DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on February 26, 2026 regarding Application No. 18/789,776. Applicants added new claim 22 and previously canceled claim 10. Claims 1-9 and 11-22 are pending.
Priority
This application claims benefit of priority under 35 U.S.C. §119 (e) from Provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/619,770, filed on January 11, 2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on February 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
In response to the argument regarding Abileah, reference numeral 314, frame, and side blinker (Remarks, p. 6), the Office respectfully disagrees and/or submits that the argument is not commensurate with the claim language and rejections and Abileah teaches the relevant claimed features. More specifically, figure 3A of Abileah teaches: a window 312 including perimeter edges of 312, a rear surface facing 320, and side blinkers corresponding to left and right 314 extending outward from 312 towards 320.
In response to the arguments regarding Abileah, “a window including side blinkers”, and “an electronic display separated from such a window and side blinkers”, frame 314 and side blinker, and “a prima facie case of unpatentability with respect to claims 1, 19, 20, and any claims depending therefrom” (Remarks, p. 6), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that the arguments are not commensurate with the claim language and rejections and all features of independent claims 1 and 19-20, including the relevant claimed features, are taught by Abileah. More specifically, Abileah teaches:
a window including… side blinkers, as discussed above and in the rejections. Abileah also teaches: an arcuate electronic display 320 set behind and spaced apart from the window 312, wherein the window 312 and the arcuate electronic display 320 are separated by a gap open space in figures 1A and 3A, column 5, lines 39-45, column 6, lines 37-40, 43-47, and 51-53, and column 7, lines 1-3. Because all features of independent claims 1 and 19-20 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references, as discussed above and in the rejections, independent claims 1 and 19-20 and any claims depending therefrom are not allowable.
In response to the argument regarding Guillemot and overcome (Remarks, p. 6), the Office respectfully submits that the argument is not commensurate with the rejections, Abileah teaches the features discussed above and in the rejections, and all features of independent claims 1 and 19-20 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references, as discussed above and in the rejections. As such, there are no deficiencies, as argued, for which Guillemot is required to overcome.
In response to the arguments regarding Guillemot, “wherein the arcuate display surrounds the perimeter edges, the rear surface, and the side blinkers of the window”, “a window including side blinkers”, and “an electronic display separated from such a window” (Remarks, p. 6), without conceding arguments, the Office respectfully disagrees and/or submits that the arguments are not commensurate with the rejections and the relevant claimed features are taught by Abileah, as discussed above and in the rejections. Guillemot is cited for teaching: wherein an arcuate electronic display 1 surrounds perimeter edges of 408a, a rear surface of 408a of a window 408a, in figures 26-27 and page 43, lines 9-10 and 20-24, page 44, lines 14-21, and page 45, lines 3-6. Thus, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches: wherein the arcuate electronic display surrounds the perimeter edges, the rear surface, and the side blinkers of the window (arcuate electronic display and perimeter edges, rear surface, and side blinkers of the window of Abileah combined with the arcuate electronic display surrounds of Guillemot).
In response to the arguments regarding Abileah and Guillemot, “a window including perimeter edges, a rear surface, and side blinkers; and an arcuate electronic display set behind and spaced apart from the window, wherein the arcuate electronic display surrounds the perimeter edges, the rear surface, and the side blinkers of the window, wherein the window and the arcuate electronic display are separated by an open space”, claims 1 and 19-20 and the claims depending therefrom, and unpatentable (Remarks, pp. 6-7), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that all features of independent claims 1 and 19-20 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references, as discussed above and in the rejections. As such, independent claims 1 and 19-20 are not allowable. In addition, claims 2-9, 11-18, and 21-22 are not allowable by virtue of their individual dependencies from independent claim 1, and as discussed in the rejections.
In response to the arguments regarding dependent claim 13, “wherein the window is secured outwardly from an opening formed within a wall, wherein the wall is separated from an exterior skin, wherein the arcuate electronic display is spaced apart from the window within the open space between the wall and the exterior skin, and wherein the arcuate electronic display includes edges secured to an exterior surface of the wall”, proposed combination, prima facie case of unpatentability, and unpatentable (Remarks, pp. 7-8), the Office respectfully disagrees and/or submits that it would have been obvious to include the claimed features. More specifically, figures 1B-C and 3A and column 1, lines 18-22 of Abileah disclose: “Recent houses in dense cities have limited windows with views. Therefore, there is a need for an artificial window, which enhances living and work environments by providing attractive real-world scenery in locations where a real window is not feasible or desirable….” Thus, it would have been obvious to include the claimed features to provide a virtual window in a home with double wall construction.
In response to the argument regarding dependent claims 5-8, 15, 17-18, and 20-21, rejections, and “reasons set forth above with respect to Abileah and Guillemot” (Remarks, p. 8), the Office respectfully submits that all features of independent claims 1 and 19-20 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references, as discussed above and in the rejections. As such, independent claims 1 and 19-20 are not allowable. In addition, claims 2-9, 11-18, and 21-22 are not allowable by virtue of their individual dependencies from independent claim 1, and as discussed in the rejections.
In response to the argument regarding the Office action, pending claims, cited references, and moot (Remarks, p. 8), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that all features of independent claims 1 and 19-20 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references, as discussed above and in the rejections. As such, independent claims 1 and 19-20 are not allowable. In addition, all claims depending from independent claim 1 are not allowable by virtue of their individual dependencies therefrom, and as discussed in the rejections.
For the reasons discussed above and in the rejections, pending claims 1-9 and 11-22 are not allowable.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because “the arcuate display” should be changed to “the arcuate electronic display” to correspond to the term previously recited.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abileah et al. in US 11,146,780 B1 (hereinafter Abileah) in view of Guillemot in WO 2008/022464 A1 (hereinafter Guillemot; an original copy was provided with the December 18, 2025 Office action).
Regarding claim 1, Abileah teaches:
A virtual window system (300 in FIG. 3A) comprising (Abileah: FIG. 3A and col. 6, ll. 37-39 and 41-47 (“As shown in FIG. 3A, the artificial window 300 includes a window 310 and a curved display device 320. The window 310… has at least one transparent panel 312 and a frame 314…. The curved display device 320 is disposed at a back side of the window 300 to display a fixed image, such that a viewer 340 at a front side of the window 300 may see the fixed image displayed by the display device 320 through the transparent panel 312 of the window 300….”)):
a window (312) including perimeter edges (of 312), a rear surface (facing 320), and side blinkers (corresponding to left and right 314 extending outward from 312 towards 320) (Abileah: see FIG. 3A); and
an arcuate electronic display (320) set behind and spaced apart from the window (Abileah: see FIG. 3A and col. 6, ll. 37-40, 43-47, and 51-53 (“… As shown in FIG. 3A, the artificial window 300 includes a window 310 and a curved display device 320. The window 310 is similar to the window 110 as shown in FIG. 1A…. The curved display device 320 is disposed at a back side of the window 300 to display a fixed image, such that a viewer 340 at a front side of the window 300 may see the fixed image displayed by the display device 320 through the transparent panel 312 of the window 300…. Further, the curved display device 320 is horizontally wider than the frame 314 of the window 310 to cover all of the possible viewing angles of the viewer 340….”, see also FIG. 1A and col. 5, ll. 39-45 (“… [T]he display device 120 [in FIG. 1A]…, which is disposed at a back side of the window 100 to display a plurality of images, such that a viewer 140 at a front side of the window 100 may see the image displayed by the display device 120 through the transparent panel 112 of the window 100….”)),
wherein the window and the arcuate electronic display are separated by an open space (gap) (Abileah: FIG. 3A and col. 7, ll. 1-3 (“… [T]he gap between the window 310 and the curved display device 320….”)).
However, it is noted that Abileah does not teach:
wherein the arcuate electronic display surrounds the perimeter edges, the rear surface, and the side blinkers of the window.
Guillemot teaches:
wherein an arcuate electronic display (1 in FIG. 27) surrounds perimeter edges (of 408a), a rear surface (of 408a) of a window (408a) (Guillemot: see FIG. 27, p. 43, ll. 9-10 (“… The cockpit has a front window 408a….”), and p. 44, ll. 18-21 (“… The curved emissive display [1 in FIG. 27] is structured to produce a continuous image of the virtual environment defining a field of view that ranges from one of the side window 408b to the other side window 408b and encompasses the front window 408a.”), see also FIG. 26, p. 43, ll. 20-24 (“… A continuous image is an image that, from the perspective of a user in the cockpit 406, presents a virtual environment in a continuous fashion. A continuous image will present to the user in the cockpit 406 a view of a virtual world that seems to stretch all across the visible field of view beyond the windows 408a-b, as seen from inside cockpit 406.”), p. 44, ll. 14-17 (“In both embodiments shown in Figures 26 and 27, the image displayed to the user inside the cockpit 406 is curved horizontally to concavely follow the window structure. An image so formed will "wrap around" the observer in the cockpit….”), and p. 45, ll. 3-6 (“In the embodiments shown in Figures 26 and 27 the displayed images are shaped as portions of spheres. Alternatively they can be elliptic. An elliptic shape may provide an increased sense of realism when viewing images from inside the cockpit 406.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Guillemot, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the arcuate electronic display surrounds the perimeter edges, the rear surface, and the side blinkers of the window (arcuate electronic display and perimeter edges, rear surface, and side blinkers of the window of Abileah combined with the arcuate electronic display surrounds of Guillemot), to display a wrap around a viewer view. (Guillemot: p. 44, ll. 16-17).
Regarding claim 2, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1, wherein the window includes one or more first portions in a first plane (corresponding to 312 in FIG. 3A of Abileah), and the arcuate electronic display includes one or more second portions in a second plane (corresponding to 320) that differs from the first plane (Abileah: see FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 3, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1, wherein the arcuate electronic display does not contact the window (Abileah: see FIG. 3A and col. 7, ll. 1-3 (“… [T]he gap between the window 310 and the curved display device 320….”)).
Regarding claim 4, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1, wherein the arcuate electronic display comprises an organic light emitting diode (OLED) monitor (Guillemot: FIGs. 1 and 27, p. 17, ll. 16 and 20-23 (“Note that the screen 1 [in FIG. 1]… is an emissive screen…. [A]n emissive screen is a display arrangement where the electro optical image generation unit is part of the screen itself. The electro-optical image generation unit may be based on… organic light emitting diode (OLED…) technology….”), and p. 44, ll. 8-9 (“… [A] curved emissive screen 1 [in FIG. 27]….”)).
Regarding claim 9, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1, wherein the arcuate electronic display is outboard from the window (Abileah: see FIG. 3A, col. 6, ll. 43-47 (“… The curved display device 320 is disposed at a back side of the window 300 to display a fixed image, such that a viewer 340 at a front side of the window 300 may see the fixed image displayed by the display device 320 through the transparent panel 312 of the window 300….”), and col. 9, ll. 11-14 (“… [T]he artificial window may be used to provide an image… in an enclosed environment (e.g., cabins on a cruise ship…) without an actual window.”).
Regarding claim 11, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1, wherein the side blinkers are disposed on a reveal (corresponding to 314 extending outward from 312 towards 340’s side in FIG. 3A of Abileah) (Abileah: see FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 12, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1, further comprising one or more mirrors (404 in FIG. 26 of Guillemot) (Guillemot: FIG. 26 and p. 43, ll. 26-28 (“… Curved emissive screen 1 generates an image to be reflected by reflective surface 404 to be viewed from inside the cockpit 406….”). Note: the arcuate electronic displays in FIGs. 26-27 are interchangeable as they display images for a virtual window.).
Regarding claim 13, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Guillemot does not teach:
wherein the window is secured outwardly from an opening formed within a wall, wherein the wall is separated from an exterior skin, wherein the arcuate electronic display is spaced apart from the window within the open space between the wall and the exterior skin, and wherein the arcuate electronic display includes edges secured to an exterior surface of the wall,
but which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include (i.e., a virtual window within a frame secured as claimed where the wall is an interior house wall and the exterior skin is an exterior house wall in a home with double wall construction; see Abileah: FIGs. 1B-C and 3A and col. 1, ll. 18-22 (“Recent houses in dense cities have limited windows with views. Therefore, there is a need for an artificial window, which enhances living and work environments by providing attractive real-world scenery in locations where a real window is not feasible or desirable….”)), to provide a virtual window in a home with double wall construction.
Regarding claim 14, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1, wherein the arcuate electronic display is secured between frames (314 left and right frames in FIG. 3A of Abileah) (Abileah: see FIGs. 1A and 3A, col. 5, ll. 29-30 (“… [T]he transparent panel 112 [in FIG. 1A] is framed in the frame 114….”), and col. 6, ll.39-41(“… The window 310 [in FIG. 3A] is similar to the window 110 as shown in FIG. 1A, which has at least one transparent panel 312 and a frame 314….”)).
Regarding claim 16, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1, wherein the window is within an internal cabin of a vehicle (cruise ship) (Abileah: i.e., cruise ship internal cabin; see col. 9, ll. 9-14 (“The artificial window as described in the exemplary embodiments may be used in different applications. For example, the artificial window may be used to provide an image… in an enclosed environment (e.g., [a] cabin[] on a cruise ship…) without an actual window.”)).
Regarding claim 19, Abileah is modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 1 above. Thus, claim 1 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that claim 19 differs from claim 1above in that the following are recited:
A method of forming a virtual window system, the method comprising:
wherein said spacing comprises:.
Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
A method of forming a virtual window system, the method comprising (Abileah: i.e., method corresponding to a virtual window system; see FIG. 3A; claim 1 above):
wherein said spacing comprises: (see claim 1 above).
Claims 17-18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abileah in view of Guillemot, in further view of Young et al. in US 2019/0352009 A1 (hereinafter Young).
Regarding claim 17, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 16.
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Guillemot does not teach:
wherein the vehicle is an aircraft.
Young teaches:
wherein a vehicle is an aircraft (100 in FIG. 1) (Young: FIG. 1 and “[0034] FIG. 1 illustrates a layout of an interior of an aircraft 100….”, see also FIGs. 2-6A and “[0002] The present disclosure relates generally to a display system for a vehicle such as an aircraft. In further examples, methods and systems for simulating presence of a window via the display system are provided.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the feature taught by Young, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the vehicle is an aircraft (vehicle of Abileah as modified substituted with the vehicle of Young), to provide a virtual window in an aircraft. (Young: [0002] and [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 16.
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Guillemot does not teach:
wherein the window is within a lavatory of the internal cabin.
Young teaches:
wherein a window (405A in FIG. 4A) is within a lavatory (200 in FIG. 3) of an internal cabin (104 in FIG. 1) (Young: i.e., window when an arcuate display 405C pattern becomes visible; FIGs. 1-5, “[0034]… The aircraft 100 [in FIG. 1] has a fuselage or body 102 that surrounds a cabin 104…. The cabin 104… has a lateral width between a first interior sidewall 110 and second interior sidewall 112 of the body 102.”, “[0036]… [I]n FIG. 1, the aircraft 100 includes two lavatories: a front lavatory 120 and a rear lavatory 122….”, “[0038] The lavatory 200 [in FIG. 2] generally includes… various sidewalls, e.g.,… a curved outboard wall 212. The curved outboard wall 212 is adjacent to a fuselage or the body of the aircraft 100…. The curved outboard wall 212 can be offset from respective interior sidewalls (e.g., the interior sidewall 110) of the aircraft 100.”, “[0042]… [A]s depicted in FIG. 3, the lavatory 200 can have a cutout in the curved outboard wall 212 to house a display system 304 configured as a simulated window feature. The display system 304 can… giv[e] the user the impression of a window. At the same time, the display system 304 mimics a standard window used in the cabin 104….”, “[0043]… The display system 400 [in FIG. 4] can represent the display system 304, for example. The display system 400 includes a bezel 402. The bezel 402 can, for example, mimic similar bezels used for, or simulate the shape of, standard windows in the cabin 104. The bezel 402 can be configured as an oval- or oblong-shaped ring holding, securing, or retaining other components of the display system 400.”, “[0044] The display system 400 can also include a semi-transparent sheet 404 disposed at an anterior side of the display system 400 (e.g., side facing toward inside space of the lavatory 200). The semi-transparent sheet 404 can be made of a translucent material configured to permit, at least partially, the passage of light….”, “[0052] Additionally or alternatively, the semi-transparent sheet 404 can include multiple or a plurality of layers, each layer having a respective pattern printed thereon. FIG. 4A illustrates the semi-transparent sheet 404 having a plurality of layers, in accordance with an example implementation. In the example implementation of FIG. 4A, the semi-transparent sheet 404 includes multiple layers, such as layers 405A, 405B, 405C. Each respective pattern can be activated to glow and become visible when a particular type of light or wavelength is projected thereon. For instance, different patterns could be triggered by IR light or a particular wavelength of IR light, others could be triggered by UV light or a particular wavelength of UV light. As such, the light source 408 can be configured to emit UV or IR light to selectively cause a particular pattern of respective patterns of the multiple layers 405A, 405B, 405C to be visible.”, “[0055] FIG. 5 illustrates the display system 400 simulating a scene 500 from an external environment of the aircraft 100…. The scene 500 printed on the semi-transparent sheet 404 or multiple layers thereof includes a graphical representation of clouds, the sky, and a portion of a wing of the plane so as to simulate the environment of the aircraft 100. Different layers of semi-transparent sheet 404 can portray the scene in a respective particular state. By triggering the layers sequentially or cyclically (e.g., by emitting lights of respective wavelengths or different types of light sequentially over a period of time) an illusion that the scene is changing (e.g., clouds are moving) can be generated. Users of the lavatory 200 may thus feel that they are looking from a standard window outside the aircraft 100….”, see also FIGs. 6-7, “[0057] In addition or alternative to using a semi-transparent sheet, the display system can be configured with a display device. For instance, the display system can be configured with an electronic display (e.g., a screen) for presentation of images, text, or video transmitted electronically thereto….”, “[0058] FIG. 6 illustrates a cutout 601 in an outboard wall 602 of a lavatory 604, FIG. 6A illustrates a frontal view of a display system 600 integrated in the outboard wall 602, and FIG. 7 illustrates a posterior view of the display system 600…. The outboard wall 602 can have the cutout 601 having a boundary 603 that is oval- or oblong-shaped. The display system 600 can include a bezel 606 installed about the boundary 603 of the cutout 601. The display system also includes an electronic display 608 that visible from within the lavatory 604.”, “[0059] As shown in FIG. 7, the display system 600 can also include a fixture 700 configured to hold, secure, or retain the electronic display 608. The bezel 606 can be configured as ring-shaped and particularly oval- or oblong- shaped ring that is characteristic of windows of an aircraft or other vehicles. The electronic display 608, however, might not have the same shape as the bezel 606. As such, the fixture 700 is configured to have a cutout that matches a geometric shape of the electronic display 608. For instance, as shown in FIG. 7, the electronic display 608 is rectangular in shape, and the fixture 700 has a rectangular cutout to accommodate the electronic display 608. Plates, such as plates 609A, 609B, 609C can be fastened to the fixture 700 (e.g., through screws) and are configured to retain the electronic display 608 while pushing the electronic display 608 toward the bezel 606….”, and “[0060] Both the fixture 700 and the electronic display 608 mounted therein are disposed behind the bezel 606. As a result, despite the rectangular shape of the electronic display 608, a user of the lavatory 604 might see an oval- or oblong-shaped display as shown in the frontal view of FIG. 6, while other fringe or peripheral portions of the electronic display 608 are blocked.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Young, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the window is within a lavatory of the internal cabin (window and internal cabin of Abileah as modified combined with the window, lavatory, and internal cabin of Young), to provide a virtual window in a lavatory of an internal cabin of a vehicle. (Young: FIG. 3, [0002], and [0006]).
Regarding claim 22, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 14.
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Guillemot does not teach:
wherein the side blinkers hide the frames and side edges of the arcuate display from view.
Young teaches:
wherein side blinkers (606 in FIGs. 6A and 8) hide frames and side edges of an arcuate display (608 in FIGs. 6A and 8) from view (Young: FIGs. 6-8 and 15, “[0058] FIG. 6 illustrates a cutout 601 in an outboard wall 602 of a lavatory 604, FIG. 6A illustrates a frontal view of a display system 600 integrated in the outboard wall 602, and FIG. 7 illustrates a posterior view of the display system 600…. The outboard wall 602 can have the cutout 601 having a boundary 603 that is oval- or oblong-shaped. The display system 600 can include a bezel 606 installed about the boundary 603 of the cutout 601. The display system also includes an electronic display 608 that visible from within the lavatory 604.”, “[0059] As shown in FIG. 7, the display system 600 can also include a fixture 700 configured to hold, secure, or retain the electronic display 608. The bezel 606 can be configured as ring-shaped and particularly oval- or oblong-shaped ring that is characteristic of windows of an aircraft or other vehicles. The electronic display 608, however, might not have the same shape as the bezel 606. As such, the fixture 700 is configured to have a cutout that matches a geometric shape of the electronic display 608. For instance, as shown in FIG. 7, the electronic display 608 is rectangular in shape, and the fixture 700 has a rectangular cutout to accommodate the electronic display 608. Plates, such as plates 609A, 609B, 609C can be fastened to the fixture 700 (e.g., through screws) and are configured to retain the electronic display 608 while pushing the electronic display 608 toward the bezel 606….”, “[0060] Both the fixture 700 and the electronic display 608 mounted therein are disposed behind the bezel 606. As a result, despite the rectangular shape of the electronic display 608, a user of the lavatory 604 might see an oval- or oblong-shaped display as shown in the frontal view of FIG. 6, while other fringe or peripheral portions of the electronic display 608 are blocked.”, “[0063] Example electronic displays include… [an] organic LED (OLED)….”, “[0064] An OLED display can be bendable or compliant, and thus if the electronic display 608 is configured as an OLED display, the electronic display 608 can conform to curvature or contour of the outboard wall 602…. In other implementations, the electronic display 608 might not be bendable. In these implementations, the display system 600 can include an adapter 610 disposed between the bezel 606 and the electronic display 608. The adapter 610 is configured as an oval- or oblong-shaped ring and is configured to accommodate the varying distance between the electronic display 608, which is flat, and the bezel 606 or the outboard wall 602, which is curved.”, “[0066]… [T]he electronic display 608 might not be oval- or oblong-shaped like the bezel 606, but can extend beyond boundaries of the bezel 606….”, “[0088] FIG. 15 is a flowchart of a method 1100 for forming an aerodynamic structure…. The method 1100 presents an example of making a simulated window feature in a lavatory of a vehicle, for example.”, and “[0090] At block 1104, the method 1100 includes installing a bezel 402 or 606 about a boundary (e.g., the boundary 603) of the cutout.”, see also FIGs. 3, 4 (side blinkers 402), 4A (arcuate display 405C), and 5, “[0042]… [A]s depicted in FIG. 3, the lavatory 200 can have a cutout in the curved outboard wall 212 to house a display system 304 configured as a simulated window feature. The display system 304 can… giv[e] the user the impression of a window. At the same time, the display system 304 mimics a standard window used in the cabin 104….”, “[0043] The display system 400 [in FIG. 4] can represent the display system 304…. The display system 400 includes a bezel 402. The bezel 402 can, for example, mimic similar bezels used for, or simulate the shape of, standard windows in the cabin 104. The bezel 402 can be configured as an oval- or oblong-shaped ring holding, securing, or retaining other components of the display system 400.”, “[0044] The display system 400 can also include a semi-transparent sheet 404 disposed at an anterior side of the display system 400 (e.g., side facing toward inside space of the lavatory 200). The semi-transparent sheet 404 can be made of a translucent material configured to permit, at least partially, the passage of light….”, “[0046] The semi-transparent sheet 404… can… be made from compliant or bendable material. With this configuration, the semi-transparent sheet 404… can conform to a curvature of the curved outboard wall 212 of the lavatory 200.”, “[0052] Additionally or alternatively, the semi-transparent sheet 404 can include multiple or a plurality of layers, each layer having a respective pattern printed thereon. FIG. 4A illustrates the semi-transparent sheet 404 having a plurality of layers, in accordance with an example implementation. In the example implementation of FIG. 4A, the semi-transparent sheet 404 includes multiple layers, such as layers 405A, 405B, 405C. Each respective pattern can be activated to glow and become visible when a particular type of light or wavelength is projected thereon. For instance, different patterns could be triggered by IR light or a particular wavelength of IR light, others could be triggered by UV light or a particular wavelength of UV light. As such, the light source 408 can be configured to emit UV or IR light to selectively cause a particular pattern of respective patterns of the multiple layers 405A, 405B, 405C to be visible.”, “[0055] FIG. 5 illustrates the display system 400 simulating a scene 500 from an external environment of the aircraft 100…. The scene 500 printed on the semi-transparent sheet 404 or multiple layers thereof includes a graphical representation of clouds, the sky, and a portion of a wing of the plane so as to simulate the environment of the aircraft 100. Different layers of semi-transparent sheet 404 can portray the scene in a respective particular state. By triggering the layers sequentially or cyclically (e.g., by emitting lights of respective wavelengths or different types of light sequentially over a period of time) an illusion that the scene is changing (e.g., clouds are moving) can be generated. Users of the lavatory 200 may thus feel that they are looking from a standard window outside the aircraft 100….”, “[0056]… [T]he display system 400 can be configured as a display system that shows different images, patterns, logos, etc….”, and “[0057] In addition or alternative to using a semi-transparent sheet, the display system can be configured with a display device. For instance, the display system can be configured with an electronic display (e.g., a screen) for presentation of images, text, or video transmitted electronically thereto….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Young, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the side blinkers hide the frames and side edges of the arcuate display from view (side blinkers, frames, and arcuate electronic display of Abileah as modified combined with the side blinkers, frames, side edges, and arcuate display of Young; i.e., where the side blinkers of Abileah as modified are the side blinkers of Young), to block “fringe or peripheral portions of the… electronic display….” (Young: [0060]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abileah in view of Guillemot, in further view of Larson et al. in US 2020/0228789 A1 (hereinafter Larson).
Regarding claim 5, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Guillemot does not teach:
wherein the arcuate electronic display comprises a dome.
Larson teaches:
wherein an arcuate display (102 and a dome in FIGs. 1A-B) comprises a dome (formed by the curved side of 104s facing 111 and a virtual vertical line connecting the top and the bottom 104s of the curved side facing 111 in FIG. 1B) (Larson: see FIGs. 1A-B, “[0016]… [T]he virtual window display 102 includes a curved, contiguous array of collimated projector modules 104….”, and “[0017] A curved array shape, e.g., in a spherical wrap-around potentially immersive arrangement, can provide for a larger total FOV….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Larson, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the arcuate electronic display comprises a dome (arcuate electronic display of Abileah as modified combined with the arcuate display and dome of Larson), to display images and “provide for a larger total FOV….”. (Larson: [0017]).
Regarding claim 6, Abileah as modified by Guillemot and Larson teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 5, further comprising one or more projectors (104 in FIGs. 1A-B in Larson) configured to project images onto the dome (Larson: FIGs. 1A-B and 2A-B, “[0015] The example virtual window display 102 is configured to produce a virtual image….”, “[0018] Each collimated projector module 104 or 124 is preferably configured to support use of autostereoscopic techniques to allow the image to be displayed as a stereoscopic image….”, “[0021] The image displayed by the projector modules 104 may be from digitally generated imagery or processed image data, e.g., from a camera or image sensor….”, and “[0024] FIGS. 2A and 2B are diagrams illustrating prospective views of example projector modules 202, 212. The example projector module 202 includes a display device 204 configured to display a spatially modulated image along its geometric image surface….”).
Regarding claim 7, Abileah as modified by Guillemot and Larson teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 6, wherein the one or more projectors comprise a plurality of projectors (104 in FIGs. 1A-B in Larson) disposed around a circumference of an edge of the dome (Larson: see FIGs. 1A-B and “[0016]… [T]he virtual window display 102 includes a curved, contiguous array of collimated projector modules 104….”, and “[0017] A curved array shape, e.g., in a spherical wrap-around potentially immersive arrangement, can provide for a larger total FOV….”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abileah in view of Guillemot, in further view of Larson, and in further view of Pongratz in Patent No. 4,473,355 (hereinafter Pongratz).
Regarding claim 8, Abileah as modified by Guillemot and Larson teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 6.
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Guillemot and Larson does not teach:
wherein the dome is translucent, and wherein the one or more projectors are disposed behind the dome.
Pongratz teaches:
wherein a dome (4 and 6 in FIG. 1) is translucent, and wherein one or more projectors (8) are disposed behind the dome (Pongratz: FIG. 1 and col. 3, ll. 13-26 (“… [A] spherical vault 4 enclosed by a thin walled, single layer vault screen skin 6 made of a polycarbonate film having a relatively small degree of light scattering. Light scattering particles, not shown, are embedded in the mass of the polycarbonate film to achieve a matted or dulled effect. The skin of the vault 4 is sufficiently transparent to form a so-called back projection screen. At least one, preferably a plurality of back-projectors 8 are arranged externally of the vault 4…. This type of radial projection produces a real image on the skin 6, thereby displaying a simulated environment to a person inside the vault 4, for example, in a cockpit 20.”, see also col. 3, l. 36 (“The vaulted or domed screen skin 6….”)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Pongratz, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the dome is translucent, and wherein the one or more projectors are disposed behind the dome (dome and one or more projectors of Abileah as modified substituted with the dome and one or more projectors of Pongratz), to display images.
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abileah in view of Guillemot, in further view of Thomas in Patent No. 5,137,450 (hereinafter Thomas).
Regarding claim 15, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 14.
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Guillemot does not teach:
further comprising mirrors on inside surfaces of the frames.
Thomas teaches:
further comprising mirrors (16 in Fig. 1) on inside surfaces of frames (12 corresponding to mirrors 16) (Thomas: Fig. 1 and col. 4, ll. 47-55 (“Referring now to FIG. 1 of the drawings, there is shown a perspective view of the outside of a simulator visual display system 10. Mounted onto a supporting frame 12 are eight video projectors 14 and eight corresponding mirrors 16 (three each of the video projectors and mirrors are hidden in this view) which reflect (or fold) the video beams projected from each video projector 14 to the rear of corresponding translucent rear-projection screens, or windows, 18….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to: include the features taught by Thomas, such that Abileah as modified teaches: further comprising mirrors on inside surfaces of the frames (frames of Abileah as modified combined with the mirrors and inside surfaces of frames of Thomas), to display images.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abileah in view of Young, in further view of Guillemot.
Regarding claim 20, Abileah teaches:
A vehicle (cruise ship) comprising (Abileah: see col. 9, ll. 9-14 (“ The artificial window as described in the exemplary embodiments may be used in different applications. For example, the artificial window may be used to provide an image… in an enclosed environment (e.g., [a] cabin[] on a cruise ship…) without an actual window.”))):
an internal cabin (Abileah: i.e., cruise ship internal cabin; see col. 9, l. 13 (“… [A] cabin[] on a cruise ship….”)); and
a virtual window system (300 in FIG. 3A) comprising (Abileah: FIG. 3A and col. 6, ll. 37-39 and 41-47 (“As shown in FIG. 3A, the artificial window 300 includes a window 310 and a curved display device 320. The window 310… has at least one transparent panel 312 and a frame 314…. The curved display device 320 is disposed at a back side of the window 300 to display a fixed image, such that a viewer 340 at a front side of the window 300 may see the fixed image displayed by the display device 320 through the transparent panel 312 of the window 300….”)):
a window (312) within the internal cabin, wherein the window includes perimeter edges (of 312), a rear surface (facing 320), side blinkers (corresponding to left and right 314 extending outward from 312 towards 320), and one or more first portions in a first plane (corresponding to 312) (Abileah: see FIG. 3A, col. 6, ll. 39-41 (“… The window 310… has at least one transparent panel 312 and a frame 314….”), and col. 9, ll. 11-13 (“… [T]he artificial window may be used to provide an image… in an enclosed environment (e.g., [a] cabin[] on a cruise ship…)….”)); and
an arcuate electronic display (320) set behind and spaced apart from the window within an open space (gap), wherein the window and the arcuate electronic display are separated by the open space, wherein the arcuate electronic display includes one or more second portions in a second plane (corresponding to 320) that differs from the first plane, and wherein the arcuate electronic display is outboard from the window (Abileah: see FIG. 3A, col. 6, ll. 37-40, 43-47, and 51-53 (“… As shown in FIG. 3A, the artificial window 300 includes a window 310 and a curved display device 320. The window 310 is similar to the window 110 as shown in FIG. 1A…. The curved display device 320 is disposed at a back side of the window 300 to display a fixed image, such that a viewer 340 at a front side of the window 300 may see the fixed image displayed by the display device 320 through the transparent panel 312 of the window 300…. Further, the curved display device 320 is horizontally wider than the frame 314 of the window 310 to cover all of the possible viewing angles of the viewer 340….”, col. 7, ll. 1-3 (“… [T]he gap between the window 310 and the curved display device 320….”), and col. 9, ll. 11-14 (“… [T]he artificial window may be used to provide an image… in an enclosed environment (e.g., [a] cabin[] on a cruise ship…) without an actual window.”, see also FIG. 1A and col. 5, ll. 39-45 (“… [T]he display device 120 [in FIG. 1A]…, which is disposed at a back side of the window 100 to display a plurality of images, such that a viewer 140 at a front side of the window 100 may see the image displayed by the display device 120 through the transparent panel 112 of the window 100….”)).
However, it is noted that Abileah does not teach:
wherein the window is secured within an opening formed within a wall within the internal cabin, and wherein the wall is separated from an exterior skin; and
the arcuate electronic display set behind and spaced apart from the window within the open space between the wall and the exterior skin.
Young teaches:
wherein a window (405A in FIG. 4A) is secured within an opening (cutout) formed within a wall (212 in FIG. 3) within an internal cabin (104 in FIG. 1), and wherein the wall is separated from an exterior skin (102) (Young: i.e., window when an arcuate display 405C pattern becomes visible; FIGs. 1-5, “[0034]… The aircraft 100 [in FIG. 1] has a fuselage or body 102 that surrounds a cabin 104…. The cabin 104… has a lateral width between a first interior sidewall 110 and second interior sidewall 112 of the body 102.”, “[0036]… [I]n FIG. 1, the aircraft 100 includes two lavatories: a front lavatory 120 and a rear lavatory 122….”, “[0038] The lavatory 200 [in FIG. 2] generally includes… various sidewalls, e.g.,… a curved outboard wall 212. The curved outboard wall 212 is adjacent to a fuselage or the body of the aircraft 100…. The curved outboard wall 212 can be offset from respective interior sidewalls (e.g., the interior sidewall 110) of the aircraft 100.”, “[0042]… [A]s depicted in FIG. 3, the lavatory 200 can have a cutout in the curved outboard wall 212 to house a display system 304 configured as a simulated window feature. The display system 304 can… giv[e] the user the impression of a window. At the same time, the display system 304 mimics a standard window used in the cabin 104….”, “[0043]… The display system 400 [in FIG. 4] can represent the display system 304, for example. The display system 400 includes a bezel 402. The bezel 402 can, for example, mimic similar bezels used for, or simulate the shape of, standard windows in the cabin 104. The bezel 402 can be configured as an oval- or oblong-shaped ring holding, securing, or retaining other components of the display system 400.”, “[0044] The display system 400 can also include a semi-transparent sheet 404 disposed at an anterior side of the display system 400 (e.g., side facing toward inside space of the lavatory 200). The semi-transparent sheet 404 can be made of a translucent material configured to permit, at least partially, the passage of light….”, “[0052] Additionally or alternatively, the semi-transparent sheet 404 can include multiple or a plurality of layers, each layer having a respective pattern printed thereon. FIG. 4A illustrates the semi-transparent sheet 404 having a plurality of layers, in accordance with an example implementation. In the example implementation of FIG. 4A, the semi-transparent sheet 404 includes multiple layers, such as layers 405A, 405B, 405C. Each respective pattern can be activated to glow and become visible when a particular type of light or wavelength is projected thereon. For instance, different patterns could be triggered by IR light or a particular wavelength of IR light, others could be triggered by UV light or a particular wavelength of UV light. As such, the light source 408 can be configured to emit UV or IR light to selectively cause a particular pattern of respective patterns of the multiple layers 405A, 405B, 405C to be visible.”, “[0055] FIG. 5 illustrates the display system 400 simulating a scene 500 from an external environment of the aircraft 100…. The scene 500 printed on the semi-transparent sheet 404 or multiple layers thereof includes a graphical representation of clouds, the sky, and a portion of a wing of the plane so as to simulate the environment of the aircraft 100. Different layers of semi-transparent sheet 404 can portray the scene in a respective particular state. By triggering the layers sequentially or cyclically (e.g., by emitting lights of respective wavelengths or different types of light sequentially over a period of time) an illusion that the scene is changing (e.g., clouds are moving) can be generated. Users of the lavatory 200 may thus feel that they are looking from a standard window outside the aircraft 100….”, see also FIGs. 6-7, “[0057] In addition or alternative to using a semi-transparent sheet, the display system can be configured with a display device. For instance, the display system can be configured with an electronic display (e.g., a screen) for presentation of images, text, or video transmitted electronically thereto….”, “[0058] FIG. 6 illustrates a cutout 601 in an outboard wall 602 of a lavatory 604, FIG. 6A illustrates a frontal view of a display system 600 integrated in the outboard wall 602, and FIG. 7 illustrates a posterior view of the display system 600…. The outboard wall 602 can have the cutout 601 having a boundary 603 that is oval- or oblong-shaped. The display system 600 can include a bezel 606 installed about the boundary 603 of the cutout 601. The display system also includes an electronic display 608 that visible from within the lavatory 604.”, “[0059] As shown in FIG. 7, the display system 600 can also include a fixture 700 configured to hold, secure, or retain the electronic display 608. The bezel 606 can be configured as ring-shaped and particularly oval- or oblong- shaped ring that is characteristic of windows of an aircraft or other vehicles. The electronic display 608, however, might not have the same shape as the bezel 606. As such, the fixture 700 is configured to have a cutout that matches a geometric shape of the electronic display 608. For instance, as shown in FIG. 7, the electronic display 608 is rectangular in shape, and the fixture 700 has a rectangular cutout to accommodate the electronic display 608. Plates, such as plates 609A, 609B, 609C can be fastened to the fixture 700 (e.g., through screws) and are configured to retain the electronic display 608 while pushing the electronic display 608 toward the bezel 606….”, and “[0060] Both the fixture 700 and the electronic display 608 mounted therein are disposed behind the bezel 606. As a result, despite the rectangular shape of the electronic display 608, a user of the lavatory 604 might see an oval- or oblong-shaped display as shown in the frontal view of FIG. 6, while other fringe or peripheral portions of the electronic display 608 are blocked.”); and
an arcuate display (405C in FIG. 4A) set behind and spaced apart from the window within a space between the wall and the exterior skin (Young: see FIGs. 1-5, “[0034]… The aircraft 100 [in FIG. 1] has a fuselage or body 102 that surrounds a cabin 104…. The cabin 104… has a lateral width between a first interior sidewall 110 and second interior sidewall 112 of the body 102.”, “[0036]… [I]n FIG. 1, the aircraft 100 includes two lavatories: a front lavatory 120 and a rear lavatory 122….”, “[0038] The lavatory 200 [in FIG. 2] generally includes… various sidewalls, e.g.,… a curved outboard wall 212. The curved outboard wall 212 is adjacent to a fuselage or the body of the aircraft 100…. The curved outboard wall 212 can be offset from respective interior sidewalls (e.g., the interior sidewall 110) of the aircraft 100.”, “[0042]… [A]s depicted in FIG. 3, the lavatory 200 can have a cutout in the curved outboard wall 212 to house a display system 304 configured as a simulated window feature. The display system 304 can… giv[e] the user the impression of a window. At the same time, the display system 304 mimics a standard window used in the cabin 104….”, “[0043]… The display system 400 [in FIG. 4] can represent the display system 304, for example. The display system 400 includes a bezel 402. The bezel 402 can, for example, mimic similar bezels used for, or simulate the shape of, standard windows in the cabin 104. The bezel 402 can be configured as an oval- or oblong-shaped ring holding, securing, or retaining other components of the display system 400.”, “[0044] The display system 400 can also include a semi-transparent sheet 404 disposed at an anterior side of the display system 400 (e.g., side facing toward inside space of the lavatory 200). The semi-transparent sheet 404 can be made of a translucent material configured to permit, at least partially, the passage of light….”, “[0046] The semi-transparent sheet 404 and the opaque back plate 406 can both be made from compliant or bendable material. With this configuration, the semi-transparent sheet 404 and the opaque back plate 406 can conform to a curvature of the curved outboard wall 212 of the lavatory 200.”, “[0052] Additionally or alternatively, the semi-transparent sheet 404 can include multiple or a plurality of layers, each layer having a respective pattern printed thereon. FIG. 4A illustrates the semi-transparent sheet 404 having a plurality of layers, in accordance with an example implementation. In the example implementation of FIG. 4A, the semi-transparent sheet 404 includes multiple layers, such as layers 405A, 405B, 405C. Each respective pattern can be activated to glow and become visible when a particular type of light or wavelength is projected thereon. For instance, different patterns could be triggered by IR light or a particular wavelength of IR light, others could be triggered by UV light or a particular wavelength of UV light. As such, the light source 408 can be configured to emit UV or IR light to selectively cause a particular pattern of respective patterns of the multiple layers 405A, 405B, 405C to be visible.”, “[0055] FIG. 5 illustrates the display system 400 simulating a scene 500 from an external environment of the aircraft 100, in accordance with an example implementation. The scene 500 printed on the semi-transparent sheet 404 or multiple layers thereof includes a graphical representation of clouds, the sky, and a portion of a wing of the plane so as to simulate the environment of the aircraft 100. Different layers of semi-transparent sheet 404 can portray the scene in a respective particular state. By triggering the layers sequentially or cyclically (e.g., by emitting lights of respective wavelengths or different types of light sequentially over a period of time) an illusion that the scene is changing (e.g., clouds are moving) can be generated. Users of the lavatory 200 may thus feel that they are looking from a standard window outside the aircraft 100….”, and “[0056]… [T]he display system 400 can be configured as a display system that shows different images, patterns, logos, etc….”, see also FIG. 6A (arcuate electronic display 608), “[0057] In addition or alternative to using a semi-transparent sheet, the display system can be configured with a display device. For instance, the display system can be configured with an electronic display (e.g., a screen) for presentation of images, text, or video transmitted electronically thereto….”, “[0058] FIG. 6 illustrates a cutout 601 in an outboard wall 602 of a lavatory 604, FIG. 6A illustrates a frontal view of a display system 600 integrated in the outboard wall 602, and FIG. 7 illustrates a posterior view of the display system 600, in accordance with an example implementation. The outboard wall 602 can have the cutout 601 having a boundary 603 that is oval- or oblong-shaped. The display system 600 can include a bezel 606 installed about the boundary 603 of the cutout 601. The display system also includes an electronic display 608 that visible from within the lavatory 604.”, “[0059] As shown in FIG. 7, the display system 600 can also include a fixture 700 configured to hold, secure, or retain the electronic display 608. The bezel 606 can be configured as ring-shaped and particularly oval- or oblong- shaped ring that is characteristic of windows of an aircraft or other vehicles. The electronic display 608, however, might not have the same shape as the bezel 606. As such, the fixture 700 is configured to have a cutout that matches a geometric shape of the electronic display 608. For instance, as shown in FIG. 7, the electronic display 608 is rectangular in shape, and the fixture 700 has a rectangular cutout to accommodate the electronic display 608. Plates, such as plates 609A, 609B, 609C can be fastened to the fixture 700 (e.g., through screws) and are configured to retain the electronic display 608 while pushing the electronic display 608 toward the bezel 606….”, “[0060] Both the fixture 700 and the electronic display 608 mounted therein are disposed behind the bezel 606. As a result, despite the rectangular shape of the electronic display 608, a user of the lavatory 604 might see an oval- or oblong-shaped display as shown in the frontal view of FIG. 6, while other fringe or peripheral portions of the electronic display 608 are blocked.”, “[0063] Example electronic displays include… [an] organic LED (OLED)….”, and “[0064] An OLED display can be bendable or compliant, and thus if the electronic display 608 is configured as an OLED display, the electronic display 608 can conform to curvature or contour of the outboard wall 602….”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Young, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the window is secured within an opening formed within a wall within the internal cabin, and wherein the wall is separated from an exterior skin (window and internal cabin of Abileah combined with the window, secured, opening, wall, internal cabin, and exterior skin of Young); and an arcuate electronic display set behind and spaced apart from the window within an open space between the wall and the exterior skin (arcuate electronic display, set and spaced, window, and open space of Abileah combined with the arcuate display, set and spaced, window, space, wall, and exterior skin of Young), to provide a virtual window in an aircraft. (Young: [0002] and [0006]).
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Young does not teach:
wherein the arcuate electronic display surrounds the perimeter edges, the rear surface, and the side blinkers of the window.
Guillemot teaches:
wherein an arcuate electronic display (1 in FIG. 27) surrounds perimeter edges (of 408a), a rear surface (of 408a) of a window (408a) (Guillemot: see FIG. 27, p. 43, ll. 9-10 (“… The cockpit has a front window 408a….”), and p. 44, ll. 18-21 (“… The curved emissive display [1 in FIG. 27] is structured to produce a continuous image of the virtual environment defining a field of view that ranges from one of the side window 408b to the other side window 408b and encompasses the front window 408a.”), see also FIG. 26, p. 43, ll. 20-24 (“… A continuous image is an image that, from the perspective of a user in the cockpit 406, presents a virtual environment in a continuous fashion. A continuous image will present to the user in the cockpit 406 a view of a virtual world that seems to stretch all across the visible field of view beyond the windows 408a-b, as seen from inside cockpit 406.”), p. 44, ll. 14-17 (“In both embodiments shown in Figures 26 and 27, the image displayed to the user inside the cockpit 406 is curved horizontally to concavely follow the window structure. An image so formed will "wrap around" the observer in the cockpit….”), and p. 45, ll. 3-6 (“In the embodiments shown in Figures 26 and 27 the displayed images are shaped as portions of spheres. Alternatively they can be elliptic. An elliptic shape may provide an increased sense of realism when viewing images from inside the cockpit 406.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Guillemot, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the arcuate electronic display surrounds the perimeter edges, the rear surface, and the side blinkers of the window (arcuate electronic display and perimeter edges, rear surface, and side blinkers of the window of Abileah as modified combined with the arcuate electronic display surrounds of Guillemot), to display a wrap around a viewer view. (Guillemot: p. 44, ll. 16-17).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abileah in view of Guillemot, in further view of Young, and in further view of Thomas.
Regarding claim 21, Abileah as modified by Guillemot teaches:
The virtual window system of claim 1, wherein the window includes one or more first portions in a first plane (corresponding to 312 in FIG. 3A of Abileah), and the arcuate electronic display includes one or more second portions in a second plane (corresponding to 320) that differs from the first plane, wherein the arcuate electronic display does not contact the window, wherein the arcuate electronic display is outboard from the window, wherein the side blinkers are disposed on a reveal (corresponding to 314 extending outward from 312 towards 340’s side), wherein the arcuate electronic display is spaced apart from the window within the open space, wherein the arcuate electronic display is secured between frames (314 left and right frames) (Abileah: see FIGs. 1A and 3A, col. 5, ll. 29-30 (“… [T]he transparent panel 112 [in FIG. 1A] is framed in the frame 114….”), col. 6, ll. 39-41 and 43-47 (“… The window 310 [in FIG. 3A] is similar to the window 110 as shown in FIG. 1A, which has at least one transparent panel 312 and a frame 314…. The curved display device 320 is disposed at a back side of the window 300 to display a fixed image, such that a viewer 340 at a front side of the window 300 may see the fixed image displayed by the display device 320 through the transparent panel 312 of the window 300….”), col. 7, ll. 1-3 (“… [T]he gap between the window 310 and the curved display device 320….”), and col. 9, ll. 11-14 (“… [T]he artificial window may be used to provide an image… in an enclosed environment (e.g., [a] cabin[] on a cruise ship…) without an actual window.”)).
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Guillemot does not teach:
wherein the window is secured outwardly from an opening formed within a wall, wherein the wall is separated from an exterior skin, wherein the arcuate electronic display includes edges secured to an exterior surface of the wall, wherein the arcuate electronic display is spaced apart from the window within the open space between the wall and the exterior skin.
Young teaches:
wherein a window (405A in FIG. 4A) is secured outwardly from an opening (cutout) formed within a wall (212 in FIG. 3), wherein the wall is separated from an exterior skin (102 in FIG. 1), wherein an arcuate display (405C in FIG. 4A) includes edges secured to an exterior surface of the wall, wherein the arcuate display is spaced apart from the window within a space between the wall and the exterior skin (Young: i.e., window when an arcuate display 405C pattern becomes visible; FIGs. 1-5, “[0034]… The aircraft 100 [in FIG. 1] has a fuselage or body 102 that surrounds a cabin 104…. The cabin 104… has a lateral width between a first interior sidewall 110 and second interior sidewall 112 of the body 102.”, “[0036]… [I]n FIG. 1, the aircraft 100 includes two lavatories: a front lavatory 120 and a rear lavatory 122….”, “[0038] The lavatory 200 [in FIG. 2] generally includes… various sidewalls, e.g.,… a curved outboard wall 212. The curved outboard wall 212 is adjacent to a fuselage or the body of the aircraft 100…. The curved outboard wall 212 can be offset from respective interior sidewalls (e.g., the interior sidewall 110) of the aircraft 100.”, “[0042]… [A]s depicted in FIG. 3, the lavatory 200 can have a cutout in the curved outboard wall 212 to house a display system 304 configured as a simulated window feature. The display system 304 can… giv[e] the user the impression of a window. At the same time, the display system 304 mimics a standard window used in the cabin 104….”, “[0043]… The display system 400 [in FIG. 4] can represent the display system 304, for example. The display system 400 includes a bezel 402. The bezel 402 can, for example, mimic similar bezels used for, or simulate the shape of, standard windows in the cabin 104. The bezel 402 can be configured as an oval- or oblong-shaped ring holding, securing, or retaining other components of the display system 400.”, “[0044] The display system 400 can also include a semi-transparent sheet 404 disposed at an anterior side of the display system 400 (e.g., side facing toward inside space of the lavatory 200). The semi-transparent sheet 404 can be made of a translucent material configured to permit, at least partially, the passage of light….”, “[0046] The semi-transparent sheet 404 and the opaque back plate 406 can both be made from compliant or bendable material. With this configuration, the semi-transparent sheet 404 and the opaque back plate 406 can conform to a curvature of the curved outboard wall 212 of the lavatory 200.”, “[0052] Additionally or alternatively, the semi-transparent sheet 404 can include multiple or a plurality of layers, each layer having a respective pattern printed thereon. FIG. 4A illustrates the semi-transparent sheet 404 having a plurality of layers, in accordance with an example implementation. In the example implementation of FIG. 4A, the semi-transparent sheet 404 includes multiple layers, such as layers 405A, 405B, 405C. Each respective pattern can be activated to glow and become visible when a particular type of light or wavelength is projected thereon. For instance, different patterns could be triggered by IR light or a particular wavelength of IR light, others could be triggered by UV light or a particular wavelength of UV light. As such, the light source 408 can be configured to emit UV or IR light to selectively cause a particular pattern of respective patterns of the multiple layers 405A, 405B, 405C to be visible.”, “[0055] FIG. 5 illustrates the display system 400 simulating a scene 500 from an external environment of the aircraft 100…. The scene 500 printed on the semi-transparent sheet 404 or multiple layers thereof includes a graphical representation of clouds, the sky, and a portion of a wing of the plane so as to simulate the environment of the aircraft 100. Different layers of semi-transparent sheet 404 can portray the scene in a respective particular state. By triggering the layers sequentially or cyclically (e.g., by emitting lights of respective wavelengths or different types of light sequentially over a period of time) an illusion that the scene is changing (e.g., clouds are moving) can be generated. Users of the lavatory 200 may thus feel that they are looking from a standard window outside the aircraft 100….”, and “[0056]… [T]he display system 400 can be configured as a display system that shows different images, patterns, logos, etc….” see also FIGs. 6, 6A (arcuate electronic display 608), and 7, “[0057] In addition or alternative to using a semi-transparent sheet, the display system can be configured with a display device. For instance, the display system can be configured with an electronic display (e.g., a screen) for presentation of images, text, or video transmitted electronically thereto….”, “[0058] FIG. 6 illustrates a cutout 601 in an outboard wall 602 of a lavatory 604, FIG. 6A illustrates a frontal view of a display system 600 integrated in the outboard wall 602, and FIG. 7 illustrates a posterior view of the display system 600…. The outboard wall 602 can have the cutout 601 having a boundary 603 that is oval- or oblong-shaped. The display system 600 can include a bezel 606 installed about the boundary 603 of the cutout 601. The display system also includes an electronic display 608 that visible from within the lavatory 604.”, “[0059] As shown in FIG. 7, the display system 600 can also include a fixture 700 configured to hold, secure, or retain the electronic display 608. The bezel 606 can be configured as ring-shaped and particularly oval- or oblong- shaped ring that is characteristic of windows of an aircraft or other vehicles. The electronic display 608, however, might not have the same shape as the bezel 606. As such, the fixture 700 is configured to have a cutout that matches a geometric shape of the electronic display 608. For instance, as shown in FIG. 7, the electronic display 608 is rectangular in shape, and the fixture 700 has a rectangular cutout to accommodate the electronic display 608. Plates, such as plates 609A, 609B, 609C can be fastened to the fixture 700 (e.g., through screws) and are configured to retain the electronic display 608 while pushing the electronic display 608 toward the bezel 606….”, “[0060] Both the fixture 700 and the electronic display 608 mounted therein are disposed behind the bezel 606. As a result, despite the rectangular shape of the electronic display 608, a user of the lavatory 604 might see an oval- or oblong-shaped display as shown in the frontal view of FIG. 6, while other fringe or peripheral portions of the electronic display 608 are blocked.”, “[0063] Example electronic displays include… [an] organic LED (OLED)….”, and “[0064] An OLED display can be bendable or compliant, and thus if the electronic display 608 is configured as an OLED display, the electronic display 608 can conform to curvature or contour of the outboard wall 602….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Young, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the window is secured outwardly from an opening formed within a wall, wherein the wall is separated from an exterior skin, wherein the arcuate electronic display includes edges secured to an exterior surface of the wall, wherein the arcuate electronic display is spaced apart from the window within the open space between the wall and the exterior skin (window, arcuate electronic display, and open space of Abileah as modified combined with the window, opening within a wall, exterior skin, arcuate display, edges, exterior surface of the wall, and space of Young), to provide a virtual window in an aircraft. (Young: [0002] and [0006]).
However, it is noted that Abileah as modified by Guillemot and Young does not teach:
wherein the window system further comprises mirrors on inside surfaces of the frames.
Thomas teaches:
further comprises mirrors (16 in Fig. 1) on inside surfaces of frames (12 corresponding to mirrors 16) (Thomas: Fig. 1 and col. 4, ll. 47-55 (“Referring now to FIG. 1 of the drawings, there is shown a perspective view of the outside of a simulator visual display system 10. Mounted onto a supporting frame 12 are eight video projectors 14 and eight corresponding mirrors 16 (three each of the video projectors and mirrors are hidden in this view) which reflect (or fold) the video beams projected from each video projector 14 to the rear of corresponding translucent rear-projection screens, or windows, 18….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to: include the features taught by Thomas, such that Abileah as modified teaches: wherein the window system further comprises mirrors on inside surfaces of the frames (frames of Abileah as modified combined with the mirrors and inside surfaces of frames of Thomas), to display images.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 4/17/26B