DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, claims 1 and 12 recite “the protrusion has a shape in which a length in a fourth direction intersecting the first direction and the third direction increases from a protruding end of the protrusion toward an outer surface of the main body”. It is not clear what is being claimed. It is not clear how the limitation “a shape” and “a length” of the protrusion are related. It is not also clear which side or direction is the limitation” toward an outer surface of the main body” is referring. It is also noted that from the above claimed limitation the fourth direction appears to claim inclined direction as it intersects both the first direction and the third direction. This appears to contradict how the fourth direction defined in the specification as “the left direction in the right-left direction” in paragraph 0049.
Regarding claims 2-10, claims 2-10 are similarly rejected for inheriting the above discussed issues due to their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2016/0279958).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al teaches a liquid container (30 figs.1-4,7-11) insertable into an attachment unit (110 figs.1,7-11) in a first direction (51), the liquid container comprising:
a main body (body of 30 including 31,32 figs.1-4,7-11) that is blow-molded and includes a chamber configured to store liquid (paragraphs 0093,0094) and a protrusion (43 figs.3-5) having a contact surface (151) that faces a second direction (52) opposite to the first direction (51),
wherein the contact surface (151 figs.3-5) is configured to be in contact with a contact portion (145) of the attachment unit (110 figs.7-11),
the protrusion (43 figs.3-5) protrudes in a third direction (54) that intersects the first direction (51),
the protrusion (43 figs.3-5) has a shape in which a length in a fourth direction ( figs.3-5,14) intersecting the first direction (51) and the third direction (54) increases from a protruding end of the protrusion (43) toward an outer surface of the main body (figs.3-5,14).
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al further teaches wherein the protrusion (43 figs.3-5,14) has:
an inclined surface (155 figs.3-5,14) that faces the first direction (51) and inclined with respect to the first direction;
a first side surface (156 figs.3-5,14) that connects the inclined surface with the contact surface;
a second side surface (157 figs.3-5,14) that connects the inclined surface with the contact surface;
a first boundary portion (152 figs.3-5,14) positioned between the inclined surface (155) and first side surface (156); and
a second boundary portion (153 figs.3-5,14) positioned between the inclined surface (155) and second side surface (157), and
the first boundary portion (152 figs.3-5,14) or the second boundary portion (153 figs.3-5,14) is continuous with a side surface of the main body facing the fourth direction (figs.3-5,14).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al further teaches wherein the protrusion (43 figs.3-5) has a third boundary portion (154 figs.3-5,14) positioned between the first side surface and the second side surface, the third boundary portion (154) is continuous with a rear end of the first boundary portion, the third boundary portion (154) is continuous with a rear end of the second boundary portion, and the contact surface is continuous with a rear end of the third boundary portion (figs.3-5,14).
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al further teaches wherein the protrusion (43 figs.3-5) is configured to mechanically identify the liquid container (figs.2-5,14 particular ink containers can be supported by 110).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al further teaches wherein the main body includes a pinch-off portion (90, and/or 62 figs.3-5) that is pinched off in blow molding, and the protrusion (43 figs.3-5) is positioned at a position different from the pinch-off portion (figs.3-5,14).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al further teaches wherein the main body (body of 30 including 31,32 figs.1-4,7-11) has a wall provided by a plurality of resin layers having different compositions (figs.1-4,7-11. note that, in a structure claim limitation directed to method of manufacturing is not given patentable weight).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al further teaches wherein a maximum length of the protrusion (43 figs.3-5) in the fourth direction is half a length of the outer surface of the main body in the fourth direction (figs.3-5).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al further teaches wherein a maximum length of the protrusion (43 figs.3-5) in the fourth direction is greater than a length of the protrusion in the third direction (figs.3-5).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al further teaches wherein an angle formed by the first side surface (156 figs.3-5,14) and a virtual plane orthogonal to the third direction (54) is equal to or less than 45 degrees, and an angle formed by the second side surface (157 figs.3-5,14) and the virtual plane is equal to or less than 45 degrees ( figs.3-5,14).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al further teaches wherein an angle formed by the first side surface (156 figs.3-5,14) and a virtual plane orthogonal to the third direction (54) is equal to or less than 40 degrees, and an angle formed by the second side surface (157 figs.3-5,14) and the virtual plane is equal to or less than 40 degrees (figs.3-5,14).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al further teaches wherein the contact surface (151 figs.3-5) has: a first surface (152); a first inclined surface (154) adjacent to the first surface in the fourth direction; and a second inclined surface adjacent to the first surface in a fifth direction opposite to the fourth direction (figs.3-5).
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al teaches a manufacturing method for a liquid container, the liquid container (30 figs.1-4,7-11) being insertable into an attachment unit (110 figs.1,7-11) in a first direction, the manufacturing method comprising:
blow-molding a main body (body of 30 including 31,32 figs.1-4,7-11) of the liquid container (30) including a chamber configured to store liquid (paragraphs 0093,0094) and a protrusion (43 figs.3-5) having a contact surface (151) that faces a second direction (52) opposite to the first direction (51),
wherein the contact surface (151 figs.3-5) is configured to be in contact with a contact portion (145) of the attachment unit (110 figs.7-11),
the protrusion (43 figs.3-5) protrudes in a third direction (54) that intersects the first direction (51),
the protrusion (43 figs.3-5) has a shape in which a length in a fourth direction ( figs.3-5,14) intersecting the first direction (51) and the third direction (54) increases from a protruding end of the protrusion (43) toward an outer surface of the main body (figs.3-5,14).
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853