DETAILED ACTION
1. The office acknowledges the receipt of the following and placed of record in the file: Application dated 7/30/2024.
2. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahurin et al. (“Mahurin”), 2021/0240251.
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15, Mahurin teaches a method of system level power management [Fig-1] for a system-on-chip (SoC), comprising:
executing multiple compute units in the SoC [Para: 0032(“one or more central processing units (CPUs) 104” Where the CPUs are in processor chip, see 0031)];
receiving a digital power meter (DPM) value for each compute unit [Para: (“plurality of digital power meters configured to measure power on a thread-by-thread basis at the thread logic”)], the DPM value comprising an estimated power consumption of the compute unit [Para: 0029 and 0030 (where “each thread may have its events counted by a respective digital power meter. This count is used to approximate an amount of power consumed by the thread”)]; and
modifying, in response to an updated system power budget [Para: 0036 (modifying power consumption due to “applications 202(1)-202(4) cause … to exceed some limit”)], a fair power resource allocation for each of the multiple compute units of the SoC based on a respective DPM value and the updated system power budget (as “throttle only some of the thread execution circuits 206(1)-206(4) that consume high power and not throttle any low power thread execution circuits” and keep performance level up, i.e., fair power resource allocation), the modifying occurring without relying on a maximum DPM value across compute units [Para: 0038(thread execution circuit 206(1) throttled to achieve from 40 U to 32 U and execution circuit 206(2) to achieve 30 U to 28 U without utilizing or relying maximum DPM values that allows and no throttling takes place to execution unit 206(3) -206(4) )].
Regarding Claims 2, 9 and 16, Mahurin teaches further comprising filtering each DPM value to obtain an averaged per compute unit DPM value [Para: 0030(“average power may be … shared power limit” as DMP value)].
Regarding Claims 3, 10 and 17, Mahurin teaches the filtering comprises low-pass filtering [Para: 0041(low pass filter 312)].
Regarding Claims 4, 11 and 18, Mahurin teaches rounding each DPM value to a scale of the updated system power budget [Para: 0067(“Values such as 257 and 511 are provided to assist in rounding”)].
Regarding Claims 5, 12 and 19, Mahurin teaches modifying the fair power resource allocation comprises decreasing a power level for one of the multiple compute units in response to the respective DPM value being greater than the updated system power budget [Para: 0038 (thread execution circuit 206(1) throttled to achieve from 40 U to 32 U and execution circuit 206(2) to achieve 30 U to 28 U)].
Regarding Claims 6, 13 and 20, Mahurin teaches modifying a higher power compute unit before modifying a lower power compute unit [Para: 0038(“throttle only some of the thread execution circuits 206(1)-206(4) that consume high power and not throttle any low power thread execution circuits”)].
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Mahurin teaches prioritizing selected compute units, prior to modifying the power resource allocation [Para: 0039(“priority of threads” that corresponds to core)].
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED H REHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176