DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: what should have been claim 13 is numbered as claim 10. Appropriate correction is required.
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 10 been renumbered 13.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 14, 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12 and 17 of copending Application No. 18/789669. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application claims provide coverage for an embodiment within the scope of the claim being examined.
Claims 1, 14, 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 17 and 18 of copending Application No. 18/789664. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application claims provide coverage for an embodiment within the scope of the claim being examined.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHANG et al. Pub. No.: US 20230232402 (Hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a method (see abstract) comprising:
determining, from among a plurality of channel state information (CSI) configurations, a CSI configuration usable for CSI reporting, the plurality of CSI configurations including a CSI Type I configuration and a CSI Type II configuration, the CSI configuration being one of the CSI Type I configuration or the CSI Type II configuration (see fig.5 and paragraph [0071]);
causing a first indication about the CSI configuration to a network (see fig.5 and paragraph [0075]);
processing information that is received from the network based on the first indication and that includes a second indication to use the CSI configuration (see fig.5 and paragraph [0079]); and
generating a CSI report based on the CSI configuration (see fig.5 and paragraph [0082]).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the first indication corresponds to a recommendation to use the CSI Type I configuration or the CSI Type II configuration for the CSI reporting (see paragraphs [0075] and [0079]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the CSI configuration is determined based on a first estimated throughput capacity associated with the CSI Type I configuration and a second estimated throughput capacity associated with the CSI Type II configuration (see paragraph [0058]).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the CSI configuration is for a user equipment (UE) and is determined by at least selecting one of the CSI type I configuration or the CSI type II configuration based on a position of the UE relative to a base station of the network (see paragraph [0084]).
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang discloses the base station as discussed in the rejection of claim 14. Zhang further discloses wherein the configuration information further indicates a periodic CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein each one of the CSI Type I configuration and the CSI Type II configuration is for aperiodic CSI reporting (see paragraph [0065]).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang discloses the base station as discussed in the rejection of claim 14. Zhang further discloses wherein the second indication is sent in downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first indication corresponds to a recommendation to use the CSI Type I configuration or the CSI Type II configuration for the CSI reporting, and wherein the execution of the instructions further configures the base station to determine whether to override the recommendation based on a network condition (see paragraph [0068]).
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 18, Zhang discloses the apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 17. Zhang further discloses wherein the first indication is sent in layer 1 signaling associated with an uplink control channel or an uplink shared channel or is sent via layer 2 signaling (see paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang discloses the apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 17. Zhang further discloses wherein the CSI configuration is for a user equipment (UE) and is selected as one of the CSI type I configuration or the CSI type II configuration based on a comparison of a metric associated with the UE and a threshold value, wherein the threshold value is based on a battery level of the UE, a network condition, or a service requirement (see paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang discloses the apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 17. Zhang further discloses wherein the CSI Type II configuration includes a CSI enhanced Type (eType) II configuration (see paragraph [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. Pub. No.: US 20230232402 (Hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Elshafie et al. Pub. No.: US 20230180278 (Hereinafter “Elshafie”).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3.
Zhang fails to disclose:
wherein the CSI configuration is determined to be the CSI Type I configuration based on the first estimated throughput capacity being larger than the second estimated throughput capacity.
In analogous art, Elshafie teaches:
wherein the CSI configuration is determined to be the CSI Type I configuration based on the first estimated throughput capacity being larger than the second estimated throughput capacity (see paragraph [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang with the teaching as taught by Elshafie in order to provide techniques for modifying channel state information (CSI) based on delaying transmission of the CSI report, thereby satisfying QOS.
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang in view of Elshafie discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. Elshafie further discloses wherein the CSI configuration is determined to be the CSI Type II configuration based on a difference between the second estimated throughput capacity and the first estimated throughput capacity being larger than a threshold value (see paragraph [0099]).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang in view of Elshafie discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 5. Elshafie further discloses wherein the threshold value is indicated by configuration information received from the network (see paragraphs [0046] and [0101]).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Zhang fails to disclose:
wherein the CSI configuration is for a user equipment (UE) and is determined by at least selecting the CSI type II configuration based on an indication that a speed of the UE is smaller than a threshold value.
In analogous art, Elshafie teaches:
wherein the CSI configuration is for a user equipment (UE) and is determined by at least selecting the CSI type II configuration based on an indication that a speed of the UE is smaller than a threshold value (see paragraph [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang with the teaching as taught by Elshafie in order to provide techniques for modifying channel state information (CSI) based on delaying transmission of the CSI report, thereby satisfying QOS.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Zhang fails to disclose:
wherein the CSI configuration is determined based on a measurement of a reference signal and a comparison of the measurement with a threshold value.
In analogous art, Elshafie teaches:
wherein the CSI configuration is determined based on a measurement of a
reference signal and a comparison of the measurement with a threshold value (see
paragraph [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang with the teaching as taught by Elshafie in order to provide techniques for modifying channel state information (CSI) based on delaying transmission of the CSI report, thereby satisfying QOS.
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang in view of Elshafie discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 10. Elshafie further discloses wherein the measurement includes a reference signal received power (RSRP), and wherein the CSI configuration is determined by at least selecting the CSI type II configuration based on the RSRP being larger than the threshold value (see paragraph [0111]).
Claim 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. Pub. No.: US 20230232402 (Hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of ABEBE et al. Pub. No.: US 20230208493 (Hereinafter “Abebe”).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Zhang fails to disclose:
wherein the CSI configuration is for a user equipment (UE) and is determined based on a Doppler metric of the UE.
In analogous art, Abebe teaches:
wherein the CSI configuration is for a user equipment (UE) and is determined based on a Doppler metric of the UE (see paragraph [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang with the teaching as taught by Abebe in order to configure a user equipment (UE) with CSI reporting
configuration, that can be used to report time-varying CSI in an efficient manner by utilizing various codebook types.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang in view of Abebe discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. Abebe further discloses wherein the CSI configuration is determined by at least selecting the CSI Type I configuration based on the Doppler metric being larger than a threshold value (see paragraph [0148]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. Pub. No.: US 20230232402 (Hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of VITTHALADEVUNI et al. Pub. No.: US 20240421874 (Hereinafter “VITTHALADEVUNI”).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Zhang fails to disclose:
wherein the CSI Type I configuration or the CSI type II configuration is recommended or selected by the UE based on an artificial intelligence (AI)-machine learning (ML) model trained to select between CSI Type I configurations and CSI Type II configurations.
In analogous art, VITTHALADEVUNI teaches:
wherein the CSI Type I configuration or the CSI type II configuration is recommended or selected by the UE based on an artificial intelligence (AI)-machine learning (ML) model trained to select between CSI Type I configurations and CSI Type II configurations (see paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang with the teaching as taught by VITTHALADEVUNI in order to provide signaling a transition between types of channel state information processing.
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424