DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are pending in this application.
Claim 19 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, the Applicant argues that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is improper because the claims recite significantly more than the abstract idea by the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves operation of the technology itself (REMARKS, on page 8, 2nd paragraph- page 15, 2nd paragraph).
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is still proper because Applicant’s invention is not technological improvement of the existing but helping to achieve better human functionality in the field of language processing using a generic computer. Even though the disclosed invention is described in the background as improving computer technology, the claim provides no meaningful limitations such that this improvement is realized. Therefore, claim 1 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Furthermore, the pending claims are not similar to those at issue in Ex parte Desjardins, which notes the claims for improving the function of the machine learning model itself, citing reduced storage requirement, lowered system complexity, and the prevention of “catastrophic forgetting”- the claimed system changes the architecture itself – e.g., how information flows, not just what it does – that may satisfy eligibility.
Therefore, claim 1 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
With respect to independent claims 11 and 20, claims 11 and 20 are similar to claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims 2-10, 12-18 and 21 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As such, claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. Thus, the rejection is maintained at this time. Please see the rejection below for the whole analysis.
Regarding Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Detmer does not disclose the limitation, “selecting…resource directory; and providing…resources”, because:
Detmer does not disclose a resource directory nor information regarding external resources in the directory. Nor does Demer disclose that a directory stores information describing the resources, such as their respective domains, capabilities, uses, reachability, or methods of interaction. Detmer also does not disclose selecting an external resource based on the claimed semantic-relevance comparison. None of Detmer’s selecting operations compares a task with information regarding an external resource stored in a resource directory. Detmer’s Selecting a dialog workflow based on a classified intent is not selecting an external resource based on metadata describing that resource stored in a resource directory (REMARKS, on page 12, 3rd paragraph - page 15, 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant argues that Detmer does not disclose a resource directory and does not describe adding a newly available data provider to the system, creating a directory entry for that provider, or storing resource information that will allow the provider to be discovered and used by the natural language interface agent (REMARKS, on page 15, 2nd – 4th paragraph)
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is improper, because:
Regarding claim 1, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant's invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., ‘a directory stores information describing the resources, such as their respective domains, capabilities, uses, reachability, or methods of interaction’, ‘selecting an external resource based on metadata describing that resource stored in a resource directory’) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the examiner maintains rejection.
Regarding claim 5, Detmer discloses that a system may identify relevant data from one or more data sources (including but not limited to data providers 118) to find relevant information and integrate the relevant data with the LLM service (Detmer, [0051]-[0053]). The feature of one or more data sources which including but not limited to data providers 118 is indicative of “a resource directory”.
Moreover, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant's invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., ‘adding a newly available data provider to the system, creating a directory entry for that provider, or storing resource information that will allow the provider to be discovered and used by the natural language interface agent’) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained at this time. Please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A, Prong One: The independent claim 1 recites “receiving, at a device and via a natural language interface agent, an input prompt from a user interface; decomposing, by the device, the input prompt into one or more tasks for performance to produce an answer to the input prompt; selecting, by the device, one or more external resources registered in a resource directory for the natural language interface agent based on a semantic relevance between the one or more tasks and information regarding the one or more external resources stored in the resource directory; and providing, by the device, the answer to the user interface via the natural language interface agent by performing the one or more tasks using the one or more external resources”.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 recite obtaining audio, obtaining and comparing multiple versions of transcription and determining the final version.
[Abstract idea indicators]
Receiving a query from a user—a task humans routinely perform mentally or with conventional tools.
Analyzing request to infer a purpose and tasks is an activity of comprehension and extraction of meaning, i.e., a cognitive process.
Mapping them and selecting a resource are decision-making and planning steps that are mental processes.
Providing an answer is also a task humans routinely perform mentally or with conventional tools.
Accordingly, the claims are directed to the judicial exception of a mental process.
Step 2A, Prong Two: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The computer is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as performing a generic computer function and being used as an applying) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Accordingly, there additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B — Claims Do Not Recite an Inventive Concept That Transforms the Mental Process into Patent-Eligible Subject Matter
The claims add generic, well-understood computer components (memory and processor) and broadly recite use of “speech recognition algorithm” without describing any specific, unconventional structure, algorithmic detail, data structure, or system architecture that provides a concrete technical improvement in computer functionality.
Applying Alice step two and relevant Federal Circuit precedent:
The recitation of conventional computer components (memory and processor) performing routine functions does not supply an inventive concept.
The claims recite high-level, result-oriented steps (e.g., “receiving,” “decomposing,” “selecting”, “providing”) that describe mental processes rather than specific technical means for performing those processes.
Because the claims lack limitations that tie the mental-process steps to a particular way of achieving a technological improvement (for example, a novel model architecture, specialized data representation, unique training regimen that yields demonstrable technical performance gains, a specialized streaming/decoding pipeline that reduces latency by a quantifiable amount, or hardware/software co-design), the additional elements do not transform the mental processes into significantly more.
With respect to claims 11 and 20, the claim is similar to claim 1 and claims 11 and 20 recite additional element of “processor”, “memory” and “non-transitory, computer-readable medium”. The processor and memory are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing generic computer functions and being used as an applying) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component as well. These claims further do not remedy the judicial exception being integrated into a practical application and further fail to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, claims 1, 11 and 20 fail to recite an inventive concept sufficient to transform the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter.
With respect to dependent claims 2-10, 12-18 and 21, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Conclusion — Rejection
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to a judicial exception (mental processes) and failing to recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anthicipated by Detmer et al., (US Pub. 2025/0126081, priority date: Oct. 13, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Detmer discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a device and via a natural language interface agent, an input prompt from a user interface (Figs. 1 and 2, step 202, [0044][0046] receiving utterance/messages via a user interface, e.g., ‘I want to learn more about 529 savings plans’);
decomposing, by the device, the input prompt into one or more tasks for performance to produce an answer to the input prompt (Figs. 1 and 2, step 204, [0045]-[0047] parsing and analyzing the utterance, identifying the keywords ‘529 savings plans’);
selecting, by the device, one or more external resources registered in a resource directory for the natural language interface agent based on a semantic relevance between the one or more tasks and information regarding the one or more external resources stored in the resource directory (Figs. 1 and 2, steps 204-208, [0041][0045]-[0048] invoking one or more machine learning classification models to classify the incoming utterances as belonging to a defined user intent and utilizing data providers 118 which comprise external data sources, e.g. databases, data feeds, API endpoints, etc. and associating the utterance with a defined user intent of ‘529 plan’);
providing, by the device, the answer to the user interface via the natural language interface agent by performing the one or more tasks using the one or more external resources (Figs. 1 and 2, steps 210 and 214, [0049]-[0051] generating an appropriate response and transmitting to the client computing device).
Regarding claim 2, Detmer discloses the method as in claim 1, and Detmer further discloses:
wherein the natural language interface agent uses a large language model (LLM) to perform the one or more tasks (Fig. 1, [0050] generating a prompt for input to one or more LLM services 116).
Regarding claim 3, Detmer discloses the method as in claim 1, and Detmer further discloses:
wherein the one or more tasks comprises making an application programming interface (API) call to a particular resource from among the one or more external resources ([0039][0041] “ NLP services 114 can be application programming interfaces (APIs) that are called by information retrieval application 108 using one or more function calls including parameters such as the user utterances”).
Regarding claim 4, Detmer discloses the method as in claim 1, and Detmer further discloses:
wherein the one or more tasks comprises performing a database lookup using a particular resource from among the one or more external resources (Fig. 1, [0041][0053][0054] searching data sources using data providers 118, which comprise external databases, to find relevant information).
Regarding claim 5, Detmer discloses the method as in claim 1, and Detmer further discloses:
registering, by the device, a new external resource in the resource directory ([0041][0042] calling external data sources by information retrieval application 108 and launching an application which may access websites externally hosted).
Regarding claim 6, Detmer discloses the method as in claim 5, and Detmer further discloses:
wherein the device registers at least one of: a domain of the new external resource or a specification as to how to interact with the new external resource in the resource directory ([0041][0042] accessing a company website to retrieve information, e.g., product information, account information, customer service information, and the like).
Regarding claim 7, Detmer discloses the method as in claim 1, and Detmer further discloses:
wherein the one or more external resources comprise a retrieval augmented generation (RAG) system ([0052] dialog control flow module is configured with retrieval augmented generation (RAG)).
Regarding claim 8, Detmer discloses the method as in claim 1, and Detmer further discloses:
wherein the resource directory is stored in a neural database (Fig. 1 and [0045] the classification models can comprise neural networks, regression models, or other machine learning (ML) algorithms to predict intent associated with a given input utterance).
Regarding claims 11-18, Claims 11-18 are the corresponding system claims to method claims 1-8. Therefore, claims 11-18 are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claims 1-8 above.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 is the corresponding medium claim to method claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Detmer et al., (US Pub. 2025/0126081) in view of Vasseur et al., (US Pub. 2025/0150357, filed on Nov. 3, 2023).
Regarding claim 10, Detmer discloses the method as in claim 1.
Detmer does not explicitly teach however Vasseur does explicitly teach:
wherein the input prompt requests information regarding a computer network ([0104] a system user 802 issues a question 806 via a user interface regarding network, e.g., ‘why is my Internet connection slow?’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of dialog control flow for information retrieval system as taught by Detmer with the method of network troubleshooting using speech input as taught by Vasseur to improve the performance of the system with accomplishing a given task using Large Language Models (LLM) (Vasseur, [0067][0106]).
Regarding claim 21, Detmer discloses the method as in claim 5.
Detmer does not explicitly teach however Vasseur does explicitly teach:
wherein registering the new external resource in the resource directory comprises: providing, in the resource directory, a domain of the new external resource and a specification of how to interact with the new external resource; and wherein the natural language interface agent is configured to use the resource directory to access the new external resource without modification of the natural language interface agent ([0060][0061] enabling LLM-based agents to interact with external systems and empower new domain-specific use cases; [0067][0100]-[0106] building a directory of Subject Matter Experts that could be requested for assisting the engine during a troubleshooting process in order to get assistance and capturing information regarding the input from the selected SME in a knowledge database, which can be leveraged by troubleshooting agent and/or other components, so as to learn over time how an SME would handle a particular situation).
The previous motivation statement as in claim 10 is still applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Seong-ah A. Shin
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2659
/SEONG-AH A SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659