Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1- 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240394408 hereinafter Schmidtlein un view of U.S. Publication No. 20230394873 hereinafter Lee.
As per claim 1, Schmidtlein discloses:
A method of anonymizing medical images (para 0006 “] The present disclosure is directed towards systems and methods for anonymizing and/or de-identifying an image of a subject by rendering a distinguishing feature of a subject (e.g., an identifying physiological and/or anatomical characteristic) indistinguishable (e.g., by obscuring, obfuscating, concealing, and/or modifying the distinguishing feature in the image).”), the method comprising:
acquiring or receiving a first medical image (para 0066 In brief overview, process 350 can include obtaining a medical image associated with metadata.”);
separating an identification area containing anatomical structure information and a de- identification area containing a skin area in the first medical image (para 0066 "The process 350 may include identifying one or more ROIs
based on metadata (354).” Para 0069 "Referring now to operation (354),
and in some embodiments, the computing system may identify and/or determine
one or more ROIs of the subject in the medical image(s). As such, and based on
the metadata, the computing system can determine that the ROI(s) include or
correspond to one or more regions of the medical image that include the
particular anatomical feature of the subject (e.g., associated with the medical
condition).” Para 0072 “As such, according to the set of
metadata for example, the computing system can determine that the image
segment includes or corresponds to an area or region of the medical image that
excludes the particular anatomical feature of the subject (de-identification
area). In certain embodiments, the image segment may include one or more
distinguishing features of the subject (e.g., anatomical and/or physiological
features that allow identification of the subject). In one example, the image
segment may include at least one of: one or both eyes of the subject, a plurality
of teeth of the subject, a face of the subject, a head of the subject, and/or other
features of the subject");
Schmidtlein does not disclose:
generating a de-identified image including a plurality of pattern areas with a predetermined size for the de-identification area and generating a second medical image by replacing the de-identification area with the de- identified image
Lee discloses:
generating a de-identified image including a plurality of pattern areas with a predetermined size for the de-identification area (para 0045 “Referring to FIG. 4, in the step (S120) of assigning feature points, a plurality of feature points P may be assigned to characteristic portions on image data according to a predetermined standard based on face data described above. More specifically, the characteristic portions may be eyebrows, eye contours between upper and lower eyelids, the nose, lip outsides, lip insides, and the facial contour. The number of feature points P assigned in the step (S120) of assigning feature points may be determined such that characteristic portions of image data described above can be effectively represented.” para 0052 “Referring to FIG. 5 to FIG. 7, if feature points are assigned onto image data, a step (S130) of fitting the image data so as to have at least one of a predetermined size or a predetermined angle based on the assigned feature points may be performed additionally. That is, the positions of feature points P, the distance between feature points P, and the angle between feature points P may be obtained, and these pieces of information may be used to perform the image processing method according to the present disclosure.”)
and generating a second medical image by replacing the de-identification area with the de- identified image (para 0066 “ Referring to FIG. 5 and FIG. 9, in the modifying step (S140), if a plurality of feature points P are assigned to image data, a part of the image data may be modified based on a feature line or a feature region generated by connecting at least two of the feature points P. As used herein, “modifying a part of image data” may mean that the part is subjected to predetermined processing, thereby making it difficult to identify whose face data the image data has.”)
. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pattern areas disclosed by Schmidtlein by include generating a de-identified image including a plurality of pattern areas with a predetermined size for the de-identification area and generating a second medical image by replacing the de-identification area with the de- identified image, as disclosed by Lee.
The motivation would have been to generate a de-identified image in order to increase patient's anonymity.
As per claim 2, Schmidtlein in view of Lee discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pattern areas comprise first pattern areas having a first signal intensity value and second pattern areas having a second signal intensity value. (Schmidtlein para 0070 "Referring now to operation (356), and in some embodiments, the computing system may select and/or identify a modification technique to apply to the medical image(s) (to generate a plurality of pattern areas). In one example, the computing system may select one or more modification techniques to apply to the medical image(s) (e.g., for anonymizing the medical image(s)). In certain embodiments, a selected modification technique may include or correspond to adjusting, modifying, and/or altering one or more intensities of pixels in an image segment (signal intensity value). For example, the image segment may include a set of pixels (e.g., pixels in an image segment) (plurality of pattern areas), the set of pixels comprising one or more intensities (the plurality of pattern areas comprise first pattern areas having a first signal intensity value and second pattern areas having a second signal intensity value). A selected modification technique can include adjusting, by the computing system, the intensity of each pixel within the set of pixels to another pixel intensity.").
As per claim 3, Schmidtlein in view of Lee discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of pattern areas is generated to have a randomized signal intensity value. (Schmidtlein para 0070 "For instance, the computing system may adjust the intensity of each pixel within the minimum percentage of pixels to a random intensity value, such that a randomization operation (e.g., a randomization of the pixel intensity values) is performed across said pixels.").
As per claim 4, Schmidtlein in view of Lee discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of pattern areas has a signal intensity value generated based on a representative value of signal intensity values of a de- identification area in each of the plurality of pattern areas. (Schmidtlein para 0070 "In certain embodiments, a selected modification technique may include or correspond to adjusting, modifying, and/or altering one or more intensities of pixels in an image segment (pattern areas has a signal intensity value) (e.g., image segment outside of the identified ROIs (de-identification area))").
As per claim 5, Schmidtlein in view of Lee discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the generating the de-identified image comprises: determining a second de-identification area including at least a portion of the de- identification area and having a thickness based on a user input; and generating the plurality of pattern areas having a predetermined size by using a representative value of signal intensity values in the second de-identification area. (Schmidtlein para 0066 "The process 350 may include applying a second modification technique (366)." Para 0070 "In certain embodiments, a selected modification technique may include or correspond to adjusting, modifying, and/or altering one or more intensities of pixels in an image segment (using a representative value of signal intensity values) (e.g., image segment outside of the identified ROIs (in the second de-identification area))."
Para 0074 "In certain embodiments, the computing system may determine the image segment based on a received user input. For instance, the computing system can receive, via user input, a selection of a boundary, contour, and/or outline of the distinguishing feature (e.g., a boundary encapsulating the distinguishing feature) (having a thickness based on a user input). Based on the received selection of the boundary, the computing system may determine the image segment (e.g., the image segment corresponds to the selected boundary). Responsive to identifying the image segment, the computing system can select and/or apply a modification technique (e.g., a filtering operation and/or other image modification techniques) to the image segment (or to the contour of the image segment) (generating the plurality of pattern areas having a
predetermined size)." Para 0076 "If the anonymization metric is below the threshold (e.g., the subject remains identifiable in the modified image), the computing system may further apply a second modification technique to the medical image (e.g., to further anonymize/de-identify the subject in the modified image) (366) (determining a second de-identification area including at least a portion of the de-identification area).";).
As per claim 6, Schmidtlein in view of Lee discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first medical image is a magnetic resonance (MR) image set or a computed tomography (CT) image set including a plurality of slices, and wherein the separating, the generating the de-identified image, and the generating the second medical image are performed for each of the plurality of slices in the CT image set or the MR image set. (Schmidtlein para 0007 "In one aspect, the present disclosure is directed to a method for anonymizing image data (e.g., medical images, such as a computed tomography (CT) image and/or a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) image (the first medical image is a magnetic resonance (MR) image set or a computed tomography (CT) image set including a plurality of slices)) by modifying the image to render a distinguishing feature indistinguishable/unidentifiable. A computing system may obtain a medical image of a subject. The medical image may comprise a set of slices and be associated with a set of metadata regarding the medical image and the subject. In certain embodiments, each slice of the set of slices can be a
medical image (separating, the generating the de-identified image, and the
generating the second medical image are performed for each of the plurality of
slices in the CT image set or the MR image set), wherein the set of slices may be
combined to generate a second medical image.").
As per claim 7, Schmidtlein in view of Lee discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the identification area comprises information that can restore a three-dimensional (3D) anatomical structure based on the anatomical structure information in the first medical image. (Schmidtlein para 0067 "In some embodiments, one or more volume rendering techniques, such as LIDAR, backscatter X-ray systems (e.g., low-energy backscatter X-ray scanner), and/or other techniques for generating 3D images, can generate or otherwise provide an image (e.g., a 3D image) that is suitable for anonymization, according to the systems and methods discussed herein. As such, any image that is suitable for 3D rendering (e.g., 3D renders of circuits, 3D renders of geographic features, and/or other types of 3D renders) can be
anonymized based on the systems and methods described herein.").
As per claim 8, the implementation of the method of claim 1will execute the apparatus of claim 8 . The claim is analyzed with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 9, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 2.
As per claim 10, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 3.
As per claim 11, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 4.
As per claim 12, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 5.
As per claim 13, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 6.
As per claim 14, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 7.
As per claim 15, Schmidtlein in view of Lee discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pattern areas are generated to have the predetermined size and a predetermined shape (para 0045 “Referring to FIG. 4, in the step (S120) of assigning feature points, a plurality of feature points P may be assigned to characteristic portions on image data according to a predetermined standard based on face data described above. More specifically, the characteristic portions may be eyebrows, eye contours between upper and lower eyelids, the nose, lip outsides, lip insides, and the facial contour. The number of feature points P assigned in the step (S120) of assigning feature points may be determined such that characteristic portions of image data described above can be effectively represented.” para 0052 “Referring to FIG. 5 to FIG. 7, if feature points are assigned onto image data, a step (S130) of fitting the image data so as to have at least one of a predetermined size or a predetermined angle based on the assigned feature points may be performed additionally. That is, the positions of feature points P, the distance between feature points P, and the angle between feature points P may be obtained, and these pieces of information may be used to perform the image processing method according to the present disclosure.” Para 0062 “Meanwhile, in the designing step, a template may be applied to a feature region generated by connecting at least three feature points among multiple feature points assigned in the feature point assigning step (S120). More specifically, a lipline generated by connecting feature points constituting lip insides, among the feature points assigned onto image data, may be formed into a first feature region C1 among feature regions, and a template may be applied to tooth images Ta′, Tb′, Tc′, Td′, Te′, and Tf existing in the first feature region C1. More specifically, in the designing step (S160), a feature region C1 generated by connecting at least three feature points may be recognized as a lipline (lipline recognizing step), a tooth region having a tooth image appearing in the feature region C1 may be recognized (tooth region recognizing step), and a template may be matched with a tooth image in the feature region C1 constituting a lipline by using a template matching algorithm with regard to the tooth region (template matching step). According to the template matching algorithm, a template is matched in a tooth image position expressed in the feature region C1, and a template may be automatically matched to the tooth region having an element similar to the template in view of an element such as shape, size, or color. By applying a template to a feature region in this manner, erroneous application of a template to a region other than the first feature region C1 of image data may be prevented.” Para 0080 “Referring to FIG. 10, the second feature region C2 may have a shape of a rod, both sides of which are round. For example, a first point Pa, a third point Pb, and a fourth point Pc may be formed to be spaced apart from the first feature point P1 by a first distance d1, and a second point Px, a fifth point Py, and a sixth point Pz may be formed to be spaced apart from the second feature point P2 by a second distance d2. The first point Pa, the third point Pb, and the fourth point Pc may form a first arc lbac, and the second point Px, the fifth point Py, and the sixth point Pz may form a second arc lyxz. Therefore, the first arc lbac, the second arc lyxz, the first horizontal line Lby, and the second horizontal line Lcz may be interconnected to form a second feature region C2. If the second feature region C2 is formed by using the first arc lbac and the second arc lyxz in this manner, the user may effectively prevent the patient's face from being exposed while minimizing the processed part of the second feature region C2, and may guarantee anonymity of the patient.” Though Schmidtlein discloses areas, Lee discloses the plurality of pattern areas are generated to have the predetermined size and a predetermined shape. The motivation would have been to generate a de-identified image in order to increase patient's anonymity.)
As per claim 17, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 15.
4. Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Schmidtlein in view of Lee, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230343455 herein after Kwon.
As per claim 16, Schmidtlein in view of Lee discloses:
The method of claim 1, first signal intensity value (Schmidtlein para 0070)
Schmidtlein in view of Lee does not disclose:
wherein, from among the plurality of pattern areas, a first pattern area has a first signal intensity value generated based on a first representative value of signal intensity values of a first de-identification sub-area in the first pattern area, and wherein, from among the plurality of pattern areas, a second pattern area has a second signal intensity value, different from the first signal intensity value, generated based on a second representative value of signal intensity values of a second de-identification sub-area in the second pattern area
Kwon discloses:
wherein, from among the plurality of pattern areas, a first pattern area has a first signal intensity value generated based on a first representative value of signal intensity values of a first de-identification sub-area in the first pattern area, and wherein, from among the plurality of pattern areas, a second pattern area has a second signal intensity value, different from the first signal intensity value, generated based on a second representative value of signal intensity values of a second de-identification sub-area in the second pattern area (paragraph 0023 “The first interval distribution quantification information (the first
representative value) may comprise at least one of a percentile, maximum value,
minimum value, mean value, mode value, and median value of pixels/voxels
of signal intensity values (first signal intensity value) within the target region
corresponding to the first interval (first de-identification sub-area in the first pattern area). "Para 0024 "The second interval distribution quantification information (the second representative value) may comprise at least one of a percentile, maximum value, minimum value, mean value, mode value, and median value of pixels/voxels of signal intensity values (second signal intensity value) within the target region corresponding to the second interval (second de-identification sub-area in the second pattern area).".).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pattern areas disclosed by Schmidtlein in view of Lee with adding signal intensity value, as disclosed by KWON.
The motivation would have been to make pixel modification in order to help medical professional to verify the results of detection, as suggested by KWON in paragraph 0012.
As per claim 18, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 16.
Conclusion
/GARY S GRACIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499