Remarks
This Office Action fully acknowledges applicant’s remarks filed 07/31/2026. Claims 1-23 are pending. 1-7, 9, 15 and 17-20 have been amended. Claims 21-23 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 8, 10-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korean Patent Application Publication No. KR20190013182 to Joung.
Regarding applicant’s claim 1, Joung teaches a debris filter for a syringe that includes housing (hub 111) having an opening at a bottom (where needle 112 is attached) and a port at the top that allows insertion of syringe body 10 which is a tubular object. (See Fig. 2; [0032])
A filter 130 is positioned in the housing. [0034]
A first flow path enables aspiration of a liquid sample to flow through the filter and into the syringe body as shown in Fig. 4.
A second flow path enables a sample to be dispensed from the syringe body out the opening (needle 112) without flowing through the filter as shown in Fig. 5
The first and second flow paths extend between guide plates 123 and 124 in Figs. 4 and 5.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 8, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 1 from which claim 8 depends.
Claim 8 recites that the filter is made up of one or more of: nonwoven filter, membrane filter, depth filter, airlaid, drylaid, melt spun, spunbond, meltblown, web spinning, wetlaid, and composite structures.
Joung teaches that the filter 130 can be a membrane filter at [0024].
Therefore, Joung anticipates claim 8.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 10, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 8 from which claim 10 depends.
Claim 10 recites that the filter is constructed from one or more of glass fiber, quartz fiber, cellulose, polyester, polypropylene, polyethylene, polyamides, polyimides, acrylics, mixed cellulose esters, cellulose acetate, cellulose nitrate, polyethersulfone, polysulfone, polypropylene, polyacrylonitrile, hydrophilic polydivinylidene fluoride, polytetrafluoroethylene, Polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene, polyester, polyimide, stainless steel or ceramics.
At [0024] Joung teaches that the filter can be made from several materials, including hydrophilic polydivinylidene.
Therefore, Joung anticipates claim 10.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 11, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 8 from which claim 11 depends.
Claim 11 recites that the filter is hydrophobic.
At [0024] Joung teaches that the filter can be hydrophobic.
Therefore, Joung anticipates claim 11.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 12, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 8 from which claim 12 depends.
Claim 12 recites that the filter is hydrophilic.
At [0024] Joung teaches that the filter can be hydrophilic.
Therefore, Joung anticipates claim 12.
VI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 17, as noted above Joung teaches/anticipates claim 1 from which claim 17 depends.
Claim 17 recites that the filter has a pore size selected to retain fouling materials or non-target particles larger than the pore size and to allow target particles smaller than the pore size to pass through the filter and into the tubular object.
Note, applicant does not disclose a specific pore size or what fouling material or non-target particles are.
Joung teaches a filter pore size in the range of 0.21 to 0.49 μm to filter out foreign matter. [0024]. The foreign matter is considered non-target particles and the particles passing though is considered target particles.
Therefore, Joung anticipates claim 17.
VII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 18, as noted above Joung teaches/anticipates claim 1 from which claim 18 depends.
Claim 18 recites that filter has a pore size selected to retain fouling materials or
Note, applicant does not disclose a specific pore size or what fouling material or non-target particles are.
Joung teaches a filter pore size in the range of 0.21 to 0.49 μm to filter out foreign matter. [0024]. The foreign matter is considered non-target particles and the particles passing though is considered target particles.
Therefore, Joung anticipates the device of claim 18.
VIII.) Regarding applicant’s claim 19, as noted above Joung teaches/anticipates claim 1 from which claim 19 depends.
Claim 19 recites that filter is constructed to retain non-target particles from the liquid sample and to allow target particles from the liquid sample to be processed using a concentrating pipette instrument.
Note, applicant does not disclose a specific pore size or what fouling material or non-target particles are.
Joung teaches a filter pore size in the range of 0.21 to 0.49 μm to filter out foreign matter. [0024]. The foreign matter is considered non-target particles and the particles passing though is considered target particles.
Therefore, Joung anticipates the device of claim 19.
2. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0352543 to Dawes et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 1 from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites that the tubular object comprises a tube from a pipette. Joung does not teach the tubular object is the tube of a pipette.
Dawes et al. teaches an apparatus for facilitation of treatment of a fluid containing a sample (See abstract).
Dawes et al. further teaches that the apparatus can be attached to a syringe as shown in Fig. 4 or attached to a pipette as shown in Fig. 9. Both syringes and pipettes are known to provide for aspiration and dispensing of fluids.
The device of Dawe et al. aspirates a liquid sample into a syringe or pipette and then dispenses the liquid sample through a filter medium 50 to “treat or modify fluid flowing through the medium.” [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Joung to provide the filter device of Joung for use with a pipette (having a tip) as taught by Dawes et al. which teaches use of a similar device for syringes or pipettes.
Therefore, claim 2 is obvious of Joung in view of Dawes et al.
3. Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Joung as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Dawes et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0197685 to Alburty et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 3, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 1 from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 3 recites that a plurality of particles in a fluid sample aspirated via the opening are captured by hollow fibers within the tubular object and the particles are then dispensed through said
As noted above, it would have been obvious to use a pipette in Joung in place of a syringe as taught by Dawes et al.
Joung in view of Dawes et al. does not teach that a plurality of particles in a fluid sample aspirated via the opening are captured by hollow fibers within the tubular object and the particles are then dispensed through said bypass flow path.
Alburty et al. teaches a portable concentrator for capturing target particles [0013].
In para. [0047] Alburty et al. teaches that a hollow fiber 114 having one or more hollow fiber filters is provided in chamber 110 into which a fluid is drawn to capture target particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Joung in view of Dawes et al. to include hollow fibers in the pipette body to capture target particles as taught by Alburty et al. as a matter of using a known filter type for particle capture.
Therefore, Joung in view of Dawes et al. and Alburty et al. renders claim 3 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 1 from which claim 4 depends.
Claim 4 recites a plurality of particles in a fluid sample aspirated via the opening are captured by hollow fibers within a pipette tip and the particles are then dispensed through said bypass flow path.
As noted above, it would have been obvious to use a pipette in Joung in place of a syringe as taught by Dawes et al.
Joung in view of Dawes et al. does not teach that a plurality of particles in a fluid sample aspirated via the opening are captured by hollow fibers within a pipette tip and the particles are then dispensed through said bypass flow path.
Alburty et al. teaches that target particles captured can be eluted by a liquid [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Joung in view of Dawes et al. to include hollow fibers in an internal portion of the pipette, including a section of the pipette tip and elute and dispense the particles through the bypass flow path in view of Alburty et al. teaching capturing and releasing target particles in a hollow fiber filter.
Therefore, Joung in view of Dawes et al. and Alburty et al. renders claim 4 obvious.
4. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Joung as applied to claim 8 and further in view of Korean Patent No. KR101785441 to Park.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 9, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 8 from which claim 9 depends.
Claim 9 recites that the filter contains a polymeric binder resin or resins to maintain structural integrity of the filter.
Joung does not teach that the filter contains a polymeric binder resin or resins to maintain structural integrity of the filter.
Park teaches pipettes that includes filters. In para [0032] Park teaches that the filters can be formed of a rigid polymeric resin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Joung to include a rigid polymer resin in the filter of Joung et al. as taught by Park for purposes of add structural support to the filter.
Therefore, Joung in view of Park renders claim 9 obvious.
5. Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joung as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0081209 to Brewer.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 13, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 8 from which claim 13 depends.
Claim 13 recites that the filter is coated with a filter aid material.
Joung does not teach that the filter is coated with a filter aid material.
Brewer teaches pipette tips for removing unwanted sample matrix components [0039] which includes sorbents in the pipette tips such as silica gel and diatomaceous earth [0029], as shown in Fig. 3 for analysis of the samples.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Joung to coat the filter with silica gel for purposes of removing unwanted sample matrix components from samples as taught by Brewer for analysis purposes.
Silica gel is one of applicant’s disclosed filter aids.
Therefore, Joung in view of Brewer renders claim 13 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 14, as noted above Joung in view of Brewer renders obvious claim 13 from which claim 14 depends.
Claim 14 recites that the filter is coated with one or more of the following: diatomaceous earth, polyvinyl polypyrrolidone, molecular sieve, silica gel, perlite, cellulose, clay, or cotton fiber.
As noted above, Brewer teaches pipette tips for removing unwanted sample matrix components [0039] which includes sorbents in the pipette tips such as silica gel and diatomaceous earth [0029], as shown in Fig. 3 for analysis of the samples.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Joung to coat the filter with silica gel for purposes of removing unwanted sample matrix components from samples as taught by Brewer for analysis purposes.
Silica gel is one of applicant’s disclosed filter aids.
Therefore, claim 14 is obvious over Joung in view of Dawes et al. and Brewer.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 15, as noted above Joung anticipates claim 1 from which claim 15 depends.
Claim 15 recites that a granular or particle-type filter aid is disposed within an interstitial space between the filter and the housing within the first flow path.
Joung does not teach that a granular or particle-type filter aid is disposed within an interstitial space between the filter and the housing within the first flow path.
Brewer teaches sample matrix components [0039] which includes sorbents in the pipette tips such as small particle size silica gel and diatomaceous earth [0029], as shown in Fig. 3 for analysis of the samples.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Joung to include small particle size silica gel and diatomaceous earth as taught by Brewer between the filter of Joung and above the bottom of the housing (i.e. within an interstitial space between the filter and the housing within the first flow path) for purposes of removing unwanted sample matrix components from samples as taught by Brewer for analysis purposes.
Silica gel and diatomaceous earth are some of applicant’s disclosed filter aids.
Therefore, Joung in view of Brewer renders claim 15 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 16, as noted above Joung in view of Brewer et al. renders obvious claim 15 from which claim 16 depends.
Claim 16 recites that the filter is modified or coated with one or more of the following: diatomaceous earth, polyvinyl polypyrrolidone, molecular sieve, silica gel, perlite, cellulose, clay, or cotton fiber.
Brewer teaches pipette tips for removing unwanted sample matrix components [0039] which includes sorbents in the pipette tips such as silica gel and diatomaceous earth [0029], as shown in Fig. 3 for analysis of the samples.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Joung to include any of the sorbent materials of Brewer including silica gel and/or diatomaceous earth in or on the filter of Joung for purposes of removing unwanted sample matrix components from samples as taught by Brewer for analysis purposes.
Therefore, Joung in view of Brewer renders claim 16 is obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 20-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a foil seal disposed within the housing between the filter and a bottom opening that is broke by a tubular object to change to bypass an original flow path to a bypass flow path in conjunction with the device of claim 1 as recited in claim 5. Claim 6 is dependent on claim 5.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a foil seal disposed within the housing that is broke using a pipette tip that is pushed into a pocket at a bottom end of the housing change to bypass an original flow path to a bypass flow path in conjunction with the device of claim 1 as recited in claim 7.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a foil seal disposed within the housing that is broke by a force of a tubular object from pushing down on a manifold head of the concentrating pipette instrument as recited in claim 20 in conjunction with the device in claims 1 and 19.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a filter having a lumen, wherein a tubular object inserted into the lumen and pushed to the bottom end of a housing to change an original flow path to a bypass flow path as recited in claim 21 in conjunction with the device of claim 1.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a first interstitial space disposed between an outside wall of a filter and an inside wall of a housing; a second interstitial space disposed between an inside wall of the filter and an outside wall of a tubular object; and wherein flow of a liquid sample through the filter is from the first interstitial space to the second interstitial space as recited in claim 22 in conjunction with the device of claim 1.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest an interstitial space formed between a filter and an inside wall of a housing, wherein a filter aid is contained as recited in claim 23 on conjunction with the device of claim 1.
The closest prior art is Korean Patent Application Publication No. KR20190013182 to Joung which is discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of applicant’s response applicant argues that Joung does not disclose or teach a bypass flow path that enables the injection fluid to be dispensed out the inlet opening without backflow through the original inflow path.
As noted above, Joung has been relied upon as teaching first and second flow paths extend between guide plates 123 and 124 in Figs. 4 and 5. These flow paths enable the injection fluid to be dispensed out the inlet opening without backflow through the original inflow path.
On page 11 of applicant’s response applicant argues that Joung does not disclose or suggest a filter characterized by a pore size selected to retain a non-target particle size range and pass a target particle size range.
As noted above, applicant does not disclose a specific pore size or what fouling material or non-target particles are.
Joung teaches a filter pore size in the range of 0.21 to 0.49 μm to filter out foreign matter. [0024]. The foreign matter is considered non-target particles and the particles passing though is considered target particles.
On page 12 of applicant’s response applicant argues that applicant does not see support for the flow control apparatus of Dawes that can be attached to a pipette as a separate prefilter device.
Dawes et al. teaches an apparatus for facilitation of treatment of a fluid containing a sample (See abstract).
Dawes et al. further teaches that the apparatus can be attached to a syringe as shown in Fig. 4 or attached to a pipette as shown in Fig. 9. Both syringes and pipettes are known to provide for aspiration and dispensing of fluids.
Dawes et al. has been relied upon as teaching that syringes (used by Joung) and pipettes are known to be used interchangeably to aspirate and dispense liquids, rendering it obvious to use a pipette in conjunction with the device of Joung.
On page 13 of applicant’s response in reference to claim 15 applicant argues that Joung and/or Dawes do not teach or suggest the claimed structural arrangement of a granular or particle-type filter aid within an interstitial space between the filter and the housing. The interstitial space formed between the housing and the filter filled with a filter aid is structurally distinct from the combination of Dawes with Joung.
As noted above, Brewer teaches small particle size silica gel and diatomaceous earth. The interstitial space recited in claim 15 reads on a space between the filter and the bottom of the housing.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection for these claims relies upon Alburty et al. as necessitated by applicant’s amendments to these claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 9 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection for these claims relies upon Park as necessitated by applicant’s amendments to these claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798