DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently being examined.
Specification
The Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 and Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 and Claim 13 each contain a limitation with the phrase “in a dangerous condition” that is a subjective limitations. The Specification neither describes, nor provides any standard for determining, the scope of “in a dangerous condition”. Some objective standard must be provided in order to allow one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the scope of the claim. A claim that requires the exercise of subjective judgments without restriction renders the claim indefinite. In re Musgrave, 431 F.2d 882, 893 (CCPA 1970). It is also to be noted that the Specification refers to “a dangerous state”, not “a dangerous condition”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, 8, 11, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weselak et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0236463).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Weselak et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 1 as follows:
A method for transporting and storing a battery, comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor in an electronic device, a first control signal indicating to store a first battery in a storage, (See Pars. 0010, 0013-0015, 0055, 0062--0066, 0076; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 50(electronic device)
wherein the storage includes a plurality of zones partitioned by predetermined criteria, and (See Pars. 0012, 0013, 0018, 0045, 0049; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 13(zones), 20(storage)
each of the plurality of zones includes a plurality of slots for accommodating at least one battery; (See Pars. 0010, 0013, 0014, 0016, 0020-0022, 0032, 0049, 0054, 0055, 0058; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
obtaining battery information related to the first battery and identification information including a plurality of identifiers corresponding to each of the plurality of slots, (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
determining, based on the battery information related to the first battery, at least one zone corresponding to the battery information related to the first battery as a target zone among the plurality of zones; (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
determining at least one slot among the plurality of slots included in the target zone as a target slot based on at least one of the identification information or the battery information; (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056, 0083; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
transporting the first battery to the target slot for accommodation; and (See Pars. 0013, 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0079; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
updating the identification information by associating the battery information with an identifier of the target slot. (See Pars. 0018, 0020, 0068, 0070, 0092; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
With respect to Claim 6, which depends from independent Claim 1, Weselak et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 6, Weselak et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the transporting of the first battery comprises:
transporting the first battery to a predetermined location in the storage using at least one transport device; and (See Pars. 0013, 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0079; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), 54(transport device), "plate/container"(battery)
transporting the first battery from the predetermined location to the target slot using at least one transport module in the storage. (See Pars. 0013, 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0079; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), 54(transport device), "plate/container"(battery)
With respect to Claim 8, which depends from independent Claim 1, Weselak et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 8, Weselak et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the determining the target slot comprises:
checking whether the battery is accommodated in each of the plurality of slots based on the plurality of identifiers; and (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
selecting at least one slot in which no battery is accommodated, thereby determining the target slot. (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
With respect to independent Claim 11, Weselak et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 11 as follows:
A system for transporting and storing a battery, comprising:
a storage, wherein the storage includes a plurality of zones partitioned by predetermined criteria, and (See Pars. 0012, 0013, 0018, 0045, 0049; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 13(zones), 20(storage)
the plurality of zones includes a plurality of slots for accommodating at least one battery; (See Pars. 0010, 0013, 0014, 0016, 0020-0022, 0032, 0049, 0054, 0055, 0058; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
a memory storing identification information which includes a plurality of identifiers corresponding to each of the plurality of slots; and (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
at least one processor configured to perform a transport operation for storing the first battery in the storage in response to a first control signal indicating to store the first battery, (See Pars. 0010, 0013-0015, 0055, 0062--0066, 0076; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 50(electronic device)
wherein the storage operation comprises:
obtaining battery information related to the first battery and identification information including a plurality of identifiers corresponding to each of the plurality of slots; (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
determining, based on the battery information related to the first battery, at least one zone corresponding to the battery information related to the first battery as a target zone among the plurality of zones; (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
determining at least one slot among the plurality of slots included in the target zone as a target slot based on at least one of the identification information or the battery information; (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056, 0083; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
transporting the first battery to the target slot for accommodation; and (See Pars. 0013, 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0079; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
updating the identification information by associating the battery information with an identifier of the target slot. (See Pars. 0018, 0020, 0068, 0070, 0092; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
With respect to Claim 15, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 11, Weselak et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 15, Weselak et al discloses as follows:
The system of claim 14, wherein the taking-out operation includes:
identifying a first slot in which the first battery is accommodated; and (See Pars. 0013, 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0079; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), 54(transport device), "plate/container"(battery)
transporting the first battery to take out the first battery from the identified slot. (See Pars. 0013, 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0079; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), 54(transport device), "plate/container"(battery)
With respect to Claim 18, which depends from independent Claim 11, Weselak et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 18, Weselak et al discloses as follows:
The system of claim 11, wherein the determining the target slot includes:
checking whether a battery is accommodated in each of the plurality of slots based on the plurality of identifiers; and (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
selecting at least one slot in which no battery is accommodated, thereby determining the target slot. (See Pars. 0014, 0032-0035, 0052, 0056; Figs. 1-3A; Ref. Numerals 20(storage), 13(zones), 22(slots), "plate/container"(battery)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In the alternative, one or more of these claims may be incorporated as further limitations into the respective rejected independent base claim from which they depend. These allowable claims would make the rejected independent base claims allowable because the rejected base claims would then contain subject matter that was neither disclosed nor taught or fairly suggested in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure because the prior art references contain subject matter that relates to one or more of Applicant’s claim limitations. Any hypothetical prior art rejections based on these references would require impermissible hindsight reasoning.
/THOMAS RANDAZZO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 July 9, 2026