD system or from another source. CAD model 902 may comprise a three-dimensional graphical representation of such industrial assets as industrial robots, conveyors, tooling machines, motors, motor drives, sensors, piping, conduit, platforms, safety gates and fences, control cabinets, or other such assets - See paragraphs [0066-0067]. Assigning aspect metadata 608 for a sensor (e.g., a photo-eye, a proximity switch, etc.) to a selected element of the digital model 408 representing a sensor can designate the selected element as a digital input device that provides a digital input value to an industrial controller in response to detection of an object within a detection range of the sensor.. aspect metadata 608 for a type of pusher arm may specify that the arm requires a digital controller output to control the advanced and retracted states of the pusher arm (e.g., ON for advanced and OFF for retracted), as well as two digital inputs to read the states of respective two proximity switches at the extreme ends of travel of the pusher arm to detect when the arm is in the fully advanced or fully retracted state - See paragraph [0078] and Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Megregor discloses
automatically generating a portion of the recipe based on data from a computer aided design (CAD) system (Controller emulation component 208 can be configured to emulate execution of an industrial control program being testing on a virtualized (or emulated) industrial controller. Aspect metadata component 210 can be configured to assign aspect metadata to selected elements of a digital model of an automation system in accordance with design input received from the user. Model import component 212 can be configured to import a virtual twin of a robot or other machine, a mechanical CAD model of an automation system or machine, or another type of digital model of the system -- See paragraphs [0037 and 0040]).
Regarding claim 15, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Oleynik discloses
an integrated debugger to enable debugging the physical robotic cell utilizing logged sensor data (The raw sensor data is logged (for playback) in 182 and processed to generate information at different abstraction levels (tools/equipment used, techniques employed, times/temperatures started/ended, etc.), and then used to create a recipe-script 184 for execution by the robotic kitchen 48. The robotic kitchen 48 engages in a recipe replication process 106, whose profile depends on whether the kitchen is of a standardized or non-standardized type, which is checked by a process 186 – See paragraph [0286]), and
displaying a step-by- step execution of the recipe on the digital twin (The meta-data is time-stamped and used by the robotic kitchen to set, control, and monitor all processes and associated methods and equipment needed at every point in time as it steps through the sequence of steps in the recipe – See paragraph [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Oleynik's teaching into Megregor's invention because incorporating Oleynik's teaching would enhance Megregor to enable to control and monitor all processes and associated methods and equipment needed at every point in time as it steps through the sequence of steps in the recipe as suggested by Oleynik (paragraph [0204]).
Regarding claim 16, the system of claim 15,
Mcgregor discloses
wherein the integrated debugger enables one or more of: remote live debugging of the physical robotic cell using the logged sensor data, replay of a set of steps on the digital twin using the logged sensor data, and simulation debugging on the digital twin (The simulation carried out by the simulation component 206 mimics the behavior of the automation system's mechanical assets in response to execution of the control program on an emulated industrial controller (instantiated by the controller emulation component 208) so that proper operation can be verified prior to subsequent commissioning of the physical system and debugged control code – See paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 17, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Megregor discloses
the digital twin configured to enable previewing of the robotic cell’s actions during a process, track actions of the robotic cell during the process (some of these vendor-specific robot programming tools include simulation capabilities that allow a designer to virtually simulate a digital model 302 (e.g., a digital twin or another type of virtualized model) of the vendor's robot under the control of a user-designed robot program 304, allowing the designer to observe a simulation of the robot's expected operation under control of the user-defined program 304 -- See paragraph [0042]), and review the actions after the process (generating simulated output data 604, simulation component 206 also generates system response data 618 based on analysis of the simulated data exchange and expected behaviors of the modeled automation system in response to the simulated controller output data 602 - See paragraphs [0060- 0061]).
Regarding claim 18, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Megregor discloses
an integrated debugger to enable stepwise debugging while controlling the physical robotic cell (a programming and simulation tool offered by a given robot vendor (e.g., programming and simulation system 102) is typically only designed to support programming and simulation of that vendor's robot. Consequently, simulation tools offered by robot vendors to support their machines are not capable of accurately simulating the entire industrial context within which the robot will be operating --- See paragraph [0030]).
10. Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Megregor and Oleynik as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ghare et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0159648 A1 – IDS filed on 07/30/2024 – herein after Ghare).
Regarding claim 2, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Megregor discloses
a configuration management system to track a state of the robotic cell (the terms "to infer" and "inference" refer generally to the process of reasoning about or inferring states of the system, environment, and/or user from a set of observations as captured via events and/or data --- See Abstract, paragraphs [0024]), the configuration management system enabling deploying changes to the robotic cell (to allow end users to safety test and debug their robot programs prior to deployment on the plant floor, some robot vendors many also provide vendor-specific simulation platforms that simulate the behavior of the robot under the control of a user-defined robot program the designer may modify the robot control program 106 to bring the simulated operation into closer alignment with desired operation and perform subsequent simulations until the expected robot operation is deemed acceptable. The tested robot control program 106 can then be downloaded to the physical robot - See paragraphs [0029 and 0032, 0047]),
Mcgregor and Oleynik do not disclose
rolling back changes from a robotic cell.
Ghare discloses
rolling back changes from a robotic cell (the robotic device management service evaluates the provided parameters to determine the system requirements for performing the simulation of the application. For instance, the robotic device management service may determine the processes performed by each component of the simulation and, based on these processes, estimate the computational requirements of the component -- See paragraphs [0022-0024]. In response to the issue, the robotic device management service 204 may cause the robotic device 216 to rollback to an earlier version of the application 218 that does not trigger the issue identified by the robotic device management service 204 – See paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Ghare’s teaching into Mcgregor's and Oleynik’s inventions because incorporating Ghare's teaching would enhance Mcgregor and Oleynik to enable to indicate failure of one or more sensors resulting from execution of the application and rollback to an earlier version of the application as suggested by Ghare (paragraphs [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, the system of claim 2,
Megregor discloses
wherein the state of the robotic cell includes hardware, software, settings, and the recipe (simulation component 206 can exchange simulation data with these separate simulation platforms 406a and 406b, including reading program outputs (e.g., values of program variables) generated by the robot programs 304a and 304b during execution, and writing inputs to the robot programs 304a and 304b based on states of the simulation 306 (e.g., simulated part present signals, emergency stop signals, operating mode indications, etc.). For example, if a robot programs 304 is written such that a movement of its corresponding robot depends on states of multiple part presence sensors, simulation component 206 can provide the simulated states of these sensors to the vendor-specific simulation platform 406 executing the program 304- See paragraphs [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, the system of claim 2, further comprising:
Megregor discloses
deployment management system to enable deployment of one or more configuration changes to the robotic cell (To allow end users to safety test and debug their robot programs prior to deployment on the plant floor, some robot vendors many also provide vendor-specific simulation platforms that simulate the behavior of the robot under the control of a user-defined robot program the designer may modify the robot control program 106 to bring the simulated operation into closer alignment with desired operation and perform subsequent simulations until the expected robot operation is deemed acceptable. The tested robot control program 106 can then be downloaded to the physical robot - See paragraphs [0029 and 0032, 0047]), wherein the deployment management system enables deployment to a selected one or more robotic cells via a cloud-based system (system 202 may execute on a cloud platform or another high-level platform accessible to multiple users having authorization to access the system 202. In such embodiments, a client device can remotely access the system's design and simulation tools and leverage these tools to design and test a virtualized automation system - See paragraph [0039]).
11. Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Megregor and Oleynik as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Marc Priggmeyer et al. (Interactive Calibration and Visual Programming of Reconfigurable Robotic Workcells – IDS filed on 07/30/2024 – herein after Priggmeyer).
Regarding claim 5, the software defined manufacturing system of claim 1, further comprising:
Priggemeyer discloses
wherein physical robotic cell calibrated using the sensors, and calibration data is used to update the digital twin (programming a process is possible, it is essential to verify the resulting movement commands after calibration to avoid collisions and ensure safety. Since measured offsets are applied to the base model, including an inherent update of target poses for robot movements, transitioning between calibrated and uncalibrated state is seamless -- See page 1401).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Priggemeyer's teaching into Megregor's and Oleynik’s inventions because incorporating Priggemeyer's teaching would enhance Megregor and Oleynik to enable to conduct such a calibration interactively, and use the resulting consistency to conduct virtual commissioning of simulated assembly processes and transfer such processes to a physical robot cell as suggested by Priggemeyer (page 1396).
Regarding claim 11, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Priggemeyer discloses
an inspection system configured to utilize the sensors in the robotic cell to provide in-process inspection which need not be directly connected to the current process (services include Point-to-Point and Linear Movements, or actions to trigger sensor data processing components to identify the quality of operations that were carried out on a workpiece - See page 1397).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Priggemeyer's teaching into Megregor's and Oleynik's inventions because incorporating Priggemeyer's teaching would enhance Megregor and Oleynik to enable to identify tools that need to be triggered during actions as suggested by Priggemeyer (page 1397).
12. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Megregor and Oleynik as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Smal et al. (US pub. No. 2019/0056928 A1 – IDS filed on 07/23/2024 -- herein after Smal)
Regarding claim 19, the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Smal discloses
the micro-factory enabling reconfiguration of individual robotic cells, to continue functioning when a robotic cell is added to, or removed from, the micro-factory (a global mapping of the functions in view of the capabilities of the respective circuits) can determine further flashing steps of the newly added one or more components (and/or the reconfiguration of existing components). New functionalities can be obtained (for example, a new configuration can be implemented in the firmware to be able to control more than one LED). if a specified component is removed from a robot (for example for maintenance purposes), a factory reset can be required to be able to use said components again and/or in another robot. Some encryption mechanisms can prevent or authorize to implement a new function into a component - See paragraphs [0060 and 0085]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Smal's teaching into Megregor's and Oleynik's inventions because incorporating Smal's teaching would enhance Megregor and Oleynik to enable to discover the one or more add components, a global mapping of the functions as suggested by Smal (paragraph [0060]).
12. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mcgregor in view of Ghare et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0159648 A1 – IDS filed on 07/30/2024 – herein after Ghare).
Regarding claim 20.
Mcgregor discloses
A software defined manufacturing system (control design and testing system 202 can incorporate digital models 302 (or other types of digital models) representing robots manufactured by one or more vendors into a larger digital model of an industrial automation system in which the robots will operate – See paragraph [0044]) comprising:
a physical robotic cell (types of robotic end effectors (e.g., mechanical grippers, suction grippers, etc.) – See paragraph [0070]) including a plurality of sensors (robot depends on states of multiple part presence sensors – See paragraph [0051]), the physical robotic cell controlled by a recipe instructing the physical robotic cell to perform a process (the two industrial robots operate within this industrial environment—under control of their respective robot programs 304a and 304b—to perform such functions as material handling (e.g., picking parts from one conveyor and moving to another, or picking parts from a conveyor and stacking on a pallet) – See paragraph [0047]. Define executable scripts that can be executed by simulation component 206 and applied to an associated element of the digital model 408 (e.g., an element labeled with the corresponding aspect by the user), causing the element to mimic the behavior of its corresponding physical component within the simulation environment – See paragraph [0077]);
a data aggregation system to log a state of the physical robotic cell (the terms "to infer" and "inference" refer generally to the process of reasoning about or inferring states of the system, environment, and/or user from a set of observations as captured via events and/or data. Inference can be employed to identify a specific context or action, or can generate a probability distribution over states, for example. The interence can be probabilistic--that is, the computation of a probability distribution over states of interest based on a consideration of data and events- See paragraphs [0024, 0026, 0051, 0063, 0078 and 0085]), the state including hardware, software, settings, and the recipe during execution of the process (the process of reasoning about or inferring states of the system, environment, and/or user from a set of observations as captured via events and/or data. Inference can be employed to identify a specific context or action, or can generate a probability distribution over states, for example. The inference can be probabilistic -- that is, the computation of a probability distribution over states of interest based on a consideration of data and events. Inference can also refer to techniques employed for composing higher-level events from a set of events and/or data. Such inference results in the construction of new events or actions from a set of observed events and/or stored event data – See paragraph [0024]. If a robot programs 304 is written such that a movement of its corresponding robot depends on states of multiple part presence sensors, simulation component 206 can provide the simulated states of these sensors to the vendor-specific simulation platform 406 executing the program 304. The expected behavior of the robots can be mimicked by the simulation component 206 based on program outputs generated by the robot programs 304a and 304b as well as mechanical properties of the robots encoded in the robot models 302a and 302b (e.g., physical dimensions, axes of motion, motion constraints, etc.) – See paragraph [0051]);
a configuration and deployment management system configured to track the state of the robotic cell (Such inference results in the construction of new events or actions from a set of observed events and/or stored event data, whether or not the events are correlated in close temporal proximity, and whether the events and data come from one or several event and data sources – See paragraph [0024]. To allow end users to safety test and debug their robot programs prior to deployment on the plant floor, some robot vendors many also provide vendor-specific simulation platforms that simulate the behavior of the robot under the control of a user-defined robot program – See paragraph [0029]), the configuration management system enabling deployment of one or more configuration changes to the robotic cell (Based on observation of the simulation outputs 110, the designer may modify the robot control program 106 to bring the simulated operation into closer alignment with desired operation and perform subsequent simulations until the expected robot operation is deemed acceptable – See paragraph [0029]), and
Mcgregor does not disclose
rolling back the one or more configuration changes from a robotic cell.
Ghare discloses
rolling back the one or more configuration changes from a robotic cell (the robotic device management service evaluates the provided parameters to determine the system requirements for performing the simulation of the application. For instance, the robotic device management service may determine the processes performed by each component of the simulation and, based on these processes, estimate the computational requirements of the component -- See paragraphs [0022-0024]. In response to the issue, the robotic device management service 204 may cause the robotic device 216 to rollback to an earlier version of the application 218 that does not trigger the issue identified by the robotic device management service 204 – See paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Ghare’s teaching into Mcgregor's invention because incorporating Ghare's teaching would enhance Mcgregor to enable to indicate failure of one or more sensors resulting from execution of the application and rollback to an earlier version of the application as suggested by Ghare (paragraphs [0061]).
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ravi et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0046639 A1) discloses a manufacturing process adopting the reconfigurable robotic manufacturing cells that can work conjointly and yet have the capabilities to be reconfigured to disconnect from other cells and handle multiple tasks. The reconfigurable robotic cell is not dependent on any other robotic cells to complete work in progress – See Abstract and specification for more details.
Mansouri et al. (US Patent No. 11256224 B2) discloses software to facilitate simulating machines used in industrial automation are disclosed herein. In at least one implementation, motion of a solid model of a machine is analyzed to generate a motion profile of the solid model. An industrial controller system is then configured based on the motion profile of the solid model. A simulation of the machine controlled by the industrial controller system is executed, and motion of the simulation of the machine as controlled by the industrial controller system is analyzed – See Abstract and specification for more details.
Daniel et al. (US Patent No. 10994358 B2) discloses generally pertains to a system and method for welder system that relates to creating a welding sequence for a welding environment in which the welding sequence is based upon non-real time data collected from a welding procedure – See Abstract and specification for more details.
Kesavan et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0034357 A1) discloses receive a second version of the selected software model and validate the second version of the selected software model via validation logic by applying one or more versioning rules to the second version of the selected software model. Based on the application of the one or more versioning rules, the logic subsystem is configured to execute a versioning action on the selected software model – See Abstract and specification for more details.
Wynee et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0103857 A1) discloses managing an additive manufacturing production line include an additive manufacturing machine having a first sensor and an auxiliary equipment having a second sensor – See Abstract and specification for more details.
Oleynik (US Pub. No. 2020/0030971 A1) discloses a robotic apparatus with robotic instructions replicating a food preparation recipe. In one embodiment, a robotic control platform, comprises one or more sensors; a mechanical robotic structure including one or more end effectors, and one or more robotic arms; an electronic library database of minimanipulations; a robotic planning module configured for real-time planning and adjustment based at least in part on the sensor data received from the one or more sensors in an electronic multi-stage process file – See Abstract and specification for more details.
/MONGBAO NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2192