DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/31/2024, 8/11/2025, 12/3/2025, 2/20/2026, and 7/9/2026 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10, 13, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the conditions “in response to a UL transmission being scheduled in a DL format time block,” “in response to a UL transmission being scheduled in a UL format time block,” and “in response to a UL transmission being scheduled in a flexible format time block.” However, claim 1 from which claim 9 depends recites “wherein each of the two DL timings and each of the two UL timings are associated with a time block for the DL transmission or the UL transmission.” It is therefore unclear if “a DL format time block,” “a UL format time block,” and/or “a flexible format time block” recited in claim 9 are intended to be the same or different from “a time block” recited in claim 1. Claim 9 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “a DL format time block,” “a UL format time block,” and/or “a flexible format time block” as potentially being the same or different from “a time block” recited in claim 1. Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected because it depends from rejected claim 9. Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “determining timing information.” However, it is unclear if “timing information” is intended to be the same or different from “two downlink (DL) timings for DL transmission” and/or “two uplink (UL) timings for UL transmission” recited in claim 1. Claim 13 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “timing information” as potentially being the same or different from “two downlink (DL) timings for DL transmission” and/or “two uplink (UL) timings for UL transmission.” Regarding claim 20, the claim recites “adjusting a quantity of the DL timings so only the first DL timing is configured based on a signaling from the network element or a predefined rule; or adjusting a quantity of the UL timings so only the first UL timing is configured based on a signaling from the network element or a predefined rule.” However, claim 1 from which claim 20 depends requires “configuring two downlink (DL) timings . . .; or configuring two uplink (UL) timings.” Claim 20 may thus be interpreted as impermissibly broadening the scope of claim 1 because claim 20 may be interpreted as requiring that only a single DL timing and/or a single UL timing be configured. Claim 20 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 20 as not broadening the scope of claim 1 and thus as allowing for the configuration of two downlink timings and/or two uplink timings as is required by claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-20, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2021/0360670, Huang hereinafter). Regarding claims 1, 34, and 36, Huang teaches a method, a non-transitory storage medium (Memory comprising instructions; Huang; Fig. 9; [0170], [0175]), and a wireless device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory (A device may be comprised of a processor and memory; Huang; Fig. 9; [0170]), wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions, the processor is configured to cause the wireless device to: configure two downlink (DL) timings for DL transmission from a network element (As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, at least two DL timings for DL transmission from a network element may be configured; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0127]-[0130]), wherein the two DL timings include a first DL timing and a second DL timing (At least Fig. 4 teaches two DL timings that include a first DL timing and a second DL timing; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0127]-[0130]), and wherein the network element comprises a base station (The network element is a base station; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0127]-[0130]); or configure two uplink (UL) timings for UL transmission to the network element (As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, at least two UL timings for UL transmission to a network element may be configured; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0127]-[0130]), wherein the two UL timings include a first UL timing and a second UL timing (At least Fig. 4 teaches two UL timings that include a first UL timing and a second UL timing; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0127]-[0130]); and wherein each of the two DL timings and each of the two UL timings are associated with a time block for the DL transmission or the UL transmission (The period in which the at least two DL timings and/or the at least two UL timings take place in at least Fig. 4 may be interpreted as a time block for the DL transmission or the UL transmission; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claims 3 and 35, Huang teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 34 respectively. Huang further teaches the first DL timing is determined based on a reference signal, the reference signal comprising at least one of: a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (The base station may transmit reference signals including at least a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). DL transmission timing (e.g., the first DL timing) may be interpreted as being determined at least based on a reference signal, the reference signal comprising at least one of: a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0107]-[0110], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 3. Huang further teaches the second DL timing is based on the first DL timing, and a timing advance offset value (In some cases, a transition between uplink and downlink resources between an SBFD TTI and an adjacent TTI may be determined based on a timing advance value configured by the base station 105. Thus, the time gaps 440, such as time gaps 440-a, 440-b, 440-c, and 440-d, which are positioned between uplink resources 210 of a flexible TTI and downlink resources of the SBFD TTIs, may be configured in accordance with a timing advance value signaled by the base station 105; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0130]); and the method further comprising: receiving, from the network element, the timing advance offset value; or determining the timing advance offset value based on predefined value (The timing advance value may be signaled by the base station; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0122], [0130]). Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 4. Huang further teaches the timing advance offset value is based on a switching delay time between a UL mode and a DL mode of a hardware circuitry of the network element (The duration of the timing advance value may be based on the capability of the UE to transition between uplink and downlink communications; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0122], [0130]). Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches selecting a UL timing from the two UL timings for a UL transmission based on at least one of: a time domain information of a resource allocated for the UL transmission; or a frequency domain information of the resource allocated for the UL transmission (At least Fig. 4 teaches two UL timings that include a first UL timing and a second UL timing. Such UL resources are comprised of both time domain resources and frequency domain resources, and thus use of such UL timings may be interpreted as being based on at least one of: a time domain information of a resource allocated for the UL transmission; or a frequency domain information of the resource allocated for the UL transmission; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches in response to a UL transmission being scheduled in a DL format time block, selecting the first UL timing for the UL transmission (The Examiner would like to note that each of the “in response to” conditions recited in the claim appear to be alternatively recited conditions because they are all directed to scheduling the same “UL transmission” in differently formatted time blocks. Because Huang teaches at least one of other such conditions, it is not necessary for the prior art to teach this limitation; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]); in response to the UL transmission being scheduled in a UL format time block, selecting the second UL timing for the UL transmission (The Examiner would like to note that each of the “in response to” conditions recited in the claim appear to be alternatively recited conditions because they are all directed to scheduling the same “UL transmission” in differently formatted time blocks. Because Huang teaches at least one of other such conditions, it is not necessary for the prior art to teach this limitation; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]); and in response to the UL transmission being scheduled in a flexible format time block, selecting one of the two UL timings for the UL transmission, based on a signaling provided by the network element or a predefined rule (Flexible transmission time intervals (TTIs) are donated by “S” in at least Fig. 4. As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, an UL transmission may be scheduled in a flexible TTI (e.g., a flexible format time block). At least one of the UL timings may also be interpreted as being selected for UL transmission. The TTIs in at least Fig. 4 are also described as being configured using a signaling from the base station; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 9. Huang further teaches a unit for the DL format time block, the UL format time block, and the flexible format time block comprises at least one of: a time slot; or a symbol (Units of time may include symbols; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0083], [0086]-[0088], [0112]). Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches selecting a DL timing from the two DL timings for a DL transmission based on at least one of: a time domain information of a resource allocated for the DL transmission; or a frequency domain information of the resource allocated for the DL transmission (At least Fig. 4 teaches two DL timings that include a first DL timing and a second DL timing. Such DL resources are comprised of both time domain resources and frequency domain resources, and thus use of such DL timings may be interpreted as being based on at least one of: a time domain information of a resource allocated for the DL transmission; or a frequency domain information of the resource allocated for the DL transmission; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches in response to a DL transmission being scheduled in a DL format time block, selecting the first DL timing for the DL transmission (The Examiner would like to note that each of the “in response to” conditions recited in the claim appear to be alternatively recited conditions because they are all directed to scheduling the same “DL transmission” in differently formatted time blocks. Because Huang teaches at least one of other such conditions, it is not necessary for the prior art to teach this limitation; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]); in response to the DL transmission being scheduled in a UL format time block, selecting the second DL timing for the UL transmission (The Examiner would like to note that each of the “in response to” conditions recited in the claim appear to be alternatively recited conditions because they are all directed to scheduling the same “DL transmission” in differently formatted time blocks. Because Huang teaches at least one of other such conditions, it is not necessary for the prior art to teach this limitation; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]); and in response to the DL transmission being scheduled in a flexible format time block, selecting one of the two DL timings for the DL transmission, based on a signaling provided by the network element or a predefined rule (Flexible transmission time intervals (TTIs) are donated by “S” in at least Fig. 4. As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, a DL transmission may be scheduled in a flexible TTI (e.g., a flexible format time block). At least one of the DL timings may also be interpreted as being selected for DL transmission. The TTIs in at least Fig. 4 are also described as being configured using a signaling from the base station; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches receiving, from the network element, a signaling scheduling a DL reception in a flexible format time block and a UL transmission in the flexible format time block (The TTIs in at least Fig. 4 are described as being configured using a signaling from the base station. Flexible transmission time intervals (TTIs) are donated by “S” in at least Fig. 4. As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, a DL transmission and an UL transmission may be scheduled in a flexible TTI (e.g., a flexible format time block); Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]); determining timing information following one of: selecting the first DL timing for the DL transmission in the flexible format time block, and selecting the first UL timing for the UL transmission in in the flexible format time block (Use (i.e., selection) of a flexible TTI for DL transmission and UL transmission may be interpreted as comprising selecting the first DL timing for the DL transmission in the flexible format time block, and selecting the first UL timing for the UL transmission in the flexible format time block; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]); or selecting the second DL timing for the DL transmission in the flexible format time block, and selecting the second UL timing for the UL transmission in in the flexible format time block (Use (i.e., selection) of a different (i.e., second) flexible TTI for DL transmission and UL transmission may be interpreted as comprising selecting the second DL timing for the DL transmission in the flexible format time block, and selecting the second UL timing for the UL transmission in the flexible format time block; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches the second UL timing is based on a timing advance offset value (Time gaps (e.g., time gaps 440) may be configured based on the timing advance value, and TTIs (e.g., the second UL timing) may be based on such gaps (i.e., a timing advance offset value); Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]), the method further comprising: in response to at least one of: the first DL timing being applied to a DL transmission scheduled in a flexible format time block, or the first UL timing being applied to a UL transmission scheduled in the flexible format time block (A flexible TTI may be used for DL and/or UL transmission; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]), wherein a format of a time block next to the flexible format time block is not flexible format (Flexible transmission time intervals (TTIs) are donated by “S” in at least Fig. 4. As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, TTI(s) next to the flexible TTI may be UL and/or DL (i.e., not flexible format); Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]), determining that a duration finishing at an end of the flexible format time block is excluded for DL reception or UL transmission, wherein the duration is based on the timing advance offset value (Time gaps (e.g., time gaps 440) are not used for DL reception or UL transmission and may be configured based on the timing advance value; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 14. Huang further teaches the duration equals to the timing advance offset value or 2 times the timing advance offset value (Time gaps (e.g., time gaps 440) are not used for DL reception or UL transmission and may be configured based on the timing advance value; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches the second UL timing is based on a timing advance offset value (Time gaps (e.g., time gaps 440) may be configured based on the timing advance value, and TTIs (e.g., the second UL timing) may be based on such gaps (i.e., a timing advance offset value); Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]), the method further comprising: in response to at least one of: the second DL timing being applied to a DL reception scheduled in a flexible format time block, or the second UL timing being applied to a UL transmission scheduled in the flexible format time block (A flexible TTI may be used for DL and/or UL transmission; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]), wherein a format of a time block previous to the flexible format time block is not flexible format (Flexible transmission time intervals (TTIs) are donated by “S” in at least Fig. 4. As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, TTI(s) next to the flexible TTI may be UL and/or DL (i.e., not flexible format); Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]), determining that a duration starting from beginning of the flexible format time block is excluded for DL reception or UL transmission, wherein the duration is based on the timing advance offset value (Time gaps (e.g., time gaps 440) are not used for DL reception or UL transmission and may be configured based on the timing advance value; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 16. Huang further teaches the duration equals to the timing advance offset value (Time gaps (e.g., time gaps 440) are not used for DL reception or UL transmission and may be configured based on the timing advance value; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 18, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches at least one of: determining that a UL channel following the first UL timing to be a reference channel for a DL channel following the second DL timing; determining that a UL signal following the first UL timing to be a reference signal for a DL signal following the second DL timing; determining that a DL channel following the second DL timing to be a reference channel for a UL channel following the first UL timing; or determining that a DL signal following the second DL timing to be a reference signal for a UL signal following the first UL timing (As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, each consecutive TTI (e.g., UL, flexible, and DL) is based on the timing of previous TTI(s) as well as time gaps (e.g., time gaps 440) between such TTIs. Signals following other signals (e.g., both DL and UL) may be interpreted as reference channels/signals for following signals (e.g., both UL and DL); Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches at least one of: determining that a UL channel following the second UL timing to be a reference channel for a DL channel following the first DL timing; determining that a UL signal following the second UL timing to be a reference signal for a DL signal following the first DL timing; determining that a DL channel following the first DL timing to be a reference channel for a UL channel following the second UL timing; or determining that a DL signal following the first DL timing to be a reference signal for a UL signal following the second UL timing (As can be seen in at least Fig. 4, each consecutive TTI (e.g., UL, flexible, and DL) is based on the timing of previous TTI(s) as well as time gaps (e.g., time gaps 440) between such TTIs. Signals following other signals (e.g., both DL and UL) may be interpreted as reference channels/signals for following signals (e.g., both UL and DL); Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]). Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1. Huang further teaches adjusting a quantity of the DL timings so only the first DL timing is configured based on a signaling from the network element or a predefined rule; or adjusting a quantity of the UL timings so only the first UL timing is configured based on a signaling from the network element or a predefined rule (As was also discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above, such claim language appears to impermissibly broaden the scope of claim 1 by no longer requiring configuration of two DL timings and/or two UL timings. However, the Examiner would like to note that only one DL timing and only one UL timing may be interpreted as being used; Huang; Figs. 2-5; [0118]-[0122], [0127]-[0130]).
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474