DETAILED ACTION
This office action response to the communication filed on 07/31/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on June 10, 2025; and July 31, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C.
119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8-9, 14, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHEN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230269188 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a message transmission method, performed by an application function (AF) ([see, [0006], an application function (AF)]), the method comprising:
transmitting a first quality of service (QoS) request message of a service flow ([see, [0062], AF initiates the application request for QoS assurance to the NEF, and request includes parameters such as a service flow]),
the first QoS request message comprising first connection identity (ID) information (IP address of UE) and a first QoS parameter (parameters) ([see, [0062-0065], the application request for QoS assurance includes parameters such as a service flow, an IP address of UE]); and
the first QoS request message being configured for instructing (authorization) a policy control function (PCF) to transmit, according to the first QoS request message ([see, [0006, 0033, 0049-0052], wherein the NEF is for receiving an application request initiated by an application function (AF), and requesting an authorization of a service rule from the PCF according to the application request that includes see on [0033], the application request may include a quality of service (QoS) assurances]),
a first policy control and charging (PCC) rule to a first session management function (SMF) corresponding to a first protocol data unit (PDU) session ([see, [0050], the policy authorization session 1 to the established PDU session and makes a decision for the authorization service rule (policy control and charging) PCC Rule1 according to the service information and QoS information]),
the first PCC rule (PCC Rule 1 and 2) comprising the first connection ID information (routing information) and the first QoS parameter (a QoS rule) ([see, [0050, 0056], PCC Rule1 and he authorization service rule PCC Rule2 contains a priority of the rules, a service flow 1 and a QoS rule 1, and routing information]).
As per Claim 9, D1 discloses a message transmission apparatus for an application function (AF) ([see, [0006], an application function (AF)]), comprising:
a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions ([see, [0124], and Fig. 10, least one processor 402; the memory 401 stores instructions executable by the at least one processor 402]),
the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: transmit a first quality of service (QoS) request message of a service flow ([see, [0062], AF initiates the application request for QoS assurance to the NEF, and request includes parameters such as a service flow]),
the first QoS request message comprising first connection identity (ID) information (IP address of UE) and a first QoS parameter (parameters) ([see, [0062-0065], the application request for QoS assurance includes parameters such as a service flow, an IP address of UE]); and
the first QoS request message being configured for instructing (authorization) a policy control function (PCF) to transmit, according to the first QoS request message ([see, [0006, 0033, 0049-0052], wherein the NEF is for receiving an application request initiated by an application function (AF), and requesting an authorization of a service rule from the PCF according to the application request that includes see on [0033], the application request may include a quality of service (QoS) assurances]),
a first policy control and charging (PCC) rule to a first session management function (SMF) corresponding to a first protocol data unit (PDU) session ([see, [0050], the policy authorization session 1 to the established PDU session and makes a decision for the authorization service rule (policy control and charging) PCC Rule1 according to the service information and QoS information]),
the first PCC rule (PCC Rule 1 and 2) comprising the first connection ID information (routing information) and the first QoS parameter (a QoS rule) ([see, [0050, 0056], PCC Rule1 and he authorization service rule PCC Rule2 contains a priority of the rules, a service flow 1 and a QoS rule 1, and routing information]).
As per Claim 17, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 9 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 9. Claim 17 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 9.
As per Claims 6, 14, D1 further discloses further comprising: receiving a first response message for the first QoS request message ([see, [0014, 0114-0115], and Fig. 5, the AF to initiate an application request for QoS assurance first]), the first response message comprising first indication information (i.e., service rules) ([see, [0114-0115], in response that two or more different application requests, contains the service rules of each application request]),
the first indication information being configured for indicating whether to agree to the first QoS request message ([see, [0114-119], and Fig. 8-9, requesting an authorization of service rules from PCF302 according to the application requests]).
As per Claims 8, 16, D1 further discloses further comprising: transmitting a second QoS request message for updating the service flow,
the second QoS request message comprising second connection ID information and the first transaction reference ID information ([see, [0045-0052], and Fig. 4, the AF to initiate an application request for QoS assurance first and then initiate an application request for data streaming]); and
the second QoS request message being configured for instructing the PCF to transmit ([see, [0006], requesting an authorization of a service rule from the PCF]), according to the second QoS request message, a second PCC rule to the first SMF, the second PCC rule comprising the second connection ID information ([see, [0045-0052], and Fig. 4, see steps 1-7, wherein the PCF sends the policy rule PCC Rule1 to the SMF, SMF executes PCC Rule1 and establishes dedicated load with the wireless side for QoS assurance]), and
the second PCC rule (i.e., PCC Rule2) being obtained by updating the first PCC rule (i.e., PCC Rule1) according to the second connection ID information and the first transaction reference ID information ([see, [0050, 0056], PCC Rule1 and he authorization service rule PCC Rule2 contains a priority of the rules, a service flow 1 and a QoS rule 1, and routing information]).
As per Claim 20, D1 discloses the media according to claim 17, and D1 further discloses wherein the instructions is further configured to cause the machine to: receive a first response message for the first QoS request message ([see, [0014, 0114-0115], and Fig. 5, the AF to initiate an application request for QoS assurance first]), the first response message comprising first indication information (i.e., service rules) ([see, [0114-0115], in response that two or more different application requests, contains the service rules of each application request]),
the first indication information being configured for indicating whether to agree to the first QoS request message ([see, [0114-119], and Fig. 8-9, requesting an authorization of service rules from PCF302 according to the application requests]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 10-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230269188 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Taft et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220174544 A1), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 2, 10, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the first QoS request message comprises a flow descriptor, the flow descriptor comprising the first connection ID information.
However, D2 discloses wherein the first QoS request message comprises a flow descriptor, the flow descriptor comprising the first connection ID information ([see, [0050, 0073-0075], and Fig. 3, wherein a Packet Flow Description (PFD) function, request PFD information relating to a data traffic flow from NEF, Data flow ID field 710 may include an ID that uniquely identifies a data traffic flow connection]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the data traffic flow in order results improve latency (signal 1044) for data traffic flow associated with UE device (D2, [0091]).
As per Claims 3, 11, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the flow descriptor further comprises at least one of a source network address, a source port number, a destination network address, a destination port number, or a transport protocol.
However, D2 discloses wherein the flow descriptor further comprises at least one of a source network address, a source port number, a destination network address, a destination port number, or a transport protocol ([see, [0066-0067, 0073-0075], and Fig. 3, wherein a PFD message, which includes PFD information associated with a data traffic flow, data traffic flow connection, information identifying UE device 110 associated with the data traffic flow connection (e.g., a source IP address associated with the data traffic flow connection; a source port associated with the data traffic flow connection; a destination IP address associated with the data traffic flow connection])]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the data traffic flow in order results improve latency (signal 1044) for data traffic flow associated with UE device (D2, [0091]).
As per Claims 4, 12, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the flow descriptor comprises the transport protocol, the transport protocol comprises a quick user datagram protocol (UDP) Internet connection (QUIC) protocol.
However, D2 discloses wherein the flow descriptor comprises the transport protocol, the transport protocol comprises a quick user datagram protocol (UDP) Internet connection (QUIC) protocol ([see, [0050, 0073-0075], and Fig. 3, wherein a Packet Flow Description (PFD) function, request PFD information relating to a data traffic flow from NEF, wherein the Data flow ID field 710 may include an ID that uniquely identifies a data traffic flow connection includes protocol may include, for example, Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), User Datagram Protocol (UDP), QUIC, General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) Tunneling Protocol (GTP)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the data traffic flow in order results improve latency (signal 1044) for data traffic flow associated with UE device (D2, [0091]).
As per Claim 18, D1 discloses the media according to claim 17, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the first QoS request message comprises a flow descriptor, the flow descriptor comprising the first connection ID information.
However, D2 discloses wherein the first QoS request message comprises a flow descriptor, the flow descriptor comprising the first connection ID information ([see, [0050, 0073-0075], and Fig. 3, wherein a Packet Flow Description (PFD) function, request PFD information relating to a data traffic flow from NEF, Data flow ID field 710 may include an ID that uniquely identifies a data traffic flow connection]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the data traffic flow in order results improve latency (signal 1044) for data traffic flow associated with UE device (D2, [0091]).
Claims 5, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20120020218 A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 5, 13, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the first QoS request message further comprises a request validity time or effective location information.
However, D3 discloses wherein the first QoS request message further comprises a request validity time or effective location information ([see, [0062, 0077], parameters and indication levels may include identity of a cell site, identity of a user, interval of examining cell site data usage, validity of usage record under processing, time period for resume QoS request]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide obtain services with an appropriate quality of service results improve optimization of the use of resources in the mobile network in order to fulfil as many of the service requests from the users as possible (D3, [0005]]).
As per Claim 19, D1 discloses the media according to claim 17, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the first QoS request message further comprises a request validity time or effective location information.
However, D3 discloses wherein the first QoS request message further comprises a request validity time or effective location information ([see, [0062, 0077], parameters and indication levels may include identity of a cell site, identity of a user, interval of examining cell site data usage, validity of usage record under processing, time period for resume QoS request]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide obtain services with an appropriate quality of service results improve optimization of the use of resources in the mobile network in order to fulfil as many of the service requests from the users as possible (D3, [0005]]).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of HUANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210099905 A1), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 7, 15, D1 further discloses wherein the first indication information is configured for indicating agreeing to the first QoS request message ([see, [0014], and Fig. 5, the AF to initiate an application request for QoS assurance first]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the first response message further comprises first transaction reference ID information, the first transaction reference ID information being configured for determining the first connection ID information in the first QoS request message.
However, D4 discloses the first response message further comprises first transaction reference ID information, the first transaction reference ID information being configured for determining the first connection ID information in the first QoS request message ([see, [0008], wherein a QoS request that requests the required QoS, receive, from the CU, a QoS response to the QoS request, wherein the QoS response includes information identifying a transaction identifier and a grant of the required QoS]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide receive data indicating a required quality of service (QoS) results reduce network congestion and improve performance of applications (D4, [0001]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418