DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The nine information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink (see page 9) and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-19, 21-45, 47-49, 51, and 53-55 are pending in this application. Claims 6, 11, 20, 46, 50, and 52 have been cancelled by applicant.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 19 should read: “wherein the organic solvent is an alcohol.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 26-27, 31, 33-34, 41-45, and 53-55 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (see provisional NSDP rejection of claim 25), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-30, 35, and 37-40 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24, 32, 36, 47-49, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 is indefinite because it is drawn to compound I-n ‘or a salt thereof.’ However, it is unclear what applicant intends here, since I-n is already a sodium salt.
Claim 47 recites the limitation "the crystalline mixture". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, or in claim 45 from which it depends. While claim 45 depends upon claim 41, which pertains to a method of preparing a mixture of crystalline Forms A and B, claim 45 does not encompass this ‘mixture’, rather a suspension which is ‘partially dissolved in ethanol’. Thus, it is unclear what ‘crystalline mixture’ applicant is referring to.
Claim 48 is unclear because it reads as the method wherein “the suspension of claim 41 is . . . subjected to heating, cooling, and stirring” simultaneously. It is unclear how heating and cooling can occur simultaneously. Examiner suggests rephrasing to read: “the suspension of claim 41 is . . . and subjected to steps of heating or cooling, with or without stirring” – or something to that effect.
Claim 49 is indefinite because it is unclear what applicant intends by “wherein the heating is carried out in 3-5 steps at a temperature . . .” It is not clear what steps applicant refers to. Examiner will interpret this limitation to mean: “wherein the heating is carried out by increasing the temperature 3-5 times, to heat from 20 to 70 °C in 1 to 3 hours.” If this was the meaning Applicant intended, please amend as suggested here to reflect that.
Claim 32 it is unclear if Applicant intended for the heating to be carried out to a temperature ranging from 30 to 50 °C or if the heating is to be done on a sample that is at 30 to 50 °C.
Claim 36 is indefinite because the language used makes it unclear if particles are to stay suspended or in solution. Examiner suggests rewording to say: “to induce particles that stay suspended
Claim 51 it is unclear if Applicant intended for the cooling to be carried out to a temperature ranging from 15 to 40 °C or if the cooling is to be done on a sample that is at 15 to 40 °C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane et al. (WO 2023/249980 A1 – Int. Filing Date: 06/21/2023 – cited in IDS) (“Kane”); in view of Goodreid et al. (J. Org. Chem. 2014, 79, 943−954) (“Goodreid”).
Regarding claim 24, Kane discloses the carboxylic acid derivative of instant compound I-n (see page 36).
While Kane does not disclose the sodium salt I-n as claimed, the teachings of Goodreid are relied upon to leverage these differences.
Goodreid teaches alkali metal salts of carboxylic acids for use in amide coupling reactions. Goodreid teaches amidation of a wide variety of carboxylate salts with either free amines or their ammonium hydrochloride salts can be achieved using HBTU as a coupling agent in combination with Hünig’s base (abstract). In Table 4 (page 946) Goodreid shows formation of lithium salts of carboxylic acids with LiOH prior to use in an amide coupling reaction. Table 5 (page 947) shows sodium salts can also be used, which one of ordinary skill would be able to prepare using NaOH instead of LiOH.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the instantly claimed sodium salt of Kane’s compound in view of Goodreid. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in view of Goodreid’s teaching that sodium salts of carboxylic acids can be used in amide couplings with high efficacies. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Kane discloses their carboxylic acid above; further because Goodreid discloses formation of alkali metal carboxylate salts with the corresponding alkali metal hydroxide prior to use in an amide coupling reaction.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane et al. (WO 2023/249980 A1 – Int. Filing Date: 06/21/2023 – cited in IDS) (“Kane”); in view of Goodreid et al. (J. Org. Chem. 2014, 79, 943−954) (“Goodreid”); as applied to claim 24 above; further in view of Owens et al. (WO 2014/039899 A1 – cited in IDS) (“Owens”).
The teachings of Kane and Goodreid are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Kane in view of Goodreid discloses the instant compound I-n, which results from formation of the sodium salt of Kane’s carboxylic acid below, as taught by Goodreid.
While Kane in view of Goodreid do not teach a method of preparing the compound I-n; the teachings of Owens are relied upon for these disclosures.
Owens teaches the instant compounds I-l and I-m below (a.k.a. 2-methyl-2-[4-(oxetan-3-yl)piperazin-1-yl]propanal and 2-cyanoacetic acid, respectively) (see page 87, line 6; and page 52, line 13, respectively). Owens also discloses a method for preparing α, β-unsaturated 2-cyanocarboxylic acids starting from I-m below and the corresponding aldehyde – see, for example Reference 4 (page 52) where I-m is reacted with 2-methylpropanal to give 2-cyano-4-methylpent-2-enoic acid in methanol (alcohol solvent) with piperidine (an organic base) followed by an acid wash to give Kane’s acid above.
Therefore, regarding instant claims 16 and 19, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare Kane in view of Goodreid via a condensation reaction of I-l and I-m in methanol with an organic base, as taught by Owens. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Kane in view of Goodreid disclose the instant compound I-n as an intermediate in the synthesis of anti-cancer compounds; further because Owens discloses aldehyde I-l and 2-cyanoacetic acid I-m, and teaches conditions for condensation of aldehydes with I-m to give α, β-unsaturated 2-cyanocarboxylic acids, such as I-n.
Regarding instant claims 17-18, Owens conditions, as described above, would afford Kane’s carboxylic acid, which then needs to be deprotonated with NaOH to give sodium carboxylate I-n, as taught by Goodreid. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to substitute Owens piperidine base for sodium hydroxide. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to circumvent the additional acid base step to form sodium salt I-n, thus promoting condensation of I-l with I-m whilst forming the desired sodium salt for amide coupling, as taught by Kane in view of Goodreid. Further regarding claim 18, addition of NaOH to Owens’ reaction, which takes place in methanol, would be expected to form sodium methoxide, thus reading on the instant claim.1
Applicant is advised that, per MPEP 2144.06 (II): “An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).”
Claims 1, 3-5, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane et al. (WO 2023/249980 A1 – Int. Filing Date: 06/21/2023 – cited in IDS) (“Kane”); in view of Goodreid et al. (J. Org. Chem. 2014, 79, 943−954) (“Goodreid”); as applied to claim 24 above; further in view of Babler et al. (WO 2014/022569 A1 – Cited in IDS) (“Babler”); and Masjedizadeh et al. (WO 2015/127310 A1 – cited in IDS) (“Masjedizadeh”).
The teachings of Kane and Goodreid are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 15, Kane discloses their amide coupling conditions with the carboxylic acid derivative of instant compound I-n and a -OTBDMS derivative of instant I-g (top page 36), using HATU (amide coupling reagent), DIPEA (organic base), in DMF (organic solvent). Kane in view of Goodreid disclose instant sodium carboxylate I-n (as discussed above). Goodreid discloses their amide coupling reactions comprising alkali metal carboxylates with HBTU (amide coupling reagent), DMF (organic solvent), HCl salts of their amide derivative (reading on addition of an acid, and HCl in claim 4), and DIPEA (organic base) – thus reading on the instantly claimed general conditions for coupling I-g and I-n to afford Formula I. Further regarding claim 15, Kane in view of Goodreid teach compound I-n as a single isomer, thus reading on ‘at least 95% by weight I-E’.
While Kane, Goodreid, and Kane in view of Goodreid do not specifically teach the amide coupling of I-n with I-g to afford instant compound I, the teachings of Babler and Masjedizadeh are relied upon for these disclosures.
Babler teaches similar amide coupling reactions involving instant compound I-g (see step 3, page 84). Babler teaches a Boc protected derivative of I-g (tert-butyl (3R)-3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxyphenyl)-1H-pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-1-yl]piperidine-1-carboxylate) being deprotected with TFA in DCM – affording TFA salt of I-g – followed by dilution with water and deprotonation with sodium carbonate to give instant I-g (3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxyphenyl)-1-[ (3R)-piperidin-3-yl]-1 H-pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-4-amine) (step 2, page 84). Babler specifically teaches removal of their Boc protecting groups can be done with TFA or HCl (page 43, line 13) – thus suggesting use of HCl for removal of Boc, which would afford instant salt I-f.
Masjedizadeh discloses the instant compound of Formula I and methods of making (abstract and page 1). Masjedizadeh discloses the instant compound of Formula I as a BTK inhibitor with applications in the treatment of cancer and inflammatory diseases.
Therefore, regarding claims 1, 4, and 15, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare Masjedizadeh’s compound (instant Formula I) via an amide coupling of Babler’s I-g compound with Kane in view of Goodreid’s compound I-n. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Kane in view of Goodreid teach instant compound I-n and similar amide coupling reactions comprising amide coupling reagents, organic bases, acids, and organic solvents. One would have been further motivated with a reasonable expectation of success because Baber teaches instant compound I-g, which may be obtained as an HCl salt after Boc-deprotection (see step 2, page 84 and page 43, line 13) – reading on addition of an acid; further because Masjedizadeh discloses instant Formula I as a BTK inhibitor with applications in the treatment of cancer and inflammatory diseases.
Regarding claim 3, Babler teaches triethylamine in a similar amide coupling reaction (see page 103, para. 1); therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to replace DIPEA for TEA in the amide coupling reaction of I-g with I-n to give Formula I. Applicant is reminded that, per MPEP 2144.06 (II): “An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious.”
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Babler teaches TEA as the organic base and DCM as the solvent in a related amide coupling reaction (page 106, para. 1).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane et al. (WO 2023/249980 A1 – Int. Filing Date: 06/21/2023 – cited in IDS) (“Kane”); in view of Goodreid et al. (J. Org. Chem. 2014, 79, 943−954) (“Goodreid”); further in view of Babler et al. (WO 2014/022569 A1 – Cited in IDS) (“Babler”); and Masjedizadeh et al. (WO 2015/127310 A1 – cited in IDS) (“Masjedizadeh”); as applied to claims as applied to claims 1, 3-5, and 15 above; further in view of Dunetz et al. (Org. Lett., Vol. 13, No. 19, 2011, 5048-5051) (“Dunetz”).
The teachings of Kane, Goodreid, Babler, and Masjedizadeh are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
While Kane in view of Goodreid, further in view of Babler and Masjedizadeh do not teach T3P as the amide coupling reagent, the teachings of Dunetz are relied upon for these disclosures.
Dunetz teaches their amide coupling conditions using T3P, resulting in high yields, easy setup and product isolation (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare instant compound of Formula I with T3P as the amide coupling reagent, as taught by Kane in view of Goodreid, further in view of Babler and Masjedizadeh, further in view of Dunetz. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Kane in view of Goodreid, further in view of Babler and Masjedizadeh disclose the claimed amide coupling reaction of I-g and I-n to give Formula I; further because Dunetz discloses T3P as an amide coupling reagent which offers practical and experimental benefits, including high yields, easy setup, and easy product isolation.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane et al. (WO 2023/249980 A1 – Int. Filing Date: 06/21/2023 – cited in IDS) (“Kane”); in view of Goodreid et al. (J. Org. Chem. 2014, 79, 943−954) (“Goodreid”); further in view of Babler et al. (WO 2014/022569 A1 – Cited in IDS) (“Babler”); and Masjedizadeh et al. (WO 2015/127310 A1 – cited in IDS) (“Masjedizadeh”); as applied to claims as applied to claims 1, 3-5, and 15 above; further in view of Owens et al. (WO 2014/039899 A1 – cited in IDS) (“Owens”).
The teachings of Kane, Goodreid, Babler, and Masjedizadeh are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
Kane discloses the carboxylic acid derivative of instant compound I-n (see page 36).
Goodreid teaches alkali metal salts of carboxylic acids for use in amide coupling reactions. Goodreid teaches amidation of a wide variety of carboxylate salts with either free amines or their ammonium hydrochloride salts can be achieved using HBTU as a coupling agent in combination with Hünig’s base (abstract). In Table 4 (page 946) Goodreid shows formation of lithium salts of carboxylic acids with LiOH prior to use in an amide coupling reaction. Table 5 (page 947) shows sodium salts can also be used, which one of ordinary skill would be able to prepare using NaOH instead of LiOH.
While Kane in view of Goodreid, further in view of Babler and Masjedizadeh do not teach wherein Formula I-n is prepared by reacting I-l with I-m in the presence of an organic base in an organic solvent, the teachings of Owens are relied upon for these disclosures.
Owens teaches the instant compounds I-l and I-m below (a.k.a. 2-methyl-2-[4-(oxetan-3-yl)piperazin-1-yl]propanal and 2-cyanoacetic acid, respectively) (see page 87, line 6; and page 52, line 13, respectively). Owens also discloses a method for preparing α, β-unsaturated 2-cyanocarboxylic acids starting from I-m below and the corresponding aldehyde – see, for example Reference 4 (page 52) where I-m is reacted with 2-methylpropanal to give 2-cyano-4-methylpent-2-enoic acid in methanol (alcohol solvent) with piperidine (an organic base) followed by an acid wash to give Kane’s acid above.
Therefore, regarding instant claim 7, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare Masjedizadeh’s Formula I via the amide coupling of I-g and I-n, as taught by Kane in view of Goodreid further in view of Babel and Masjedizadeh, wherein the I-n has been prepared via a condensation reaction of I-l and I-m in methanol with an organic base, as taught by Owens. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Kane in view of Goodreid further in view of Babel and Masjedizadeh disclose the preparation of instant Formula I via an amide coupling of I-n with I-g; further because Owens discloses aldehyde I-l and 2-cyanoacetic acid I-m, and teaches conditions for condensation of aldehydes with I-m to give α, β-unsaturated 2-cyanocarboxylic acids, such as I-n.
Regarding instant claims 8-10, Owens condensation conditions, as described above, would afford Kane’s carboxylic acid derivative of I-n, which then needs to be deprotonated with NaOH to give sodium carboxylate I-n, as taught by Goodreid. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to substitute Owens piperidine base for sodium hydroxide. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to circumvent the additional acid base step to for sodium salt I-n, thus promoting condensation of I-l with I-m whilst forming the desired sodium salt for amide coupling, as taught by Kane in view of Goodreid. Further regarding claim 9, addition of NaOH to Owens’ reaction, which takes place in methanol, would be expected to form sodium methoxide, thus reading on the instant claim.1
Applicant is reminded that, per MPEP 2144.06 (II): “An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious.”
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane et al. (WO 2023/249980 A1 – Int. Filing Date: 06/21/2023 – cited in IDS) (“Kane”); in view of Goodreid et al. (J. Org. Chem. 2014, 79, 943−954) (“Goodreid”); further in view of Babler et al. (WO 2014/022569 A1 – Cited in IDS) (“Babler”); and Masjedizadeh et al. (WO 2015/127310 A1 – cited in IDS) (“Masjedizadeh”); as applied to claims as applied to claims 1, 3-5, and 15 above, further in view of Chen et al. (WO 2012/129344 A1) (“Chen”).
The teachings of Kane, Goodreid, Babler, and Masjedizadeh are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
Babler teaches a Boc protected derivative of I-g (tert-butyl (3R)-3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxyphenyl)-1H-pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-1-yl]piperidine-1-carboxylate) being deprotected with TFA in DCM – affording TFA salt of I-g – followed by dilution with water and deprotonation with sodium carbonate to give instant I-g (3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxyphenyl)-1-[ (3R)-piperidin-3-yl]-1 H-pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-4-amine) (step 2, page 84). Babler specifically teaches removal of their Boc protecting groups can be done with TFA or HCl (page 43, line 13) – thus suggesting use of HCl for removal of Boc, which would afford instant salt I-f.
While Kane in view of Goodreid, further in view of Babler and Masjedizadeh do not teach wherein Formula I-g is prepared by deprotonation of HCl salt I-f with base in alcohol and water, the teachings of Chen are relied upon for these disclosures.
Chen discloses their Boc removal protocol for a Boc- piperidine, using HCl in water/methanol to give the HCl salt of their compound, followed by deprotonation with NaOH to give their free base piperidine (see bottom of page 127 and [0211]).
Therefore, regarding claims 12-14, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare Masjedizadeh’s compound of Formula I via an amide coupling of I-g and I-n, wherein I-g has been prepared by deprotonating HCl salt I-f with sodium hydroxide, as taught by Kane in view of Goodreid, further in view of Babler and Masjedizadeh further in view of Chen. One of ordinary skill would have motivated to do so because Kane in view of Goodreid, further in view of Babler and Masjedizadeh disclose the claimed amide coupling of I-g and I-n to afford Formula I; Babler discloses Boc deprotection of the Boc-protected I-g may be done with HCl; further because Chen teaches deprotection of a Boc-piperidine with HCl in a methanol/water solvent. Thus, one of ordinary skill would expect Boc deprotection of Babler’s compound with Chen’s conditions would result in HCl salt I-f, which can the be deprotonated with NaOH, as taught by Chen, to give Babler’s compound I-g as a free base piperidine. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success, since Boc deprotections with Chen’s conditions are routine in the art, the compounds I-g and I-f are known or obvious, and ammonium deprotonations to give free base amines is a routine operation in the art.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babler et al. (WO 2014/022569 A1 – Cited in IDS) (“Babler”); in view of Chen et al. (WO 2012/129344 A1) (“Chen”).
Regarding claims 21-23, Babler teaches a Boc protected derivative of I-g (tert-butyl (3R)-3-[4-amino-3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxyphenyl)-1H-pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-1-yl]piperidine-1-carboxylate) being deprotected with TFA in DCM – affording TFA salt of I-g – followed by dilution with water and deprotonation with sodium carbonate to give instant I-g (3-(2-fluoro-4-phenoxyphenyl)-1-[ (3R)-piperidin-3-yl]-1 H-pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidin-4-amine) (step 2, page 84). Babler specifically teaches removal of their Boc protecting groups can be done with TFA or HCl (page 43, line 13) – thus suggesting use of HCl for removal of Boc, which would afford instant salt I-f.
While Babler doesn’t specifically disclose their preparation of I-g via HCl salt I-f, with water/methanol solvents, followed by deprotonation with sodium hydroxide, the teachings of Chen are relied upon for these disclosures.
Chen discloses their Boc removal protocol for a Boc- piperidine, using HCl in water/methanol to give the HCl salt of their compound, followed by deprotonation with NaOH to give their free base piperidine (see bottom of page 127 and [0211]).
Therefore, regarding claims 21-23, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare compound I-g by deprotonating HCl salt I-f with sodium hydroxide, as taught by Babler in view of Chen. One of ordinary skill would have motivated to do so because Babler discloses Boc deprotection of the Boc-protected I-g may be done with HCl; further because Chen teaches deprotection of a Boc-piperidine with HCl in a methanol/water solvent. Thus, one of ordinary skill would expect Boc deprotection of Babler’s compound with Chen’s conditions would result in HCl salt I-f, which can the be deprotonated with NaOH, as taught by Chen, to give Babler’s compound I-g as a free base piperidine. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success, since Boc deprotections with Chen’s conditions are routine in the art, the compounds I-g and I-f are known or obvious, and ammonium deprotonations to give free base amines is a routine operation in the art.
Double Patenting
Claim 25 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23-24 of copending Application No. 18/874,401 (Co. ‘401). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claim 25, Co. ‘401 claims a methyl paraben cocrystal of the instant compound (reading on ester solvates) (Co. ‘401’s claims 23-24).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JACKSON J HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627
1 Xiong et al.; Preparing Sodium Methoxide from Sodium Hydroxide by Reaction Coupling with Separation Processes; Advanced Materials Research, Vols. 986-987, pp 101-105.