DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, & 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP08162357A hereafter referred to as Yoneda.
In regards to claim 1, Yoneda discloses
An electronic component, comprising:
a component body (11 & 17 – fig. 1-2; [0026] & [0032]) with a length in a length direction; and
a pair of external electrodes (13a & 13b – fig. 1-2; [0028]) at both ends of the component body, respectively, in the length direction; wherein
the component body includes a protrusion (17) protruding outwardly beyond the pair of external electrodes in one direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the length direction, in at least a portion of an area exposed between the pair of external electrodes;
the protrusion extends completely across the portion of the area exposed between the pair of external electrodes in the length direction and directly contacts the pair of external electrodes (seen in fig. 1-2);
at least a portion of the pair of external electrodes is exposed from a material of the protrusion (seen in fig. 1-2); and
the protrusion includes resin ([0032]).
In regards to claim 3, Yoneda discloses
The electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the protrusion is provided around an entire or substantially an entire outer periphery of the component body (seen in fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 4, Yoneda discloses
The electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the component body includes a base body (11)including an internal electrode (12 – fig. 2; [0026]); and the protrusion is provided on a surface of the base body (seen in fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 6, Yoneda discloses
The electronic component according to claim 1, wherein each of the pair of external electrodes includes a multilayer film including a sintered metal layer (14a/14b – fig. 2; [0029] & [0083]) and a plated layer (15a/15b/16a/16b – fig. 2; [0030-0031] & [0083]).
In regards to claim 7, Yoneda discloses
The electronic component according to claim 6, wherein the sintered metal layer includes Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, an Ag-Pd alloy, or Au ([0029]).
In regards to claim 8, Yoneda discloses
The electronic component according to claim 6, wherein the plated layer includes a Ni plated layer (15a/15b) and a Sn plated layer (16a/16b) covering the Ni plated layer ([0030-0031]).
In regards to claim 9, Yoneda discloses
The electronic component according to claim 1, wherein each of the pair of external electrodes extends from the respective end surface of the component body to lateral side surfaces and main side surfaces of the component body (fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 10, Yoneda discloses
The electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the component body includes a plurality of dielectric ceramic layers and a plurality of internal electrode layers alternatively stacked in a lamination direction (fig. 2; [0026-0027]).
In regards to claim 11, Yoneda discloses
The electronic component according to claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of dielectric ceramic layers includes barium titanate ([0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda in view of JPH0533568U hereafter referred to as JP568.
In regards to claim 2,
Yoneda fails to disclose wherein the protrusion protrudes outwardly from the external electrodes by at least about 15 μm in the one direction.
JP568 discloses that gap between the external electrodes and lands of a circuit board (i.e. the amount the protrusion protrudes outwardly from the external electrodes), is a result effective variable, particularly for reducing solder fatigue fracture ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the protrusion of Yoneda such the protrusion protrudes outwardly from the external electrodes by at least about 15 μm in the one direction in order to reduce solder fatigue fracture, as taught by JP568. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, & 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al. (US 2015/0223334) in view of Nishikawa et al. (US 2005/0017373).
In regards to claim 1,
Nakagawa ‘334 discloses an electronic component, comprising:
a component body (11 – fig. 1-2; [0050]) with a length in a length direction; and
a pair of external electrodes (15 & 16 – fig. 1-2; [0050]) at both ends of the component body, respectively, in the length direction. Nakagawa ‘334 fails to disclose the component body includes a protrusion protruding outwardly beyond the pair of external electrodes in one direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the length direction, in at least a portion of an area exposed between the pair of external electrodes; the protrusion extends completely across the portion of the area exposed between the pair of external electrodes in the length direction and directly contacts the pair of external electrodes; at least a portion of the pair of external electrodes is exposed from a material of the protrusion; and the protrusion includes resin.
Nishikawa ‘373 discloses an electronic component, comprising:
a component body (32 & 6 – fig. 1; [0037-0038]) with a length in a length direction; and
a pair of external electrodes (34 – fig. 1; [0038]) at both ends of the component body, respectively, in the length direction; wherein
the component body includes a protrusion (6) protruding outwardly beyond the pair of external electrodes in one direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the length direction, in at least a portion of an area exposed between the pair of external electrodes;
the protrusion extends completely across the portion of the area exposed between the pair of external electrodes in the length direction and directly contacts the pair of external electrodes (fig. 1);
at least a portion of the pair of external electrodes is exposed from a material of the protrusion (fig. 1); and
the protrusion includes resin ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a protruding portion as taught by Nishikawa ‘373 with the capacitor of Nakagawa ‘334 to improve shearing strength.
In regards to claim 4,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by J Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein the component body includes a base body including an internal electrode (13 – fig. 2; [0051] of Nakagawa ‘334);
the protrusion is provided on a surface of the base body (fig. 1 of Nishikawa ‘373).
In regards to claim 5,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein dimensions of the electronic component are between about 0.2 mm and about 1.2 mm inclusive in the length direction, between about 0.1 mm and about 0.7 mm inclusive in a width direction, and between and about 0.1 mm and about 0.7 mm inclusive in a lamination direction ([0069] of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 6,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein each of the pair of external electrodes includes a multilayer film including a sintered metal layer and a plated layer ([0056] of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 7,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein the sintered metal layer includes Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, an Ag-Pd alloy, or Au ([0056] of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 8,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein the plated layer includes a Ni plated layer and a Sn plated layer covering the Ni plated layer ([0056] of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 9,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein each of the pair of external electrodes extends from the respective end surface of the component body to lateral side surfaces and main side surfaces of the component body (fig. 1-2 of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 10,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein the component body includes a plurality of dielectric ceramic layers (12 – fig. 2; [0051] of Nakagawa ‘334) and a plurality of internal electrode layers (13 – fig. 2; [0051] of Nakagawa ‘334) alternatively stacked in a lamination direction.
In regards to claim 11,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric ceramic layers includes barium titanate ([0051] of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 12,
Nakagawa ‘334 discloses a mounting structure for an electronic component comprising:
a pair of external electrodes (15 & 16 – fig. 1-2; [0050]) respectively connected to a pair of lands (25 & 26 – fig. 4-5 & 7; [0065]) spaced apart on a surface of a board (20A – fig. 7; [0072]);
wherein the electronic component includes a component body (11 – fig. 1-2; [0050]) with a length in a length direction and the pair of external electrodes provided on the component body; and
the component body is in contact with the board, and a gap is provided between each of the pair of external electrodes and the board (seen in fig. 7 – solder is between the external electrodes and lands thus forming a gap)
a gap is provided between each of the pair of external electrodes and the board (seen in fig. 7 – solder is between the external electrodes and lands thus forming a gap). Nakagawa ‘334 fails to disclose the component body includes a protrusion protruding outwardly beyond the pair of external electrodes in one direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the length direction, in at least a portion of an area exposed between the pair of external electrodes, the component body is in contact with the board, and the protrusion extends completely across the portion of the area exposed between the pair of external electrodes in the length direction and directly contacts the pair of external electrodes; at least a portion of the pair of external electrodes is exposed from a material of the protrusion; and the protrusion includes resin
Nishikawa ‘373 discloses a mounting structure for an electronic component comprising:
a pair of external electrodes (34 – fig. 1; [0038]) respectively connected to a pair of lands (2 – fig. 1; [0035]) spaced apart on a surface of a board (1 – fig. 1; [0035]);
wherein the electronic component includes a component body with a length in a length direction and the pair of external electrodes provided on the component body; and
the component body (32 & 6 – fig. 1; [0037-0038]) includes a protrusion (6) protruding outwardly beyond the pair of external electrodes in one direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the length direction, in at least a portion of an area exposed between the pair of external electrodes;
the component body is in contact with the board, and a gap is provided between each of the pair of external electrodes and the board (fig. 1);
the protrusion extends completely across the portion of the area exposed between the pair of external electrodes in the length direction and directly contacts the pair of external electrodes (fig. 1);
at least a portion of the pair of external electrodes is exposed from a material of the protrusion (fig. 1); and
the protrusion includes resin ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a protruding portion as taught by Nishikawa ‘373 with the capacitor of Nakagawa ‘334 to improve shearing strength.
In regards to claim 15,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein dimensions of the electronic component are between about 0.2 mm and about 1.2 mm inclusive in the length direction, between about 0.1 mm and about 0.7 mm inclusive in a width direction, and between and about 0.1 mm and about 0.7 mm inclusive in a lamination direction ([0069] of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 16,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein each of the pair of external electrodes includes a multilayer film including a sintered metal layer and a plated layer ([0056] of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 17,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein the sintered metal layer includes Cu, Ni, Ag, Pd, an Ag-Pd alloy, or Au ([0056] of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 18,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein the plated layer includes a Ni plated layer and a Sn plated layer covering the Ni plated layer ([0056] of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 19,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein each of the pair of external electrodes extends from the respective end surface of the component body to lateral side surfaces and main side surfaces of the component body (fig. 1-2 of Nakagawa ‘334).
In regards to claim 20,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein the component body includes a plurality of dielectric ceramic layers (12 – fig. 2; [0051] of Nakagawa ‘334) and a plurality of internal electrode layers (13 – fig. 2; [0051] of Nakagawa ‘334) alternatively stacked in a lamination direction.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of JP568.
In regards to claim 13,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 fails to disclose wherein the gap is at least about 15 µm.
JP568 discloses that gap between the external electrodes and lands of a circuit board, is a result effective variable, particularly for reducing solder fatigue fracture ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 such that the gap is at least about 15 µm in order to reduce solder fatigue fracture, as taught by JP568. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of JPS5966189A hereafter referred to as Nishimura.
In regards to claim 14,
Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 further discloses wherein the board includes a fiber orientation extending in one direction ([0073]). Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 fails to explixtly disclose the electronic component is arranged such that a direction in which the pair of external electrodes are spaced apart from each other is parallel or substantially parallel to the fiber orientation.
Nishimura discloses the electronic component is arranged such that a direction in which the pair of external electrodes are spaced apart from each other is parallel or substantially parallel to the fiber orientation (fig. 1; [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Nakagawa ‘334 as modified by Nishikawa ‘373 such the electronic component is arranged such that a direction in which the pair of external electrodes are spaced apart from each other is parallel or substantially parallel to the fiber orientation as taught by Nishimura to reduce the stress on the electronic component.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6,915,944 – fig. 1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847