Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VITTHALADEVUNI et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0421874 A1), hereinafter, VITTHALADEVUNI,
in view of Jeon et al. (Patent No: US 2025/0106669 A1), hereinafter, Jeon.
Regarding Claim 1, VITTHALADEVUNI teaches,
A method comprising: processing configuration information indicating a channel state information (CSI) Type I configuration and a CSI Type II configuration; -Paragraph [0027, 0029] ([0027] recites, “There are also types of non-ML-based CSI processing, such as Type-I CSI processing, Type-II CSI processing, or eType-II CSI processing, described elsewhere herein.” )
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly teach,
determining a first rank indicator (RI) based on a first process that uses the CSI type I configuration; determining a second RI based on a second process that uses the CSI type II configuration and the first RI; and generating a CSI report that includes the second RI and that corresponds to the CSI type II configuration.
However, in an analogous invention, Jeon teaches,
determining a first rank indicator (RI) based on a first process that uses the CSI type I configuration; -Paragraph [0164, 0110] ([0164] recites, “The UE determines CSI reports…” [0110] recites, “For Type I CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CRI (if reported), CQI for the first codeword (if reported). Part 2 contains PMI (if reported), LI (if reported) and contains the CQI for the second codeword (if reported) when RI is larger than 4….”)
determining a second RI based on a second process that uses the CSI type II configuration and the first RI; and generating a CSI report that includes the second RI and that corresponds to the CSI type II configuration. -Paragraph [0200] ([0200] recites, “ For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI. Part 2 contains the PMI and LI (if reported) of the Type II CSI. “)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “determining a first rank indicator (RI) based on a first process that uses the CSI type I configuration; determining a second RI based on a second process that uses the CSI type II configuration and the first RI; and generating a CSI report that includes the second RI and that corresponds to the CSI type II configuration.” of Jeon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service by fast adaptation of a NW operation state to the traffic types [0127].
Regarding Claim 7, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 1.
VITTHALADEVUNI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: processing an indication to use the CSI type II configuration instead of the CSI type I configuration for the CSI report, -Fig. 6 (620, 630); Paragraph [0103, 0107] ([0103] recites, “As shown by reference number 620, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, signaling indicating a transition from a first type of CSI processing to a second type of CSI processing….” [0107] recites, “As shown by reference number 630, the UE may transition to the second type of CSI processing in accordance with the signaling and in accordance with a timeline.“)
wherein the first RI is generated after the indication is processed in support of reducing a complexity of the second RI being determined. -Paragraph [0085] ([0085] recites, “…A Type-II codebook may include a more detailed CSI report for multi-user MIMO and may include a group of beams. In some cases, the Type II CSI feedback may use a compressed Type II precoder. This may reduce overhead of Type II CSI feedback….. Type-II CSI feedback may, in addition to or as an alternative to CQI, RI, and/or PMI, provide a W.sub.1 codebook payload indicating a selected set of L beams from an oversampled codebook, and may further indicate a subspace defined by L beams per polarization”)
Regarding Claim 8, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first RI is determined based on a first search of a first codebook associated with the CSI type I configuration.
However, in an analogous invention, Jeon teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first RI is determined based on a first search of a first codebook associated with the CSI type I configuration. -Paragraph [0086-0087] ([0086-0087] recites, “A CSI reporting framework can be “implicit” in the form of CQI/PMI/RI, and possibly CRI, as derived from a codebook assuming SU transmission from eNB….. A serving gNB can configure Type-I and Type-II CSI codebooks to a UE using higher layer signalling to provide a CodebookConfig IE,..”As explained above first RI is determined from first codebook associated with Type-I CSI configuration)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “the first RI is determined based on a first search of a first codebook associated with the CSI type I configuration.” of Jeon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service by fast adaptation of a NW operation state to the traffic types [0127].
Regarding Claim 9, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 8, wherein the second RI is determined based on a second search of a second codebook associated with the CSI type II configuration, wherein the second search is based on the first RI.
However, in an analogous invention, Jeon teaches,
The method of claim 8, wherein the second RI is determined based on a second search of a second codebook associated with the CSI type II configuration, wherein the second search is based on the first RI. -Paragraph [0086-0087, 0110-0111] ([0086-0087] recites, “A CSI reporting framework can be “implicit” in the form of CQI/PMI/RI, and possibly CRI, as derived from a codebook assuming SU transmission from eNB. Because of the inherent SU assumption while deriving CSI, implicit CSI feedback is inadequate for MU transmissions. For MU-centric operation, a high-resolution Type-II codebook, in addition to low resolution Type-I codebook, can be used. A serving gNB can configure Type-I and Type-II CSI codebooks to a UE using higher layer signalling to provide a CodebookConfig IE, as described in 3GPP standard specification, that includes the following parameters: (1) codebookType includes type1, type2 and possibly sub-types such as typeI-SinglePanel, typeI-MultiPanel, typeII, and typeII-PortSelection, and corresponding parameters for each type; “[0110-0111] recites, “For Type I CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CRI (if reported), CQI for the first codeword (if reported). Part 2 contains PMI (if reported), LI (if reported) and contains the CQI for the second codeword (if reported) when RI is larger than 4. For a CSI-ReportConfig configured with codebookType set to “typeISinglePanel” and the corresponding CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement configured with two resource groups and N resource pairs, Part 1 contains RI(s), CRI(s), CQI(s) for the first codeword and is zero padded to a fixed payload size (if needed). Part 2 contains the CQI(s) for the second codeword (if reported) when RI is larger than 4, Us (if reported) and PMI(s). For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI as illustrated in 3GPP standard specification. The fields of Part 1—RI (if reported), CQI, and the indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients for each layer—are separately encoded. Part 2 contains the PMI and LI (if reported) of the Type II CSI.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “the second RI is determined based on a second search of a second codebook associated with the CSI type II configuration, wherein the second search is based on the first RI.” of Jeon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service by fast adaptation of a NW operation state to the traffic types [0127].
Regarding Claim 12, VITTHALADEVUNI teaches,
A base station comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, configure the base station to: -Paragraph [0010, 0008] ([0010] recites, “Some aspects described herein relate to a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions for wireless communication by a network node. The set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the network node, may cause the network node to transmit signaling…” [0008] recites, “The network node may include one or more memories and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories. The one or more processors may be configured to transmit signaling indicating a transition from a first type of CSI processing to a second type of CSI processing at a UE…”)
send, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating a plurality of channel state information (CSI) configurations, the plurality of CSI configurations including a Type I configuration and a CSI Type II configuration; -Paragraph [0005, 0106] ([0106] recites, “the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the uplink resource, such as an RRC configuration indicating the resource.”[0005] recites, “The method may include transmitting signaling indicating a transition from a first type of CSI processing to a second type of CSI processing at a UE..” It is inherent and can be easily understood by an ordinary person with the skill in the art that CSI configurations can be conveyed from the network node (base station) to the UE by RRC configuration.)
send, to the UE, an indication to use the CSI type II configuration for CSI reporting; -Fig 6 (620); Paragraph [0103] ([0103] recites, “As shown by reference number 620, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, signaling indicating a transition from a first type of CSI processing to a second type of CSI processing…”
and receive, from the UE based on the indication, a CSI report, -Fig. 6 (630); Paragraph [0080-0081, 0107] ([0107] recites, “As shown by reference number 630, the UE may transition to the second type of CSI processing in accordance with the signaling and in accordance with a timeline. For example, the UE may cease generating CSI using the first type of CSI processing, and may start generating CSI using the second type of CSI processing.” [0080] recites, “…the UE may measure CSI-RSs and transmit a CSI report that indicates CSI to the transmitter (e.g., a gNB).”)
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly mention,
wherein the CSI report is generated based on using a first rank indicator (RI) corresponding to the CSI Type I configuration in a process that uses the CSI type II configuration.
However, in analogous invention, Jeon teaches,
wherein the CSI report is generated based on using a first rank indicator (RI) corresponding to the CSI Type I configuration in a process that uses the CSI type II configuration. -Paragraph [0200] ([0200] recites, “For Type II CSI feedback, Part 1 contains RI (if reported), CQI, and an indication of the number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for the Type II CSI. Part 2 contains the PMI and LI (if reported) of the Type II CSI. “)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “CSI report is generated based on using a first rank indicator (RI) corresponding to the CSI Type I configuration in a process that uses the CSI type II configuration.” of Jeon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service by fast adaptation of a NW operation state to the traffic types [0127].
Regarding Claim 13, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 12.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly mention,
The base station of claim 12, wherein the configuration information further indicates a periodic CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein each one of the CSI Type I configuration and the CSI Type II configuration is for aperiodic CSI reporting.
However, in analogous invention, Jeon teaches,
The base station of claim 12, wherein the configuration information further indicates a periodic CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein each one of the CSI Type I configuration and the CSI Type II configuration is for aperiodic CSI reporting. -Paragraph [0087, 0090] ([0087] recites, “A serving gNB can configure Type-I and Type-II CSI codebooks to a UE using higher layer signalling to provide a CodebookConfig IE, as described in 3GPP standard specification..” [0090] recites, “For aperiodic CSI, both aperiodic CSI reporting and aperiodic CSI-RS transmission are triggered using a “CSI request” field within a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission, such as DCI format 0_1…”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “the configuration information further indicates a periodic CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein each one of the CSI Type I configuration and the CSI Type II configuration is for aperiodic CSI reporting.” of Jeon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service by fast adaptation of a NW operation state to the traffic types [0127].
Regarding Claim 14, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 13.
VITTHALADEVUNI further teaches,
The base station of claim 13, wherein the indication corresponds to first CSI reporting using the CSI Type II configuration being requested based on a network condition. -Paragraph [0085] ([0085] recites, “A Type-II codebook may include a more detailed CSI report for multi-user MIMO and may include a group of beams. In some cases, the Type II CSI feedback may use a compressed Type II precoder. This may reduce overhead of Type II CSI feedback. The compressed precoder may exploit the sparsity of the spatial domain and/or the frequency domain.” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that depending on the network condition, it may be required for the network to support multi-user MIMO and then it can request for CSI Type-II feedback.)
Regarding Claim 15, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 14.
VITTHALADEVUNI further teaches,
The base station of claim 14, wherein second CSI reporting using the CSI type I configuration is requested based on a change to the network condition. -Paragraph [0085] (As explained in claim 13, when the network condition changes, e.g., the network does not need to support multi-user MIMO, it is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that network might request for CSI Type I feedback reporting)
Claim 17 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is drawn towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
VITTHALADEVUNI further teaches,
An apparatus comprising: a receiver; a transmitter; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled with the receiver and the transmitter and configured to: process configuration information received via the receiver -Fig. 9; Paragraph [0169] ([0169] recites, “FIG. 9 is a diagram of an example apparatus 900 for wireless communication, in accordance with the present disclosure. The apparatus 900 may be a UE, or a UE may include the apparatus 900. In some aspects, the apparatus 900 includes a reception component 902, a transmission component 904, and/or a communication manager 906, which may be in communication with one another (for example, via one or more buses and/or one or more other components). In some aspects, the communication manager 906 is the communication manager 140 described in connection with FIG. 1. As shown, the apparatus 900 may communicate with another apparatus 908, such as a UE or a network node (such as a CU, a DU, an RU, or a base station), using the reception component 902 and the transmission component 904.”)
Regarding Claim 18, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 17.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly mention,
The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) signal and further indicates a periodic CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein each one of the CSI Type I configuration and the CSI Type II configuration is for aperiodic CSI reporting.
However, in analogous invention, Jeon teaches,
The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) signal and further indicates a periodic CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein each one of the CSI Type I configuration and the CSI Type II configuration is for aperiodic CSI reporting. -Paragraph [0087, 0090] ([0087] recites, “A serving gNB can configure Type-I and Type-II CSI codebooks to a UE using higher layer signalling to provide a CodebookConfig IE, as described in 3GPP standard specification..” [0090] recites, “For aperiodic CSI, both aperiodic CSI reporting and aperiodic CSI-RS transmission are triggered using a “CSI request” field within a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission, such as DCI format 0_1…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) signal and further indicates a periodic CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein each one of the CSI Type I configuration and the CSI Type II configuration is for aperiodic CSI reporting.” of Jeon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service by fast adaptation of a NW operation state to the traffic types [0127].
Regarding Claim 19, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 18.
VITTHALADEVUNI further teaches,
The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the indication is received in downlink control information (DCI) and corresponds to a selection of the CSI Type II configuration based on a network condition or a user equipment (UE)-related condition. -Fig. 6 (610); Paragraph [0100] ([0100] recites, “As shown by reference number 610, in some aspects, the UE may transmit a request to transition a type of CSI processing (e.g., from a first type of CSI processing to a second type of CSI processing). In some aspects, the request may be based at least in part on a condition at the UE, such as an available UE power, a service type of a communication of the UE (e.g., eMBB versus ultra-reliable low-latency communication), or the like. “)
Regarding Claim 20, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 17.
VITTHALADEVUNI further teaches,
The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the CSI Type II configuration includes a CSI enhanced Type (eType) II configuration. -Paragraph [0085] ([0085] recites, “In some aspects, CSI feedback may include enhanced Type-II (eType-II) CSI feedback.”)
Claims 2-4, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VITTHALADEVUNI in view of Jeon and further in view of Hung Dinh LY (Patent No: US 2025/0119778 A1), hereinafter, LY.
Regarding Claim 2, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the second process uses a constraint on a set of candidate RIs in a CSI Type II computation, wherein the constraint is based on the first RI.
However, in an analogous invention, LY teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the second process uses a constraint on a set of candidate RIs in a CSI Type II computation, wherein the constraint is based on the first RI. -Paragraph [0136, 0149] ([0136] recites, “For example, the UE 120 may transmit a CSI report indicating CSI feedback (e.g., for single TRP CSI and multi-TRP CSI associated with a given CSI report setting and in the same CSI report). For example, for Type I, Type II, Enhanced Type II, and Further Enhanced Type II Port Selection CSI feedback on PUSCH, a CSI report may include two parts (e.g., Part 1 and Part 2). Part 1 may have a fixed payload size and may be used to identify the number of information bits in Part 2. Part 1 may be transmitted in its entirety before Part 2. For Type I CSI feedback, Part 1 may indicate RI (if reported), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) (if reported), and/or CQI for a first codeword (if reported). Part 2 may indicate a PMI (if reported), a layer indicator (LI) (if reported) and/or a CQI for a second codeword (if reported) when RI is larger than 4. For a CSI report setting (e.g., a CSI-ReportConfig) configured with codebookType set to ‘type1-SinglePanel’ and the corresponding CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement configured with two resource groups and N resource pairs (e.g., indicating that the CSI-RS resource set is configured for multi-TRP CSI), Part 1 may include RI(s), CRI(s), CQI(s) for the first codeword and may be zero padded to a fixed payload size (if needed). Part 2 may include the CQI(s) for the second codeword (if reported) when RI is larger than 4, LIs (if reported), and PMI(s). As used herein, “CSI” or CSI feedback” may refer to information indicated via a CSI report, such as an RI, a CRI, a CQI, a PMI, and/or an LI, among other examples.” [0149] recites, “The codebook type may have an RI restriction, or a limit on the quantity of layers…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “second process uses a constraint on a set of candidate RIs in a CSI Type II computation, wherein the constraint is based on the first RI.” of LY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability and/or to increase throughput [0032].
Regarding Claim 3, VITTHALADEVUNI, Jeon and LY teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 2, wherein the constraint limits the set of candidate RIs to the first RI.
However, in an analogous invention, LY teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the constraint limits the set of candidate RIs to the first RI. -Paragraph [0136, 0149] (As recited in and explained in Claim 2, The codebook type may have an RI restriction, or a limit on the quantity of layers
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “the constraint limits the set of candidate RIs to the first RI.” of LY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability and/or to increase throughput [0032].
Regarding Claim 4, VITTHALADEVUNI, Jeon and LY teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 2, wherein the constraint limits the set of candidate RIs to a range of RIs, wherein the range is based on the first RI.
However, in an analogous invention, LY teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the constraint limits the set of candidate RIs to a range of RIs, wherein the range is based on the first RI. -Paragraph[0136, 0158]([0158] recites, “For example, the sub-configuration may indicate a first CSI-RS port configuration, a first port subset indication, a first codebook subset restrictions, and/or a first rank restriction for the first resource group (e.g., indicated by the first one or more parameters and/or the first configuration information). Additionally, the sub-configuration may indicate a second CSI-RS port configuration, a second port subset indication, a second codebook subset restrictions, and/or a second rank restriction for the second resource group (e.g., indicated by the second one or more parameters and/or the second configuration information). Additionally, the sub-configuration may indicate a rank restriction for respective pairs of resources (e.g., CMR pairs from the first resource group and the second resource group).” As explained above, there can be separate CSI configuration and separate (first/second) rank restriction and possible values/range can be within the parameters of the configuration. It easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the range of RIs can be based on the first RI.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “the constraint limits the set of candidate RIs to a range of RIs, wherein the range is based on the first RI.” of LY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability and/or to increase throughput [0032].
Regarding Claim 10, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first RI corresponds to a maximum throughput capacity based on a CSI Type I codebook, wherein the second process uses a constraint on a set of candidate RIs in a CSI Type II computation, wherein the constraint excludes RIs ranked lower than the first RI from the set.
However, in an analogous invention, LY teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first RI corresponds to a maximum throughput capacity based on a CSI Type I codebook, wherein the second process uses a constraint on a set of candidate RIs in a CSI Type II computation, wherein the constraint excludes RIs ranked lower than the first RI from the set. -Paragraph [0136, 0158] ([0136] recites, “For example, the UE 120 may transmit a CSI report indicating CSI feedback (e.g., for single TRP CSI and multi-TRP CSI associated with a given CSI report setting and in the same CSI report). For example, for Type I, Type II, Enhanced Type II, and Further Enhanced Type II Port Selection CSI feedback on PUSCH, a CSI report may include two parts (e.g., Part 1 and Part 2). Part 1 may have a fixed payload size and may be used to identify the number of information bits in Part 2. Part 1 may be transmitted in its entirety before Part 2. For Type I CSI feedback, Part 1 may indicate RI (if reported), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) (if reported), and/or CQI for a first codeword (if reported). Part 2 may indicate a PMI (if reported), a layer indicator (LI) (if reported) and/or a CQI for a second codeword (if reported) when RI is larger than 4. For a CSI report setting (e.g., a CSI-ReportConfig) configured with codebookType set to ‘type1-SinglePanel’ and the corresponding CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement configured with two resource groups and N resource pairs (e.g., indicating that the CSI-RS resource set is configured for multi-TRP CSI), Part 1 may include RI(s), CRI(s), CQI(s) for the first codeword and may be zero padded to a fixed payload size (if needed). Part 2 may include the CQI(s) for the second codeword (if reported) when RI is larger than 4, LIs (if reported), and PMI(s). As used herein, “CSI” or CSI feedback” may refer to information indicated via a CSI report, such as an RI, a CRI, a CQI, a PMI, and/or an LI, among other examples. “ [0158] recites, “For example, the sub-configuration may indicate a first CSI-RS port configuration, a first port subset indication, a first codebook subset restrictions, and/or a first rank restriction for the first resource group (e.g., indicated by the first one or more parameters and/or the first configuration information). Additionally, the sub-configuration may indicate a second CSI-RS port configuration, a second port subset indication, a second codebook subset restrictions, and/or a second rank restriction for the second resource group (e.g., indicated by the second one or more parameters and/or the second configuration information). Additionally, the sub-configuration may indicate a rank restriction for respective pairs of resources (e.g., CMR pairs from the first resource group and the second resource group). As a result, the sub-configuration (e.g., that indicates different parameters for different resource groups) may enable additional flexibility for spatial domain adaptation because the network node 110 may configure different antenna port configurations for the TRP A and the TRP B.” It is readily understandable for an ordinary person with the skill in the art that RI corresponds to the maximum throughput based on codebook type.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “the first RI corresponds to a maximum throughput capacity based on a CSI Type I codebook, wherein the second process uses a constraint on a set of candidate RIs in a CSI Type II computation, wherein the constraint excludes RIs ranked lower than the first RI from the set.” of LY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability and/or to increase throughput [0032].
Regarding Claim 11, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a third RI based on the second process that uses the CSI type II configuration; and determining a fourth RI based on the first process that uses the CSI type I configuration and the third RI.
However, in an analogous invention, LY teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a third RI based on the second process that uses the CSI type II configuration; -Paragraph [0035, 0136] ([0035] recites, “Additionally, or alternatively, the sub-configuration may indicate third configuration information associated with one or more pairs of resources from the first resource group and the second resource group. The UE 120 may transmit, and the network node 110 may receive, a CSI report that includes CSI that is in accordance with the sub-configuration.”[0136] recites, “For example, for Type I, Type II, Enhanced Type II, and Further Enhanced Type II Port Selection CSI feedback on PUSCH, a CSI report may include two parts (e.g., Part 1 and Part 2). Part 1 may have a fixed payload size and may be used to identify the number of information bits in Part 2. Part 1 may be transmitted in its entirety before Part 2. For Type I CSI feedback, Part 1 may indicate RI (if reported), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) (if reported), and/or CQI for a first codeword (if reported). Part 2 may indicate a PMI (if reported), a layer indicator (LI) (if reported) and/or a CQI for a second codeword (if reported) when RI is larger than 4. For a CSI report setting (e.g., a CSI-ReportConfig) configured with codebookType set to ‘type1-SinglePanel’ and the corresponding CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement configured with two resource groups and N resource pairs (e.g., indicating that the CSI-RS resource set is configured for multi-TRP CSI), Part 1 may include RI(s), CRI(s), CQI(s) for the first codeword and may be zero padded to a fixed payload size (if needed). Part 2 may include the CQI(s) for the second codeword (if reported) when RI is larger than 4, LIs (if reported), and PMI(s). As used herein, “CSI” or CSI feedback” may refer to information indicated via a CSI report, such as an RI, a CRI, a CQI, a PMI, and/or an LI, among other examples.”)
and determining a fourth RI based on the first process that uses the CSI type I configuration and the third RI. -Paragraph [0154] ([0154] recites, “Additionally, or alternatively, the fourth configuration information may indicate a common codebook subset restriction. For example, the sub-configuration may include a parameter that indicates a codebook subset restriction that may be common for the first resource group and the second resource group. Additionally, or alternatively, the fourth configuration information may indicate a common rank restriction for CSI computation using a single CSI-RS resource from the first resource group or the second resource group. For example, the sub-configuration may include a parameter that indicates a rank restriction (e.g., a common rank restriction) to be used when the UE 120 computes CSI using a single CMR. Additionally, or alternatively, the sub-configuration may include a parameter that indicates a rank restriction (e.g., a common rank restriction) to be used when the UE 120 uses a resource pair (e.g., a pair of CMRs) for CSI computation.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “determining a third RI based on the second process that uses the CSI type II configuration; and determining a fourth RI based on the first process that uses the CSI type I configuration and the third RI.” of LY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability and/or to increase throughput [0032].
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VITTHALADEVUNI
in view of Jeon, LY and further in view of Yao et al. (Patent No: US 2022/0053477 A1), hereinafter, Yao.
Regarding Claim 5, VITTHALADEVUNI, Jeon and LY teach the limitations of Claim 4.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 4, wherein the first RI has a first value, and wherein the other RI has another value corresponding to an increment of the first value by one.
However, in an analogous invention, Yao teaches,
The method of claim 4, wherein the first RI has a first value, and wherein the other RI has another value corresponding to an increment of the first value by one. -Paragraph [0209] ([0209] recites, “it may not make sense to transmit—I and Type II reports for the same two layers, since a Type II report is better (higher resolution) than Type I. Thus, for example, if there are two layers, and a Type II report is already being made, then there is no point in also transmitting a Type I report. The rank restriction described above operates to help reduce or eliminate this redundancy of reporting. Since Type II is currently limited to 4 layers or less, Type I may be useful for scenarios where there are greater than 4 layers, and thus Ranks 3 and 4 are reserved for Type I CSI reporting, while Ranks 1 and 2 are reserved for Type II CSI reporting.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “first RI has a first value, and wherein the other RI has another value corresponding to an increment of the first value by one” of Yao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve utilization of CSI resources [0009].
Regarding Claim 6, VITTHALADEVUNI, Jeon and LY teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 2, wherein the constraint limits the set of candidate RIs to the first RI and to another RI adjacent to the first RI.
However, in an analogous invention, Yao teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the constraint limits the set of candidate RIs to the first RI and to another RI adjacent to the first RI. -Paragraph [0209] ([0209] recites, “it may not make sense to transmit—I and Type II reports for the same two layers, since a Type II report is better (higher resolution) than Type I. Thus, for example, if there are two layers, and a Type II report is already being made, then there is no point in also transmitting a Type I report. The rank restriction described above operates to help reduce or eliminate this redundancy of reporting. Since Type II is currently limited to 4 layers or less, Type I may be useful for scenarios where there are greater than 4 layers, and thus Ranks 3 and 4 are reserved for Type I CSI reporting, while Ranks 1 and 2 are reserved for Type II CSI reporting.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “the constraint limits the set of candidate RIs to the first RI and to another RI adjacent to the first RI.” of Yao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve utilization of CSI resources [0009].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VITTHALADEVUNI
in view of Jeon and further in view of Yao.
Regarding Claim 16, VITTHALADEVUNI and Jeon teach the limitations of Claim 13.
Although implicit, VITTHALADEVUNI does not explicitly teach,
The base station of claim 13, wherein the indication corresponds to first CSI reporting using the CSI Type II configuration being requested based on one or more of: an estimated throughput capacity associated with at least one of the CSI Type I configuration or the CSI Type II configuration, a Doppler metric of the UE, a measurement of a reference signal, a position of the UE relative to a base station, or a limitation on a resource of the UE.
However, in an analogous invention, Yao teaches,
The base station of claim 13, wherein the indication corresponds to first CSI reporting using the CSI Type II configuration being requested based on one or more of: an estimated throughput capacity associated with at least one of the CSI Type I configuration or the CSI Type II configuration, a Doppler metric of the UE, a measurement of a reference signal, a position of the UE relative to a base station, or a limitation on a resource of the UE. -Paragraph [0009] ([0009] recites, “When the UE generates CSI reports to the base station, the UE may restrict the rank information it provides based on the type of CSI processing performed. The UE may also use a priority rule for “dropping” CSI report data due to payload size restrictions, based on the type of CSI processing. “)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TECHNIQUES FOR SIGNALING TRANSITION BETWEEN TYPES OF CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION PROCESSING” proposed by VITTHALADEVUNI to include the concept of “indication corresponds to first CSI reporting using the CSI Type II configuration being requested based on a limitation on a resource of the UE” of Yao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve utilization of CSI resources [0009].
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475